SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 2410

98TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE CURTIS.

6197H.01I D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 321.687, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to consolidation of fire districts in St. Louis County.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 321.687, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 321.687, to read as follows:

321.687. [In any county of the first class with a charter form of government containing a population of nine hundred thousand or more, if two or more fire districts] All fire protection districts and municipal fire districts in any county with a charter form of government and with more than nine hundred fifty inhabitants shall consolidate as prescribed by sections 321.460 to 321.470, the new board of directors will consist of five members upon the 6 approval of the voters of the county. If, upon canvass and declaration, it is found and determined that a majority of the voters [of the districts] voting on the propositions have voted in favor of the proposition to incorporate the consolidated district, then the court shall then further, in its order, designate the first board of directors of the consolidated district, who have 10 been elected by the voters voting thereon as [follows: The one receiving the fifth highest number of votes to hold office for a term of at least one year, the one receiving the fourth highest number 11 12 of votes to hold office for a term of at least two years, the one receiving the third highest number of votes to hold office for a term of at least three years and the two receiving the second and first 13 highest number of votes to hold office for a term of at least four years from the date of the 15 election of the board of directors and until their successors are duly elected and qualified] 16 provided in this section. The consolidated fire district board of directors shall consist of 17 nine members selected by the voters, with two members elected at-large to serve terms of

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

HB 2410 2

- 18 four years, and the remaining seven members elected from the seven county council
- 19 districts, with one member from each district, with one of such members to serve a term
- 20 of one year, three of such members to serve terms of two years, and three of such members
- 21 to serve terms of three years. Thereafter, members of the board shall be elected to serve terms
- 22 of four years and until their successors are duly elected and qualified.

/