3912L.01I                                                                                                                                                  D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, Chief Clerk



Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri an amendment repealing section 50 of article III of the Constitution of Missouri, and adopting one new section in lieu thereof relating to initiative petitions.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring therein:

            That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on Tuesday next following the first Monday in November, 2010, or at a special election to be called by the governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted to the qualified voters of this state, for adoption or rejection, the following amendment to article III of the Constitution of the state of Missouri:

            Section A. Section 50, article III, Constitution of Missouri, is repealed and one new section adopted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 50, to read as follows:

            Section 50. Initiative petitions proposing amendments to the constitution shall be signed by [eight] fifteen percent of the legal voters in each of two-thirds of the congressional districts in the state, and petitions proposing laws shall be signed by [five] ten percent of such voters. Every such petition shall be filed with the secretary of state not less than six months before the election and shall contain an enacting clause and the full text of the measure. Petitions for constitutional amendments shall not contain more than one amended and revised article of this constitution, or one new article which shall not contain more than one subject and matters properly connected therewith, and the enacting clause thereof shall be "Be it resolved by the people of the state of Missouri that the Constitution be amended:". Petitions for laws shall contain not more than one subject which shall be expressed clearly in the title, and the enacting clause thereof shall be "Be it enacted by the people of the state of Missouri:".