Summary of the Introduced Bill

HB 1818 -- Workplace Safety

Sponsor:  Walsh

This bill establishes the Occupational Safety Standards
Commission within the Department of Labor and Industrial
Relations to promulgate, modify, or revoke safety and health
standards in the state.  The commission will consist of nine
members including three appointed by the Governor, three by the
Speaker of the House of Representatives, and three by the
President Pro Tem of the Senate.

Employers are required to conform to safety standards as required
by the department to ensure a safe workplace.  Safety standards
throughout the full range of types of employment are to be
examined for appropriateness, compliance, and effectiveness.  The
commission's recommendations will provide employees and employers
assurance to the extent feasible that employees will not suffer
impairment of health or functional capacity due to exposure to
hazards at their workplace.

Procedures to alleviate conditions of imminent danger to
employees are specified in the bill as well as penalties for
employers in violation of prescribed safety standards.

Copyright (c) Missouri House of Representatives

Missouri House of Representatives
93rd General Assembly, 2nd Regular Session
Last Updated November 29, 2006 at 9:44 am