SECOND REGULAR SESSION HOUSE BILL NO. 1631

100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE DEATON.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To amend chapter 21, RSMo, by adding thereto one new section relating to the joint committee on the Missouri constitutional convention.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Chapter 21, RSMo, is amended by adding thereto one new section, to be 2 known as section 21.925, to read as follows:

21.925. 1. There is hereby established a "Joint Committee on the Missouri 2 Constitutional Convention".

2. The purpose of the committee shall be to consider whether convening a constitutional convention provided for under Article XII, Section 3(a) of the Constitution of Missouri is in the best interest of the state.

6 3. The committee shall be composed of eight members, with four appointed by the 7 speaker of the house of representatives and four appointed by the president pro tempore 8 of the senate. Both the speaker of the house of representatives and the president pro 9 tempore of the senate shall appoint two members from the majority party and two 10 members from the minority party. The committee members shall select a chair and a vice 11 chair.

12

4. The committee may take official testimony as needed.

5. The committee shall meet at such times as the chairperson deems necessary, but
shall meet at least quarterly.

6. The committee shall be staffed by legislative personnel as is deemed necessary
 to assist the committee in the performance of its duties.

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

3503H.01I

HB 1631

7. The members of the committee shall serve without compensation but shall be
reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official
duties.

8. The committee shall submit a report of its findings and recommendations on or
before December 31, 2021. The committee shall dissolve following the submission of its
report.

✓