Summary of the Introduced Bill

HB 795 -- Local Public Improvements

Sponsor:  Flook

Currently, only St. Charles County and its municipalities are
allowed to form a theater, cultural arts, and entertainment
district.  This bill allows the governing body of any county or
city that has adopted transect-based zoning under Chapter 89,
RSMo, and the counties of Franklin, Clay, or Jackson and their
municipalities to form a district.

The bill also:

(1)  Allows the district to fund infrastructure projects;

(2)  Reduces the number of contiguous acres the district must
include from 50 to 25;

(3)  Requires, instead of allows, the governing body of the city
or county in which a district is proposed to pass a resolution
describing the district when a petition for its creation is

(4)  Allows the cities of Augusta, Carrollton, Chillicothe,
Liberty, Miami, Missouri City, and Pleasant Hill to impose a
transient guest tax of up to 5%; and

(5)  Repeals the duplicate of Section 67.2505.

Copyright (c) Missouri House of Representatives

Missouri House of Representatives
94th General Assembly, 1st Regular Session
Last Updated July 25, 2007 at 11:20 am