HCS HB 1820 & 1470 -- SUICIDE PREVENTION

SPONSOR: Kelley (127)

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass with HCS" by the Standing Committee on Elementary and Secondary Education by a vote of 11 to 0. Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Rules-Administrative Oversight by a vote of 6 to 0.

The following is a summary of the House Committee Substitute for HB 1820 & HB 1470.

This bill names Section 170.047, RSMo the "Jason Flatt/ Avery Reine Cantor Act". The bill requires that beginning in the 2021-22 school year, each school district must offer at least two hours of suicide prevention training for all practicing teachers. All teachers, principals, and licensed educators must attend such a training or complete training on suicide prevention through self-review of suicide prevention materials. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education may develop materials to be used for such training or may offer districts materials developed by a third party.

This bill also requires public schools, charter schools, and public institutions of higher education that issue pupil identification cards to have printed on the card specific phone numbers including those for the National Suicide Prevention and the Crisis Text Line.

This bill is similar to HB 1043 (2019). This House Committee Substitute combines HB 1820 & 1470.

The following is a summary of the public testimony from the committee hearing. The testimony was based on the introduced version of the bill.

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that having any type of access to crisis lines is very helpful and this bill will greatly benefit teachers in having professional training to help their students that are in crisis. Supporters appreciate that this is not additional mandated training, but rather support for districts that want to promote suicide awareness and prevention.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Kelley; Missouri State Teachers Association; Missouri Coalition for Community Behavioral Healthcare; National Association of Social Workers Missouri Chapter, Cox Health; Missouri School Counselor Association; and the Missouri National Education Association.

OPPONENTS: There was no opposition voiced to the committee.