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TIMOTHY W. JONES

Speaker of the House
MISSOURI HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

The highly productive 2014 legislative session resulted in significant, important legislative goals being
met as legislators worked diligently to advance issues that will improve the quality of life for all Missouri
families, farmers and business owners. After months of deliberation and thoughtful discussion, the
legislature gave final approval to 190 pieces of legislation before gaveling out in mid-May.

Among the bills sent to the governor’s desk is the first income tax cut in nearly a century that will benefit
all Missouri families and businesses; a fiscally responsible budget that makes a record investment in
education; a comprehensive revision to our state’s criminal code; provisions to strengthen our state by
providing protections for privacy and against federal overreach in the areas of health care and energy
production; protections to safeguard the lives of the unborn,; and legislation that will help put lifesaving
medications in the hands of Missourians battling cancer, epilepsy and terminal illnesses. Through our
work together, we were able to make great strides in a multitude of areas that will help Missourians from
all walks of life across all regions of the state.

Within this booklet you will find summatries of the bills | have mentioned, as well as many others. | hope
you find this information helpful.

Very truly yours,

Timothy W. Jones
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
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ABBREVIATIONS

HB — House Bill
HCS — House Committee Substitute
HJR — House Joint Resolution
HRB — House Revision Bill
SB — Senate Bill
SCS — Senate Committee Substitute
SJR — Senate Joint Resolution
SS — Senate Substitute

CCS — Conference Committee Substitute

EFFECTIVE DATE OF BILLS

Unless they have a referendum clause, all bills are subject to approval or veto by

the Governor. Regular session bills approved by the Governor become effective on

August 28, 2014, unless another date is specified in the bill or the bill contains an

emergency clause. A bill with an emergency clause becomes effective upon approval
of the Governor except where a later date is specified.
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SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

2002

2003

2004

2004

2005

2005

HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS BILLS

Public Debt
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Elementary and Secondary
Education

General Revenue

Federal Funds

Federal Stabilization

Other Funds

Total

Higher Education
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Revenue

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Transportation
General Revenue

Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Office of Administration
General Revenue

Federal Funds

Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Employee Benefits
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

FY 2014
Current Year

Budgeted

$68,095,974
0

0

2,046,748
$70,142,722

$2,897,809,349
1,098,047,023
0
1,508,047,074
$5,503,903,446

$863,988,647
6,064,165

0

340,411,690
$1,210,464,502

$100,453,251
6,600,729

0
364,726,988
$471,780,968

$13,644,129
175,439,098

0
1,936,969,449
$2,126,052,676

$138,351,467
106,701,600
0

39,123,711
$284,176,778

$524,310,621
190,445,876
0
171,037,687
$885,794,184

FY15
TAFP

$64,790,980
0

0

3,040,998
$67,831,978

$3,147,405,409
1,086,371,024
0
1,630,605,938
$5,864,382,371

$948,104,319
5,783,795

0

337,425,964
$1,291,314,078

$88,741,937
4,104,865

0
417,570,940
$510,417,742

$17,594,129
138,471,517

0
2,018,154,733
$2,174,220,379

$176,279,939
82,168,124

0
244,085,398
$502,533,461

$558,775,107
202,176,516
0
177,834,099
$938,785,722

FY15
After Veto

$64,790,980
0

0

3,040,998
$67,831,978

$3,140,376,409
1,086,371,024
0
1,630,585,938
$5,857,333,371

$928,930,254
5,783,795

0

337,425,964
$1,272,140,013

$84,817,692
4,104,865

0
417,570,940
$506,493,497

$16,094,129
138,471,517

0
2,018,154,733
$2,172,720,379

$175,379,939
82,168,124

0
244,085,398
$501,633,461

$553,273,629
200,407,811
0
176,773,262
$930,454,702



SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

2006

2006

2006

2007

2007

2007

2008

Agriculture
General Revenue

Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Natural Resources
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Conservation
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Economic Development

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Insurance Fin Inst Prof Reg

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Labor and Industrial Relations

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Public Safety
General Revenue

Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

FY 2014
Current Year

Budgeted

$10,448,807
4,446,472

0
23,290,257
$38,185,536

$12,853,989
59,868,876

0
297,951,856
$370,674,721

$0

0

0
147,339,487
$147,339,487

$58,326,086
222,906,428
0

56,156,148
$337,388,662

$0
1,773,348

0
38,567,165
$40,340,513

$2,204,419
67,280,858

0

86,584,656
$156,069,933

$64,160,551
215,413,587
0
390,207,602
$669,781,740

FY15
TAFP

$19,702,867
4,119,200

0
22,808,719
$46,630,786

$10,166,999
50,321,492

0
498,170,316
$558,658,807

$0

0

0
148,119,522
$148,119,522

$92,293,983
215,981,003
0

66,479,076
$374,754,062

$0
1,780,723

0
39,025,593
$40,806,316

$2,363,480
56,269,319

0
127,007,214
$185,640,013

$82,678,629
216,584,319
0
400,265,476
$699,528,424

FY 15
After Veto

$10,449,767
4,119,200

0
22,808,719
$37,377,686

$9,858,085
50,321,492

0
498,140,316
$558,319,893

$0

0

0
148,119,522
$148,119,522

$88,324,611
215,981,003
0

66,299,076
$370,604,690

$0
1,780,723

0
39,025,593
$40,806,316

$2,363,480
56,269,319

0
127,007,214
$185,640,013

$74,685,738
216,584,319
0
400,244,367
$691,514,424
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2010

2010

2011

2012

2012

2012

Corrections
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Mental Health
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Health

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Social Services
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Elected Officials
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Judiciary

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Public Defender
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

FY2014

Current Year

Budgeted

$623,274,962
5,895,653

0

48,230,921
$677,401,536

$655,285,830
895,507,925

0

58,414,072
$1,609,207,827

$277,702,486
814,947,687

0

19,443,679
$1,112,093,852

$1,561,796,448
4,494,955,903
0
2,491,055,970
$8,547,808,321

$49,376,175
21,309,603

0

50,107,219
$120,792,997

$173,091,690
10,578,824

0

14,348,965
$198,019,479

$35,257,358
125,000

0

2,981,482
$38,363,840

FY15
TAFP

$670,432,531
5,240,196

0

49,483,746
$725,156,473

$733,027,436
1,028,548,600
0

59,438,122
$1,821,014,158

$293,511,799
886,133,488

0

19,541,552
$1,199,186,839

$1,553,099,144
4,653,616,210
0
2,505,121,648
$8,711,837,002

$50,812,537
21,391,823

0

51,745,567
$123,949,927

$182,366,406
10,624,985

0

14,368,791
$207,360,182

$39,739,909
125,000

0

2,982,583
$42,847,492

FY15
After Veto

$667,969,252
5,240,196

0

49,483,746
$722,693,194

$702,214,408
989,231,138

0

59,302,153
$1,750,747,699

$284,897,541
874,258,837

0

19,541,552
$1,178,697,930

$1,522,600,221
4,604,663,984
0
2,505,121,648
$8,632,385,853

$50,632,537
21,391,823

0

51,745,567
$123,769,927

$181,428,670
10,624,985

0

14,368,791
$206,422,446

$36,267,671
125,000

0

2,982,583
$39,375,254
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2012

2013

2014

2021

General Assembly
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Statewide Leasing
General Revenue

Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Total Operating Budget

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Federal Stabilization
Other Funds

Total

Refunds

General Revenue
Federal Funds
Other Funds
Total

FY 2014
Current Year

Budgeted

$33,026,615
0

0

292,833
$33,319,448

$113,289,512
22,870,507

0

15,438,454
$151,598,473

$8,276,748,366
8,421,179,162

0

8,102,774,113
$24,800,701,641

$1,312,394,739

8,240,171
51,335,455

$1,371,970,365

FY15
TAFP

$35,225,985
0

0

293,540
$35,519,525

$76,683,090
18,606,615

0

13,502,006
$108,791,711

$8,843,796,615
8,688,418,814

0

8,847,071,541
$26,379,286,970

$1,312,397,139
13,350,171
51,585,456
$1,377,332,766

FY 15
After Veto

$33,475,985
0

0

293,540
$33,769,525

$70,562,638
18,606,615

0

13,502,006
$102,671,259

$8,699,393,636
8,586,505,770

0

8,845,623,626
$26,131,523,032

$1,312,397,139
13,350,171
51,585,456
$1,377,332,766

Supplemental & Capital Improvement Appropriations

Operating-General Su
General Revenue
Federal Funds
Other Funds

Total

FTE

Capital Improvements
General Revenue

Other Funds
Total

lemental (FY 2014

$165,944,195
80,858,320
80,675,145
$327,477,660
0.50

FY15
TAFP

$47,100,000
173,422,046
$220,522,046

FY 15
After Veto

$46,900,000
145,640,000
$192,540,000
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HB 1064 -- INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES

This bill removes all references of the phrases
“‘mentally retarded” and “mental retardation” from
statute and replaces them with ‘“intellectually
disabled” and “intellectual disability.”

SS HCS HB 1075 -- UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

This bill changes the laws regarding unclaimed
property.

A United States savings bond in possession of the
State Treasurer or with an owner whose last known
address is located in Missouri must be deemed
abandoned when it has remained unclaimed for more
than three years after its maturity date and must
escheat to the state three years after abandonment.
At least 180 days after the bond escheats to the
state, the State Treasurer must bring a civil action
to confirm that the bond must escheat to the state.
The State Treasurer must retain a record of the
name and, if known, the last known address of
each person named on the savings bond that has
escheated to the State of Missouri and which has
been redeemed by the State Treasurer.

Currently, certain unclaimed personal property
that is held or owing in the ordinary course of
business is considered abandoned after seven years
and is to be delivered to the state. The bill specifies
that any outstanding check, draft, credit balance,
customer’s overpayment, or unidentified remittance
issued to a business entity or association as part
of a commercial transaction in the ordinary course
of business cannot be presumed abandoned if the
holder and the business have an ongoing business
relationship.

Beginning January 1, 2015, the abandonment
period for a payroll check is reduced from five years
to three years.

The bill specifies that business credits between
two business entities or associations are not subject
to Sections 447.500-447.595, RSMo, the Uniform
Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act. The term
“business credit” is defined as any credit offered by
one business entity to another business entity to be
applied in exchange for goods or services but does
not have a redeemable cash value.

The State Treasurer mustnotenforce the provisions
of Chapter 447 relating to lost and unclaimed
property for a reportable period more than three
years after the holder of the property filed a report
with the State Treasurer or gave express notice
of a dispute to the State Treasurer. If a fraudulent
report is filed with the intent to evade escheatment
of property, the State Treasurer can enforce these
provisions within six years after the report was filed.

If no report is filed, the State Treasurer may enforce
these provisions at any time.

The bill creates a statute of limitations for
enforcement actions of three years from when a
report is filed or when notified of a dispute. That
limit is extended to six years if a fraudulent report is
filed. Any holder who files a report that is aggrieved
by a decision of the State Treasurer must be entitled
to an administrative hearing.

When any holder who has filed a report under
Section 447.539, regarding abandoned property,
is aggrieved by a decision of the State Treasurer,
he or she must be entitled to an administrative
hearing under the provisions of Chapter 536 and
the proceedings instituted by him or her must be
deemed a contested case.

The provisions of the bill regarding U.S. savings
bonds contain an emergency clause.

HCS HB 1079 -- INSURANCE DOCUMENTS

This bill allows notices and documents issued
by insurers organized under Chapter 379 or 380,
RSMo, and notices and documents relating to life
insurance products issued by insurers organized
under Chapter 376 to be delivered, saved, stored,
and managed in an electronic format in the same
way as other documents are currently authorized
under Sections 379.011 and 379.012.

The bill allows any insurer, including an insurer
organized under Chapter 380, to make policy forms
and endorsements available electronically on the
insurer’'s website in lieu of mailing or delivering
a paper copy to an insured if the forms and
endorsements do not contain personally identifiable
information.

HB 1081 -- PAPERLESS DOCUMENTS AND
FORMS ACT

This bill establishes the Paperless Documents
and Forms Act that authorizes the Department of
Revenue to use technology to make filing certain
forms and sending certain notifications more
efficient. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Requires, beginning no later than January 1,
2015, the department to develop and implement, by
January 1, 2021, a method by which all documents
and forms provided to the public by the department
and any other documents required by the
department relating to taxes and fees are available
in an electronic format on-line and are capable of
electronic submission to the department except
those that require a notary or authorization by a
third party;
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(2) Specifies that these provisions do not authorize
the creation of state-run tax electronic filing of
individual income tax returns; and

(3) Allows the department director to use
electronic notification of specified information when
the taxpayer has consented to its use and provides
an e-mail address in lieu of and in full satisfaction of
any requirement to provide the notification by mail.

HCS HB 1085 -- DISCLOSURE OF LIBRARY
RECORDS

This bill defines “E-book” and “digital resource
or material” and adds them to the items specified
in the definition of “library material” that a library
patron may use, borrow, or request.

Currently, an employee or agent of a library cannot
be required to release or disclose all or a portion of a
library record to anyone except the person identified
in the record or by a court order. The bill adds any
third party contracted by a library that receives,
transmits, maintains, or stores a library record to
the list of those who cannot release or disclose a
record.

A person whose privacy is compromised due to
the release of a record may file a written complaint
within 180 days of the alleged violation with the
Office of the Attorney General describing the facts
surrounding the alleged violation. Upon receipt of
the complaint, the Attorney General must review
each complaint and may initiate legal action if
appropriate.

A person whose privacy is compromised may also
bring a private civil action in the circuit court of the
county in which the library is located to recover
damages. The court may award punitive damages
and attorney fees to the prevailing party but attorney
fees may be awarded to a prevailing respondent only
upon a showing that the case is without foundation.

HCS HB 1090 -- DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS
EMPLOYEES

This bill allows a Department of Corrections
employee classified as a Corrections Officer | or
Corrections Officer Il who has accrued any overtime
hours to use those hours as compensatory leave time
if the leave time is available and agreed on by the
employee and his or her supervisor. Compensatory
time must be considered accrued on completion
of time worked in excess of the employee’s normal
assigned shift and it will be the employee’s decision
whether to take the time off or request payment for

the hours. An employee must have the right to retain
up to 80 hours of compensatory time at any time
during the year.

SCS HB 1092 -- CHILD PROTECTION

This bill
protection.

changes the laws regarding child

JOINT COMMITTEE ON CHILD ABUSE AND
NEGLECT (Section 21.771, RSMo)

The Joint Committee on Child Abuse and Neglect
must make recommendations on how to improve
abuse and neglect proceedings including examining
the role of the judge, the Children’s Division within
the Department of Social Services, the juvenile
officer, the guardian ad litem, and the foster parents.

OFFICE OF THE CHILD ADVOCATE (Section 37.710)

The Office of the Child Advocate within the Office
of Administration is authorized to file any pleadings
necessary to intervene on behalf of a child at the
appropriate judicial level using the resources of the
Office of the Attorney General.

CHILDREN'’S DIVISION INVESTIGATIONS
(Sections 210.145, 210.152, and 210.183)

The bill changes, from within 30 days to within
45 days, the time period in which the Children’s
Division within the Department of Social Services
must complete a child abuse or neglect investigation
unless good cause for the failure is specifically
documented in the information system. Good cause
includes the necessity to obtain relevant reports of
medical professionals, law enforcement agencies,
and third parties which have not been completed
and provided to the division; there is specified
written documentation that there is a pending
criminal investigation of the incident and the issuing
of a decision by the division will adversely impact
the progress of the investigation; or the child victim,
the subject of the investigation, or another witness
with information relevant to the investigation is
unable or temporarily unwilling to provide complete
information within the specified time frames.

If a child fatality or near-fatality is involved in a
report of abuse or neglect, the investigation must
remain open until the division’s investigation is
completed. If an investigation cannot be completed
within 45 days, the information system must be
updated at regular intervals and upon the completion
of the investigation. The investigation must be
completed no later than 90 days after receipt of a
report of abuse or neglect, no later than 120 days
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after receipt of a report involving sexual abuse, or
when the division’s investigation is complete in a
case involving a child fatality or near-fatality.

GUARDIANS AD LITEM (Section 210.160)

The bill allows a judge to appoint a guardian ad
litem to appear for and represent an abused or
neglected child involved in proceedings arising when
an alleged perpetrator is aggrieved by the decision
of the Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board.

SAFE CARE PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT
(Section 334.950)

The Department of Public Safety must establish
rules and make payments to SAFE CARE providers
who provide forensic examinations of persons
under 18 years of age who are alleged victims of
physical abuse out of appropriations made for that
purpose. The department must establish maximum
reimbursement rates that reflect the reasonable
cost of providing the examination.

Only providers for forensic evaluations and case
reviews may be reimbursed by the department.
To provide reimbursement, the child must be the
subject of a child abuse investigation or reported
to the Children’s Division within the Department of
Social Services as a result of the examination.

The bill specifies that a minor may consent to
the examination, the consent is not subject to
disaffirmance because of his or her status as a
minor, and parental consent is not required.

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE FOR FOSTER
CHILDREN (Section 431.056)

A minor who is 16 years of age or older and who is
in the legal custody of the Children’s Division under
a court order must be qualified and competent to
contract for the purchase of automobile insurance
with the consent of the division or the juvenile court.
The minor, not the state or a foster parent, must be
responsible for paying the costs of the insurance
premiums and must be liable for any damages as
a result of the operation of a motor vehicle by the
minor.

STANDING FOR FOSTER PARENTS IN COURT
HEARINGS (Section 1)

A foster parent must have standing to participate
in all court hearings pertaining to a child in his or
her care.

HB 1125 -- CANDIDATE FILING FOR ELECTIONS

This bill allows a candidate with a physical disability
or a candidate on active duty with the United States

Armed Forces to have a representative draw for his
or her placement on an election ballot. Currently,
the candidate must draw for placement on the ballot
in person.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

SCS HB 1132 -- TAX CREDITS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill specifies that the cumulative amount of
tax credits that may be claimed by all the taxpayers
contributing to maternity homes in any one fiscal
year cannot exceed $2 million for all fiscal years
ending on or before June 30, 2014, and $2.5 million
for all fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2014.
The bill prohibits the issuance of the tax credit after
June 30, 2020.

The cumulative amount of tax credits that may
be claimed by all the taxpayers contributing to
pregnancy resource centers in any one fiscal
year cannot exceed $2 million for all fiscal years
ending on or before June 30, 2014, and $2.5
million for all fiscal years beginning on or after
July 1, 2014.

The bill increases the cumulative amount of tax
credits that may be claimed by all the taxpayers
contributing to a local food pantry in any one fiscal
year from $1.25 million to $1.75 million.

SCS HB 1136 -- ELECTIONS

This bill changes the laws regarding elections. In
its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Repeals the provision prohibiting a Missouri
youth election participant who assists an election
authority from being compensated or remunerated
for the time served or costs incurred in the
performance of his or her duties (Section 115.104,
RSMo);

(2) Repeals an obsolete provision regarding the
issues that could be placed on the ballot in the
August, 2003 election (Section 115.121);

(3) Allows each election authority to have the
voting records inspected. Currently, each authority
must perform the inspection at least once each year
(Section 115.221);

(4) Updates the description of voting machines to
specify the current use of electronic voting methods
and repeals obsolete references to ballot cards,
ballot sealing, ballot counting, and ballot marking
practices (Sections 115.231, 115.251, 115.253,
115.257 - 115.273, 115.301, 115.417, 115.420,
115.443 - 115.489, and 115.503);
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(5) Updates the description of ballot styles and
uses to accommodate current methods of electronic
voting while retaining authorization for the use of
separate paper ballots for presidential primaries
and write-in votes and polling places in general
(Sections 115.237 and 115.255);

(6) Repeals the provision exempting specified
cities, towns, and villages from the provisions in
Chapter 115, including restrictions on a candidate
running for office who has a tax arrearage, felony
conviction, or has filed for more than one office
(Section 115.305);

(7) Adds municipal taxes to the types of taxes that
cannot be delinquent in order for a person to be a
qualified candidate for office. Currently, a candidate
who does not pay his or her municipal taxes is barred
from running for office under Section 115.346. This
change makes these provisions consistent (Sections
115.342 and 115.346);

(8) Changes the laws to accommodate the current
use of electronic poll books (Section 115.431); and

(9) Allows an election authority to use electronic
voting machines within the restricted time period
when an election contest is filed and another
election is to be held while the contest is being
decided if the data in the machine is removed and
secured (Section 115.495).

HCS HB 1189 -- HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION
REQUIREMENTS

This bill requires the Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education to develop, by July 1,
2015, a high school graduation policy that allows a
student to fulfill one unit of academic credit with a
district-approved agriculture or career and technical
education course for up to four credits, one each
in any communications arts, mathematics, science,
or social studies unit. The substitution may not be
made for a course that requires an end-of-course
statewide assessment. The policy must be in addition
to the optional waiver of one unit of academic credit
for a three-unit career and technical program of
studies.

SCS HB 1190 -- FACILITATING RAPID RESPONSE
TO DISASTERS

This bill establishes the Facilitating Business
Rapid Response to State Declared Disasters
Act. An out-of-state business that is responding
to a declared state disaster or emergency or any
of its out-of-state employees are not subject to
specified state or local employment, licensing, or
registration requirements, including registration
with the Secretary of State; withholding or income

tax registration, filing, or remitting requirements;
and use tax on equipment used or consumed if the
equipment does not remain in the state after the
disaster period unless the out-of-state business or
employee remains in Missouri after the conclusion
of the disaster period. An out-of-state business
includes a business that is affiliated with a registered
business solely through common ownership if that
entity does not have any registrations, tax filings,
or nexus in the state before the declared disaster
or emergency. A prior registration as an out-of-
state business for a declared disaster or emergency
must not be considered a registration in this state.
The employees of an out-of-state business who are
responding to a declared disaster in Missouri are not
required to file and pay state or local income taxes,
to be subject to tax withholdings, or to pay any state
or local fee unless the employee remains in Missouri
after the conclusion of the disaster period.

The out-of-state business must provide assistance
in repairing, renovating, installing, or building
infrastructure related to the declared disaster or
emergency; notify the Secretary of State within 10
days of entering the state; and provide specified
information. The Secretary of State must provide
the information to the Department of Revenue within
30 days after receipt of the notification.

These provisions cannot grant the exemptions
authorized by the act to any out-of-state business
that is performing work pursuant to a request for bid
or request for proposal by a state agency or political
subdivision.

Specified provisions regarding the tax clearance,
financial assurance, and unemployment insurance
requirements of a transient employer must not apply
to an out-of-state business responding to a disaster
in Missouri.

The bill requires the Department of Transportation
to issue emergency utility response permits that
allow motor carriers to transport equipment and the
infrastructure necessary for repair work immediately
following a disaster where utility service has been
disrupted. Under exigent circumstances, verbal
approval of the operation may be made by the motor
carrier compliance supervisor or other designated
motor carrier services representative. The motor
carriers may operate on state highways and roads
at any time on any day to assist utility companies
granted a permit.

SCS HCS HB 1201 -- SURFACE MINING

Currently, a proposal to operate a surface mine
requires the operator to send a notice of intent to
operate a surface mine to the last known address
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of any landowner of record with real property that
is contiguous or adjacent to the proposed mine plan
area. This bill repeals this provision and requires
that the notice be sent to the last known address
of any real property landowner of record whose
property is within one-half mile from the border of
the proposed mine plan area and adjacent to the
proposed area, land upon which the mine plan area
is to be located, or adjacent land having a legal
relationship with either the applicant or the owner of
the land upon which the mine plan area is located.
If any individual who receives the notification
requests a public meeting, the applicant must bear
the expenses.

Currently, the Land Reclamation Commission
evaluates permit applications for proposed surface
mining operations. The bill transfers this authority to
the staff director of the commission. Upon completion
of the notice of intent to operate a surface mine
and any public meetings, the staff director must
make a decision within six weeks after completion
of the process, rather than the current within four
weeks after the public notice period, to issue or
deny a permit application. In certain cases, the staff
director may seek additional information from the
applicant before making a decision to issue or deny
the permit. In issuing a permit, the staff director
may impose reasonable conditions consistent with
specified provisions. The staff director’s decision
must be deemed to be the decision of the Director of
the Department of Natural Resources and subject to
appeal to the Administrative Hearing Commission.

The bill specifies the criteria that the Administrative
Hearing Commission may consider when reviewing
the staff director’s permit application decision. If the
Land Reclamation Commission changes a finding
of fact or conclusion of law or modifies or vacates
the decision recommended by the Administrative
Hearing Commission, it must issue its own decision
which must be subject to judicial review. For an
appeal of the commission’s decision, the court
of appeals district with jurisdiction in the county
where the mine is to be located must have original
jurisdiction. A judicial review cannot be available
until and unless all administrative remedies are
exhausted.

HB 1206 -- PUBLIC UNIVERSITY PROPERTY
TRANSFERS

Currently, the governing body of each state
university, with the exception of the University of
Missouri and Truman State University, may convey
or transfer property by any method, except in
fee simple, without authorization by the General

Assembly until August 28, 2017. This bill removes
the expiration date.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

SCS HCS HB 1217 -- PUBLIC EMPLOYEE
RETIREMENT BENEFITS

This bill specifies that any participant in a public
employee retirement system established by the
State of Missouri or any political subdivision of the
state who is found guilty of certain felonies specified
in the bill that is committed in direct connection with
or directly related to the participant’'s duties must
not be eligible to receive any retirement benefits
from the system based on service rendered on or
after the effective date of these provisions. The
participant may still request a refund of his or her
contributions to the system including any credited
interest.

Upon a finding of guilty, the court must forward
a notice of its finding to the appropriate retirement
system and make a determination on the value of
money, property, or services involved in committing
the offense. All retirement systems must take all
actions in order to implement these provisions.

The bill specifies that the right of a person to a
public employment retirement benefit cannot be
transferred or assigned, at law or in equity. None of
the moneys paid or payable or rights existing under
a plan can be subject to execution, levy, attachment,
garnishment, or other legal process unless expressly
authorized by the law that establishes the plan or
that is specifically applicable to the plan, including
division of benefits orders and any legal process
in furtherance of the collection of a judgment or
administrative order for child support or spousal
support.

A pension assignee cannot use any device,
scheme, transfer, or other artifice to evade the
applicability and prohibition of these provisions. Any
contract or agreement made in violation of these
provisions is void and all sums paid to or collected
by an assignee must be returned as restitution.

Any benefit recipient, his or her guardian or
conservator, or heir or beneficiary or the Attorney
General may bring an action to enforce the
restitution authorized under these provisions within
five years after a violation. Whenever it appears
that an individual or entity is engaged or is about
to engage in a violation of these provisions, the
Attorney General may bring an action to enjoin
the act or practice and, upon a proper showing, a
temporary restraining order or an injunction must
be granted without bond. The Attorney General may
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exercise the investigative and enforcement powers
authorized under Chapter 407, RSMo.

Nothing in the provisions of the bill can prohibit any
action permitted under Chapter 409 pertaining to
fraudulent and other prohibited practices regarding
securities.

HCS HB 1218 -- LIENS FOR ASSESSMENTS ON
CONDOMINIUMS

This bill specifies the order of preference of
liens and encumbrances on a unit owner of a
leasehold condominium entered into after August
28, 2014. A lien for the amount of the common
expense assessments based on the periodic budget
adopted by the leasehold condominium association
which would have become due in the absence of
acceleration during the six months immediately
preceding the date of filing of a petition to enforce
the association’s lien or the date of sale by the
holder of a mortgage or deed of trust has limited
priority over a mortgage or deed of trust on a unit.
If an association forecloses its lien in a non-judicial
manner under Chapter 443, RSMo, the association
must not be entitled to the limited lien priority for the
common expense assessments.

The association must be entitled to recover
any costs and reasonable attorney fees incurred
in connection with the collection of delinquent
assessments. Attorney fees and costs must not be
included in the association’s lien.

The association must furnish to any holder of a
mortgage or deed of trust, upon written request,
a recordable statement of the amount of unpaid
assessments against the unit owner’s unit.

If a unit is occupied by a tenant and the record
owner’s assessment fees are delinquent more than
60 days, the association may demand payment of
subsequent rental payments until the record owner
is no longer delinquent, the association releases
the tenant, or the tenant is no longer in possession
of the unit. The demand must be in writing to the
tenant, with a copy to the record owner, sent via
first-class United States mail, postage pre-paid, or
hand delivery. A tenant is immune from any claim
by the record owner related to the rent timely paid
to the association after the association has made
written demand. If the tenant fails to make payment
to the association, the association may issue notice
and evict under Chapter 534. The tenant does not,
by virtue of payment, have any rights of a record
owner to vote in an election or examine the books
and records of the association.

SCS HCS HB 1225 -- SELF-SERVICE STORAGE
FACILITIES ACT

This bill changes the definition of “last known
address” under the Self-Service Storage Facilities
Act to a postal address or electronic mail address
and “public sale” to include a sale conducted on-
line at a publicly accessible website. If the rental
agreement contains a limit on the value of property
stored in an occupant’s space, that limit must be
deemed to be the maximum value of the stored
property and the maximum liability of the owner for
a claim for loss of or damage to the stored property.

Currently, if an occupant is in default for a period
of more than 30 days, the operator may enforce a
lien and sell the property stored in the leased space
for cash. The bill changes the time period to if the
occupant is in default for more than 45 days.

The bill requires the occupant of a self-service
storage facility to provide a written statement
containing or to indicate in the rental agreement
the name and address of any third-party owner of
personal property stored or to be stored in the leased
space along with a description of the property and
requires the third-party owner to be notified at least
45 days prior to any sale of the stored property.

The bill allows the owner of a storage facility to
treat a stored vehicle, watercraft, or trailer as an
abandoned vehicle and have it towed from the
facility if the rent and other charges remain unpaid
for 60 days. The owner of the facility must not be
liable for any damages to the abandoned vehicle
once the tower takes possession of the property.

CCS SS SCS HCS HB 1231 -- ADMINISTRATION
OF JUSTICE

This bill changes the
administration of justice.

laws regarding the

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE JUSTICE SYSTEM
(Section 21.880, RSMo)

The Joint Committee on the Justice System is
established consisting of members of the General
Assembly and three ex-officio members as specified
in the bill, including a member of the House of
Representatives and the Senate appointed by
the Minority Floor Leader of each chamber. The
committee must review and monitor all aspects of
the state’s justice system as specified in the bill and
file a report with the General Assembly by January
15, 2016, and every year thereafter, of its activities
and any findings or recommendations for legislative
action. The joint committee must establish a
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permanent subcommittee on the Missouri criminal
code to periodically review the criminal laws of
the state. The joint committee may select an
advisory committee to aid the subcommittee,
consisting of a representative of the Missouri
Supreme Court, a representative of the Office of
the Attorney General, and other individuals known
to be interested in the improvement of the state’s
criminal laws. The subcommittee must present to
the General Assembly a criminal code revision bill
as it finds appropriate in each tenth year.

PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS AND CIRCUIT
ATTORNEYS RETIREMENT SYSTEM
(Sections 56.807 and 488.026)

Currently, each county must transfer a specified
amount to the Missouri Prosecuting Attorneys and
Circuit Attorneys’ Retirement System Fund based
on its classification. Beginning August 28, 2015,
each county’s contribution must be adjusted in
accordance with the specified schedule based
upon the Prosecuting Attorneys and Circuit
Attorneys’ Retirement System’s annual actuarial
valuation report.

The bill specifies that a $4 surcharge, payable
to the retirement system fund, must be assessed
in each criminal case against any person who had
pled guilty for any violation and paid a fine through
a fine collection center.

IMMUNITY FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS
(Section 57.095)

The bill specifies that a sheriff or any other law
enforcement officer must have immunity from any
civil or criminal liability while conducting service of
process at the direction of any court to the extent
that the officer’'s actions do not violate clearly
established statutory or constitutional rights of
which a reasonable person would have known.

STATE LEGAL EXPENSE FUND (Section 105.711)

Currently, for the purposes of the State Legal
Expense Fund a “free health clinic’ means a
nonprofit community health center exempt from
federal taxation that provides primary care and
preventative services to people without health
insurance without charge. The bill changes the
term “free health clinic” to “community health clinic”
and removes the without charge requirement. The
bill excludes specified federally funded community
health centers and rural health clinics from the
organizations that are eligible to receive payment
of a claim from the fund.

DRIVER’S AND NONDRIVER'’S LICENSES
(Sections 302.065 and 302.067)

The bill specifies that a person who has
presented documents to the Department of
Revenue to obtain a driver’s license, nondriver’s
license, or instruction permit must not be required
to present the documents again to obtain a
renewal or replacement except for documents that
demonstrate lawful presence of an applicant who is
not a citizen of the United States, if itis reasonably
believed by the department that the prior license
was issued as a result of a fraudulent act of the
applicant, the applicant is applying for or renewing
a commercial driver’s license or instruction permit,
or in order to correct an error on the license or
permit.

SAFE CARE PROVIDERS (Section 334.950)

The Department of Public Safety must establish
rules and make payments to SAFE CARE providers
who provide forensic examinations of persons
under 18 years of age who are alleged victims of
physical abuse out of appropriations made for that
purpose. The department must establish maximum
reimbursement rates that reflect the reasonable
cost of providing the examination.

Only providers for forensic evaluation and case
reviews may be reimbursed by the department. In
order to provide reimbursement, the child must
be the subject of a child abuse investigation or
reported to the Children’s Division within the
Department of Social Services as a result of the
examination.

The bill specifies that a minor may consent to
the examination, the consent is not subject to
disaffirmance because of his or her status as a
minor, and parental consent is not required.

JUDGMENTS AND GARNISHMENTS
(Sections 408.040, 488.305, and 525.040 - 525.310)
A judgment must accrue interest on the judgment
balance, which is the total amount of the judgment
awarded on the day the judgment is entered
including, but not limited to, principal, prejudgment
interest, and all costs and fees. Post-judgment
payments or credits must be applied first to post-
judgment costs, then to post-judgment interest,
and then to the judgment balance.

In a case where a garnishment is granted,
the circuit court clerk may charge and collect a
surcharge of up to $10 for the clerk’s duties.
Any moneys collected from this surcharge must
be placed in a fund to be used to maintain and
improve case processing and record preservation.
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The bill specifies that in the case of a continuous
wage garnishment, a notice of garnishment served
as required by law must have the effect of attaching
all personal property, money, rights, or other choses
in action of the defendant until the judgment is paid
in full or the employment relationship is terminated,
whichever occurs first.

Writs of garnishment which would otherwise have
equal priority must have priority according to the
date of service, and if the employee’s wages have
been attached by more than one writ of garnishment,
the employer must inform the inferior garnisher of
the other garnishments.

When applicable, a garnishee may discharge
himself or herself by paying the money or giving the
property owed to the defendant to the attorney for
the party on whose behalf the order of garnishment
was issued. The court may order the delivery of the
defendant’s property possessed by the garnishee to
the attorney for the party on whose behalf the order
of garnishment was issued.

The bill allows the garnishee to deduct up to $20 or
a fee previously agreed upon between the garnishee
and judgment debtor if the garnishee is a financial
institution for his or her trouble and expenses in
answering the interrogatories and withholding the
funds. The garnishee may file a motion with the
court for additional costs incurred in answering the
interrogatories.

The bill modifies provisions regarding the
issuance of a writ of sequestration. Currently, the
wages of state government employees are not
subject to direct garnishment but must be collected
under a process called sequestration. The bill
specifies that the state, municipal, or other political
subdivision employer must have the same duties
and obligations as a private employer when served
with a garnishment. The bill repeals provisions
requiring a writ of sequestration when the judgment
debtor is an employee of the state, municipality,
or other political subdivision and specifies that all
garnishments against the employees must proceed
in the same manner as any other garnishment.

OFFICE OF STATE COURTS ADMINISTRATOR
HANDBOOK (Section 452.556)

Currently, each court must mail a copy of the
handbook created by the Office of State Courts
Administrator to individuals involved in a dissolution
of marriage proceeding where minor children are
involved. The bill specifies that the court must
provide a copy of the handbook.

ADMINISTRATIVE CHILD SUPPORT ORDERS
(Section 454.500)

The bill allows an additional child to be added to
an existing administrative child support order. If the
Family Support Division within the Department of
Social Services has entered an administrative child
support order and an additional child or children not
the subject of the order are born to the parties, the
division may, following specified actions, modify an
underlying child support order to include a single
child support obligation for all children of the parties
in conformity with Missouri Supreme Court child
support guidelines.

ORDERS OF PROTECTION (Section 455.007)

Currently, the public interest exception to the
mootness doctrine applies to an appeal of a full
order of protection which has expired and subjects
the person against whom the order was issued to
significant collateral consequences by the mere
existence of the order after its expiration. The bill
removes the requirement that it subjects the person
against whom the order is issued to significant
collateral consequences by the mere existence of
the order after its expiration.

WILLS AND TRUSTS (Sections 456.950, 456.4-420,
and 474.395)

Any property or interest in property held by a
husband and wife as tenants by the entirety or as
joint tenants or another form of joint ownership with
right of survivorship must be deemed to be held as
tenants by the entirety upon its transfer to a qualified
spousal trust.

Currently, a no-contest clause in a will or trust
is enforceable, which generally means that a
beneficiary forfeits interest in the will or trust
property if he or she contests the trust or will. The
bill specifies that if a trust instrument containing a
no-contest clause is or has become irrevocable,
as defined in the bill, an interested person may
file a petition with a court for a ruling on whether a
particular claim for relief would trigger application
of the no-contest clause or trigger a forfeiture that
is enforceable under applicable law and public
policy. The petition for the ruling must be verified
under oath and may be filed as a separate judicial
proceeding or along with other claims for relief in
a single proceeding. The bill specifies that when
ruling on the petition, the court must consider the
text of the clause, the context to the terms of the
trust instrument as a whole, and in the context of the
verified factual allegations in the petition. The court
must not accept evidence beyond the pleadings and
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the trust instrument except as required to resolve an
ambiguity in the no-contest clause.

An order or judgment on the application of a no-
contest clause must be subject to appeal as with
other final judgments. Following the ruling, if claims
are subsequently filed that are materially different
than those upon which the no-contest clause order
or judgment is based, the party in whose favor
the order or judgment was entered must have no
protection from enforcement of the no-contest
clause provided under these provisions to the extent
the new claims are raised.

The bill specifies the types of circumstances
in which a no-contest clause is not enforceable,
including filing a claim objecting to the jurisdiction
or venue of the court or filing a claim for relief
concerning an accounting, report, or notice that has
or should have been made by a trustee. In these
situations, the court may award attorney fees and
costs to any party.

If a will contains a no-contest clause, an interested
person may file a petition with the court for a
determination whether a particular claim for relief
would trigger application of the no-contest clause
or trigger a forfeiture that is enforceable under
applicable law and public policy.

MISSOURI SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF
APPEALS COMMISSIONERS (Sections 476.445 -
477.191)

The obsolete provisions referencing the
commissioners of the Missouri Supreme Court and
the commissioners of the Court of Appeals are
repealed.

The bill modifies the specified number of judges
to serve in each district of the court of appeals to
reflect the current number authorized by statute.

JUDGESHIP POSITIONS (Sections 478.320 -
478.740)

The bill repeals the provisions requiring one
additional associate circuit judge position when the
Office of State Courts Administrator indicates in an
annual judicial weighted workload model for three
or more consecutive years the need for four or more
full-time judicial positions in any judicial circuit with
a population of 100,000 or more.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be 20,
instead of the current 19, circuit judges in the 21st
Judicial Circuit, and they must sit in 20 divisions.
There must be one additional associate circuit judge
position in the circuit starting in Fiscal Year 2015
that must not be included in the statutory formula for
authorizing additional judgeships per county.

There must be 10, instead of the current nine,
associate circuit judges in the 16th Judicial Circuit.
The tenth associate circuit judgeship position
must not be included in the statutory formula for
authorizing additional associate circuit judgeships
per county.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be one
additional associate circuit judge in the 31st Judicial
Circuit, and there must continue to be the associate
circuit judge position authorized in Fiscal Year 2014.
These positions must not be included in the statutory
formula for authorizing additional associate circuit
judgeships per county.

Beginning in the Fiscal Year 2015, there must be
one additional associate circuit judge position in
the 11th Judicial Circuit. The judge must be elected
in 2016 and the position must not be included in
the statutory formula for authorizing additional
associate circuit judgeships per county.

There must be one more additional associate
circuit judge position in Boone County than is
authorized in the statutory formula for authorizing
additional associate circuit judgeships per county.

There must be two circuit judges in the 38th
Judicial Circuit, and these judges must sitin divisions
numbered one and two. The circuit judge in division
two must be elected in 2016, and the position must
not be considered vacant or filled until January 1,
2017. The judge in division one must be elected in
2018.

COURT RECORDS (Section 483.140)

The provisions requiring every judge to examine
and superintend court records must not be construed
to permit the adoption of any local court rule that
grants a judge the discretion to remove or direct
the removal of any pleading, file, or communication
from a court file or record without the agreement of
all parties.

MUNICIPAL COURT FUNDS (Section 488.014)

The bill specifies that any overpaid funds owed
to a municipal division of the circuit court not
exceeding $5 may be retained by the municipality
for the operation of the municipal court.

31ST JUDICIAL CIRCUIT SURCHARGE
(Section 488.2206)

In addition to all court fees and costs, a surcharge
of up to $10 must be assessed as costs in each
criminal proceeding filed in the 31st Judicial Circuit
except in any proceeding in any court when the
proceeding or defendant has been dismissed by the
court or when the costs are to be paid by the state,
county, or municipality. For violations of the general
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criminal laws of the state or county ordinances,
a surcharge must not be collected unless it is
authorized by the county government where the
violation occurred. For violations of municipal
ordinances, a surcharge must not be collected
unless it is authorized by the municipal government
where the violation occurred. The moneys collected
from the surcharge must only be used to pay for
the costs associated with the land assemblage and
purchase, construction, maintenance, and operation
of any county or municipal judicial facility.

SURCHARGE FOR MUNICIPAL VIOLATIONS IN
THE CITY OF FLORISSANT (Section 488.2245)

The City of Florissant is authorized to impose an
additional court cost of up to $10 for each municipal
ordinance violation case filed before a municipal
division judge or associate circuit judge.

The city can only use the additional costs for
the land assemblage and purchase, construction,
maintenance, and upkeep of a municipal courthouse.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (Section 516.140)

The bill adds an action for injurious falsehood to
the types of actions that must be brought within two
years after the cause accrued.

JUDGMENT FOR UNPAID RENT (Section 516.350)
The bill specifies that any judgment, order, or
decree awarding unpaid rent may be revived upon
specified publication requirements and does not
need to be personally served on the defendant.

SUPERVISION OF COMMUNITY SERVICE WORK
(Section 537.602)

The bill specifies that any entity that supervises
community service work performed as arequirement
for deferment of any criminal charge under a written
agreement with a federal, state, or local prosecutor or
any entity that derives benefits from the performance
of community service work must be immune from
any suit by the person performing the community
service work or by any person deriving a cause of
action from the person performing the community
service work if that cause of action arises from
the supervision of the work performed. The entity
supervising the work must not be immune from any
suit for gross negligence or for an intentional tort.

PROTESTS AT FUNERAL SERVICES
(Section 574.160)

The bill specifies that a person commits the
offense of unlawful funeral protest, a class B
misdemeanor, if he or she pickets or engages in
other protest activities within 300 feet of a residence,
cemetery, funeral home, church, synagogue, or

other establishment during or within one hour before
or one hour after the conducting of any funeral or
burial service at that place. These provisions do not
apply to a funeral procession while it is in transit
beyond the 300-foot zone. The offense is a class
A misdemeanor if the offense is committed by a
person who has previously been found guilty of a
violation of these provisions.

The bill repeals Sections 578.501 through
578.503, known as the Spc. Edward Lee Myers’
Law, regarding unlawful picketing or other protest
activities at a location at which a funeral is held.

DISARMING A PEACE OFFICER OR A
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Section 575.153)

The bill changes the laws regarding the crime of
disarming a peace officer or a correctional officer
by specifying that a person also commits the crime
by intentionally removing a less-lethal weapon from
a peace officer or a correctional officer including
any blunt impact, chemical, or conducted energy
device used in the performance of his or her official
duties while the officer is acting within the scope
of his or her official duties or intentionally depriving
a peace officer or a correctional officer of a less-
lethal weapon while the officer is acting within the
scope of his or her official duties.

CRIMES BY SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS
(Section 632.520)

An offender ordered or committed to the
Department of Mental Health after being determined
by a court to be a sexually violent predator who
knowingly commits violence to an employee of
the department or to another offender housed in a
secure facility must be guilty of a class B felony.
An offender who knowingly damages any building or
other property owned or operated by the department
is guilty of a class C felony.

CYBER CRIME INVESTIGATION FUND AND TASK
FORCE (Section 650.120)

The provision requiring the General Assembly to
annually appropriate $3 million to the Cyber Crime
Investigation Fund is repealed.

The program to distribute grants to multi-

jurisdictional Internet crime Ilaw enforcement
task forces through the fund is reauthorized
until December 31, 2024. The provisions

regarding the
June 5, 2012.

The provisions of the bill regarding judgments and
garnishments become effective on January 1, 2015.

program had expired on

The provisions of the bill regarding judgeship
positions contain an emergency clause.
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HCS HB 1237 -- NONRESIDENT ENTERTAINER
INCOME TAX

This bill extends the allocations of state
income tax revenues collected from nonresident
entertainers and professional athletic team
members to the Missouri Arts Council Trust Fund,
Missouri Humanities Council Trust Fund, Missouri
State Library Networking Fund, Missouri Public
Television Broadcasting Corporation Special Fund,
and Missouri Historic Preservation Revolving Fund
from December 31, 2015, to December 31, 2020,
subject to appropriations.

SCS HB 1238 -- COURT COSTS

This bill changes the laws regarding court costs.
In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Extends, from December 31, 2014, to December
31, 2019, the expiration date of the provisions
authorizing Franklin County to impose an additional
court fee of $10 on any party filing a civil case in the
circuit court with the exception of cases concerning
adoption and those in small claims court;

(2) Increases, from $2 to up to $4, the surcharge
that may be collected for each criminal case in cities
or counties with a domestic violence shelter;

(3) Specifies that in addition to all court fees and
costs, a surcharge of up to $10 must be assessed
as costs in each criminal proceeding filed in the
31st Judicial Circuit except in any proceeding in
any court when the proceeding or defendant has
been dismissed by the court or when the costs
are to be paid by the state, county, or municipality.
For violations of the general criminal laws of the
state or county ordinances, a surcharge must not
be collected unless it is authorized by the county
government where the violation occurred. For
violations of municipal ordinances, a surcharge
must not be collected unless it is authorized by
the municipal government where the violation
occurred. The moneys collected from the surcharge
must only be used for the costs associated with
the land assemblage and purchase, construction,
maintenance, and operation of any county or
municipal judicial facility; and

(4) Allows the City of Kansas City to impose an
additional court cost of up to $5 for each municipal
ordinance violation case filed before a municipal
division judge or associate circuit judge. The judge
may waive the assessment of the additional cost
if the judge finds the defendant to be indigent and
unable to pay the costs. The city can only use the
additional costs for the restoration, maintenance,
and upkeep of the municipal courthouse. These
provisions will expire on August 28, 2021.

HB 1245 -- DUPLICATE VERSIONS OF STATUTES

This bill repeals the duplicate version of specified
statutes to allow the law to be administered uniformly.
In its main provisions, the bill repeals the duplicate
provisions regarding:

(1) The Coordinating Council on Special
Transportation which are obsolete (Section 208.275,
RSMo);

(2) Special event motor vehicle auction licenses
(Section 301.580);

(3) The specialty license plate for a member of the
National Wild Turkey Federation (Section 301.3166);

(4) The specialty license plate for a supporter of
the American Red Cross (Section 301.3168);

(5) The specialty license plate for a member of the
National Rifle Association (Section 301.3170);

(6) The exemption onthe restrictions on agricultural
land in specified counties used by a corporation or
limited partnership for the production of swine or
swine products (Section 350.016);

(7) The issuance of certificates or permits for
the transportation of hazardous materials (Section
390.280);

(8) The requirement for every purchaser of or
dealer in junk, scrap metal, or any secondhand
property to keep a record of each purchase or trade
of specified metal or catalytic converters containing
specified information (Section 407.300); and

(9) The Statewide Court Automation Fund and the
Court Automation Committee (Section 476.055).

HCS HB 1261 -- TRANSPORTATION
DEVELOPMENT DISTRICTS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill requires the State Auditor to report to
the Department of Revenue any transportation
development district that fails to timely submit its
annual financial statement to the State Auditor and
the authorized amount of the fine. The Department
of Revenue is required to collect the authorized
fine and annually distribute the revenues, less a
collection fee, to the schools of the county where the
district is located in the same manner that penalties,
forfeitures, and fines for penal code violations are
distributed.

At its first meeting, the board of directors of a
district must notify the State Auditor that the district
has been established.

The actual costs of a statutorily required or petition
audit of a district performed by the State Auditor
must be paid by the district and cannot exceed the
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greater of 3% of the district’s gross revenues or 3%
of its expenditures.

SS SCS HB 1270 -- CREDIT CARD PROCESSING
SERVICES

Beginning with new contracts or agreements
entered into after August 28, 2014, this bill
requires any person or entity that offers a credit
card processing service in this state to disclose in
writing, in at least an eight-point font, the term and
effective date of the contract, the amount of any
monthly minimum fee or charge for the service, and
the amount of any fee or charge for terminating the
contract or agreement.

These provisions cannot limit the rights or
remedies otherwise available to any person or entity
contracting for this service. The obligations under
these provisions are cumulative and do not limit the
obligations imposed under any other state or federal
law.

These provisions cannot apply to a state or
national bank or savings association, a credit union,
or a trade or business organization or association
that offers a credit card processing service or is a
party to a contract that offers a credit card process
service or to the parent, affiliate, or subsidiary of
any bank, savings association, or credit union that
offers a credit card processing service.

SCS HCS HB 1296 -- TAXES BASED ON SALES
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding taxes based
on sales.

Currently, in determining what portion of a
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the
business may use a method whereby the ratio of
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net
income. A method for determining whether sales
of tangible property are to be considered instate is
already established in current law. The bill specifies
a process for all other sales.

For sales of real property or rentals of tangible
personal property, the portion of the property
sold or rented that is located in this state must be
considered an instate sale. For sales of service, the
portion of the benefits delivered to purchasers in
this state must be considered an instate sale.

For rentals or licenses of intangible property, the
portion used in this state by the rentee or licensee
must be considered an instate sale. Intangible
property used for marketing must be considered
used in this state if the good or service being
marketed is purchased by a consumer in this state.

Franchise fees or royalties for intangible property
must be considered used in this state if the franchise
is located in this state.

For sales of intangible property, the portion of the
sale used in this state must be considered an instate
sale. If the sale is for the right to conduct business
activity in a certain geographic area, the sale must
be considered instate if the geographic area is in this
state. If receipts for sales of intangible property are
dependent on use or productivity, the sale must be
considered a lease or rental of intangible property.
All sales of intangible property other than the right
to conduct business in a specific area or sales with
receipts contingent on productivity or use must be
excluded from the sales factor when determining
corporate income tax.

If it cannot be determined or reasonably
approximated that a sale occurs in this state, the
sale must be excluded from the sales factor for
corporate income taxation.

The bill adds a graphing calculator with a value of
$150 or less to the list of items that are exempt from
state sales tax during the annual sales tax holiday
for school supplies.

The prohibition is removed and a seller is allowed
to advertise that the required sales tax will be
assumed or absorbed into the price of the property
sold or the service rendered if the amount of the tax
is stated on the invoice or receipt.

HCS HRB 1298 -- EXPIRED, INEFFECTIVE, AND
OBSOLETE STATUTES

This revision bill repeals various expired,
ineffective, and obsolete provisions of Missouri
statutes as identified and endorsed by the Joint
Committee on Legislative Research in its 2014
Annual Report.

SCS HCS HRB 1299 -- EXECUTIVE BRANCH
REORGANIZATIONS

This bill changes the laws based on executive
branch reorganizations within the departments of
Social Services, Labor and Industrial Relations,
Economic Development, Health and Senior
Services, Public Safety, and Transportation that
have not been updated since the adoption of the
Reorganization Act of 1974. In its main provisions,
the bill:

(1) Renames the Division of Design and
Construction in the Office of Administration to the
Division of Facilities Management, Design and
Construction and the Division of Data Processing and
Telecommunications to the Information Technology
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Services Division (Sections 3.070 - 8.360, 8.800 -
34.031, 37.005 - 37.010, 37.110, 161.935, 217.575,
251100 - 261.010, 311.650 - 320.260, 334.125,
361.010, 610.029, 620.1100, and 620.1580, RSMo);

(2) Eliminates the Division of Family Services in
the Department of Social Services and transfers its
duties and authority to the department, the Division
of Child Support Enforcement that is renamed the
Family Support Division, or the Children’s Division
and updates statutory references accordingly
(Sections 8.700, 64.090 - 143.790, 160.700, 167.034
- 169.520, 172.875, 191.737, 193.075, 193.215,
198.026, 198.029, 198.428, 205.960 - 208.150,
208.154, 208.157, 208.180 - 208.190, 208.210,
208.325 - 208.405, 208.636, 209.010 - 209.240,
210.001 - 210.870, 210.950 - 211.477, 226.805,
285.300, 324.032, 452.345 - 516.350, 590.040,
595.030, 632.070, 660.010, 660.130 - 660.526,
660.690, and 701.336);

(3) Eliminates the Division of Job Development
and Training within the Department of Labor and
Industrial Relations and transfers its authority and
duties to the Division of Workforce Development
within the Department of Economic Development,
removes obsolete federal program references,
and updates the appropriate statutory references
(Sections 36.030, 186.019, and 620.010 - 620.572);

(4) Renames the Missouri Minority Business
Development Commission to the Missouri Minority
Business Advocacy Commission (Sections 37.013
and 37.016);

(5) Repeals an outdated provision requiring the
Department of Economic Development and the
Office of Administration to develop a plan to increase
procurements from minority businesses by all state
departments and submit that plan to the Governor by
July 1994, and requires the Office of Administration,
instead of the department, to furnish administrative
support and staff to the Missouri Minority Business
Advocacy Commission (Section 37.014);

(6) Requiresthe State Highways and Transportation
Commission, instead of the Division of Highway
Safety, to prepare and upon request supply forms for
specified written accident reports (Section 43.251);

(7) Eliminates the Division of Aging within the
Department of Social Services and transfers its
authority and duties to the Department of Health
and Senior Services, removes obsolete language
regarding the Governor’s Advisory Council on Aging,
and updates the appropriate statutory references
(Sections 143.1002, 178.893 - 186.019, 192.1000
- 192.1104, 197.312 - 198.018, 198.077 - 198.090,
198.421, 198.510, 198.515, 208.300, 208.533 -

208.621, 210.900, 226.805, 338.314, 660.060, and
660.620);

(8) Transfers the duty to establish a procedure for
the reimbursement of the costs of tuition, books, and
fees to any public community college or vocational
or technical school under the A+ Schools Program
from the Commissioner of Education by rule and
regulation to the Department of Higher Education
(Section 160.545);

(9) Transfers specified duties of the Department
of Elementary and Secondary Education regarding
minority teaching scholarships to the Department of
Higher Education (Sections 161.418 and 161.424);

(10) Renames the Division of Medical Services
within the Department of Social Services as the
MO HealthNet Division and updates the appropriate
statutory references (Sections 161.905, 189.095,

191.853, 192.601, 192.1106, 198.189, 208.072,
208.152, 208.168 - 208.176, 208.204, 208.217,
208.225, 208.471, 208.477, 208.780, 376.819,

630.097, and 660.075);

(11) Transfers the Missouri Assistive Technology
Advisory Council from the Office of Administration
to the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education (Section 161.920);

(12) Eliminates the Division of Child Support
Enforcement within the Department of Social
Services and transfers its authority and duties to the
Family Support Division in the department (Sections
193.075, 193.215, 208.636, 285.300, 454.460,
454.472 - 454 490, 454.496, 454.505 - 487.080,
and 516.350);

(13) Transfers the Life Sciences Research Board
from the Office of Administration to the Department
of Economic Development and changes it from a Il
division to a Ill agency (Section 196.1103);

(14) Transfers from the Department of Labor
and Industrial Relations to the Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education specified
duties regarding telecommunication for the hearing
or speech-impaired (Section 209.251);

(15) Transfers all the authority, powers, duties,
and functions of the Division of Highway Safety
in the Department of Public Safety relating to the
motorcycle safety program, the driver improvement
program, the ignition interlock program, and
other state highway safety programs to the State
Highways and Transportation Commission in the
Department of Transportation (Sections 226.008,
302.133 - 302.178, 577.608, and 650.005);

(16) Allows any person to appeal to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, instead of the
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Labor and Industrial Relations Commission, any
decision made by the Department of Public Safety
regarding a claim filed on or after August 28, 2014,
for compensation to victims of crime and specifies
a person’s rights regarding the appeal (Sections
595.036 - 595.060, 610.120, and 621.275);

(17) Transfers the authority, powers, functions,
records, personnel, property, contracts, and other
pertinent vestiges of the Division of Employment
Security within the Department of Labor and
Industrial Relations related to job training and
labor exchange that are funded with or based upon
Wagner-Peyser funds and other federal and state
workforce development programs administered by
the Division of Employment Security to the Division
of Job Development and Training that is renamed
the Division of Workforce Development within the
Department of Economic Development (Sections
620.010 - 620.572);

(18) Repeals an outdated provision requiring
the Missouri Minority Advocacy Commission
to submit a plan to increase procurement from
minority businesses by state departments and to
recommend legislation to the General Assembly
(Section 33.753);

(19) Repeals provisions allowing employees of
the Missouri Rehabilitation Center to organize and
file an application as a not-for-profit corporation for
the purpose of establishing a child day care center
(Section 199.025); and

(20) Repeals obsolete provisions regarding
private industry councils under the Job Training
Partnership Act that were repealed by Section 199 of
the Workforce Reinvestment Act (Section 620.483).

HCS HB 1300 -- FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT
BOARD MEETINGS

This bill authorizes a quorum of a fire protection
district board to meet in person or via telephone,
facsimile, Internet, or any other voice or electronic
means, without public notice, in order to authorize the
disbursement of funds necessary for the deployment
of Missouri Task Force One or any urban search and
rescue task force that is activated by the Federal
Emergency Management Agency, State Emergency
Management Agency, or statewide mutual aid. The
board must keep minutes of the emergency meeting
and disclose during its next regularly scheduled
meeting that an emergency meeting occurred, why
it was called, and that the minutes are available as
a public record of the board.

HB 1301 -- KANSAS CITY POLICE RETIREMENT
SYSTEMS

This bill corrects erroneous intersectional
references in Sections 86.900 and 86.1220, RSMo,
regarding the Kansas City Police Employees’
Retirement Systems.

HCS HB 1302 -- WOOD BURNING APPLIANCES

This bill prohibits the Department of Natural
Resources from regulating the manufacture,
performance, or use of residential wood burning
heaters orappliances through a state implementation
plan or otherwise unless authorized to do so by
the General Assembly. Any rule or regulation
establishing or enforcing performance standards
for residential wood burning heaters or appliances
cannot become effective unless first approved by
the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules.

A new rule or regulation cannot be applied to
existing wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces,
or heaters that individuals are currently using as
their source of heat for their homes or businesses.
All wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces, and
heaters existing on August 28, 2014, may not be
subject to any rules or regulations enacted after
that date. An employee of the state or a state
agency cannot enforce any new rules or regulations
against the existing wood burning furnaces, stoves,
fireplaces, and heaters.

HCS HB 1303 -- MISSOURI STUDENT RELIGIOUS
LIBERTIES ACT

This bill establishes the Missouri Student Religious
Liberties Act, which prohibits a school district from
discriminating against a student or parent on the
basis of a religious viewpoint or expression. A
student’s expression of a religious viewpoint on
an otherwise permissible subject must be treated
like a student’s expression of a secular viewpoint
on an otherwise permissible subject. Students
may express their religious beliefs in homework,
artwork, and other written and oral assignments
free from discrimination, and it must be judged on
ordinary academic standards. Students may pray
or engage in religious activities before, during, and
after school in the same manner and to the same
extent they may engage in nonreligious activities
and must be given the same access to facilities
as other noncurricular groups, including the ability
to advertise or announce meetings. Students may
wear clothing, accessories, and jewelry that display
religious messages or symbols in the same manner



SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014 27

and to the same extent that other types of clothing,
accessories, and jewelry that display messages or
symbols are permitted.

Each school district must adopt a policy that
includes the establishment of a limited public forum
for student speakers at all school events at which a
student is to speak in public. The policy must require
the district to provide the forum in a manner that
does not discriminate against a student’s voluntary
expression of a religious viewpoint; provide a
method for the neutral selection of student speakers
at school events and graduation ceremonies; ensure
that a speaker does not engage in obscene, vulgar,
offensively lewd, or indecent speech; and state that
a student’s speech does not reflect the district’s
endorsement, sponsorship, position, or expression
of the district. The disclaimer must be provided at
all graduation ceremonies and at any other event
where a need exists to dispel confusion over the
district’s nonsponsorship of a student’s speech.

These provisions must not be construed to allow
the state or any of its political subdivisions to
require a person to participate in prayer or in any
other religious activity or to violate any person’s
constitutional rights nor to limit the authority of
any public school to maintain order and discipline
in a neutral manner; protect the safety of students,
employees, and visitors of the school; or adopt
and enforce policies on student speech that do not
violate the rights of students as guaranteed by law.

SCS HCS HB 1304 -- SALE OF INTOXICATING
LIQUOR

This bill specifies that beer brewed for personal
or family use under Section 311.055, RSMo, to be
distributed at an organized event with a general
admission fee at which the beer is available without
a separate charge must not be deemed a retail sale.
The person who brewed the beer must not receive
any portion of the admission fee and all consumption
must be conducted off licensed retail premises as
authorized by specified types of temporary retail
licenses or on a tax-exempt organization’s premises.

Currently, an “original package” as it applies to a
permit authorizing the sale of malt liquor must be
construed as any package containing three or more
standard bottles of beer. The bill changes it to any
package containing one or more standard bottles,
cans, or pouches of beer.

The provision of the bill regarding an original
package of liquor will become effective January 1,
2015.

SCS HCS HBs 1307 & 1313 -- WAITING PERIOD
FOR ABORTIONS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

Currently, there is a minimum 24-hour waiting
period before a woman can have an abortion. This
bill increases the minimum waiting period to 72
hours.

The bill specifies that if the provisions requiring
a 72-hour waiting period for an abortion are ever
temporarily or permanently restrained or enjoined
by judicial order, the waiting period for an abortion
must be 24 hours. However, if the temporary or
permanent restraining order or injunction is stayed
or dissolved, or otherwise ceases to have effect, the
waiting period for an abortion must be 72 hours.

HB 1320 -- BREAST-FEEDING

Currently, a mother may, with as much discretion
as possible, breast-feed her child in any public
or private location where the mother is otherwise
authorized to be. This bill removes the requirement
that a mother use as much discretion as possible
and instead requires that the mother use discretion
and allows a mother to also express breast milk in
any public or private location where the mother is
otherwise authorized to be.

The bill specifies that the act of a mother breast-
feeding a child or expressing milk in a public or
private location where the mother and child are
otherwise authorized to be must not:

(1) Constitute sexual conduct or sexual contact as
defined in Section 566.010, RSMo; or

(2) Be considered an act of public indecency,
indecent exposure, sexual conduct, lewd touching,
or obscenity or any other similar term for purposes
of state or municipal law.

A municipality must not enact an ordinance that
prohibits or restricts a mother from breast-feeding a
child or expressing breast milk in a public or private
location where the mother and child are otherwise
authorized to be.

The bill adds a nursing mother to the list of
individuals entitled to be excused from jury service
upon her request and with a completed written
statement from her physician to the court certifying
that she is a nursing mother.
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SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- AGRICULTURE
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding agriculture.

DESIGNATION OF CAPTIVE CERVIDS AS
LIVESTOCK (Sections 144.010, 262.900, 265.300,
267.565, and 277.020, RSMo)

The bill adds captive cervids to the definition
of “livestock” for the purposes of the state sales
and use tax laws, urban agricultural zones, meat
inspection laws, the Missouri Livestock Disease
Control and Eradication Law, and the Missouri
Livestock Marketing Law.

MISSOURI DAIRY REVITALIZATION ACT OF 2014
(Sections 261.270 - 261.275)

The Missouri Dairy Revitalization Act of 2014 is
established that:

(1) Creates the Missouri Dairy Industry
Revitalization Fund and requires moneys in the fund,
upon appropriation, to be used solely to enhance
and improve Missouri’s dairy and dairy processing
industries as specified in the bill;

(2) Requires, each fiscal year, the University of
Missouri to conduct or contract with an independent
research company to conduct research to determine
the estimated sales tax revenue generated in the
state from the sales of dairy products and to provide
the estimate to the Department of Agriculture by
October 1 of each year;

(3) Specifies that no more than 40% of the
estimated sales tax revenue generated from the
sales of dairy products during the preceding fiscal
year may be appropriated from the General Revenue
Fund to the Missouri Dairy Industry Revitalization
Fund and must be expended in the following order
of priority:

(@) To the newly established Dairy Producer
Margin Insurance Premium Assistance Program;

(b) To the newly established Missouri
Scholars Program; and

(c) To the newly established Commercial
Agriculture Program;

Dairy

(4) Requires the department to establish and
administer, through the Missouri Agricultural and
Small Business Development Authority (MASBDA),
a dairy producer margin insurance premium
assistance program for the purpose of assisting
dairy producers who participate in the federal margin
protection program in the federal Agricultural Act of
2014;

(5) Specifies that all dairy producers who
participate in the federal margin protection program
must be eligible to apply to participate in the dairy
producer margin insurance premium assistance
program and requires a producer to apply with
MASBDA by January 1 of each year;

(6) Specifies that a participating dairy producer
who has paid his or her annual federal premium
payment and provides proof of the payment to
MASBDA must be eligible to receive 70% of his or her
federal premium payment up to a maximum premium
reimbursement rate of $.34 per hundredweight of
milk;

(7) Requires the University of Missouri and
MASBDA to provide risk management training for
Missouri dairy producers annually;

(8) Establishes the Missouri Dairy Scholars
Program, administered by the department, to
annually make available, subject to appropriation,
up to 80 scholarships in an amount of $5,000 each
to eligible students in an agriculture-related degree
program in a Missouri college or university who
make a commitment to work in Missouri’s agriculture
industry as specified in the bill; and

(9) Requires the University of Missouri’s
Commercial Agriculture Program to conduct an
annual study of the dairy industry, develop a dairy-
specific plan for how to grow and enhance the dairy
and dairy processing industries in Missouri, and
report the results of the study to the department
and all agriculture-related legislative committee
chairpersons by January 1 of each year. The costs
for the study must be subject to appropriations and
paid out of the Missouri Dairy Industry Revitalization
Fund.

URBAN AGRICULTURAL ZONES (Section 262.900)

The bill modifies the definition of “processing UAZ”
to include a type of UAZ that processes produce
for human consumption. The bill requires any
local sales tax revenues received from the sale of
agricultural products sold by a mobile unit, defined
as a motor vehicle, associated with a vending UAZ
to be deposited into the Urban Agricultural Zone
Fund. Fund moneys must be equally allocated to
school districts and to municipalities that have
urban agricultural zones for UAZ improvements. A
municipality’s allocation of fund moneys must be
based upon the municipality’s percentage of local
sales tax revenues deposited into the fund.
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MISSOURI LIVESTOCK MARKETING LAW
(Section 277.040)

The bill specifies that all license fees collected
under the Missouri Livestock Marketing Law
cannot yield revenue greater than the total cost of
administrating the law during the ensuing year.

CERTIFIED COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE
APPLICATORS (Section 281.065)

Currently, a certified commercial pesticide
applicator must furnish evidence of financial
responsibility with the Director of the Department
of Agriculture in order to receive a license. The bill
removes the requirement to furnish the evidence
for license renewal unless upon request of the
department. Annual renewals for surety bonds
or liability insurance must be maintained at the
business location from which the applicator is
licensed. If the department director so requests in
writing, the applicator must furnish a copy of the bond
or certificate within 10 working days of receiving
the request. The amount of the required bond or
insurance is increased from not less than $25,000
to not less than $50,000 for each occurrence. The
applicator must immediately notify the department
director of the cancellation or reduction of financial
responsibility for any applicator or employer of the
applicator. The applicator or applicator’s employer
must maintain the bond or insurance certificate at
the business location from which the applicator is
licensed. If the financial responsibility furnished
becomes unsatisfactory, new financial responsibility
instruments must be immediately executed and
maintained at the business location.

VEHICLES HAULING LIVESTOCK AND
AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS (Section 304.180)

The bill repeals the provisions prohibiting the
total gross weight of any vehicle or combination
of vehicles hauling livestock from exceeding
85,500 pounds while operating on specified state
highways with the exception of vehicles operated
on the Dwight D. Eisenhower System of Interstate
and Defense Highways and specifies that the
total gross weight of any vehicle or combination of
vehicles hauling livestock or agricultural products,
not including local log trusts, or hauling milk from a
farm to a processing facility cannot exceed 85,500
pounds while operating on highways other than
the interstate highway system with the specified
exception.

LARGE ANIMAL VETERINARY STUDENT LOAN
PROGRAM (Sections 340.381 and 340.396)

The bill renames the Large Animal Veterinarian
Student Loan Program as the Dr. Merrill Townley

Large Animal Veterinary Student Loan Program
and repeals the expiration date of the provisions
regarding the program.

FOREIGN OWNERSHIP OF AGRICULTURAL LAND
(Section 442.571)

Currently, the sale, transfer, or acquisition of any
agricultural land by an alien or foreign business
must be approved by the Director of the Department
of Agriculture. The bill requires a sale or transfer of
agricultural land by an alien or foreign business to be
submitted to the department director for review only
if there is no completed Internal Revenue Service
Form W-9 signed by the purchaser. Any security
interest in the agricultural land held by a person as
an agent, trustee, or other fiduciary for an alien or
foreign business cannot be divested or invalidated
by a violation of specified provisions regarding aliens
and corporations of foreign countries acquiring and
holding real estate.

LIABILITY FOR LIVESTOCK ACTIVITIES
(Section 537.325)

Currently, an equine activity sponsor or an equine
professional have limited liability for injuries or death
from accidents resulting from the inherent risks of
equine activities. The bill expands the limited liability
to include a livestock activity sponsor, a livestock
owner, a livestock facility, and a livestock auction
market for injuries or death of a participant resulting
from the inherent risks of livestock activities with the
exception of specified circumstances.

Livestock activities include grazing, herding,
feeding, branding, milking, or other activities that
involve the care or maintenance of livestock; a
livestock show, fair, competition, or auction; a
livestock training or teaching activity; boarding
livestock; and inspecting or evaluating livestock.

Currently, equine activity sponsors must post
a warning sign on or near specified areas where
equine activities are conducted. The bill requires
the warning sign to also be posted where livestock
activities are conducted.

LABELING OF MOTOR FUEL PUMPS (Section 1)
The bill requires the Department of Agriculture to

propose a rule regarding renewable fuels and the

labeling of motor fuel pumps by January 1, 2015.

BEEF COMMODITY MERCHANDISING PROGRAM
(Section 275.352)

The bill repeals the provision that prohibits the
state from collecting fees under the Beef Commodity
Merchandising Program in excess of the amount
credited against the obligation to pay any federal
assessments.
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The bill contains a severability clause and if any
provision of the bill or its application to anyone or to
any circumstance is held invalid, the remainder of
the provisions and the application of the provisions
to others or other circumstances must not be
affected.

HB 1359 -- VENDORS AT CERTAIN STATE
BUILDING EVENTS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill specifies that the Missouri State Capitol
Commission must have the sole authority to enter
into contracts with vendors for the sale of items,
food, and beverages at events held at the State
Capitol. The events must be limited to those
commemorating the anniversaries of the State
Capitol and the State of Missouri. These provisions
will expire on December 31, 2024.

The Commissioner of Administration must have
sole authority to enter into contracts with vendors
for the sale of items, food, and beverages for events
held at the Missouri State Penitentiary historic
site. The commissioner may authorize a vendor
to subcontract all or a portion of the services.
The contracts must comply with specified state
contract provisions. These provisions will expire on
December 31, 2024.

CCS SS HB 1361 -- DOMESTIC SURPLUS LINES
INSURERS

This bill specifies that a nonadmitted insurer that
is domiciled in this state must be deemed a domestic
surplus lines insurer if the insurer possesses a
policyholder surplus of at least $20 million, is an
approved or eligible surplus lines insurer in at least
one jurisdiction other than this state, the board of
directors of the insurer has passed a resolution
seeking to be a domestic surplus lines insurer in
Missouri, and the Director of the Department of
Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional
Registration has given written approval for the
insurer to be a domestic surplus lines insurer.

A domestic surplus lines insurer is deemed an
eligible surplus lines insurer authorized to write
any type of policy that a nonadmitted insurer
not domiciled in Missouri is eligible to write. The
policies issued in this state must be subject to
taxes assessed on surplus lines policies issued
by nonadmitted insurers, including the surplus
premium lines tax under Section 384.059, RSMo,
but will not be subject to other taxes levied on
admitted insurers whether domestic or foreign,
including taxes imposed under Section 148.320. A
policy issued by a domestic surplus lines insurer is
not subject to the protections or other provisions

of the Missouri Property and Casualty Insurance
Guarantee Association Act or the Missouri Life and
Health Insurance Guaranty Association Act. All
financial and solvency requirements imposed under
specified provisions on domestic admitted insurers
must apply to domestic surplus lines insurers
unless specifically exempted. A domestic surplus
lines insurer must be exempt from all statutory
requirements regarding rating plans, policy forms,
policy cancellation and non-renewal, and premiums
charged to the insured in the same manner and to
the same extent as a nonadmitted insurer domiciled
in another state.

SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- MISSOURI CRIMINAL
CODE

This bill makes minor technical and grammatical
corrections and corrects erroneous intersectional
references in the Missouri Criminal Code as it was
truly agreed and finally passed in HCS SS SCS SB
491 in 2014.

Several sections that contain references to
offenses that had their names or section numbers
changed are modified to include both the previous
and amended names and section numbers, and
intersectional references to sections that have
different numbers are updated.

Currently, an offender found guilty of a specified
class C or class D felony is eligible for earned
compliance credits and court-ordered detention
sanctions while on probation, parole, or supervised
release. HCS SS SCS SB 491 limits the two programs
to an offender of a specified class D or class E
felony. The bill specifies that any offender who was
sentenced prior to January 1, 2017, for an offense
that was eligible for earned compliance credits and
court-ordered detention sanctions remains eligible
for both programs so long as the offender meets all
the other statutory requirements.

Currently, lifetime supervision is required for
a sexual offender found guilty of rape in the first
degree, statutory rape in the first degree, sodomy
in the first degree, or statutory sodomy in the first
degree. Anyone found guilty of first degree child
molestation, sexual misconduct involving a child,
sexual abuse in the first degree, enticement of
a child, sexual trafficking of a child, incest, using
a child in a sexual performance, or promoting a
sexual performance by a child must be supervised
for life if the victim was less than 14 years old and
the offender is a repeat sexual offender. The bill
specifies that an offender found guilty of any of these
sexual offenses, regardless of the age of the victim
or his or her criminal history, must be supervised
for life.
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HCS SS SCS SB 491 excludes any prison
commitment prior to release on probation in a
120-day shock incarceration or treatment program
or sexual offender assessment for purposes of
calculating mandatory minimum sentences for
repeat offenders. The bill, and current law, specifies
that only the first prison commitment prior to release
on probation is excluded from the calculation.

The definition of “habitual offender” and “habitual
boating offender” are revised to include any offender
who, while driving while intoxicated, acted with
criminal negligence to cause the death of someone
who was not a passenger in the vehicle or vessel,
caused the death of two or more people, or caused
the death of a person while having a blood alcohol
content of .18 or more. An individual found guilty of
being a habitual offender or habitual boating offender
is guilty of a class B felony and must be sentenced
as a dangerous felony offender. The offense is a
class A felony if the defendant is a habitual offender
and is found guilty of a subsequent violation.

A provision regarding the admissibility of a refusal
to submit to a blood alcohol test is modified to clarify
that the refusal is admissible whenever the refusal
occurs when a person is under arrest.

Provisions are added prohibiting the purchase,
acquisition, or receipt of certain amounts of
methamphetamine precursor drugs to the elements
of the offense of unlawful sale, distribution, or
purchase of over-the-counter methamphetamine
precursor drugs.

Specified provisions of the bill will become

effective on January 1, 2017.

HB 1372 -- PROTESTS AT FUNERAL SERVICES

This bill specifies that a person commits the
offense of unlawful funeral protest, a class B
misdemeanor, if he or she pickets or engages in
other protest activities within 300 feet of a residence,
cemetery, funeral home, church, synagogue, or
other establishment during or within one hour before
or one hour after the conducting of any funeral or
burial service at that place. These provisions do not
apply to a funeral procession while it is in transit
beyond the 300-foot zone. The offense is a class
A misdemeanor if the offense is committed by a
person who has previously been found guilty of a
violation of these provisions.

The bill repeals Sections 578.501 through
578.503, RSMo, known as Spc. Edward Lee Myers’
Law, regarding unlawful picketing or other protest
activities at a location at which a funeral is held.

HCS HB 1376 -- SECURED TRANSACTIONS

This bill changes the laws regarding secured
transactions under the Uniform Commercial Code.
The bill specifies that a secured party has control
of electronic chattel paper if a system employed
for evidencing the transfer of interest in the chattel
paper reliably establishes the secured party as the
person to whom the chattel paper was assigned.

The bill makes technical corrections and changes
terms regarding “amendment” and “certificated
security” so that they are consistent throughout the
provisions of the bill.

The bill allows an individual to use a nondriver’s
license in the same manner that a driver’s license is
used for identification purposes under the provisions
regarding a financing statement.

HCS HB 1389 -- RECIPROCITY AGREEMENTS FOR
DISTANCE EDUCATION

This bill specifies that the Coordinating Board
for Higher Education in the Department of Higher
Education must have responsibility for entering
into agreements for interstate reciprocity regarding
the delivery of postsecondary distance education,
administering the agreements, and approving or
disapproving an application from a postsecondary
education institution with its principal campus
located in Missouri to participate in the agreements.

The coordinating board must establish standards
for institutional approval that include a definition
of physical presence for non-Missouri institutions
serving Missouri residents consistent with other
states’ definition of physical presence and
establishment of consumer protection policies for
distance education addressing recruitment and
marketing activities; disclosure of tuition, fees, and
other charges; disclosure of admission processes
and procedures; and student complaints. The
coordinating board must establish policies for the
review and resolution of student complaints arising
from programs offered under the agreement.

The coordinating board may charge fees to any
institution applying to participate in an interstate
reciprocity agreement. The fees cannot exceed
the coordinating board’s cost of reviewing and
evaluating the applications.

SCS HCS HB 1410 -- LANDLORD TENANT
ACTIONS

This bill changes the laws regarding landlord
tenant actions. In its main provisions, the bill:
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(1) Changes, from December 31, 2019, to
December 31, 2024, the expiration date of the
provisions requiring a builder of one- or two-family
dwellings to offer a purchaser the option to have fire
sprinklers installed at the purchaser’s cost;

(2) Modifies the definition of “lessee” by restricting
it to only a person who leases premises from
another to the exclusion of others during the rental
or lease period and who is obligated to pay rent.
Currently, the definition of “lessee” includes any
person residing on the premises with the lessee’s
permission;

(3) Adds statutory definitions for the terms
‘landlord” and “tenant” and revises the definition
of “occupant” as a person lawfully occupying a
dwelling either as a tenant or a lessee;

(4) Specifies that if the plaintiff presents evidence
that a person is not lawfully occupying a dwelling
unit as a tenant or a lessee, the court must order the
immediate removal of the person;

(5) Specifies that following a court order for
immediate eviction, the tenant must have 24
hours to vacate the premises. The landlord must
subsequently have the right to re-enter and take
possession of the rental premises;

(6) Removes landlord-tenant actions and forcible
entry and detainer actions from the list of actions
in which an aggrieved party by a judgment in a civil
case must have the right of a trial de novo;

(7) Requires all cases regarding forcible entry
and unlawful detainer to be heard on the record. If
the plaintiff has designated the case as one to be
heard under the practice and procedure applicable
before circuit judges, the case must be heard
and determined under the rules of practice and
procedure provided in the Missouri Rules of Civil
Procedure instead of those in Chapter 517;

(8) Requires the service of a summons issued in a
landlord-tenant proceeding in Jackson County to be
attempted within four days of the date of issuance.
Currently, the sheriff must attempt to serve the
summons within four days of the date of issuance;
and

(9) Specifies that a tenant who willfully or wantonly
destroys, defaces, damages, impairs, or removes
any part of a leased structure or dwelling unit or
its facilities, equipment, or appurtenances may not
inject the issue of claim of right.

SS SCS HB 1411 -- TANNING FACILITIES

This bill requires, prior to any individual younger
than 17 years of age using a tanning device in a
tanning facility, the parent or guardian of the

individual to annually appear in person at the facility
and sign an acknowledgment stating that he or she
has read and understands the warnings given by the
facility and consents to the minor’s use of a tanning
device at the facility.

The Department of Health and Senior Services
must develop by rule a standard consent form to be
used by all facilities operating in the state.

Any tanning facility violating the provisions of the
bill is subject to a fine of $100 for a first violation,
$250 for a second violation, and $500 for each
subsequent violation. Every use of a tanning device
in a tanning facility in violation of these provisions is
a separate offense.

The duties and penalties provided in these
provisions must not take effect or be enforced
until the department adopts a rule containing the
standard consent form.

HCS HB 1412 -- FILING OF FRAUDULENT
DOCUMENTS

This bill changes the laws regarding the filing of a
fraudulent document with the Secretary of State or
a recorder of deeds. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Specifies that a person commits a class D
felony if he or she knowingly or intentionally files,
attempts to file, or records any document related to
real property with a recorder of deeds or a financing
statement with the Secretary of State with the intent
that it be used to harass or defraud any other person
or that is materially false or fraudulent. The court,
upon conviction, may order restitution if a person is
convicted of a violation of these provisions;

(2) Allows a debtor named in a false or fraudulent
financing statement to file an action against the
person who filed the financing statement to seek
appropriate equitable relief, actual damages, or
punitive damages including, but not limited to,
reasonable attorney fees;

(3) Specifies that a document, instrument, or
record must be presumed to be materially false or
fraudulent if it is filed by or on behalf of an inmate
in the custody of the Department of Corrections.
This presumption may be rebutted by providing
the Secretary of State with a sworn and notarized
document signed by the obligor, debtor, or owner of
the collateral stating that the person entered into a
security agreement with the inmate; and

(4) Requires the Secretary of State to determine
if a contested record was wrongfully filed when
someone files an information statement alleging
that a record was wrongfully filed. The Secretary of
State may require the person filing the statement or
the secured party to provide additional information.
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If the statement is found to be wrongfully filed, the
record must be terminated and it must be void and
ineffective. The secured party named in the record
must be notified of the termination.

HCS HB 1426 -- HEALTH-RELATED AILMENT
REGISTRY

This bill allows any county, which includes the
City of St. Louis, to create a voluntary registry of
persons with health-related ailments to assist these
individuals in case of a disaster or emergency. A
name, address, or any other personal identifying
information used in a registry cannot be deemed
a public record under the Open Meetings and
Records Law, commonly known as the Sunshine
Law. If a disaster or emergency occurs that involves
any person listed on the registry, an incident report
must be made public.

HB 1454 -- COMMUNICATIONS INFRASTRUCTURE
DEPLOYMENT

This bill changes, from within 90 to within 120 days,
the time period in which the authority with jurisdiction
over planning and zoning regulations must review
and process an application for a substantial
modification of a wireless communications support
structure, the time period the authority must review
and process an application if an application is
deficient and the applicant cures any deficiencies,
and the time period that an application must be
deemed approved if the authority fails to act on an
application.

Currently, any party aggrieved by the final action
of an authority by application denial or by its
inaction may bring an action for review in any court
of competent jurisdiction. The bill specifies that the
court must be within this state.

HB 1455 -- TAX LIABILITY DISPUTES
(Vetoed by the Governor)

Currently, the Director of the Department of
Revenue has the burden of proof with respect to any
factual issue relevant to ascertaining the liability of
a taxpayer in a tax liability dispute under specified
circumstances. This bill repeals the burden of proof
requirement when, in the case of a partnership,
corporation, or trust, the net worth of the taxpayer
does not exceed $7 million and the taxpayer does
not have more than 500 employees at the time the
final decision of the department director is issued
and only requires the department director to have
the burden of proof if the taxpayer has produced
evidence that establishes that there is a reasonable
dispute with respect to the tax issue and the
taxpayer has adequate records of the transactions

and provides the department reasonable access to
the records.

Currently, the provisions of Section 136.300,
RSMo, cannot apply to any issue with respect to
the applicability of any tax exemption or credit. The
bill removes the applicability of any tax exemption
and specifies that the provisions cannot apply to
any issue with respect to the applicability of any tax
credit.

HCS HB 1459 -- INNOVATION CAMPUS TAX
CREDIT ACT

This bill establishes the Innovation Campus Tax
Credit Act that authorizes, beginning January 1,
2015, a tax credit in an amount equal to 50% of
an eligible donation to an innovation campus to
be used solely for projects that advance learning
in the areas of science, technology, engineering,
and mathematics. An innovation campus is an
educational partnership consisting of at least a
Missouri high school or K-12 school district, a
Missouri four-year higher education institution, a
Missouri-based business, and a Missouri two-year
public higher education institution or state technical
college.

The tax credit is available for taxes imposed
under Chapters 143, 147, or 148, RSMo, excluding
the withholding tax imposed by Sections 143.191 to
143.265.

The tax credit is not refundable but may be carried
forward for up to four years or transferred. To
claim the credit, an innovation campus may submit
an application to the Department of Economic
Development on behalf of taxpayers with a payment
from the campus in an amount equal to the value of
the tax credits. If the campus meets all the required
criteria, the department must issue a certificate in
the appropriate amount.

The provisions of the bill will expire six years after
the effective date.

CCS#2 SS SCS HB 1490 -- ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION STANDARDS

This bill requires the State Board of Education
to convene separate work groups on English
language arts, mathematics, science, and history
and governments whenever it develops, evaluates,
modifies, or revises academic performance or
learning standards. Work groups for kindergarten
through fifth grade will consist of 16 members and
17 members for work groups for sixth through twelfth
grade. The President Pro Tem of the Senate and the
Speaker of the House of Representatives must each
select two parents of children currently enrolled
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in the grades and two education professionals to
serve as members. The state board must select
one education professional to each work group
from names submitted to it by the professional
teachers’ organizations of the state, a statewide
coalition of school administrators, nationally-
recognized career and technical education student
organizations operating in Missouri, and the heads
of state-approved baccalaureate-level teacher
preparation programs located in Missouri. One
education professional must be selected by a
statewide association of Missouri school boards.
The Governor, the Lieutenant Governor, and the
Commissioner of Higher Education must each
select one education professional. The seventeenth
member, who must be a current or retired career
and technical education professional who serves or
has served as an advisor to career and technical
education student organizations, is to be appointed
by the state board from names submitted to it by
a statewide organization for career and technical
education. The members must be geographically
diverse and cannot be required to be a member of
a professional teacher organization to serve on a
work group. Each work group member must have
been a Missouri resident for at least three years and
have taught in the work group’s subject area for 10
years or have 10 years of experience in that subject
area, with the exception of the parent members. A
qualified person may serve on more than one work
group.

The state board must hold at least three public
hearings whenever it develops, evaluates, modifies,
or revises either academic performance or learning
standards. The hearings must provide an opportunity
to receive public testimony from specified groups
and the general public. The hearings must be held
within 30 days of the work groups being convened,
six months after the first hearing, and when the work
groups submit the developed academic performance
standards to the state board. The state board must
also solicit feedback and comments from the Joint
Committee on Education and academic researchers.
All comments must be made publicly available.

Local school districts and charter schools may
adopt their own education standards, in addition to
those already adopted by the state, provided any
additional standards are in the public domain and
do not conflict with standards adopted by the state
board.

The state board and the Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education are prohibited from
mandating the curriculum, textbooks, or other
instructional materials to be used in the public
schools. Each local school board must be
responsible for the approval and adoption of its

curriculum. Schools or programs administered by
the state board, the department, and any district
classified as unaccredited are exempt from this
provision. The state board and the department are
prohibited from requiring local districts to use any
appendix to the Common Core State Standards.

The state board must modify and revise, as
necessary, the statewide assessment system
based on the standards adopted by the board. After
the state board adopts and implements academic
performance standards, the state board mustdevelop
and adopt a standardized assessment instrument
based on the academic performance standards
adopted under Section 161.855, RSMo. The special
education teachers serving on the advisory panel
to develop developmentally appropriate alternate
assessments must be residents of Missouri. Two
provisions regarding adjustments to the statewide
assessment system that expired in 2006 are
repealed.

When the state board establishes, evaluates,
modifies, or revises academic performance
standards, learning standards, and the statewide
assessment system, it must consider the work
product of the Department of Higher Education’s
Curriculum Alignment Initiative or any other work
in the public domain, in addition to other specified
sources. The provision requiring the state board
to adopt the work that has been done by consortia
of other states and allowing it to contract with the
consortia to implement the academic standards
and statewide assessment system is repealed. The
Commissioner of Education must notify the General
Assembly within six months of modifying or revising
the statewide assessment system. The General
Assembly may veto any modification or revision by
concurrent resolution, as specified in the bill. By
December 31, 2014, the Commissioner of Education
must revise the procedure to regularly receive advice
and counsel from specified individuals regarding
the implementation of academic performance
standards and the statewide assessment system
to allow the state board to regularly receive advice
and counsel from specified groups whenever it
develops, evaluates, modifies, or revises academic
performance standards, learning standards, or the
statewide assessment system. Obsolete references
to the Commission on Performance are repealed.

The provision allowing the departments of
Economic Development, Elementary and Secondary
Education, and Higher Education to directly enter
into agreements with the P-20 Council is repealed.
Instead, the departments must be bound by the
statutory requirements for state purchasing and
contracting under Chapter 34.
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State board rules regarding accreditation must
include a process to allow a fully accredited district
to propose alternative criteria to the state board to
become classified as accredited with distinction.

The state board must promulgate a rule relating
to student data accessibility, transparency, and
accountability in the statewide longitudinal data
system that requires the department to create and
make publicly available a data inventory and index of
data elements with definitions of individual student
data fields in the student data system and to develop
policies to comply with all relevant state and federal
laws, including the federal Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). The policies must
address access to personally identifiable student
data in the statewide longitudinal data system. The
department must develop criteria for the approval
of research and data requests from state and
local agencies, researchers working on behalf of
the department, and the public. The department
must not, unless otherwise authorized, transfer
personally identifiable student data. The department
must develop a detailed data security plan; ensure
compliance with FERPA as well as other laws and
policies; and ensure that any contracts that govern
databases, assessments, or instructional supports
that include student or redacted data and are
outsourced to private vendors include provisions
that safeguard privacy and security and prohibit the
sale of data or its use in furtherance of advertising
and include penalties for noncompliance. Local
service providers whose access to data is limited
to directory information are exempted from the
prohibition. The department must annually report to
the Governor, the President Pro Tem of the Senate,
the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and
the Joint Committee on Education of any new student
data proposed for inclusion in the state student data
system and any changes to existing data collections
required for any reason. Quantifiable student
performance data must only include performance
on locally developed or approved assessments
including, but not limited to, formative assessments
developed by classroom teachers. The department
is prohibited from collecting and school districts are
prohibited from reporting the following individual
student data: juvenile court delinquency records,
criminal records, biometric information, political
affiliation, or religion. Civil penalties for violations
of any rule regarding the use of education data
are specified for first and subsequent violations.
The Attorney General is authorized to enforce
compliance with these provisions.

By October 1, 2014, the state board must convene
work groups of education professionals to develop

and recommend academic performance standards.
The state board must convene separate work
groups for the following subject areas: English
language arts; mathematics; science; and history
and governments. For each subject area, the state
board must convene two work groups, one for
grades kindergarten through five and one for grades
six through 12. The work groups must develop and
recommend academic performance standards by
October 1, 2015. The work groups must report on
their progress to the President Pro Tem of the Senate
and the Speaker of the House of Representatives
on a monthly basis. The state board must adopt
and implement academic performance standards
beginning in the 2016-2017 school year and align the
statewide assessment system to the new standards
as needed. The department must pilot assessments
from the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium
during the 2014-2015 school year. For the 2014-2015
school year, and at any time when the state board
or the department implements a new statewide
assessment system, develops new academic
performance standards, or makes changes to the
Missouri School Improvement Program, the first
year of the system and performance indicators
must be a pilot year for the purposes of calculating
a district’s annual performance report under the
program. The results of a statewide pilot must not be
used for a teacher’s evaluation or to lower a school
district’'s accreditation. Any person performing work
for a district or charter school who is required to
be certified under the teacher or administrator
certification laws must be an employee of the
district or charter school. All evaluations of certified
teachers and administrators must be maintained in
the person’s personnel file and must not be shared
with any state or federal agency.

CCS SS SCS HB 1504 -- TAX INCREMENT
FINANCING

This bill adds taxes imposed on sales for
capital improvements in certain counties imposed
after August 28, 2013, for the purpose of funding
emergency communication systems to the list of
taxes excluded from the requirement that 50% of
the taxes be deposited into a separate segregated
account within a special allocation fund.

Beginning August 28, 2014, the bill exempts any
additional revenues generated within an existing
redevelopment project area from an increase in
a property tax levy or a sales or use tax rate that
is approved after the adoption of a redevelopment
project from being subject to deposit into a special
allocation fund without the consent of the taxing
district.
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HB 1506 -- RURAL REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT
GRANTS

This bill requires, subject to an appropriation
not to exceed $5 million each fiscal year, the
Department of Economic Development to develop
and implement rural regional development grants to
qualified groups.

After a rural regional development group is
awarded a grant, the group must:

(1) Track and monitor job creation and investment
in the region using quantitative measures that
measure progress toward preestablished goals;

(2) Establish a process for enrolling commercial
and industrial development sites in the region in
the state-certified sites program or maintain a
list of state-certified commercial and industrial
development sites in the region;

(3) Measure the skills of the region’s workforce;

(4) Provide an organizational chart demonstrating
that private businesses and local governmental and
educational officials are involved in the group; and

(5) Provide documentation of the group’s financial
activities for the current year.

A development group must not qualify for a rural
regional development grant if:

(1) The group’s region includes a county or portion
of another state outside the State of Missouri; or

(2) The group maintains an operating budget
greater than $250,000.

Grant applications must only be submitted by a
regional planning commission on behalf of a group
recognized by the commission as an economic
development agency for the county that the authority
represents.

A grant cannot exceed $150,000 and no more
than two grants can be awarded annually to a
commission in each of the 19 regions created under
Chapter 251, RSMo.

The eligible amount of a grant for a group in
operation for two years or more must provide or
raise a $1 match for every $3 of state funds provided
by the grant, including the value of in-kind services,
supplies, or equipment. The eligible amount of
a grant for a group in operation for less than two
years must provide or raise a $1 match for every $1
of state funds provided by the grant, including the
value of in-kind services, supplies, or equipment.

The grant recipient must annually report to the
Governor;the Directorofthe DepartmentofEconomic
Development; the Committee on Commerce,

Consumer Protection and the Environment of the
Senate; the Committee on Economic Development
of the House of Representatives; and any successor
committees on the allocation of the grants and the
purposes for which the funding was used.

HCS HB 1523 -- ENDOWMENT FUNDS

This bill changes the laws regarding the guidelines
forthe management, investment, and expenditures of
endowment funds held by charitable institutions and
other entities holding funds for charitable purposes.
Currently, an endowment fund of permanent duration
is created when a gift instrument uses the term
“‘income,” “interest,” “dividends,” or “rents, issues, or
profits,” or “to preserve the principal intact” or words
of that import. The bill specifies that an endowment
fund of permanent duration is created when a gift
instrument uses any of those term or words of
similar import.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

CCS SCS HB 1553 -- POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding political
subdivisions. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Adds Christian County to the list of counties
that are not required to obtain bids on purchases of
$6,000 or less (Section 50.660, RSMo);

(2) Adds Christian County to the counties that must
advertise and post notice of proposed purchases
where the estimated expenditure is $6,000 or more
(Section 50.783);

(3) Changes, from December 31, 2019, to
December 31, 2024, the expiration date of the
provisions requiring a builder of one- or two-family
dwellings to offer a purchaser the option to have fire
sprinklers installed at the purchaser’s cost (Section
67.281);

(4) Exempts specified voluntary annexations
from boundary commission review in St. Louis
County. The annexation cannot be prohibited by the
existence of an established unincorporated area
(Section 72.401);

(5) Authorizes the cities of Columbia, Springfield,
Independence, and St. Louis to enact specified
ordinances that carry a penalty of up to a $1,000
fine, up to one year in prison, or both as the City of
Kansas City is currently authorized to do (Section
82.300);

(6) Changes the Ilaws regarding nuisance
ordinances and actions in specified counties and
cities by:
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(a) Specifying that a parcel of property is a
nuisance if it adversely affects the value of any
property within a neighborhood and adds failure to
reasonably maintain the property or a violation of a
county or municipal building ordinance to the list of
actions by the owner of the parcel that determine it
to be a nuisance. Currently, a parcel is a nuisance
if it adversely affects the property values of a
neighborhood due to specified reasons, including
neglect or violation of a county or municipal building
code or standard;

(b) Allowing only a property owner who lives within
1,200 feet of an alleged nuisance property to bring
a nuisance action against the owner of the property.
Currently, any person who owns property within a
reasonable distance from the nuisance property
may bring an action;

(c) Specifying that anyone who owns property
within 1,200 feet of a property that is alleged to
be a nuisance or a neighborhood organization on
behalf of any individual who owns property within
the boundaries of the organization and who could
maintain a nuisance action or on its own behalf with
respect to a nuisance on property anywhere within
the boundaries of the organization may also bring
an action for injunctive relief. Currently, a nuisance
action for injunctive relief may only be brought by
a neighborhood organization representing any
individual who could maintain a nuisance action.
An action cannot be brought until 60 days after the
party who brings the action has sent written notice
of intent to bring an action to the tenant and the
property owner of record that includes specified
information. When a neighborhood organization
files a suit, an officer of the organization or its
counsel must certify specified facts to the court;

(d) Adding a neighborhood organization in
the City of St. Louis to the provisions allowing a
neighborhood association in the City of Kansas
City to bring a nuisance action. The bill revises the
notice requirements for the action;

(e) Allowing a neighborhood organization in St.
Louis City or Kansas City to seek injunctive relief
on behalf of an owner or resident of property that
is within 1,200 feet of a property on which there
is a condition or activity constituting a code or
ordinance violation in the neighborhood described
in the articles of incorporation or the bylaws of the
organization or on its own behalf with respect to a
code or ordinance violation on property anywhere
within the boundaries of the neighborhood. Currently,
only a neighborhood organization representing
persons aggrieved by a local code violation in the
City of Kansas City may seek injunctive relief;

(f) Repealing the current prohibition on a nuisance
action being brought against an owner of residential
rental property by a neighborhood organization
unless the appropriate municipal code enforcement
agency has issued a nuisance violation notice
and it remains outstanding for at least 45 days
and specifying that any action may not be brought
unless the notice of violation has been pending for
more than 45 days and the condition or activity that
gave rise to the violation has not been abated;

(g) Prohibiting a neighborhood organization from
bringing a nuisance action if the organization or any
of its directors own real estate or have an interest in
a trust, corporation, or other limited liability company
that owns real estate in the city or county in which
the nuisance property is located;

(h) Specifying that a copy of the notice of citation
issued by the city that shows the date the citation
was issued must be prima facie evidence of whether
and for how long a citation has been pending against
the property or the property owner; and

(i) Repealing a provision specifying that specific
provisions must not be construed as to grant
standing for a nuisance action in the City of Kansas
City in which the alleged nuisance action consists of
an interior physical defect of a property or involving
a violation of municipal alcoholic beverages laws
(Sections 82.1025 - 82.1030);

(7) Changes the provisions regarding the public
safety sales tax in the City of Springfield. Currently,
every five years the City of Springfield must submit
to the voters the question of whether to repeal its
public safety sales tax. The bill modifies the ballot
language so that the question will be whether to
continue the tax. Failure by the voters to approve
continuation will result in a repeal of the tax (Section
94.579);

(8) Limits the authority of any municipality in Boone
County to override a negative recommendation of
its TIF commission to include only a redevelopment
plan project, designation, or amendment in which
the economic activity taxes and payments in lieu of
taxes generated do not exceed the costs associated
with the demolition of buildings and the clearing and
grading of land (Sections 99.805 and 99.825);

(9) Requires any correspondence by the St.
Louis County Assessor with a taxpayer to include
in bold, 14-point font a statement that disclosure
of the information requested is voluntary and not
required by law and that any information disclosed
may become public record. This requirement does
not apply to a request for information regarding
the required listing of property or listing of lessees
(Section 137.133);



38 SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

(10) Updates the description of the City of
Springfield in the provision regarding the election of
school district directors (Section 162.481);

(11) Adds Saline County to the list of counties
within which the board of directors of a public
library district may, by majority vote, impose a sales
tax not to exceed one-half of one cent on all retail
sales for the purpose of funding the operation and
maintenance of public libraries within the boundaries
of the district. The tax will not become effective
unless approved by a majority of the voters of the
district (Section 182.802);

(12) Specifies that the directors of any industrial
development corporation formed by a municipality
in St. Francois County may be taxpayers and
registered voters in the county (Section 349.045);

(13) Prohibits the provisions requiring every
judge to examine and superintend court records
from being construed to permit the adoption of any
local court rule that grants a judge the discretion to
remove or direct the removal of any pleading, file,
or communication from a court file or record without
notification to the parties and providing the parties
an opportunity to respond (Section 483.140); and

(14) Prohibits a nuisance action for deteriorated
property from being brought if the owner of the
property that is the subject of the action is in good
faith compliance with any order issued by the
Department of Natural Resources, the United States
Environmental Protection Agency, or the Office of
the Missouri Attorney General (Section 1).

SCS HB 1594 -- VOLUNTEER LABOR ON PUBLIC
WORKS PROJECTS

This bill specifies that a workman on a public
works project who agrees in writing to volunteer his
or her labor without pay as defined in the bill must
not be deemed to be employed on the project and
is not entitled to the prevailing hourly rate of wages.
An employer may not force, compel, or intimidate
an employee into performing work as a volunteer
for which the employee otherwise would be paid a
prevailing wage.

HB 1602 -- CONVEYANCE IN
ST. FRANCOIS COUNTY

This bill authorizes the Governor to convey certain
state property located in St. Francois County to the
City of Farmington.

HB 1603 -- OFFICIAL STATE EXERCISE

This bill designates the exercise commonly known
as jumping jacks, which was invented by Missouri-
born General John J. Pershing as a drill exercise for
cadets, as the official state exercise.

SCS HCS HB 1614 -- BRYCE’S LAW

This bill adds dyslexia to the list of conditions that
are considered qualifying needs for the purposes
of Bryce’s Law which requires the Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education to develop a
master list of resources available to the parents of
children with an autism spectrum disorder and to
actively seek financial resources for scholarships
to eligible children to attend a qualified school or
for a clinical trial for behavioral interventions. The
bill adds an individual with national certification as
an academic language therapist to the definition of
“qualified service provider.”

Beginning in school year 2016-2017, the
Commissioner of Education within the department
may adjust the allocation of the proportion of
scholarships between autism and the other
qualifying special needs using information based
on unmet need and use patterns from the previous
school years. The commissioner must notify the
State Board of Education of any changes for its
approval. A student with dyslexia may become
eligible for a scholarship based on a medical or
clinical diagnosis based on the C-TOPP assessment
as an initial indicator of dyslexia and confirmed by
further medical or clinical diagnosis.

SCS HCS HB 1631 -- AIR CONSERVATION
COMMISSION

This bill requires the Air Conservation Commission
to develop emission standards through a unit-by-
unit analysis of each carbon dioxide generation
plant within the state regardless of the number of
turbines at each plant site.

In developing and implementing the emission
standards for each existing source of carbon
dioxide, the commission must consider, among
other factors, the remaining useful life of the existing
source to which the standard applies, consistent
with specified federal regulations.

The commission must consider, consistent with
its statutory duties to achieve the prevention,
abatement, and control of air pollution by all
commercially available and economically feasible
methods, the overall economic impact from any and
all emission standards and compliance schedules
developed and implemented under specified federal
regulations.

The commission may develop, on a unit-by-unit
basis for individual existing sources and emissions of
carbon dioxide at these existing sources, consistent
with federal regulation, emission standards that
are less stringent, but not more stringent, than
applicable federal emission guidelines or longer
compliance schedules than those required by
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federal regulations. This determination must be
based on:

(1) Unreasonable cost of control resulting from
plant age, location, or basic process design;

(2) Physical impossibility of installing necessary
control equipment; or

(3) Other factors specific to the existing source or
class of existing sources that make application of
a less stringent standard or final compliance time
significantly more reasonable.

If any provision of the bill or the application thereof
to any individual or circumstance is held invalid,
the invalidity must not affect other provisions or
applications of the bill that can be given effect
without the invalid provision or application and to this
end these provisions are declared to be severable.

HB 1651 -- ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES

This bill allows a member of a rural electric
cooperative to participate in meetings electronically
or by mail for the purpose of forming quorums and
for voting if the cooperative’s bylaws allow it.

HB 1656 -- ANATOMICAL GIFTS

This bill specifies that if an anatomical gift is
medically unsuitable for transplantation or therapy,
the gift may be used for research, education, or
pass to an appropriate procurement organization.
Currently, the provision specifies that if the gift is
medically unsuitable for transportation, it may be
used for the specified activities.

CCS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 --
ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

This bill changes the
administration of justice.

laws regarding the

DEPUTY SHERIFFS (Sections 57.015 - 57.250,
RSMo)

The bill specifies that a limited definition of
“deputy sheriff” only applies to a provision regarding
the dismissal proceedings for a deputy sheriff.
Specified provisions regarding the ability of a sheriff
to discharge a deputy sheriff are amended to refer
to the limited definition of deputy sheriff.

CRIMINAL RECORD INFORMATION
(Section 407.1150)

The bill specifies that it must be unlawful for any
person engaged in publishing or disseminating
criminal record information through a print or
electronic medium to solicit or accept a fee or other
consideration from the subject individual to remove
or correct criminal record information. A person who

knowingly and willfully violates these provisions will
be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

Any individual who suffers aloss orharm as a result
of a violation of these provisions may be awarded
an amount equal to $10,000 or actual and punitive
damages, whichever is greater, and reasonable
attorney fees, court costs, and any other remedies
provided by law. Humiliation or embarrassment must
be adequate to show that the plaintiff has incurred
damages; however, no physical manifestation of
either humiliation or embarrassment is necessary
for damages to be shown.

COURT RECORDS (Section 483.140)

The provisions requiring every judge to examine
and superintend courtrecords must not be construed
to permit the adoption of any local court rule that
grants a judge the discretion to remove or direct
the removal of any pleading, file, or communication
from a court file or record without notification to
the parties and providing them an opportunity to
respond.

POWER TO ARREST (Section 544.216)

Currently, a law enforcement officer may arrest on
view, and without a warrant, any person the officer
sees violating or who the officer has reasonable
grounds to believe has violated any law of this
state or any ordinance over which the officer has
jurisdiction. The bill clarifies that a law enforcement
officer may only arrest a person without a warrant
for a violation of any ordinance or law over which
the officer has jurisdiction.

EXPUNGEMENT OF ARREST RECORDS
(Sections 610.120 and 610.122)

The bill allows an individual’'s record of arrest
to be expunged under Section 43.503 if the court
determines the individual was arrested for, or was
subsequently charged with, a misdemeanor offense
under Chapter 303 or any moving violation under
Section 302.010 except for any intoxication-related
traffic offense and:

(1) Each offense or violation related to the arrest
was subsequently nolle prossed or dismissed or the
accused was found not guilty of each offense or
violation; and

(2) The person does not have a commercial
driver’s license and was not operating a commercial
motor vehicle at the time of the arrest.

A record of arrest must only be eligible for
expungement if the subject of the arrest has no prior
or subsequent misdemeanor or felony convictions
and no civil action is pending relating to the arrest
or the records sought to be expunged.
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ENTRY OF APPEARANCE (Section 1)

The bill requires all courts that process documents
via mandatory e-filing to accept, file, and docket a
notice of entry of appearance filed by an attorney
in a criminal case if the filing document is no longer
than one page and was sent by fax or regular mail.
These provisions will expire on December 31, 2016.

CCS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- INVESTIGATIONAL
DRUGS

Thisbillallows, butdoes notrequire, amanufacturer
of an investigational drug, biological product,
or device to make the drug, product, or device
available to an eligible patient who has a terminal
illness, has considered all other treatment options
currently approved by the United States Food and
Drug Administration, has received a prescription or
recommendation from his or her physician, and has
given his or her written informed consent for the use
of the drug, product, or device.

A manufacturer may:

(1) Provide an investigational drug, biological
product, or device to an eligible patient without
receiving compensation; or

(2) Require an eligible patient to pay the costs
of or associated with the manufacture of the drug,
product, or device.

These provisions do not require a health care
insurer or the Department of Corrections to provide
coverage for the cost of any investigational drug,
biological product, or device but a health care
insurer may provide the coverage.

A state agency or regulatory board cannot revoke,
fail to renew, or take any other action against a
physician’slicense issued under Chapter 334, RSMo,
based solely on the physician’s recommendation
to an eligible patient regarding prescription for or
treatment with an investigational drug, biological
product, or device. Action against a health care
provider’s Medicare certification based solely on his
or her recommendation that a patient have access
to a drug, product, or device is prohibited.

These provisions contain a severability clause
and if a provision or its application to any person or
circumstance is held invalid, the invalidity does not
affect the other provisions or applications.

If the clinical trial is closed due to the lack of
efficacy or toxicity, the drug must not be offered.
If notice is given on a drug, product, or device
taken by a patient outside of a clinical trial, the
pharmaceutical company or patient’s physician
must notify the patient of the information from the
safety committee of the clinical trial.

Except in the case of gross negligence or willful
misconduct, any person who manufactures, imports,
distributes, prescribes, dispenses, or administers an
investigational drug or device to an eligible patient
must not be liable in any action under state law for
any loss, damage, or injury arising out of, relating
to, or resulting from:

(1) The design, development clinical testing and
investigation, manufacturing, labeling, distribution,
sale, purchase, donation, dispensing, prescription,
administration, or use of the drug or devise; or

(2) The safety or effectiveness of the drug or
device.

SCS HCS HB 1689 -- ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

The bill changes the laws regarding elementary
and secondary education.

EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION (Sections 160.053
- 163.055 and 163.018, RSMo)

If a school district operates a prekindergarten
program, a child will be eligible for admission only if
the child has reached the age of three before August
1 of the school year beginning in that calendar year.

Students between the ages of three and five
who are eligible for free and reduced lunch and
attend an early childhood education program that is
operated by and in a district or by a charter school
that has declared itself as a local educational
agency providing full-day kindergarten and that
meets standards established by the State Board of
Education must be included in the district’s or charter
school’s calculation of average daily attendance
used in determining its state funding through the
school foundation formula. The total number of
three and five year olds included in the district’s
or charter school’s calculation of average daily
attendance must not exceed 4% of the total number
of pupils who are eligible for free and reduced
lunch between ages three and 18 who are included
in its average daily attendance. This provision will
become applicable in the 2015-2016 school year
for districts that have been declared unaccredited
and remain unaccredited as of July 1, 2015. For
any district that becomes unaccredited after July 1,
2015, this provision will be applicable immediately
upon the loss of accreditation. For any district that
becomes provisionally accredited after July 1, 2016,
this provision will become applicable beginning in
the 2016-2017 school year or immediately upon the
declaration of provisionally accredited, whichever
occurs later. For all other districts, this provision
must become effective in the school year after the
school year in which the foundation formula is fully



SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014 4

funded and will remain in effect in any succeeding
year, no matter what level of funding is provided.
These provisions do not require school attendance
beyond whatis required under the state’s compulsory
attendance law and do not change the provisions
regarding kindergarten attendance age.

FUNDING FORMULA (Sections 163.011 and 163.031)

If a school district participates in the United
States Department of Agriculture’s Community
Eligibility Option, the calculation used to determine
free and reduced lunch pupil count is changed to
the percentage of free and reduced lunch students
calculated as eligible on the last Wednesday in
January of the most recent school year that included
household applications multiplied by the district’s
average daily attendance figure.

Currently, the calculation of local effort uses a
school district’s assessed valuation figure from
2004. When a change in a school district’s boundary
lines occurs, the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education must adjust the affected
district’s local effort calculation based on the land
area adjustments from the boundary line change
using 2004 assessed valuation data.

Currently, any district that has met all of the
performance standards and indicators in the
Missouri School Improvement Program is considered
a performance district for purposes of calculating
state aid. Beginning in Fiscal Year 2019, the number
of performance districts cannot exceed 25% of all
school districts.

Current law allows the state adequacy target to be
adjusted to accommodate available appropriations
beginning on July 1, 2012, which was the completion
date of the phase-in of the formula. This adjustment
method is modified so that it is used to modify
state aid payments to formula districts when the
formula appropriation is not fully funded. Payments
to hold-harmless districts must not be modified.
Provisions regarding the adjustment of the state
adequacy target during the phase-in of the formula
are repealed. The department must adjust the state
adequacy target to accommodate the appropriation
level if the amount of funding appropriated for the
foundation formula is not sufficient to fully fund all
school districts.

The bill becomes effective July 1, 2015.

SCS HB 1692 -- PUBLIC UTILITY DISTRICTS

This bill repeals the provision allowing a person
who is not a voter or resident of the district to be
a member of a public water supply district board
if he or she has received service from the district
at his or her primary place of residence one year

immediately prior to his or her election and requires
all members of a public water supply district board
to be voters who have resided in the district for one
year immediately prior to the election.

A sewer district created and organized under
Chapter 249, RSMo, is allowed to impose a fee of up
to $36 per year for a lateral sewer service line repair
program upon approval by a majority of voters in
the district and the adoption of a resolution by the
sewer district’s board of trustees. Rules for charging
the fee to condominium units are specified in the
bill. The fee cannot be imposed in any city, town,
village, or the unincorporated area of a county that
has already approved a fee for a sewer line repair
program. Voters in the municipalities that already
have the program are not eligible to vote on the
question of whether the sewer district can impose
the fee. The county collector is allowed to add the
lateral sewer service fee to property tax bills.

If a city, town, village, or county imposed a fee for
a lateral sewer line repair program but later rescinds
it, the sewer district may submit the question to the
registered voters owning property within the sewer
district on whether to impose the fee.

HB 1693 -- UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

This bill changes the laws regarding unclaimed
property. A United States savings bond in
possession of the State Treasurer or with an owner
whose last known address is located in Missouri
must be deemed abandoned when it has remained
unclaimed for more than three years after its
maturity date and must escheat to the state three
years after abandonment. At least 180 days after
the bond escheats to the state, the State Treasurer
must bring a civil action to confirm that the bond
must escheat to the state. The State Treasurer
must retain a record of the name and, if known,
the last known address of each person named on
the savings bond that has escheated to the State
of Missouri and which has been redeemed by the
State Treasurer.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

CCS SS HB 1707 -- OPERATION OF MOTOR
VEHICLES

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding the operation
of motor vehicles.

COMMUNITY COLLEGE TRAFFIC CONTROL
(Sections 174.709, 174.712, and 178.862, RSMo)

The board of trustees of any community college
district may establish regulations to control vehicular
traffic on any thoroughfare owned or maintained by
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the district and college police officers also must
have authority to establish and enforce regulations
to control vehicular traffic and enforce general
motor vehicle laws of this state on any thoroughfare
owned or maintained by the district. Any regulations
established must be codified, printed, and distributed
for public use.

A college police officer must have completed the
peace officer training required under Chapter 590
or by virtue of previous experience or other training
have met those requirements prior to employment
and repeals the provision allowing a college police
officer to complete the training within six months of
being hired.

TOWING COMPANY OPERATIONS
(Section 304.154)

Beginning January 1, 2015, a towing company
operating a tow truck as in Sections 304.155 or
304.157 with the exception of a towing company
located in specified counties must also display a
verifiable business address in a location visible
from the street; have a fenced, secure, and
lighted storage lot or an enclosed, secure building
with a total area for storing vehicles of at least
2,000 square feet and any fenced area must be a
minimum of seven feet high; maintain an operational
telephone with the telephone number published or
available through directory assistance; have a valid
insurance policy as prescribed by the United States
Department of Transportation; and keep any initial
tow performed under Sections 304.155 and 304.157
in the State of Missouri unless authorized by the
vehicle owner or their agents. Except in Kansas
City, a tow performed under Section 304.155 must
not be dispatched through a third-party dispatch
system or management company unless hired by
the towing company.

The bill adds Franklin County to the counties
exempt from these provisions.

TRAIN CREW MEMBER IDENTIFICATION
(Section 389.065)

An engineer, conductor, brakeman, or any other
member of the crew of a locomotive or train being
operated upon rails, including operation on a railroad
crossing over a public street, road, or highway,
must not be required to display a driver’s license to
any law enforcement officer in connection with the
operation of a locomotive or train within this state.

EXPUNGEMENT OF ARREST RECORDS
(Section 610.122)

The bill allows an individual’s record of arrest
to be expunged under Section 43.503 if the court
determines the individual was arrested for, or was

subsequently charged with, a misdemeanor offense
under Chapter 303 or any moving violation under
Section 302.010 except for any intoxication-related
traffic offense and:

(1) Each offense or violation related to the arrest
was subsequently nolle prossed or dismissed or the
accused was found not guilty of each offense or
violation; and

(2) The person does not have a commercial
driver’s license and was not operating a commercial
motor vehicle at the time of the arrest.

A record of arrest must only be eligible for
expungement if the subject of the arrest has no prior
or subsequent misdemeanor or felony convictions
and no civil action is pending relating to the arrest
or the records sought to be expunged.

FUNERAL PROCESSIONS (Section 300.320)

The bill repeals the provisions requiring a funeral
procession to be identified by the display of a
pennant or other identifying insignia on each vehicle.

HCS HB 1710 -- MISSOURI NATIONAL GUARD
FOUNDATION FUND

This bill authorizes, for all years beginning on or
after January 1, 2014, each individual or corporation
that is entitled to a tax refund to designate a
portion or all of the refund amount due to the newly
created Missouri National Guard Foundation Fund.
The minimum designation must be $1 on a single
return and $2 on a combined return. If an individual
or corporation is not entitled to a tax refund, a
contribution can be sent by a separate check or
draft designated for the fund. Moneys collected
under these provisions must be used solely, upon
appropriation, for the administration of the Missouri
National Guard Foundation.

The provisions of the bill will expire December 31,
2020.

HB 1724 -- MISSOURI MILITARY FAMILY RELIEF
FUND

Currently, the Adjutant General is authorized
to make, subject to appropriation and upon the
recommendation of a specified panel, grants from
the Missouri Military Family Relief Fund to families of
persons who are members of the Missouri National
Guard or Missouri residents who are members of
the reserves of the Armed Forces of the United
States and have been called to active duty as a
result of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks.
This bill authorizes, subject to appropriation and
upon the recommendation, the Adjutant General to
make grants or provide other financial assistance or
services from the fund to the family of any person



SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014 43

who is a member of the Missouri National Guard or
a Missouri resident who is a member of the reserves
of the Armed Forces of the United States.

SS SCS HCS HBs 1735 & 1618 -- SALE OF
MOTORCYCLES AND SPECIFIED MOTORIZED
VEHICLES ON SUNDAYS

Currently, a business that sells motor vehicles
cannot be open on Sunday in Missouri. This bill
creates an exception for the sale on Sundays of
motorcycles, motortricycles, motorized bicycles, all-
terrain vehicles, recreational off-highway vehicles,
utility vehicles, personal watercraft, or other
motorized vehicles sold by powersports dealers.

The dealer of one of these vehicles must not be
subject to criminal penalties for the sale of one of
these vehicles on a Sunday.

The bill modifies the following definitions:

(1) In “all-terrain vehicle,” the requirements that
the vehicle have a seat designed to be straddled by
the operator or with a seat designed to carry more
than one person and handlebars for steering control
are removed,

(2) In “recreational off-highway vehicle,” the
allowable width is changed from 64 inches or less
to more than 50 inches but no more than 67 inches
and the requirement that it have a nonstraddle seat
and steering wheel are removed; and

(3) In *utility vehicle,” the allowable width is
changed from 63 inches or less to more than 50
inches but no more than 67 inches and the allowable
weight of the utility vehicle is increased from 1,850
pounds to 2,000 pounds or less.

The bill specifies that the purchaser of a used
all-terrain vehicle after August 28, 2014, which was
classified as a utility or recreational off-highway
vehicle prior to August 28, 2014, may present a
notarized bill of sale as evidence of lawful ownership
for purposes of applying for a title when a certificate
of title has not previously been issued.

SCS HCS HB 1779 -- ADVANCED PRACTICE
REGISTERED NURSES

Currently, physical or chemical restraints, isolation,
or seclusion cannot be used on a patient, resident,
or client of a mental health facility or mental health
program unless it is determined by the head of the
facility or the attending licensed physician that it is
necessary to protect the health and safety of the
individual or others and that it provides the least
restrictive environment. This bill allows an order to
also be made by an advanced practice registered
nurse in a collaborative practice arrangement with

the attending licensed physician. If the advanced
practice registered nurse orders the use of restraints,
isolation, or seclusion, it must be reviewed in person
by the attending licensed physician if the episode of
restraint extends beyond a four-hour duration for a
person under 18 years of age, beyond an eight-hour
duration for a person 18 years of age or older, or
for any total length of restraint lasting more than a
four-hour duration in a 24-hour period in the case
of a person under 18 years of age or beyond an
eight-hour duration in the case of a person over 18
years of age in a 24-hour period. The review must
occur prior to the time limit specified and must be
documented by the licensed physician in the clinical
record of the patient, resident, or client.

Depending on the circumstances under which
an individual is committed to the facility, a security
escort device may be used when an individual is
transported outside a mental health facility based
on the determination of the head of the facility or the
attending licensed physician. These provisions allow
a determination to also be made by the advanced
practice registered nurse in a collaborative practice
arrangement with the attending licensed physician.

Any order issued by the advanced practice
registered nurse under these provisions must
be reviewed in person by the attending licensed
physician of the facility within 24 hours or the next
regular working day of the order being issued, and
the review must be documented in the clinical record
of the patient, resident, or client.

The bill prohibits the use of restraint or seclusion
in habilitation centers or community programs
that serve persons with developmental disabilities
that are operated or funded by the Division of
Developmental Disabilities within the Department of
Mental Health unless the procedure is part of an
emergency intervention system approved by the
division and is identified in the person’s individual
support plan. Direct care staff who serve persons
with developmental disabilities in habilitation
centers or community programs operated or funded
by the division must be trained in an emergency
intervention system approved by the division when
the emergency intervention system is identified in a
consumer’s individual support plan.

SCS HB 1791 -- CONVEYANCE OF STATE
PROPERTY

This bill authorizes the Governor to convey
specified state properties located in the counties of
Buchanan, Gentry, Greene, Jackson, Marion, Pettis,
Scott, St. Francois, St. Louis, and Vernon and the
City of St. Louis.
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The Governor is authorized to convey a road and
utility easement over, on, and under property at
the New Dawn State School in Scott County to the
Sikeston R-6 School District.

CCS SCS HCS HB 1831 -- CHILD CARE FACILITIES

This bill changes the laws regarding the rules and
requirements of the Department of Social Services
for child-care providers who receive state or federal
funds for providing fee assistance for these services.
The department must:

(1) Establish publicly available website access to
provider-specific information about any health and
safety licensing or regulatory requirements for the
providers including dates of inspections, history of
violations, and compliance actions taken as well as
specified consumer education information;

(2) Establish or designate a hotline for parents to
submit complaints about child-care providers;

(3) Establish minimum requirements for building
and physical premises. A child-care provider must
meet the minimum requirements prior to receiving
federal assistance;

(4) Establish necessary and reasonable rules
and regulations to define pre-service training
requirements for child care providers pursuant to
applicable federal laws and regulations;

(5) Establish procedures for conducting
unscheduled on-site monitoring of a child-care
provider prior to receiving state or federal funds
for providing child care services either by direct
payment or through reimbursement to a child care
beneficiary and annually thereafter;

(6) Require providers who receive assistance
under applicable federal regulations and statutes to
report any serious injuries or the death of children
occurring in child care to the department; and

(7) Establish a transparent system of quality
indicators appropriate to the provider setting that
provides parents with a way to differentiate between
child care providers available in their communities as
required by federal rules. The system must describe
the standards used to assess the quality of providers
and indicate whether the provider meets the state’s
registration or licensing standards, is in compliance
with applicable health and safety requirements, and
the nature of any violations related to registration or
licensing requirements. The system must indicate if
the provider utilizes curricula and if the provider is
in compliance with staff educational requirements.

These provisions
as authorizing the

must not be construed
operation, establishment,

maintenance, or mandating or offering of incentives
to participate in a quality rating system under
Section 161.216, RSMo.

The bill specifies that children who are related to
the member responsible for the daily operation of
an in-home licensed child care facility organized
as a business entity in this state and who meet the
requirements of the child care provider must qualify
for the exemption for related children. If more than
one member of the business entity is responsible for
the daily operation of the facility, the exemption can
only be granted for children who are related to one
of the members.

The bill requires each in-home child care facility
to disclose its licensure status and provide a written
explanation of the facility’s disciplinary philosophy
and policies to the parents or guardians enrolling
children in the facility.

The provisions of the bill regarding child-care
providers receiving state or federal funds for
providing fee assistance will become effective upon
the Department of Health and Senior Services
providing notice to the Revisor of Statutes that the
implementation of federal regulations mandating
the provisions has occurred.

HB 1835 -- BLIND PENSION BENEFITS

This bill specifies that individuals who have been
deemed by specified medical professionals to have
no usable vision must be exempt from the five-year
re-examination requirement in order to continue to
be eligible to receive blind pension benefits.

SS SCS HB 1865 -- TAXATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)

Currently, in determining what portion of a
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the
business may use a method whereby the ratio of
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net
income. A method for determining whether sales
of tangible property are to be considered instate is
already established in current law. This bill specifies
a process for all other sales.

For sales of real property or rentals of tangible
personal property, the portion of the property
sold or rented that is located in this state must be
considered an instate sale. For sales of service, the
portion of the benefits delivered to purchasers in
this state must be considered an instate sale.

For rentals or licenses of intangible property, the
portion used in this state by the rentee or licensee
must be considered an instate sale. Intangible
property used for marketing must be considered
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used in this state if the good or service being
marketed is purchased by a consumer in this state.
Franchise fees or royalties for intangible property
must be considered used in this state if the franchise
is located in this state.

For sales of intangible property, the portion of the
sale used in this state must be considered an instate
sale. If the sale is for the right to conduct business
activity in a certain geographic area, the sale must
be considered instate if the geographic area is in this
state. If receipts for sales of intangible property are
dependent on use or productivity, the sale must be
considered a lease or rental of intangible property.
All sales of intangible property other than the right
to conduct business in a specific area or sales with
receipts contingent on productivity or use must be
excluded from the sales factor when determining
corporate income tax.

If it cannot be determined or reasonably
approximated that a sale occurs in this state, the
sale must be excluded from the sales factor for
corporate income taxation.

The bill authorizes a state sales and use tax
exemption for electricity, water, gas, coal, other
energy sources or other utilities used or consumed
in the manufacturing, processing, preparing,
furnishing, compounding, or producing of food that
is ultimately sold to customers for consumption on
or off the premises at a restaurant, cafeteria, fast
food restaurant, delicatessen, bakery, grocery store,
convenience store, or other similar facility engaged
in selling prepared food or that is used in research
and development related to the activities.

SCS HB 1866 -- HIGHWAY AND BRIDGE
DESIGNATIONS

This bill authorizes the following highway and
bridge designations:

(1) The portion of State Route U from the
intersection of State Route M to the intersection of
Province Road in Washington County as the “SGM
Patrick R. Hurley Memorial Highway”;

(2) The portion of State Route U from the
intersection of Province Road to the intersection
of State Highway 8 in Washington County as the
“Thomas Wesley Benoist Memorial Highway”;

(3) The bridge on State Highway 5 crossing over
Interstate 44 in Laclede County as the “James R.
Ledbetter Memorial Bridge”;

(4) The bridge on Missouri Route N over the
Meramec River in Franklin County as the “Marc
Perez Memorial Bridge”;

(5) The bridge on State Highway 185 crossing
over Interstate 44 in Franklin County as the “James
K. Schatz Memorial Bridge”;

(6) The portion of Interstate Highway 49 in Newton
County from the intersection of State Highway 60 to
the Newton-McDonald County line as the “James B.
Tatum Highway”;

(7) The portion of Interstate 55 in St. Louis County
and Jefferson County between Meramec Bottom
Road and State Highway 141 as the “Police Officer
Steven Jarvis Memorial Highway”;

(8) The portion of U.S. Highway 54 in Cole County
from the intersection of Hammann Drive to one mile
south of the intersection as the “Billy Dean Robinett
Memorial Highway”;

(9) The bridge on East Stadium Drive crossing
over Interstate 435 in Jackson County as the “Len
Dawson Bridge”;

(10) The portion of U.S. Highway 60 from the
intersection of State Route O to the intersection
of State Highway 5 in Wright County as the “Spc.
Justin Blake Carter Memorial Highway for Life”;

(11) The bridge on U.S. Highway 160 crossing over
Lick Creek in Ozark County as the “Barney Douglas
(The Citizen) Memorial Bridge”;

(12) The portion of U.S. Highway 54 from the
intersection of County Road 557 to the intersection
of County Road 577 in Audrain County as the
“Officer Orville Rosenstengel Memorial Highway”;
and

(13) The portion of U.S. Highway 54 from the
Kansas/Missouri state line east to the Missouri/
lllinois state line as the “Discover More on Route
54” Highway.

The Department of Transportation must erect and
maintain the appropriate signs for the designations
with the costs to be paid for by private donations.

SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- UNDERGROUND
FACILITY SAFETY

This bill changes the laws regarding underground
facility safety. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Revises the definition of “excavation” to make
technical changes and specifies that, for railroads
regulated by the Federal Railroad Administration,
“excavation” must not include any excavating done
entirely on land the railroad owns or on which
it operates or, in the event of an emergency, on
excavating done by a railroad on adjacent land.
Excavation does not include agricultural activities
such as tilling 16 inches or less in depth;
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(2) Revises the definition of “marking” from the
use of paint, flags, stakes, and other identifying
materials in accordance with the color code
standard of the American Public Works Association
to in accordance with the marking standards as
designated by the Common Ground Alliance best
practices version 10.0 except that “approximate
location” must comply with specified requirements;

(3) Revises the definition of “notification center” to
a statewide organization in operation at all times on
a not-for-profit basis supported by a majority of the
underground facility owners in Missouri;

(4) Revises the definition of “pipeline facility” to all
parts of a facility through which a hazardous liquid
or gas moves in transportation;

(5) Revises the definition of “underground facility”
to specify that a structure that transports storm water
drainage under roadways, driveways, or railways
must not be considered an underground facility;

(6) Requires all underground facility owners in
the state to maintain participation in a notification
center during the time he or she owns and operates
an underground facility. The notification center must
be governed by a board of directors elected from
all members with representatives from the general
membership group;

(7) Repeals obsolete provisions regarding
membership in the notification center by owners
and operators in specified counties;

(8) Repeals the provision requiring an owner who
has a written policy on determining the location
of its underground facilities to make it available,
upon request, to any notification participant and
the provision requiring an excavator to provide
clarification of an area if the owner or operator
notifies the excavator that the area cannot be
determined from the description provided by the
excavator through the required notice;

(9) Requires an excavator to notify the underground
facility owner, instead of the notification center
participant, if the excavator discovers that the
owner or operator has incorrectly located the
facility. The owner must respond to an incorrect
locate notification within two hours of receipt of the
notification by contacting the person responsible
for the excavation or by correctly locating the
underground facility. If an excavator is unable to
begin the excavation within 10 working days as
described in the request, the excavator must make
a relocate request before beginning the excavation.
These provisions cannot allow any person other
than the facility owner or his or her representative
to mark or relocate any underground facility;

(10) Requires the excavator, prior to commencing
work, to determine best practices for confirming
the horizontal and vertical location of facilities at
the site of excavation considering conditions at
the site including geology, access to the site, and
the presence of paved surfaces. Hand digging or
soft digging must be used as a best practice when
possible;

(11) Requires the person responsible for the
excavation operations to notify the notification
center in the event of any damage, dislocation, or
disturbance of any underground facility in connection
with any excavation. This provision must be deemed
to require the reporting of any damage, dislocation,
or disturbance to trace wires, encasements, cathode
protection, permanent above-ground stakes, or
other items utilized for protection of the underground
facility. The excavator must immediately contact 911
when any damage or contact with a pipeline results
in a release from the pipeline of hazardous liquid
or gas. In the event of any damage, dislocation,
or disturbance to any underground facility or any
protective devices required to be reported by the
excavator, the person responsible for the excavation
operations cannot conceal or attempt to conceal the
damage, dislocation, or disturbance nor can that
person attempt to make repairs to the facility unless
authorized by the underground facility owner. In
the case of sewer lines or facilities, emergency
temporary repairs may be made by the excavator
after notification without the owner’s or operator’s
authorization to prevent further damage to the
facilities. The emergency repairs cannot relieve
the excavator of the responsibility to make the
notification;

(12) Requires, no later than April 1, 2015, and each
year thereafter, each underground facility owner
who owns or operates an electric, gas, or pipeline
facility to submit to a central repository designated
by the notification center a report of damages
experienced by its facilities for the prior year. The
notification center must determine the minimum
information to be reported. All data submitted
must be aggregated and anonymous. Information
provided by the underground facility owner specific
to damage data submitted must be accessible only
to the underground facility owner unless otherwise
designated by the underground facility owner;

(13) Requires an underground facility owner
to mark the location of a facility within five days
of receiving a design request if the facility owner
and the person making the request are unable to
mutually agree on a schedule;

(14) Prohibits the start of any excavation earlier
than the scheduled excavation date provided on the
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locate request unless the excavator has confirmed
that all underground facilities have been located;

(15) Requires, after December 31, 2014, each
underground facility owner receiving notifications
from the notification center by use of the Internet
to use the locate status system provided by the
notification center. Those underground facility
owners who do not receive notifications by the
Internet must, no later than January 1, 2016, provide
locate status to the notification center by an alternate
method provided by the notification center;

(16) Repeals the provisions requiring the owner
or operator of a pipeline facility or an underground
electric or communications cable to inform the
excavator of the approximate location of valves,
vaults, or other appurtenances if the information
available discloses that the appurtenances are
located in or near the excavation area;

(17) Allows the owner or operator ofan underground
facility to make notice to the excavator that no
facilities are located in the area of excavation by use
of a locate status system and requires a record of
the date and the means of informing the excavator
that no facilities were located that are in the written
records of the underground facility owner to be
retained for five years;

(18) Requires the excavator to provide clarification
of the area of excavation by marking the area with
white flags or white paint, by providing project
plans to the owner or operator, or by meeting on
the site of the excavation with representatives of the
owner or operator if the owner or operator notifies
the excavator that the excavation area cannot be
determined from the description provided through
the required notice;

(19) Specifies thatin addition to otherrequirements,
the response to a notice of intent to excavate
received by a sewer system owner, when the owner
has underground facilities located in the area of
excavation identified in the notice that indicates that
trenchless excavation methods will be used, must
include a determination of whether sewer service
connections exist in the excavation area. If the
sewer system owner determines that sewer service
connections exist, the owner must provide his or
her best available information regarding the location
of the connections to the excavator by one of the
specified methods. If the information does not exist,
the owner must provide notice of that fact. Providing
the best available information or notice that the
information does not exist regarding the location
of sewer service connections that exist in the area
of excavation identified in a notice of intent to

excavate must constitute full compliance with these
provisions, and a sewer system owner cannot be
liable to any party for damages or injuries resulting
from an excavation if he or she is in compliance
with these provisions. Providing the best available
information regarding the location of sewer service
connections that exist in the area of excavation
identified in a notice of intent to excavate cannot
in and of itself constitute ownership, operation,
control, or management of sewer service lines by a
sewer system owner;

(20) Requires, beginning January 1, 2016, that if
new lateral sewer pipes or water service lines are
installed and connected to an underground facility
or if the infrastructure is fully replaced by use of
excavation within the public right-of-way, the facility
owner must be required to place tracer wire or other
utility location technology and an access point
within the protective enclosure over water lines and
cleanouts for gravity sewer laterals. When sewer
laterals operate under pressure or vacuum, the
facility owner is not required to place a cleanout.
This provision must apply to all installations of
water service lines and sewer laterals without
regard to their status as underground facilities.
An underground facility owner cannot be liable to
any party for damages or injuries resulting from an
excavation if he or she is in compliance with these
provisions;

(21) Specifies that these provisions cannot relieve
an excavator from the obligation to excavate in a
safe and prudent manner nor does it absolve an
excavator from liability for damage to underground
facilities. The failure of any excavator to give notice
of proposed excavation activities as required by law
must be a rebuttable presumption of negligence
on his or her part in the event that the failure
causes injury, loss, or damage. The failure of
an underground facility owner to mark his or her
facilities that are located in an area of excavation
described in a notice of intent to excavate received
by the underground facility owner or the failure of
an underground facility owner to be a notification
center participant must be a rebuttable presumption
of negligence on the part of the owner in the event
that the failure causes injury, loss, or damage. In
addition to any penalties, liability under common law
may apply;

(22) Requires the Attorney General to make public
the aggregate number of enforcement actions for
the previous year prior to March 31;

(23) Allows parties with a dispute related to
the provisions of the bill to request arbitration for
disputes of less than $5,000;
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(24) Requires, for a request submitted as an
emergency request that does not meet the definition
of an emergency as specified in the bill, the facility
owner to notify the excavator within two hours that
the request does not meet the requirements of an
emergency and the locate request will be marked
within two working days;

(25) Repeals specified provisions of Chapter 319,
RSMo, regarding the current notification center and
an excavator giving notice of proposed activities;
and

(26) Repeals specified provisions of Chapter 389
regarding utility access to a railroad right-of-way
and the contractual relationship and fee structure
between utilities, railroad owners, and land
management companies that maintain property on
behalf of a railroad.

The bill will become effective January 1, 2015.

HCS HB 1882 -- PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT
PLANS

This bill changes the laws regarding the
administrative requirements of public employee
retirement plans. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Allows the Joint Committee on Public Employee
Retirement (JCPER) to request the staff or board
members of any public employee retirement system
not complying with the committee’s request for
information to testify before the committee regarding
the non-compliance;

(2) Modifies the notification requirement to
the joint committee by all state and local public
employee retirement systems of periodic cost-of-
living increases to only require the notification for
those systems providing new or additional payments
beyond the prior year plan provisions;

(3) Changes the due date of JCPER’s annual
report to the General Assembly from no later than
January 15 of each year to no later than the date of
its annual first quarterly meeting;

(4) Modifies the definition of “substantial proposed
change” toinclude the closing or freezing of a current
defined benefit plan for the purposes of Sections
105.665, 105.670, 105.675, and 105.685, RSMo;

(5) Requires each plan to forward the required
actuarial valuation to the committee within 60 days
after completion or adoption of the valuation;

(6) Requires all public employee retirement
plans, except for the Missouri Local Government
Employees’ Retirement System (LAGERS), to
provide a projection of at least 10 years of the
current plan provisions compared to the proposed
change including the total annual contribution

requirements in estimated dollars and as a percent
of active employee payroll, the actuarial value of
assets, the market value of assets, the actuarial
accrued liability, and the funded ratio;

(7) Requires the projection for LAGERS to
include a prospective schedule of at least 10 years
containing current and proposed provision estimated
employer contributions as a percent of payroll and
estimated annual dollars, the resulting difference,
and the estimated difference between the actuarial
accrued liability and actuarial value of assets for
each scenario;

(8) Requires a board member who has served one
or more years to attend at least a total of six hours,
instead of at least two hours, of specified continuing
education programs each year. Routine annual
presentation by outside plan service providers
cannot be used to satisfy educational requirements.
A board member who is knowingly not participating
in the required education programs may be removed
from the board by a majority of the board members;

(9) Specifies that a plan cannot adopt or implement
any additional benefit beyond current plan provisions
in effect prior to August 28, 2007, that would, in
aggregate with any other proposed plan provisions,
increase the plan’s actuarial accrued liability unless
the plan’s actuary determines that the funded ratio
is at least 80% and will not be less than 75% after
the adoption or implementation. Methods and
assumptions used in valuing the proposed change
may be modified if the nature is such that alternative
assumptions are clearly warranted; and

(10) Requires all plans to develop a procurement
action plan for utilization of minority and women
money managers, brokers, and investment
counselors and to report progress annually to the
committee and the Governor’'s Minority Advocacy
Commission.

SCS HB 1968 -- RISK-BASED CAPITAL ANALYSIS

This bill changes, from not less than once every
three years to not less than once every five years,
when the Director of Department of Insurance,
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration,
or any duly appointed representative, must make an
examination of the affairs of a health maintenance
organization. It also adds definitions for a health
organization, a domestic health organization, and a
foreign health organization.

The bill adds a health organization to the entities
subject to risk-based capital examination, analysis,
and regulation under Sections 375.1250 to 375.1275,
RSMo. A health organization’s risk-based capital
must be determined in accordance with the specified
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formula that must take into account and may adjust
for the covariance between asset risk, credit risk,
underwriting risk, and other business risks.

A foreign health organization must comply with
the same regulatory requirements a foreign insurer
is currently subject to under Section 375.1270.

The bill allows the department director to share
documents, materials, or other information,
including the confidential and privileged documents
filed as part of a risk-based capital analysis, with
other specified regulatory bodies if the recipient
agrees to maintain the confidentiality and privileged
status of the information.

The department director may exempt a domestic
health organization from the risk-based credit
examination requirements if it meets specified
conditions.

The bill specifies the requirements that must apply
for risk-based capital reports that must be filed by
health organizations with respect to 2014 in lieu of
specified provisions of the bill.

HCS HB 1999 -- MOTOR VEHICLE LIEN
DOCUMENTS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill allows the Director of the Department of
Revenue to adopt rules and regulations allowing a
lienholder who files a lien electronically on a motor
vehicle or trailer to electronically release the lien.

HB 2029 -- SALES TAX EXEMPTION FOR
AIRCRAFT PARTS

This bill removes the expiration date of January
1, 2015, from the provision regarding the state and
local sales and use tax exemption on all materials,
replacement parts, and equipment purchased for use
directly upon and for the modification, replacement,
repair, and maintenance of aircraft, aircraft power
plants, and aircraft accessories.

HCS HB 2040 -- DRUG OVERDOSE TREATMENT

This bill allows a qualified first responder to obtain
and administer naloxone to a person suffering from
an apparent narcotic or opiate-related overdose.

Any licensed drug distributor or pharmacy
in Missouri may sell naloxone to qualified first
responder agencies to allow the agency to stock
naloxone for the administration of the drug to
persons suffering from an apparent narcotic or
opiate overdose in order to revive the person.

For the purposes of these provisions, “qualified
first responder” means any state and local

law enforcement agency staff, fire department
personnel, fire district personnel, or licensed
emergency medical technician who is acting under
the directives and established protocols of a medical
director of alocal licensed ground ambulance service
licensed under Section 190.109, RSMo, who comes
in contact with a person suffering from an apparent
narcotic or opiate-related overdose and who has
received training in recognizing and responding to
a narcotic or opiate overdose and the administration
of naloxone to a person suffering from an apparent
narcotic or opiate-related overdose. “Qualified first
responder agencies” means any state or local law
enforcement agency, fire department, or ambulance
service that provides documented training to its
staff related to the administration of naloxone in an
apparent narcotic or opiate overdose situation.

A qualified first responder must only administer
naloxone in a manner in which he or she has
received training for the administration of the drug.

HB 2077 -- SURPLUS REVENUE FUND

This bill requires up to $215 million of moneys
that would otherwise have been deposited into the
General Revenue Fund to be deposited into the
newly created Surplus Revenue Fund if during the
two-year period beginning July 1, 2013, and ending
June 30, 2015, state general revenue collections
net of refunds exceed $16.834 billion. Moneys
in the Surplus Revenue Fund must be subject to
appropriation by the General Assembly. Refunds
owed to Missouri taxpayers for the two-year period
must be paid in full by June 30, 2015.

SCS HCS HB 2141 -- ALTERNATIVE MOTOR FUEL

This bill specifies measurement standards and
tax rates for compressed natural gas and liquefied
natural gas as a motor fuel and removes them from
the provisions regarding alternative fuel decal and
tax requirements.

The tax on compressed natural gas fuel must
be five cents per gasoline gallon equivalent as
specified in the bill until December 31, 2019, then
11 cents per equivalent until December 31, 2024,
and then 17 cents per equivalent thereafter.

The tax on liquefied natural gas fuel must be five
cents per diesel gallon equivalent as specified in
the bill until December 31, 2019, then 11 cents per
equivalent until December 31, 2024, and then 17
cents per equivalent thereafter.

The bill creates an exception for owners or
operators of passenger motor vehicles, buses, or
commercial motor vehicles who may opt for the
continued use of the alternative fuel decal if:
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(1) The motor vehicles are powered by compressed
or liquefied natural gas; and

(2) The owners or operators of the motor vehicles
have installed a compressed or liquefied natural gas
fueling station used solely to fuel the motor vehicle
they own or operate as of December 31, 2015.

An owner or operator of a compressed or liquefied
natural gas fueling station whose vehicles bear an
alternative fuel decal must be prohibited from selling
or providing compressed or liquefied natural gas to
any motor vehicle they do not own or operate. Once
an owner or operator under this exception declines
to renew the alternative fuel decals, he or she
must no longer be eligible to apply for and use the
alternative fuel decals.

The bill adds airport business plans and strategic
plans at existing airports to the permissible airport
planning projects that may be paid for with moneys
from the Aviation Trust Fund. Currently, if at least
$6 million is deposited into the fund in the previous
calendar year, up to $2 million may be expended
annually for the study or promotion of expanded
domestic or international scheduled commercial
service, the study or promotion of intrastate
scheduled commercial service, or to assist airport
sponsors participating in a federally funded air
service program supporting intrastate scheduled
commercial service. The bill changes that provision
to specify that if at least $4.5 million is deposited into
the fund in the previous calendar year, no more than
$2 million may be spent for the study or promotion
of expanded domestic or international scheduled
commercial service, the study or promotion of
intrastate scheduled commercial service, the
promotion of aviation in the state, or to assist
airport sponsors participating in a federally funded
air service program supporting intrastate scheduled
commercial service in any calendar year and the
State Highways and Transportation Commission
must be required to expend at least $4 million of
the annual deposits into the fund for purposes other
than those specified.

The bill changes the name of the Missouri Propane
Gas Commission to the Missouri Propane Safety
Commission and changes the membership of the
commission by removing the member representing
the Department of Natural Resources and replacing
him with the State Fire Marshal or his or her
designee.

Currently, a city, town, village, fire district, or other
political subdivision cannot adopt or enforce any
ordinance or regulation in conflict with the Missouri
Propane Safety Act. The bill adds a county to the
prohibition.

The bill adds compressed natural gas meters,
liquefied natural gas meters, electrical charging
stations, and hydrogen fuel meters to the list of
devices that the Division of Weights and Measures
in the Department of Agriculture may establish a
fee for the registration, inspection, and calibration
services performed by the division that is to be
deposited into the Agriculture Protection Fund.

The provisions of the bill regarding standards of
weights and measures must apply to the following
commercial weighing and measuring equipment
used for measuring or ascertaining the quantity of
gas, electricity, or fuel for vehicle use: compressed
natural gas meters, liquefied natural gas meters,
electrical charging stations, and hydrogen fuel
meters.

The bill becomes effective January 1, 2016.

HB 2163 -- COMMERCIAL ZONE IN THE CITY OF
COLUMBIA

This bill establishes a commercial zone in the
City of Columbia. A vehicle operating within the
zone cannot exceed 15 feet in height or have a
greater weight than 22,400 pounds on one axle. The
commercial zone extends north from the city limits
along U.S. Highway 63 for eight miles and east
from the city limits along State Route WW to the
intersection of State Route J and continues south
on State Route J for four miles.

SCS HCS HB 2238 -- HEMP

This bill changes the laws regarding hemp. In its
main provisions, the bill:

(1) Requires the Department of Health and Senior
Services to issue a hemp extract registration card
to a Missouri resident who is 18 years of age or
older and meets specified criteria, including a
signed statement from a neurologist that indicates
the individual suffers from intractable epilepsy and
may benefit from treatment with hemp extract and
is consistent with a record from the neurologist
concerning the individual contained in the database.
The department must maintain a record of the name
of each registrant and each minor receiving care
from a registrant. The department may issue a hemp
extract registration card to a parent of a minor who
meets specified criteria;

(2) Requires the department to promulgate the
rules necessary to implement these provisions and
regulate the distribution of hemp extract from a
cannabidiol oil care center to a registrant in addition
to any other state or federal regulations and allows
the department to promulgate rules to authorize
clinical trials involving hemp extract;
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(3) Specifies that a registration card must be valid
for one year and renewable if at the time of renewal
the registrant meets specified requirements;

(4) Requires the neurologist who signs the
statement to keep a record of the evaluation and
observation of a patient, including the patient’s
response to hemp extract, and transmit the record
to the department;

(5) Requires the department to maintain a
database of the records and treat the records as
identifiable health data. The department may share
the records with a higher education institution for
the purpose of studying hemp extract;

(6) Specifies that “hemp extract” must mean
an extract from a cannabis plant or a mixture or
preparation containing cannabis plant material that:

(a) Is composed of no more than three-tenths of
1% tetrahydrocannabinol by weight;

(b) Is composed of at least 5% cannabidiol by
weight; and

(c) Contains no other psychoactive substance;

(7) Specifies that an individual who has been
issued a valid registration card or is a minor under a
registrant’s care possesses or uses hemp extract is
not subject to the penalties for possession or use of
the hemp extract if the individual possesses or uses
the hemp extract only to treat intractable epilepsy;
originally obtained the hemp extract from a sealed
container with a label indicating the hemp extract’s
place of origin and a number that corresponds with a
certificate of analysis; possesses, in close proximity
to the hemp extract, a certificate of analysis that
contains specific information about the extract; and
has a current registration card;

(8) Specifies that an individual who possesses
hemp extract lawfully and administers hemp extract
to a minor suffering from intractable epilepsy is not
subject to the penalties for administering the hemp
extract to the minor if the individual is the minor’s
parent or legal guardian and is registered with the
department as the minor’s parent;

(9) Allows an individual who has been issued a
valid hemp extract registration card or is a minor
under a registrant’s care to possess up to 20 ounces
of hemp extract under these provisions. An individual
may apply for a waiver if a physician provides
a substantial medical basis in a signed, written
statement asserting that, based on the patient’s
medical history, in the physician’s professional
judgment, 20 ounces is an insufficient amount to
properly alleviate the patient’s medical condition or
symptoms associated with the medical condition;

(10) Defines “cannabidiol oil care center” as the
premises specified in an application for a cultivation
and production facility license in which the licensee
is authorized to distribute processed hemp extract
to persons possessing a hemp extract registration
card,;

(11) Defines “cultivation and production facility” as
the land and premises specified in an application
for a cultivation and production facility license on
which the licensee is authorized to grow, cultivate,
process, and possess hemp and hemp extract;

(12) Defines “cultivation and production facility
license” as a license that authorizes the licensee
to grow, cultivate, process, possess, and distribute
hemp extract to its cannabidiol oil care centers;

(13) Defines “grower” as a nonprofit entity licensed
by the Department of Agriculture that produces hemp
extract for the treatment of intractable epilepsy;

(14) Defines “hemp monitoring system” as an
electronic tracking system that includes, but is not
limited to, testing and data collection established and
maintained by the cultivation and production facility
and is available to the department for the purposes
of documenting the hemp extract production and
retail sale of the hemp extract;

(15) Requires the Department of Agriculture to
issue a cultivation and production facility license to
a nonprofit entity to grow or cultivate the cannabis
plant used to make hemp extract under these
provisions, but prohibits the department from issuing
more than two licenses at any one time;

(16) Allows a grower to produce and manufacture
hemp and hemp extract and distribute hemp
extract for the treatment of persons suffering from
intractable epilepsy consistent with any and all state
or federal regulations regarding the production,
manufacture, or distribution of the product;

(17) Requires the Department of Agriculture to
maintain a list of growers and all growers to keep
records in accordance with rules adopted by the
department. Upon at least three days’ notice, the
department director may audit the required records
during normal business hours. The department
director may conduct an audit for the purpose of
ensuring compliance with these provisions;

(18) Allows the Director of the Department
of Agriculture to inspect independently, or in
cooperation with the State Highway Patrol or a local
law enforcement agency, any hemp crop during
the crop’s growth phase and take a representative
composite sample for field analysis. The department
director may detain, seize, or embargo the crop if
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a crop contains an average tetrahydrocannabinol
(THC) concentration exceeding the lesser of:

(a) Three-tenths of 1% on a dry weight basis; or

(b) The percent based on a dry weight basis
determined by the federal Controlled Substance Act
under 21 U.S.C. Section 801 et seq.;

(19) Requires the Department of Agriculture
to promulgate rules including, but not limited to,
application requirements for licensing; security
requirements for cultivation and production facilities;
rules relating to hemp monitoring systems; other
procedures forinternal control as deemed necessary
to properly administer and enforce these provisions;
requirements that any hemp extract received from
a legal source be submitted to a testing facility
to ensure that it does not contain any pesticides;
and rules regarding the manufacture, storage, and
transportation of hemp and hemp extract in addition
to any other state or federal regulations;

(20) Requires all hemp waste from the production
of hemp extract to be destroyed, recycled by the
licensee at the hemp cultivation and production
facility, or donated to the department or an institution
of higher education for research purposes and not
be used for commercial purposes; and

(21) Allows the Director of the Department of
Agriculture to revoke or refuse to issue or renew
a cultivation and production facility license and to
impose a civil penalty of up to $2,500 on a grower
for any violation of these provisions.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

HJR 48 -- VETERANS LOTTERY TICKET

Upon voter approval, this proposed constitutional
amendment requires the State Lottery Commission
to develop and begin selling a “Veterans Lottery
Ticket” by July 1, 2015. All net proceeds received
from the sales of these tickets must be deposited
solely into the Veterans Commission Capital
Improvement Trust Fund.

SS HJR 68 -- SALES AND USE TAX FOR
TRANSPORTATION

Upon voter approval, this proposed constitutional
amendment raises the state sales and use tax by
.75% for a period of 10 years. The proceeds from
the additional tax are to be used for transportation
purposes and cannot be used for administrative
purposes. The additional tax must not apply to the
retail sale of food. The Oversight Division of the
Joint Committee on Legislative Research must
conduct a program evaluation of the Department
of Transportation to ensure that the additional

funds are used as required under the provisions of
the resolution and submit a report to the General
Assembly by January 1, 2020.

Five percent of the sales and use tax proceeds
must be deposited into the newly created County
Aid Transportation Fund. Moneys in the fund must
be distributed to the counties in the state based on
the county road mileage and assessed rural land
valuation calculation in Article IV, Section 30(a)
of the Missouri Constitution except that 5% of the
moneys must be distributed to the City of St. Louis.
The proceeds distributed to the counties must be
used for specified county highway and bridge
purposes, state highway system purposes, or county
transportation system purposes.

Five percent of the sales and use tax proceeds
must be deposited into the newly created Municipal
Aid Transportation Fund. Moneys in the fund must
be distributed to cities, towns, and villages in the
state based on the population ratio calculations in
Article 1V, Section 30(a) of the Missouri Constitution.
The proceeds distributed to the cities, towns, and
villages must be used for specified city, road,
street, and bridge purposes; state highway system
purposes; or city transportation system purposes.

The remaining 90% of the sales and use tax
proceeds must be deposited into the newly created
Transportation Safety and Job Creation Fund.
Moneys in the fund must stand appropriated without
legislative action to be used and expended at the
sole discretion of the Highways and Transportation
Commission within the Department of Transportation
for specified state highway system purposes or state
transportation system purposes.

The resolution prohibits the General Assembly,
counties, and municipalities from increasing or
decreasing the motor fuel tax from the rate of the
tax authorized by law on January 1, 2014, while the
.75% tax is in effect.

The commission, counties, and municipalities are
prohibited from authorizing, owning, or operating a
toll highway or toll bridge on a highway or bridge
while the .75% tax is in effect.

The resolution requires, prior to the effective date
of these provisions and prior to any subsequent
election to extend the tax, the commission to approve
a list of its projects, programs, and facilities, with a
priority given to safety, on the state highway system
and state transportation system that must be funded
from the additional proceeds from the tax deposited
into the Transportation Safety and Job Creation
Fund. The commission must annually submit a
report to the Governor, General Assembly, and
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Joint Committee on Transportation Oversight that
includes the status of the approved list of projects,
programs, and facilities. During the 10-year period
the temporary tax is in effect, the commission
must include the approved projects, programs, and
facilities in one or more of the five-year statewide
transportation improvement programs approved by
the commission. A taxpayer of the state must have
standing to bring suitin the Cole County Circuit Court
to compel the commission’s inclusion of approved
projects in a five-year statewide transportation
improvement program.

Upon voter approval of the temporary tax at the
2014 general election or at a special election, these
provisions will be effective January 1, 2015, and
must continue for 10 years and be resubmitted to
the voters for approval at the general election every
10 years thereafter. If at any subsequent election,
a simple majority of votes cast do not approve the
issue, these provisions must terminate on December
31 of the year when the last election was held.

HJR 72 -- GOVERNOR’S BUDGETARY AUTHORITY

Uponvoterapproval, this constitutionalamendment
prohibits the Governor from determining estimated
available state revenues when making budget
recommendations to the General Assembly using
any projection of new revenues to be created from
proposed legislation that has not been passed into
law by the General Assembly. The Governor may
include estimates of any unspent fund balances
that will constitute a surplus during the immediately
preceding fiscal year or years for which the
Governor is recommending a budget. New revenues
cannot include existing provisions of law subject to
expiration during the ensuing appropriation period.

The resolution prohibits the Governor from
reducing any appropriation for the payment of public
debt and requires him or her to notify the General
Assembly by proclamation whenever the rate of
expenditure for any appropriation is not expended
in equal quarterly allotments or when the Governor
reduces one or more items or a portion of an item
of appropriation of money because actual revenues
are less than the revenue estimates upon which the
appropriations were based. The appropriation can
be reconsidered in the same manner as an override
of a vetoed bill is reconsidered anytime the General
Assembly is in session or when the next General
Assembly convenes.

SS SCS HCS HJR 90 -- EARLY VOTING

Upon voter approval, this proposed constitutional
amendment requires, beginning with the 2016

general election, the establishment of an early voting
period prior to the general election. The period will
run for six days terminating on the last Wednesday
before a general election and not including Saturday
or Sunday. In person voting will be during regular
business hours at the local election authority sites.
Voting may be in-person or by mail using ballots
similar to absentee ballots, but an excuse or reason
will not be required to vote early. A voter making
use of early voting must be registered by the fourth
Wednesday prior to the general election. A qualified
voter may request delivery of one ballot by mail
per general election upon written request to the
Office of the Secretary of State or to his or her local
election authority.

The resolution contains restrictions on the release
of identifying information of a voter who votes
early. Laws may require the release of information
on those not voting early, but the identity and
residential address of anyone voting early will be
confidential unless the qualified voter agrees in
writing to the release of the information. Each local
election authority must appoint an election judge
from each major party for each voting site with
the appointment process identical to that required
by general election law. Procedures for counting,
tabulating, and casting ballots are the same as in
general law.

The resolution requires the state to appropriate
funds for the payment of any new expenses
incurred by local election authorities. The resolution
does not repeal or modify general election laws
or constitutional provisions regarding the voting
process such as the right to cast an absentee ballot.

The provisions of the resolution must be self-
executing and the resolution contains an entrenching
clause requiring that subsequent constitutional
amendments reference the resolution in order to
modify or change its content. It also states that it
cannot be repealed by implication.

The resolution contains a severability clause.
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HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- MISSOURI CRIMINAL
CODE

This bill changes the laws regarding the Missouri
Criminal Code. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Changes the felony classification of specified
criminal offenses;

(2) Changes from the Department of Social
Services to the Department of Health and Senior
Services where a person reports elderly abuse
(Section 197.1002, RSMo);

(3) Adds a habitual offender to the list of offenders
who are prohibited from being placed on electronic
monitoring (Section 221.025);

(4) Creates the offense of manufacturing a false
identification, a class A misdemeanor. A person
commits the offense if he or she possesses
any means of identification for the purpose of
manufacturing and providing or selling a false
identification card to a person younger than 21 years
of age for the purpose of purchasing or obtaining
alcohol (Section 311.315);

(5) Establishes a class E felony and a class D
misdemeanor. The bill specifies that any unclassified
felony or felony for which the maximum term of
imprisonment is four years will be a class E felony,
and it will be a class D misdemeanor if the offense
includes a mental state as an element of the offense
and there is no authorized imprisonment (Sections
557.016 and 557.021);

(6) Repeals the provisions requiring the court
to give notice of the time and place of sentencing
to the prosecuting attorney and law enforcement
agency within whose jurisdiction the prosecution
was initiated in all felony cases (Section 557.046);

(7) Increases the fines for misdemeanors and
felonies (Section 558.002);

(8) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
involuntary manslaughter in the first degree by only
including a person who recklessly causes the death
of another person (Section 565.024);

(9) Specifies that a person commits the offense
of involuntary manslaughter in the second degree,
a class E felony, if he or she acts with criminal
negligence to cause the death of any person
(Section 565.027);

(10) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
assault (Sections 565.050 - 565.079);

(11) Changes the laws regarding the crime of
harassment and separates it into harassment in
the first or second degree (Sections 565.090 and
565.091);

(12) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
child kidnapping and separates it into kidnapping in
the first, second, or third degree (Sections 565.110
- 565.140);

(13) Allows the court, upon a finding of guilt for
an offense of interference with custody, parental
kidnapping, or child abduction, in addition to or in
lieu of any sentence or fine imposed, to assess
as restitution against the defendant and in favor
of the legal custodian or parent any reasonable
expenses incurred by the legal custodian or parent
in searching for or returning the child (Sections
565.150 - 565.156);

(14) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
abuse of an elderly person, a person with a disability,
or a vulnerable person; the offense of filing a false
elder abuse or neglect report; the offense of failure
to report abuse or neglect of a vulnerable person;
and the offense of filing a false vulnerable abuse
report (Sections 565.184, 565.188, 565.222, and
630.162);

(15) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
stalking (Sections 565.225 and 565.227);

(16) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
invasion of privacy (Section 565.252);

(17) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
sodomy (Sections 566.060 - 566.064);

(18) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
child molestation (Sections 566.067 - 566.071);

(19) Specifies that the offense of sexual contact
with a student includes any public or private K-12
school or on any school bus used by the school
district. The student’s consent to the sexual contact
is not a defense to prosecution for a violation of
these provisions (Section 566.086);

(20) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
sexual misconduct and sexual abuse (Sections
566.093 - 566.100);

(21) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
sex with an animal (Section 566.111);

(22) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
sexual conduct with a nursing facility resident or
vulnerable person (Sections 566.115 and 566.116);

(23) Changes the laws regarding a persistent and
a predatory sexual offender (Section 566.125);

(24) Changes the laws regarding the offenses
of prostitution, patronizing prostitution, promoting
prostitution, and promoting travel for prostitution
(Sections 567.010 - 567.120);

(25) Specifies that a court cannot grant probation
to a person who has previously been found guilty of
an incest offense (Section 568.020);
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(26) Repeals a provision stating that Section
568.045 is to be known as Hope's Law (Section
568.045);

(27) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
arson (Sections 569.040 - 569.053);

(28) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
negligent burning or exploding to include a person
who with criminal negligence damages property,
woodlands, cropland, grassland, prairie, or marsh
by starting a fire or causing an explosion or allowing
a fire burning on lands in his or her possession
or control onto the property of another (Section
569.065);

(29) Raises or lowers the financial thresholds for
certain offenses regarding tampering with computer
equipment, property damage, stealing, alteration
or removal of an item, counterfeiting, passing
bad checks, fraudulent use of a credit or debit
device, identity theft, food stamps, and institutional
vandalism (Sections 569.097 - 569.100, 570.020,
570.057, 570.085 - 570.130, 570.180, 570.223,
570.400 - 570.408, and 574.085);

(30) Specifies that Section 569.132 is to be
known as the Crop Protection Act and classifies the
offense of prohibited acts involving crops based on
the amount of loss or damage to a crop (Section
569.132);

(31) Specifies that the provisions regarding the
offense of unlawfully entering or defacing a cave
or cavern or polluting cave or subsurface waters
do not apply to vertical or horizontal underground
mining operations (Sections 569.135 and 569.137);

(32) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
second degree robbery to include a person who in
the course of the offense causes physical injury to
another person (Section 570.025);

(33) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
stealing (Section 570.030);

(34) Specifies that a person who appropriates
cable television service cannot be deemed to have
stolen that service under specified conditions
(Section 570.039);

(35) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
deceptive business practice to include promoting the
sale of property or services by a false or misleading
statement in an advertisement or advertising with
the purpose not to sell or provide the property
or services at the price he or she offered or in a
quantity sufficient to meet the reasonably expected
public demand or at all (Section 570.140);

(36) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
financial exploitation of an elderly person or person
with a disability (Section 570.145);

(37) Repeals the provisions regarding the offense
of telephone service fraud (Section 570.190);

(38) Repeals certain provisions regarding the
offense of library theft (Sections 570.200 and
570.215);

(39) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
misapplication of funds of a financial institution
(Section 570.217);

(40) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
misappropriation of intellectual property (Section
570.225);

(41) Changes the laws regarding the offense
of facilitating the theft of cable television service
(Section 570.300);

(42) Specifies that the provisions of Chapter 572
do not prohibit authorized gambling activities under
specified sections of the Missouri Constitution
(Section 572.015);

(43) Changes the offense of public display of
explicit sexual material to include a person who
recklessly exposes, places, exhibits, or displays
explicit sexual material in any location in a manner
that it may be readily seen from a street, highway,
public sidewalk, or the property of others or from the
person’s store or the exhibitor’s store or property
when items and material other than the explicit
material are offered for sale or rent to the public
(Section 573.060);

(44) Repeals the provisions regarding video
cassettes or other video reproduction devices that
must be kept in a separate area and prohibits their
sale or rental to persons under 17 years of age
(Section 573.090);

(45) Prohibits a person from establishing a
sexually oriented business if that person has been
found guilty of offenses specified in the bill and
less than eight years has elapsed since the date
of conviction or release from confinement for the
conviction, whichever is later (Section 573.531);

(46) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
making a terrorist threat (Sections 574.115 - 574.125);

(47) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
cross burning to include a person who burns or
causes a cross to be burned with the purpose to
frighten, intimidate, or cause emotional distress to
any person or group of persons (Section 574.140);

(48) Changes the laws
chronic offenders (Sections 577.001
577.023, and 579.170);

(49) Specifies when a person commits the
offense of boating while intoxicated and the offense
of boating with excessive blood alcohol content
(Sections 577.013 and 577.014);

regarding persistent,
- 577.012,
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(50) Changes the laws regarding a person
operating an aircraft while intoxicated or with
excessive blood alcohol content (Sections 577.015 -
577.021 and 577.037);

(51) Adds a phlebotomist to the list of individuals
authorized to withdraw blood for the purpose of
determining blood alcohol content (Section 577.029);

(62) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
leaving the scene of an accident to include a vessel
involved in an accident resulting in injury, death, or
damage to another person’s property and requires a
law enforcement officer who investigates or receives
information of an accident involving an all-terrain
vehicle and the loss of life or serious physical injury
to forward a written report of the accident to the
Department of Public Safety and keep a record in
his or her office (Section 577.060);

(53) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
failure to report a shooting (Section 577.068);

(54) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
littering (Section 577.070);

(55) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
damaging state park property to include a person
who removes, injures, disfigures, defaces, or
destroys an object of archaeological or historical
value within a state park (Section 577.073);

(56) Repeals the provision regarding the offense of
refusing to immediately relinquish a party telephone
line during an emergency (Section 577.105);

(57) Repeals the provision regarding the offense
of operating a motor vehicle while younger than 16
years of age (Section 577.110);

(58) Repeals the provision regarding implied
consent for a chemical test of an aircraft operator
(Section 577.206);

(59) Repeals the provision regarding implied
consent for a chemical test on a dead body (Section
577.211);

(60) Changes the laws regarding ignition interlock
devices (Sections 577.599 - 577.612);

(61) Changes the laws regarding the offense of
hazing (Section 578.365);

(62) Specifies the conditions under which a person
commits the offense of sports bribery in the first and
second degree (Sections 578.398 and 579.399);

(63) Changes the laws regarding the offense
of prohibited acts against animal research and
production facilities (Section 578.405);

(64) Adds an affirmative defense to the offenses of
unlawful fishing, hunting, or trapping on private land
and unlawful retrieval of large or small game when

the premises were at the time open to members of
the public and the person complied with conditions
imposed on access or the privilege of remaining on
the premises (Sections 578.520 and 578.525);

(65) Creates the offense of possession of not
more than 10 grams of marijuana or any synthetic
cannabinoid and specifies that the penalty for
this offense is a class D misdemeanor unless the
defendant has previously been found guilty of any
offense related to controlled substances, in which
case the offense is a class A misdemeanor (Section
576.015);

(66) Changes the amount of crack cocaine that is
required before a person can be charged with first
or second degree drug trafficking from two grams to
eight grams and increases the amount of crack that
leads to an enhanced penalty from six grams to 24
grams (Sections 579.065 and 579.068);

(67) Adds the condition of “knowingly” to certain
drug-related offenses (Sections 579.074, 579.078 -
579.086, 579.105, 579.150, and 579.155);

(68) Changes the laws regarding the offense
of unlawful manufacture of drug paraphernalia
(Section 579.076);

(69) Changes the laws regarding the offense
of possession of methamphetamine precursors
to include a person who possesses more than
24 grams of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine. The
provision does not apply to any practitioner or
product possessed in the course of legitimate
business (Section 579.110); and

(70) Changes the laws regarding a victim of
domestic assault or stalking (Sections 595.223 and
595.226).

The bill becomes effective January 1, 2017.

CCS HCS SCS SB 492 -- HIGHER EDUCATION

This bill
education.

changes the laws regarding higher

TEACHER TRAINING (Section 161.097, RSMo)

The bill changes the laws regarding the approval
of teacher training programs in higher education
institutions. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Establishes the Missouri Advisory Board for
Educator Preparation within the Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education to advise
the State Board of Education and the Coordinating
Board for Higher Education on matters of mutual
interest in quality educator preparation programs;
and

(2) Repeals an obsolete provision that allows the
State Board of Education to accredit a law school
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and requires any graduate to be allowed to take the
examination for admission to the Missouri Bar.

COMMUNITY COLLEGES (Section 163.191)

In addition to technical changes, the bill requires,
beginning in Fiscal Year 2016, that at least 90% of
any increase in core funding over the appropriated
amount for the previous fiscal year be distributed in
accordance with the achievement of performance-
funding measures under Section 173.1006 unless
the General Assembly chooses to otherwise
appropriate state funding. The bill adds the Governor
and the Joint Committee on Education to those to
whom the Department of Higher Education must
submit a report evaluating the effectiveness of the
resource allocation model by October 31, 2019, and
every four years thereafter.

MISSOURI SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY,
ENGINEERING AND MATHEMATICS INITIATIVE
(Sections 173.670 - 173.680)

The Missouri Science, Technology, Engineering
and Mathematics Initiative is expanded to require
the Department of Higher Education to develop a
grant process for Missouri public two- and four-year
higher education institutions and school districts
that have entered into articulation agreements to
offer information technology certification through
technical course work leading to postsecondary
academic credit. The department must develop a
program to offer information technology certification
through technical course work to students enrolled
in a public high school that has entered into an
articulation agreement with a Missouri public two- or
four-year higher education institution. The program
must provide instruction on skills and competencies
essential for the workplace and requested by
employers that includes specified components. The
department must conduct a study to identify the
information technology industry certifications most
frequently requested by Missouri employers by
January 31, 2015, and provide a report on its findings
to the President Pro Tem of the Senate, Speaker of
the House of Representatives, Joint Committee on
Education, Governor, Coordinating Board for Higher
Education, and State Board of Education.

INSTITUTIONAL PERFORMANCE MEASURES
(Section 173.1006)

The  bill replaces  provisions  regarding
performance measures with the performance
measures that have been developed subsequently.
Each institution must utilize the five institutional
performance measures that were approved by the
Coordinating Board for Higher Education and adopt
an additional measure concerning job placement

in a field or position associated with the student’s
degree level and pursuit of a graduate degree. The
job placement measure may not be used in any
year when the state’s unemployment rate has risen
from the previous year. The board must evaluate
and revise, if necessary, the measures every three
years beginning in 2019 or more frequently at the
board’s discretion, and the Department of Higher
Education must evaluate the effect of the measures
on statewide postsecondary, higher education,
and workforce goals and submit a report to the
Governor, Joint Committee on Education, Speaker
of the House of Representatives, and President Pro
Tem of the Senate by October 31, 2019, and every
four years thereafter.

FOUR-YEAR INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER
EDUCATION (Section 173.1540)

Each year, each public four-year higher education
institution must prepare a budget request and submit
it to the Department of Higher Education for review
and recommendations for appropriations. The
four-year institutions must cooperatively develop
and revise an increase allocation model which the
department must recommend to the Coordinating
Board for Higher Education for approval by October
31, 2014. The core-funding level for each institution
will be the appropriated amount for Fiscal Year
2015 and increases must be incorporated into
the base starting with Fiscal Year 2016. Unless
otherwise provided by the General Assembly during
the appropriations process, at least 90% of any
increase over the base year must be distributed in
accordance with the performance funding model,
and no more than 10% of any increase over the
base can be distributed through any combination of
full-time equivalency or other agreed-upon basis to
address inequity and weighted full-time equivalent
credit hours to provide enrollment, program
offerings, and mission sensitivity on an on-going
basis. The department must submit, by October 31,
2019, and every four years thereafter, a report to the
Governor, Joint Committee on Education, Speaker
of the House of Representatives, and President Pro
Tem of the Senate evaluating the effectiveness of
the increase allocation model.

STATE TECHNICAL COLLEGE OF MISSOURI
(Section 178.638)

Unless the General Assembly chooses to
otherwise appropriate state funding, the bill specifies
that, beginning in Fiscal Year 2016, at least 90%
of any annual increase in core funding over the
previous year must also be distributed to the State
Technical College of Missouri in accordance with
the performance-funding measures.
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LARGE ANIMAL VETERINARIAN STUDENT LOAN
PROGRAM (Sections 340.381 and 340.396)

The Large Animal Veterinary Student Loan
Program is renamed the Dr. Merrill Townley Large
Animal Veterinary Student Loan Program, and
the expiration date of the provisions regarding the
program are repealed.

CCS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545,
595, 616 & 624 -- ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY
EDUCATION

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding elementary
and secondary education.

DEFINITIONS (Sections 160.011 and 167.848, RSMo)

The definition of “graduation rate” is revised
to the graduation rate determined by the annual
performance report required by the Missouri School
Improvement Program. The bill adds definitions
relating to the accreditation and transfers programs.

SCHOOL SCHEDULES AND CALENDARS (Sections
160.041, 163.021, 163.073, and 171.029 - 171.033)

Currently, public schools are required to be in
session for a minimum of 174 days and 1,044 hours.
The bill removes the requirement for days beginning
with school year 2015-2016 and only requires 1,044
hours of attendance. Beginning with the 2015-
2016 school year, in any regular or summer school
term, the school days must be scheduled so that
no school day is rescheduled during the week of
July 4th if the holiday falls on a business day or to
have at least four days off if the holiday falls on a
weekend. Beginning in the 2015-2016 school year,
the required number of hours of attendance for
kindergarten pupils must be 522. The provisions
allowing a school board to adopt a four-day school
week will terminate on July 1, 2015. School calendars
must specify the days of planned attendance as of
school year 2015-2016. Beginning in the 2015-2016
school year, the school calendar must include 36
make-up hours for possible loss of attendance due
to inclement weather. School districts that prefer
to start before the statutory start date must hold a
hearing on the matter on a separate date from a
regularly scheduled board meeting.

The school board of any provisionally accredited
or unaccredited district or district for which the
three-year average annual performance report is
consistent with those classifications may increase
the length of the school day or year above the
statutory minimum. The Extended Learning Time
Fund is created to be used for schools that extend
their school day or hours of instruction. The
requirements for make-up days are also changed

from days to hours, beginning with 2015-2016
school year.

CHARTER SCHOOLS (Sections 160.400 - 160.417
and 163.036)

The school board of a district that is accredited
without provisions or a combination of the school
boards of districts that are accredited without
provisions may sponsor charter schools in
unaccredited districts. When a sponsor notifies
a charter school of closure, the Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education must withhold
funds from the school to assure all obligations of the
school will be met, and if funds are not sufficient,
a court may determine the prioritization of the
distribution of assets.

Currently, a charter must be a legally binding
performance contract. The bill revises this
requirement so that a charter must include a
legally binding performance contract. Currently, the
State Board of Education must approve a charter
by December 1 of the year prior to the proposed
opening date of the charter school. The bill changes
the date to by January 31 before the school year
of the proposed opening date. Currently, when a
charter application to the state board is submitted,
it must include a statement of finding that the
application meets statutory requirements; this
provision is changed to specify that the statement is
to be made by the sponsor.

The state board must approve or disapprove a
charter application within 60 days of its receipt. Any
charter application received on or before November
15 of the year prior to the proposed opening of the
charter school must be considered by the state
board within 60 days. At the end of 60 days, the
charter application will be deemed approved unless
the state board disapproves it on the grounds that
it fails to meet statutory requirements or that the
sponsor has previously failed to meet the statutory
responsibilities of a sponsor. Any disapproval must
be in writing and identify the specific failures of the
application to meet the statutory requirements. The
written disapproval must be provided to the sponsor
within 10 business days. The department must
calculate and publish an annual performance report
for each charter school.

The bill establishes the requirements for being
classified as a high-quality charter school and
requires expedited opportunities to replicate or
expand into unaccredited districts and the city
school districts of St. Louis and Kansas City subject
to conditions and time lines specified in the bill.

Currently, a charter school may not charge tuition.
The bill revises this provision to specify that a
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charter school may not charge tuition or impose a
fee that a school district is prohibited from charging
or imposing.

The bill exempts a charter school in its first three
years of operation from the provisions regarding
being classified as experiencing financial stress, but
the exemption is not applicable to funds received
from the United States Department of Education.

When a local school board sponsors a charter
school, it may only submit an estimate of the district’s
weighted average daily attendance for the current
year. The school board is prohibited from using a
weighted average daily attendance count from any
preceding year for the purposes of determining the
amount of state aid to which it is entitled.

SCHOOL DISTRICT ACCREDITATION
(Sections 161.084 and 161.086)

The State Board of Education cannot classify a
school district as unaccredited or reclassify an
accredited district as provisionally accredited when
there is no state board member who is a resident
of the Congressional district in which the school
district is located until the Governor has received
notice from the state board of its intent to change the
classification, after which the Governor must make
the appointment within 30 days of the notification.

When the state board assigns classification
designations to school districts, it must use one
of the following designations: unaccredited,
provisionally accredited, accredited, or accredited
with distinction.

ASSISTANCE TEAMS (Section 161.086)

The State Board of Education must develop and
implement a process to provide assistance teams
to borderline and underperforming districts. The
bill specifies the membership and a time line for
the teams for 2014-2015 school year, requiring
that districts with the lowest annual performance
scores be given priority. The team’s suggestions are
mandatory for underperforming districts, but not for
borderline districts.

ATTENDANCE CENTER ACCREDITATION
(Section 161.238)

The State Board of Education must adopt a system
of classification that accredits attendance centers
(individual schools) within a district separately from
the district as a whole. The state board may consider
certain types of attendance centers as exempt from
classification. Separate special education schools
and juvenile detention centers within a special
school district are not subject to this provision,

although the annual performance scores of all of the
schools in a special school district must continue to
be reported. Classification by attendance center will
not be subject to the two-year delay on accreditation
rule changes required for district accreditation.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION INTERVENTION
POWERS (Section 162.081)

The State Board of Education may lapse all
or a part of an unaccredited school district. If it
appoints a special administrative board (SAB) for
the operation of a part of the district, the state
board must determine an equitable apportionment
of state and federal aid, and the district must
provide local revenue in proportion to the weighted
average attendance of the part governed by the
SAB. The SAB must not have more than 49% of its
membership comprised of the elected school board
members of the district. Neither the state board nor
the SAB may raise the tax levy of the district without
a public vote, except as provided by law. When the
state board determines an alternative governing
structure for an unaccredited district, the alternative
form of governance will retain the authority granted
to the board; will expire at the end of the third
year of its appointment unless reauthorized; will
not be deemed to be the state or a state agency;
and will not be considered a successor entity for
purposes of employment contracts, unemployment
compensation, or any other purpose.

If the state board reasonably believes that a school
district is unlikely to provide for the minimum school
hours required by Section 163.021 because of
financial difficulty, the state board may, prior to the
start of the school term, allow continued governance
by the existing district school board under terms and
conditions established by the state board. As an
alternative, the state board may lapse the corporate
organization of the district and implement one of the
options available to the state board to intervene in
an unaccredited district. These provisions must not
apply to a district solely on the basis of financial
difficulty resulting from tuition and transportation
expenses under a student transfer program.

LOCAL EFFORT CALCULATION AND BOUNDARY
LINE CHANGES (Section 162.432)

Currently, the calculation of local effort uses a
school district’s assessed valuation figure from
2004. When a change in school district boundary
lines occurs, the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education must adjust each affected
district’s local effort calculation based on the land
area adjustments from the boundary line change
using 2004 assessed valuation data.
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VIRTUAL COURSES (Section 162.1250)

Currently, when a resident student completes a
virtual course offered by his or her school district,
the student’s attendance is calculated as 94% of the
hours of attendance for the class in a non-virtual
program. The bill specifies that when a student
is a candidate for A+ Schools Program tuition
reimbursement, the school must attribute at least
95% attendance to any student who has completed
the virtual course.

TRANSIENT STUDENTS (Sections 162.1303 and
162.1305)

The Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education must annually calculate a transient
student ratio for each public school building and
each school district. The transient student ratio must
be published on the department’s website and in the
school accountability report card for each district
and public school building. The department must
also publish on its website the state’s aggregate
transient student ratio. The transient student ratio
must be calculated using specified data, including
the number of students enrolled in the district or
school, the number of students who withdraw from
the district or school, and the number of students
who are enrolled, withdrew, and later reentered the
district or school. Each school district must report
annually to the department any information and data
necessary for the department to calculate transient
student ratios. The scores of transient students on
a statewide assessment must not be included when
calculating the status or progress scores on the
district’s annual performance report in the student’s
first year and must be phased in over a three-year
period as specified in the bill.

PARENT NOTIFICATION OF UNACCREDITED
STATUS AND HOME VISITS (Section 162.1310)
When a district or attendance center is classified
as unaccredited, the district must notify the parents
or guardians of the enrolled students of the loss
of accreditation within seven business days. The
notice must also include an explanation of what
attendance options are and any services for which
the student may be eligible. This notice must be
posted in district school buildings and must be sent
to district taxpayers and each political subdivision
located in the boundaries of the school district.

The school board of any district with an
underperforming school must adopt a policy
regarding the availability of home visits by school
personnel. The school board’s policy may provide
that the parent or guardian of a student enrolled in
any school may be offered the opportunity to have
at least one annual home visit and must offer an

opportunity for a meeting at the school or other
mutually agreeable site.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SPENDING
AND FUND PLACEMENT REQUIREMENTS
(Section 163.410)

The bill specifies that school districts’ compliance
with the professional development funds spending
requirement and the fund placement and expenditure
requirements must be excused in fiscal years 2015
and 2016 if the funding formula is not fully funded or
the appropriation for the transportation categorical
is funded at a level less than 75% of the allowable
costs and in the following fiscal year if the Governor
withholds funds from the school foundation formula
in fiscal years 2015 or 2016.

HARDSHIP TRANSPORTATION ASSIGNMENTS
(Section 167.121)

The tuition amount that the sending district must
pay to the receiving district when the Commissioner
of Education reassigns a student because of a
transportation hardship must be the lesser of the
student’s district of residence’s current expenditure
per average daily attendance for the previous school
year and the receiving district’s current expenditure
per average daily attendance for the previous school
year.

For any student residing in St. Louis City,
Jackson County, St. Louis County, and any
county adjoining to St. Louis County, it must be a
rebuttable presumption that the student’s residence
is so located that attendance in the district of
residence constitutes an unusual or unreasonable
transportation hardship because of natural barriers,
travel time, or distance if the actual driving distance
from the pupil’s residence to the attendance center
in his or her district of residence is at least 17 miles
by the shortest route, the attendance center to
which the pupil would be assigned is at least seven
miles closer in actual driving distance than the
attendance center in the district of residence, and
the pupil’s attendance will not cause the classroom
in the receiving district to exceed the maximum
number of students per class as determined by the
receiving district.

STUDENT TRANSFERS IN K-8 DISTRICTS
(Section 167.131)

Currently, the school board of a school district that
does not maintain an accredited school is required
to pay the tuition and provide transportation of
resident pupils who attend an accredited school in
another district of the same or an adjoining county.
This provision currently applies to both unaccredited
school districts and K-8 school districts that do not
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offer high school grades. The provision is revised so
that it only applies to K-8 school districts.

STUDENT RETENTION AND PROMOTION,
READING INSTRUCTION, AND PERSONALIZED
LEARNING PLANS (Sections 167.642 and 167.730)

Underperforming districts in St. Louis County, as
described in the bill, are prohibited from promoting
any student from the fifth grade to the sixth grade
or from the eighth grade to the ninth grade who
has not scored at the proficient level or above on
the statewide assessments in the areas of English
language arts and mathematics. However, this
provision must not apply to any student with an
individualized education program (IEP) or any
student with a plan prepared under Section 504 of
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

Beginning July 1, 2015, every public school in
the St. Louis City School District and the Kansas
City School District, including charter schools,
must incorporate a response-to-intervention
tiered approach to reading instruction for students
determined by their school to need additional or
changed instruction to make progress as readers.
At a minimum, the reading levels of students in
kindergarten through tenth grade must be assessed
at the beginning and middle of the school year.
Students who score below district benchmarks
must be provided with intensive, systematic reading
instruction.

Beginning January 1, 2015, and each January
1 thereafter, each public school in the St. Louis
City School District and the Kansas City School
District, including charter schools, must prepare a
personalized learning plan for any kindergarten or
first grade student whose most recent school-wide
reading assessment result shows the student is
working below grade level, with certain exceptions.
For any student with a personalized learning plan,
the student’s main teacher must consult with the
student’s parent or guardian about the plan and must
have the written consent of the parent or guardian
to implement it. If a student is still performing below
grade level through the end of the first grade year,
the school must refer him or her for assessment to
determine if an IEP is necessary. If an IEP is not
necessary, the personalized learning plan must
remain in place until the student is reading at grade
level.

Any student who is not reading at the second
grade level in the St. Louis City School District
and the Kansas City School District by the end of
second grade can be promoted to third grade only
if the school provides additional reading instruction
during the summer and demonstrates the student is
ready for third grade at the end of summer school;

the school provides a “looping” classroom in which
the student continues with the same teacher for
multiple years but if the student is not reading at
the third grade level by the end of third grade, the
student must be retained; or the student’s parents
or guardians sign a notice that they prefer to have
the student promoted. The school must have final
determination on the issue of retention.

The St. Louis City School District, the Kansas City
School District, and each charter school located in
them must provide in its annual school accountability
report card the numbers and percentages by grade
from first grade to tenth grade of any students at any
grade level who have been promoted but who have
been determined as reading below grade level.

A school district or charter school may provide
for an equivalent student promotion and retention
program or a reading instruction program with the
oversight and approval of the department.

SCHOOL DISTRICT IMPROVEMENT MEASURES
(Sections 167.685 and 167.687)

Any unaccredited district must offer free
tutoring and supplemental education services to
underperforming and struggling students using
moneys from the newly created School District
Improvement Fund to the extent that the funds
are available. A district may implement these
services by contract with a public library for online
tutoring services. An underperforming district may
perform any or all of the following: implement a
new curriculum, retain an outside expert to advise
on regaining accreditation, enter into a contract
with an education management organization with
a demonstrated record of effectiveness, enter into
a collaborative relationship and agreement with
an accredited district in which teachers from both
districts may exchange positions for two school
weeks, or any other change allowed by law that
the school board reasonably believes will result in
improved performance for accreditation purposes.

STUDENT TRANSFERS FROM UNACCREDITED
DISTRICTS (Sections 167.825 - 167.827)

For school year 2014-2015, students who
participated in the transfer program that existed
on July 1, 2013, must be allowed to participate
under the same terms that governed the transfers
in school year 2013-2014, except for the tuition
amount. If an unaccredited district becomes
provisionally accredited or accredited, any resident
student who transferred must be permitted to
continue his or her educational program through the
completion of middle school, junior high school, or
high school, whichever occurs first. However, the
student must have previously attended a school in
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the unaccredited district for at least one semester
before initially transferring, unless the student was
entering kindergarten or was a first grade student,
and must continue to reside within the unaccredited
district. A student who returns to his or her district
of residence must be ineligible to transfer again.
Any student who transferred from an unaccredited
district to an accredited district in the same or an
adjoining county in school year 2013-2014 but did
not attend a public school for at least one semester
in the unaccredited district prior to the transfer is no
longer eligible to transfer in school year 2014-2015.

Any student who is enrolled in and has attended
an unaccredited school in an unaccredited district
for at least one semester may transfer to another
accredited school in his or her district of residence
that offers the student’s grade level of enroliment.
However, a transfer cannot result in a class size
and assigned enrollment in the receiving school that
exceeds the standards for class size and assigned
enrollment under the Missouri School Improvement
Program’s resource standards. The school board
of each unaccredited district must determine the
capacity at each of the district’s accredited schools.
The district’'s school board is responsible for
coordinating transfers from unaccredited schools
to accredited schools within the district. The school
board must annually report to the appropriate local
education authority the number of available slots
in accredited schools, the number of students
who request to transfer within the district, and the
number of transfer requests that are granted.

A student who is enrolled in and has attended an
unaccredited school in an unaccredited district for
at least one semester who is unable to transfer to
another accredited school in his or her district of
residence may apply to the appropriate education
authority by March 1 to transfer to an accredited
school in an accredited district in the same or
an adjoining county or a nonsectarian private
school in the district of residence. A student who
is eligible to begin kindergarten or first grade at
an unaccredited school in an unaccredited district
may apply to the appropriate education authority
for a transfer if he or she resides in the attendance
area of an accredited school in an unaccredited
district on March 1 preceding the school year of first
attendance. A student who does not apply by March
1 is required to enroll and attend for one semester to
become eligible. Any transfer student who does not
maintain residence in the attendance zone of his or
her unaccredited school in the unaccredited district
will lose transfer eligibility. A student who withdraws
from the transfer will also lose transfer eligibility.

An unaccredited or provisionally accredited
district or school is not eligible to receive transfer
students. However, a student who chooses to
attend a provisionally accredited school in the
unaccredited district must be allowed to do so if
there is an available slot. A district or school with
a three-year average score of 75% or lower on its
annual performance report is not eligible to receive
transfer students except for any student who was
granted a transfer prior to the effective date of the
bill.

A district that receives student transfers cannot be
required to exceed the class size and assignment
enrollment standards of its district-approved policy
on class size; hire additional classroom teachers;
or construct additional classrooms unless its board
has approved the actions.

Each receiving district has the right to establish a
policy for desirable class size and student-teacher
ratios based on objective means and will not be
required to accept any transfer students that would
violate its policy. A policy may allow for estimated
growth in the resident student population. A district
that adopts a policy must do so annually by January
1. If a transfer student is denied admission based
on a lack of space under the district’s policy, the
student or his or her parent or guardian may appeal
the ruling to the state board. The state board may
limit the district’s policy if it finds the district’s policy
is unduly restrictive to student transfers. The state
board’s decision will be final.

Each receiving district must annually adopt a
policy establishing a tuition rate by February 1. The
rate of tuition to be paid by the sending district is the
per-pupil cost of maintaining the receiving district’s
grade level grouping. However, a receiving district
is prohibited from receiving tuition from a sending
district that exceeds the receiving district’s per pupil
expenditure for its resident students. If any receiving
district chooses to charge a rate of tuition that is
70% or less of the per-pupil cost of maintaining the
sending district’s grade level grouping, the statewide
assessment scores and all other performance data
for those students whom the district received must
not be used for five school years when calculating
the performance of the receiving district for purposes
of the Missouri School Improvement Program.

The school board of a receiving district may
choose to charge a rate of tuition less than the
amount that would otherwise be calculated under
the statutory calculation. If the receiving district
chooses to charge a rate of tuition that is less than
90% of the rate that would otherwise be charged,
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10% of the receiving district’s tuition rate must be
paid from the newly created Supplemental Tuition
Fund.

Any district that received transfer students in the
2013-2014 school year may adjust the tuition paid
by the sending district to 70% of the per-pupil cost
of maintaining the sending district’'s grade level
grouping. If a district adjusts its tuition rate, the
statewide assessment scores and performance
data for the transfer students must not be used for
five school years when calculating the receiving
district’s performance for purposes of the Missouri
School Improvement Program.

If an unaccredited district becomes provisionally
accredited or accredited, any resident student
who transferred to an accredited district or to a
nonsectarian private school must be permitted to
continue his or her educational program through the
completion of middle school, junior high school, or
high school, whichever occurs first.

A student’s district of residence may provide
transportation for the student to attend another
accredited district but must not be required to do so.

When the costs associated with the provision
of special education and related services to a
student with a disability exceed the established
tuition amount, the unaccredited district must
remain responsible for paying the excess costs to
the receiving district. When the receiving district
is a component district of a special school district,
the unaccredited district must contract with the
special school district for the entirety of the costs
to provide special education and related services,
excluding transportation. The special school district
may contract with an unaccredited district for the
provision of transportation. A special school district
must continue to provide special education and
related services, with the exception of transportation,
to a student with a disability transferring from an
unaccredited district within the same or a different
component district. When the St. Louis City School
District is declared unaccredited, it must remain
responsible for the provision of special education
and related services, including transportation, to
students with disabilities. A special school district
may contract with the St. Louis City School District.
Regardless of whether transportation is identified as
a related service within a student’s IEP, a receiving
district thatis not part of a special school district must
not be responsible for providing transportation. An
unaccredited district may contract with a receiving
district that is not part of a special school district for
transportation. When a district other than St. Louis
City is declared unaccredited, it may contract with a
receiving district that is not part of a special school

district for the reimbursement of special education
and related services.

By August 1, 2014, and by January 1 annually,
each accredited district in the same or an adjoining
county to an unaccredited district must report to
the education authority for the county in which
the unaccredited district is located the number of
its available enrollment slots by grade level. Each
unaccredited district must report the number
of available enrollment slots in the district's
accredited schools. Each nonsectarian private
school in an unaccredited district that wishes to
participate in the transfer program must provide
the required information by the same date. Each
education authority with an unaccredited district
in its geographic area must make information
and assistance available to parents who intend to
transfer their child to an accredited district or to a
nonsectarian private school. A parent or guardian
who intends to transfer his or her child must send
initial notification to the appropriate education
authority by March 1 for enrollmentin the subsequent
school year. The education authority must assign
the transfer student to an accredited district in the
same or an adjoining county or a nonsectarian
private school. The education authority must give
first priority to a student who lives in the same
household with any family member within the first
or second degree of consanguinity or affinity who
already attends an accredited school and who
applies to attend the same accredited school. If
insufficient enrollment slots are available for a
student to transfer, that student must receive first
priority the following school year. The authority must
only disrupt student and parent choice for transfer
if a receiving district’s available slots are requested
by more students than there are slots available.
The authority must consider the following factors in
assigning schools: the student’s or parent’s choice
of the receiving school, the best interests of the
student, and distance and travel time. The authority
must not consider student academic performance,
student free and reduced lunch status, or athletics.
An education authority may deny a transfer to a
student who in the most recent school year has
been suspended from school two or more times or
has been suspended for an act of school violence.

STUDENT TRANSFERS TO NONSECTARIAN
PRIVATE SCHOOLS (Section 167.828)

In St. Louis City, St. Louis County, and Jackson
County, the school board of an unaccredited district
that operates an unaccredited school must pay
tuition for any student who has enrolled in and
attended an unaccredited school in the district
for one semester to attend a nonsectarian private
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school located in the district using funds from the
district’s operating levy for school purposes. The
tuition amount cannot exceed the lesser of the
nonsectarian private school’s tuition or 70% of the
unaccredited district’s cost of maintaining a grade
level grouping.

A nonsectarian private school will only qualify to
receive tuition payments under these provisions if
it is accredited by the North Central Association
Commission On Accreditation and School
Improvement or demonstrates similar academic
quality credentials to the Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education, administers or allows for
the administration of the statewide assessments in
English language arts and mathematics for transfer
students, complies with all health and safety
laws or codes that apply to nonpublic schools,
holds a valid occupancy permit if required by its
municipality, certifies that it will not discriminate
in admissions as specified in the bill, and files a
statement of intent to accept transfer students with
the department. Private nonsectarian schools that
choose to receive transfer students must adhere to
specified provisions of Missouri state school law.
Any participating nonsectarian private school must
provide data to the department for the production
of an annual performance report. When the total
enrollment of a nonsectarian private school consists
of 25% transfer students, the school must conform
to the performance standards of the Missouri
School Improvement Program to continue its
eligibility for the program. The district of residence
may provide transportation but is not required to do
so. An unaccredited district must use funds from the
operating levy for school purposes to pay the tuition
for students who attend a nonsectarian private
school.

The option for a student to enroll in and attend
a nonsectarian private school must be authorized
by the school district’s voters at a general election
as described in the bill. A majority vote is required
for authorization. Regardless of whether the voters
authorize the private school option, students may
transfer to a private school if a district remains
classified as unaccredited for three consecutive
years of the district being unaccredited. Where
costs associated with the provision of special
education and related services to a student with a
disability exceed the established tuition amount, the
unaccredited district must remain responsible to pay
the excess cost to the nonsectarian private school.

REGIONAL EDUCATION AUTHORITIES
(Sections 167.830 - 167.845)

Three separate regional education authorities
are created to coordinate student transfers from

unaccredited districts to accredited districts, one
for St. Louis City, St. Louis County, and adjoining
counties; a second authority for the Kansas City
area, consisting of Jackson County and adjoining
counties; and a third authority for the rest of the
state. Each authority will consist of five members,
as specified in the bill, appointed by the Governor
with the advice and consent of the Senate, who will
serve for a term of six years. The authority must
coordinate and collaborate with local districts and
local governments for the student transfers. Parents
who want to transfer their child to another district
must notify the appropriate regional education
authority by March 1. The education authority will
assign students to districts using the admissions
process specified in the bill.

SHARING OF SUPERINTENDENTS
(Section 168.205)

Two or more school districts may share a
superintendent who possesses a valid Missouri
superintendent’s license without seeking approval
from the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education.

ON-LINE TUTORING SERVICES THROUGH A
PUBLIC LIBRARY (Section 170.215)

A school district may enter into a contract
with a public library to provide on-line tutoring
services through a third-party vendor or a
nonprofit organization for the district’'s students.
Tutoring services must be conducted through any
compatible computer to participating students
who have a library card, both within and without
the library facility. Tutoring services may include
assistance with homework, collaboration and
study tools in various school subjects, access to
writing assistance productivity software, and test
preparation tools. A contract may allow dedicated
access to assistance during specified hours of the
day and specified days of the week. A contract may
allow students to submit questions to tutors or join
on-line study groups. On-line tutoring services must
be designed and implemented to protect student
privacy, prohibit voice communication between
the parties, and prohibit face-to-face visual
communication. An employee of any third-party
vendor or nonprofit organization with which a public
library has contracted for the tutoring services
must not solicit personally identifiable information
from any participating student. Each school district
offering tutoring services must maintain an archive
of all communications between students and tutors
for two years that must be accessible to district
officials and tutoring supervisors.
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PARENT PORTAL FUND (Section 170.320)

The Parent Portal Fund is created to assist districts
in establishing and maintaining a parent portal so
parents may have access to educational information
and student data by mobile technology.

SCHOOL PROPERTY AGREEMENTS
(Sections 177.011 and 177.088)

Currently, a school board cannot lease or rent
a building to be used for school purposes while
the district school is unoccupied. The bill allows
an exception for lease agreements entered into
under the provisions of Section 177.088, regarding
agreements with not-for-profit corporations.

Currently, a school district board, community
college board, or college or university board for an
institution organized under Chapter 174 may enter
into an agreement with a not-for-profit corporation
to acquire, construct, improve, extend, repair,
remodel, or finance sites, buildings, facilities,
furnishings, and equipment for the use of the
institution for educational purposes. The bill repeals
the requirement that it be a not-for-profit corporation
and repeals the provision allowing the governing
board of an educational institution to refinance any
lease purchase agreement if it satisfies at least
one of the specified conditions for the purpose of
payment on any lease with a corporation for sites,
buildings, facilities, furnishings, or equipment which
the corporation has acquired or constructed.

CHILDREN'’S SERVICES FUND (Section 210.861)

In fiscal years 2015 and 2016, in St. Louis
County, up to 5% of the fiscal year’s revenues in
the Children’s Services Fund must be devoted to a
grant program to deliver services directly to schools
in unaccredited or provisionally accredited districts.
The board of directors of the fund must undertake a
needs assessment for any of these school districts
within 90 days after receiving notification. The
needs assessment must be used as a basis for the
contracting of mental health wraparound services.
The board must appoint one of its members to a
direct school service coordinating committee.
Additional members of the direct service coordinating
committee must include a social worker appointed
by the board, two parents of students as specified
in the bill appointed by the school board of each
affected district, the superintendent of each affected
district, and a school service staff member appointed
by the school board of each affected district. The
committee must provide recommendations and
oversight to the program of contracted services.
Any moneys distributed from the fund is subject to
an annual audit. These provisions will terminate on
June 30, 2016.

SCHOOL TRANSFER AND IMPROVEMENT TASK
FORCE (Section 1)

The School Transfer and Improvement Task Force
is established within the Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education to study the means to
address failing schools, including the creation of
a school improvement district; developing options
for school transfer finance formulas; best practices
for how to design and finance public virtual and
blended schools; and best practices and possible
pilot projects to assist transient students. The task
force will consist of the following members:

(1) Three members of the Senate, appointed by
the President Pro Tem, of whom not more than two
can be of the same party;

(2) One member from an education policy research
organization in Missouri, appointed by the President
Pro Tem of the Senate;

(3) Threemembersofthe House of Representatives,
appointed by the Speaker, of whom not more than
two can be of the same party;

(4) One member from a statewide business
association, appointed by the Speaker of the House
of Representatives;

(5) The Commissioner of Education, or his or her
designee;

(6) One member from an education organization
consisting exclusively of elected officials, appointed
by the Commissioner of Education; and

(7) The Lieutenant Governor, or his or her

designee.

The task force must make recommendations by
February 1, 2015, to the General Assembly. These
provisions will expire on April 31, 2015.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

SB 500 -- WILLS AND TRUSTS

This bill specifies that any property or interest in
property held by a husband and wife as tenants by
the entirety or as joint tenants or another form of joint
ownership with right of survivorship must be deemed
to be held as tenants by the entirety upon its transfer
to a qualified spousal trust. The bill specifies that a
provision in a trust instrument requiring mediation or
arbitration of disputes among specified individuals
is enforceable. However, a provision in a trust
agreement requiring the mediation or arbitration
of disputes relating to the validity of a trust is not
enforceable unless all interested persons consent
to the mediation or arbitration.

Currently, a no-contest clause in a will or trust
is enforceable, which generally means that a
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beneficiary forfeits interest in the will or trust
property if he or she contests the trust or will. The
bill specifies that if a trust instrument containing a
no-contest clause is or has become irrevocable,
as defined in the bill, an interested person may
file a petition with a court for a ruling on whether a
particular claim for relief would trigger application
of the no-contest clause or trigger a forfeiture that
is enforceable under applicable law and public
policy. The petition for the ruling must be verified
under oath and may be filed as a separate judicial
proceeding or along with other claims for relief in
a single proceeding. The bill specifies that when
ruling on the petition, the court must consider the
text of the clause, the context to the terms of the
trust instrument as a whole, and in the context of the
verified factual allegations in the petition. The court
must not accept evidence beyond the pleadings and
the trust instrument except as required to resolve an
ambiguity in the no-contest clause.

An order or judgment on the application of a no-
contest clause must be subject to appeal as with
other final judgments. Following the ruling, if claims
are subsequently filed that are materially different
than those upon which the no-contest clause order
or judgment is based, the party in whose favor
the order or judgment was entered must have no
protection from enforcement of the no-contest
clause provided under these provisions to the extent
the new claims are raised.

The bill specifies the types of circumstances
in which a no-contest clause is not enforceable,
including filing a claim objecting to the jurisdiction
or venue of the court or filing a claim for relief
concerning an accounting, report, or notice that has
or should have been made by a trustee. In these
situations, the court may award attorney fees and
costs to any party.

If a will contains a no-contest clause, an interested
person may file a petition with the court for a
determination whether a particular claim for relief
would trigger application of the no-contest clause
or trigger a forfeiture that is enforceable under
applicable law and public policy.

HCS SB 504 -- ELECTRONIC POSTING OF
PROPOSED RULES BY STATE AGENCIES

This bill requires a state agency to make proposed
rules available to the public by providing a link on
its official website to the web page that contains
the text of the proposed rule as filed, a fiscal note
and summary for the proposed rule, as well as a
direct link to the rule and material incorporated by
reference in the Missouri Register. This information
must be made available on the website within one

business day of the publication of the proposed rule
in the Missouri Register.

HCS SB 506 -- AGRICULTURE
(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill changes the laws regarding agriculture.

DESIGNATION OF CAPTIVE CERVIDS AS
LIVESTOCK (Sections 144.010, 262.900, 265.300,
267.565, and 277.020, RSMo)

The bill adds captive cervids to the definition
of “livestock” for the purposes of the state sales
and use tax laws, urban agricultural zones, meat
inspection laws, the Missouri Livestock Disease
Control and Eradication Law, and the Missouri
Livestock Marketing Law.

MISSOURI DAIRY REVITALIZATION ACT OF 2014
(Sections 261.270 - 261.275)

The Missouri Dairy Revitalization Act of 2014 is
established that:

(1) Creates the Missouri Dairy Industry
Revitalization Fund and requires moneys in the fund,
upon appropriation, to be used solely to enhance
and improve Missouri’s dairy and dairy processing
industries as specified in the bill;

(2) Requires, each fiscal year, the University of
Missouri to conduct or contract with an independent
research company to conduct research to determine
the estimated sales tax revenue generated in the
state from the sales of dairy products and to provide
the estimate to the Department of Agriculture by
October 1 of each year;

(3) Specifies that no more than 40% of the
estimated sales tax revenue generated from the
sales of dairy products during the preceding fiscal
year may be appropriated from the General Revenue
Fund to the Missouri Dairy Industry Revitalization
Fund and must be expended in the following order
of priority:

(@) To the newly established Dairy Producer
Margin Insurance Premium Assistance Program;

(b) To the newly established Missouri
Scholars Program; and

(c) To the newly established Commercial
Agriculture Program,;

Dairy

(4) Requires the department to establish and
administer, through the Missouri Agricultural and
Small Business Development Authority (MASBDA),
a dairy producer margin insurance premium
assistance program for the purpose of assisting
dairy producers who participate in the federal margin
protection program in the federal Agricultural Act of
2014;
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(5) Specifies that all dairy producers who
participate in the federal margin protection program
must be eligible to apply to participate in the dairy
producer margin insurance premium assistance
program and requires a producer to apply with
MASBDA by January 1 of each year;

(6) Specifies that a participating dairy producer
who has paid his or her annual federal premium
payment and provides proof of the payment to
MASBDA must be eligible to receive 70% of his or her
federal premium payment up to a maximum premium
reimbursement rate of $.34 per hundredweight of
milk;

(7) Requires the University of Missouri and
MASBDA to provide risk management training for
Missouri dairy producers annually;

(8) Establishes the Missouri Dairy Scholars
Program, administered by the department, to
annually make available, subject to appropriation,
up to 80 scholarships in an amount of $5,000 each
to eligible students in an agriculture-related degree
program in a Missouri college or university who
make a commitment to work in Missouri’s agriculture
industry as specified in the bill; and

(9) Requires the University of Missouri's
Commercial Agriculture Program to conduct an
annual study of the dairy industry, develop a dairy-
specific plan for how to grow and enhance the dairy
and dairy processing industries in Missouri, and
report the results of the study to the department
and all agriculture-related legislative committee
chairpersons by January 1 of each year. The costs
for the study must be subject to appropriations and
paid out of the Missouri Dairy Industry Revitalization
Fund.

BEEF COMMODITY MERCHANDISING PROGRAM
(Section 275.352)

The bill repeals the provision that prohibits the
state from collecting fees under the Beef Commodity
Merchandising Program in excess of the amount
credited against the obligation to pay any federal
assessments.

MISSOURI LIVESTOCK MARKETING LAW
(Section 277.040)

The bill specifies that all license fees collected
under the Missouri Livestock Marketing Law
cannot yield revenue greater than the total cost of
administrating the law during the ensuing year.

CERTIFIED COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE
APPLICATORS (Section 281.065)

Currently, a certified commercial pesticide
applicator must furnish evidence of financial
responsibility with the Director of the Department

of Agriculture in order to receive a license. The bill
removes the requirement to furnish the evidence
for license renewal unless upon request of the
department. Annual renewals for surety bonds
or liability insurance must be maintained at the
business location from which the applicator is
licensed. If the department director so requests in
writing, the applicator must furnish a copy of the bond
or certificate within 10 working days of receiving
the request. The amount of the required bond or
insurance is increased from not less than $25,000
to not less than $50,000 for each occurrence. The
applicator must immediately notify the department
director of the cancellation or reduction of financial
responsibility for any applicator or employer of the
applicator. The applicator or applicator’s employer
must maintain the bond or insurance certificate at
the business location from which the applicator is
licensed. If the financial responsibility furnished
becomes unsatisfactory, new financial responsibility
instruments must be immediately executed and
maintained at the business location.

VEHICLES HAULING LIVESTOCK AND
AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS (Section 304.180)

The bill repeals the provisions prohibiting the
total gross weight of any vehicle or combination
of vehicles hauling livestock from exceeding
85,500 pounds while operating on specified state
highways with the exception of vehicles operated
on the Dwight D. Eisenhower System of Interstate
and Defense Highways and specifies that the
total gross weight of any vehicle or combination of
vehicles hauling livestock or agricultural products,
not including local log trucks, or hauling milk from a
farm to a processing facility cannot exceed 85,500
pounds while operating on highways other than
the interstate highway system with the specified
exception.

LARGE ANIMAL VETERINARY STUDENT LOAN
PROGRAM (Sections 340.381 and 340.396)

The bill renames the Large Animal Veterinarian
Student Loan Program as the Dr. Merrill Townley
Large Animal Veterinary Student Loan Program
and repeals the expiration date of the provisions
regarding the program.

FOREIGN OWNERSHIP OF AGRICULTURAL LAND
(Section 442.571)

Currently, the sale, transfer, or acquisition of any
agricultural land by an alien or foreign business
must be approved by the Director of the Department
of Agriculture. The bill requires a sale or transfer of
agricultural land by an alien or foreign business to be
submitted to the department director for review only
if there is no completed Internal Revenue Service
Form W-9 signed by the purchaser. Any security
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interest in the agricultural land held by a person as
an agent, trustee, or other fiduciary for an alien or
foreign business cannot be divested or invalidated
by a violation of specified provisions regarding aliens
and corporations of foreign countries acquiring and
holding real estate.

LIABILITY FOR LIVESTOCK ACTIVITIES
(Section 537.325)

Currently, an equine activity sponsor or an equine
professional have limited liability for injuries or death
from accidents resulting from the inherent risks of
equine activities. The bill expands the limited liability
to include a livestock activity sponsor, a livestock
owner, a livestock facility, and a livestock auction
market for injuries or death of a participant resulting
from the inherent risks of livestock activities with the
exception of specified circumstances.

Livestock activities include grazing, herding,
feeding, branding, milking, or other activities that
involve the care and maintenance of livestock;
a livestock show, fair, competition, or auction; a
livestock training or teaching activity; boarding
livestock; and inspecting or evaluating livestock.

Currently, equine activity sponsors must post
a warning sign on or near specified areas where
equine activities are conducted. The bill requires
the warning sign to also be posted where livestock
activities are conducted.

LABELING OF MOTOR FUEL PUMPS (Section 1)
The bill requires the Department of Agriculture to

propose a rule regarding renewable fuels and the

labeling of motor fuel pumps by January 1, 2015.

HCS SB 508 -- HEALTH INSURANCE
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill
insurance.

changes the laws regarding health

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD FEE (Section 43.530,
RSMo)

The bill requires the Department of Public Safety to
charge a fee of $14 to the Department of Insurance,
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
for each criminal history record requested on a
health insurance navigator license applicant.

STATE LEGAL EXPENSE FUND (Section 105.711)
Currently, for the purposes of the State Legal
Expense Fund a “free health clinic’ means a
nonprofit community health center exempt from
federal taxation that provides primary care and
preventative services to people without health
insurance without charge. The bill changes the
term “free health clinic” to “community health clinic”

and removes the without charge requirement. The
bill excludes specified federally funded community
health centers and rural health clinics from the
organizations that are eligible to receive payment of
a claim from the fund.

STATE CHILDREN’S HEALTH INSURANCE
PROGRAM (Sections 208.631 - 208.646)

The bill removes references to the Uninsured
Women’s Health Program in the provisions regarding
the State Children’s Health Insurance Program
(SCHIP).

Currently, the provisions regarding SCHIP define
“uninsured children” as persons up to 19 years
of age who meet specified criteria or persons
whose parent or guardian have not had access to
affordable health care coverage for their children
for six months prior to application for the program.
The bill removes the requirement that the parent
or guardian has not had access to coverage for six
months prior to application. The bill changes the
eligibility requirements for SCHIP by removing the
requirement that the parent or guardian demonstrate
annually that their total net worth does not exceed
$250,000 in total value. The bill changes, from six
months to 90 days, the time that a child must be
ineligible for SCHIP coverage after notification from
the department when his or her parent or guardian
with an income of more than 250% of the federal
poverty level fails to pay the required co-payment
or premium.

HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATE EXEMPTION
(Section 376.998)

The bill prohibits any health insurance mandate
that is applicable to health benefit plans written by
a health carrier from applying to excepted benefit
plans. For purposes of the exemption under these
provisions, a “health insurance mandate” means
a state requirement for a health carrier to offer or
provide coverage for:

(1) A treatment by a particular type of health care
provider;

(2) A certain treatment or service, including
procedures, medical equipment, or drugs that are
used in connection with a treatment or service; and

(3) Screening, diagnosis, or treatment of a

particular disease or condition.

The bill requires all excepted benefit plans issued
on or after January 1, 2015, to include a disclaimer
printed in no less than 12-point font on the front of
the policy, certificate, application and enroliment
form, and all advertising materials which states:

‘“NOTICE TO CONSUMER: THIS PLAN IS
NOT CONSIDERED “MINIMUM ESSENTIAL
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COVERAGE” AND IS NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR
MAJOR MEDICAL INSURANCE. THIS PLAN HAS
LIMITS AND EXCLUSIONS AND MAY NOT COVER
ALL HEALTH BENEFITS OR SERVICES”

If plan identification cards are issued to enrollees
of excepted benefit plans, the cards must clearly
and conspicuously state on the front of the card:
“THIS IS NOT MINIMUM ESSENTIAL COVERAGE.”

These provisions apply to all insurers that provide
coverage to residents of this state that is issued or
renewed on or after January 1, 2015.

HEALTH INSURANCE EXCHANGE NAVIGATORS
(Section 376.2004)

An applicant for a health insurance exchange
navigator license must take an examination created
and administered by the Director of the Department
of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional
Registration. The department may contract with
an independent testing service to administer
the examination. An applicant cannot satisfy
the examination requirement by demonstrating
achievement of a passing score on any certification
examination in lieu of the examination administered
by the department. Each applicant for a navigator
license must submit two full sets of fingerprints to
the State Highway Patrol for the purpose of obtaining
a Missouri and federal criminal records check. The
bill prohibits the department from issuing a license
if the applicant has been convicted of a felony
offense or a misdemeanor offense involving fraud
or dishonesty.

SS#3 SCS SBs 509 & 496 -- INCOME TAXES

(Vetoed by the Governor -- Overridden by the
General Assembly)

This bill changes the laws regarding income taxes.
In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Modifies the individual income tax rate table.
Beginning with the 2017 tax year, the maximum
tax rate on personal income will be reduced by .1%
once a year if the amount of net general revenue
collected in the previous fiscal year exceeds the
highest amount of revenue collected in any of the
three fiscal years prior to the fiscal year by at least
$150 million. The maximum tax rate cannot be
reduced below 5.5%;

(2) Requires the individualincome tax rate brackets
to be adjusted annually for inflation as measured by
the federal Consumer Price Index, beginning with
the 2017 tax year;

(3) Authorizes an individual income tax deduction
for business income, beginning January 1, 2017,
and phases it in, in 5% increments, over a period
of years. However, the deduction can only occur if

the net general revenue collected in the previous
fiscal year exceeds those collected in any of the
three fiscal years prior to the fiscal year by at least
$150 million. A taxpayer will be allowed to deduct
5% of business income for the first tax year the
income growth is met. The maximum that may be
deducted is 25% of business income. A shareholder
of a S-corporation and a partner in a partnership
will be allowed a proportional deduction based on
his or her share of ownership; and

(4) Authorizes, beginning January 1, 2017, an
additional personal exemption of $500 for every
individual with a Missouri adjusted gross income
of less than $20,000. Currently, the personal
exemption for individual income tax is $2,100.

SS SCS SB 510 -- DISQUALIFICATION FROM
UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

This bill changes the laws regarding unemployment
benefits. The definition of “misconduct,” as it relates
to employee disqualification from unemployment
benefits, is revised to conduct or failure to act in
a manner that is connected to work, regardless of
whether the conduct or failure to act occurs at the
workplace or during work hours.

Currently, misconduct includes an act of wanton
or willful disregard of the employer’s interest;
a deliberate violation of the employer’s rules;
a disregard of standards of behavior that the
employer has the right to expect; or negligence in
a degree or recurrence as to manifest culpability,
wrongful intent, or evil design or show an intentional
and substantial disregard of the employer’s interest
or of the employee’s duties and obligations to the
employer. The bill changes it to:

(1) Conduct or a failure to act demonstrating
knowing disregard of the employer’s interest or a
knowing violation of the standards that the employer
expects;

(2) Conduct or a failure to act demonstrating
carelessness or negligence in such degree or
recurrence as to manifest culpability, wrongful
intent, or a knowing disregard of the employer’s
interest or the employee’s duties and obligations to
the employer;

(3) A violation of an employer’'s no-call, no-
show policy; chronic absenteeism or tardiness in
violation of a known employer policy; or two or more
unapproved absences following a written reprimand
or warning unless the absences are protected by
law;

(4) A knowing violation of a state standard or
regulation by an employee that would cause a
licensed or certified employer to be sanctioned
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or have its license or certification suspended or
revoked; or

(5) A violation of an employer’s rule unless the
employee can demonstrate that he or she did not
know and could not reasonably know of the rule’s
requirements, the rule is not lawful, or the rule is not
fairly or consistently enforced.

Currently, an employee is disqualified from
benefits if he or she voluntarily leaves work without
good cause attributable to the work or the employer.
The bill specifies that “good cause” includes only
a cause that would compel a reasonable employee
to cease working or would require separation from
work due to illness or disability.

The provision specifying that absenteeism or
tardiness may constitute a rebuttable presumption of
misconduct as it relates to employee disqualification
for waiting week credit or benefits if the discharge
was the result of a violation of a known attendance
policy of the employer is repealed.

SB 523 -- RADIO FREQUENCY IDENTIFICATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill prohibits a school district from requiring
a student to use an identification device that uses
radio frequency identification technology to identify
the student, transmit information regarding the
student, or monitor or track the location of the
student.

HCS SS SB 525 -- FOOD SAFETY

This bill allows a nonprofit organization to prepare
food in a private home or other area for distribution
to the end consumer at a charitable fundraising
event.

The nonprofit organization may inform the
consumer by placing a clearly visible placard at
the serving location that the food was prepared
in a kitchen that is not subject to regulation and
inspection by the regulatory authority.

The nonprofit organization may notify the
regulatory authority in writing or via electronic mail
prior to the beginning of the event. If made, the
notification must include the name of the nonprofit
organization; date, time, and location of the event;
and the name and contact information of the person
responsible for the event.

The bill does not apply to a food establishment
that is regulated by the Department of Health and
Senior Services that provides food for the event.

These provisions must not apply to the counties
of Boone, Clay, Jackson, Jefferson, St. Charles,
and St. Louis and to Kansas City and the City of St.

Louis.

The bill specifies that a cottage food production
operation, which is defined as an individual
operation out of the individual’s home producing a
baked good, a canned jam or jelly, or a dried herb
or herb mix for sale at the individual’s home; having
an annual gross income of $50,000 or less from the
sale of the food; and selling the food only directly
to consumers. A cottage food production operation
is not a food service establishment and cannot be
subject to any other state or local food code laws or
regulations. The department is required to establish
rules requiring a cottage food production operation
to label all foods intended for sale with the name
and address of the operation and a statement that
the food is not inspected by the department or a
local health department. An operation cannot sell
cottage foods through the Internet.

These provisions cannot be construed to prohibit
the authority of the department or a local health
department to conduct an investigation of a
foodborne disease or outbreak.

SB 527 -- MEDICAL RADIATION SAFETY
AWARENESS

This bill designates March 27 of each year as
“Medical Radiation Safety Awareness Day” in
Missouri. Citizens and the health care professionals
community of this state are encouraged to be
aware of not only the benefits of radiographic
medical procedures but the potential dangers of
overexposure to radiation during diagnostic imaging
and radiation therapy.

SCS SB 529 -- PUBLIC WORKS CONTRACTS AND
PROJECTS

This bill changes the laws regarding public works
contracts and public works projects.

Currently, a public works project contract made
by a political subdivision for a public works project
must provide prompt payment to the contractor
and progress payments on a monthly or lump sum
basis according to the terms of the contract. The bill
requires prompt payment and progress payments
to also be provided to the professional engineers,
architects, landscape architects, and land surveyors.

Currently, a public owner may retain 5% of the
value of a public works contract or up to 10% if it
is determined by the public owner and the architect
or engineer that a higher rate is required to ensure
performance. The bill specifies that a public owner
may retain up to 10% if the contractor is not required
to obtain a bond because the contract is not
estimated to exceed $50,000.
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Currently, retainage may be adjusted prior to
completion when work is proceeding satisfactorily
and retainage is paid after substantial completion of
the contract or per contract terms. In these cases,
200% of the value of the remaining work must be
withheld until completion. The bill specifies that
150% of the value must be withheld until completion.

Currently, the public owner must pay the retainage
after substantial completion of the work or as
provided per contract to the contractor for state
highway road or bridge projects administered by the
State Highways and Transportation Commission.
The bill requires the owner to pay at least 98% of
the retainage to the contractor and the contractor to
pay subcontractors and suppliers after substantial
completion or as provided in the contract.

If the owner determines that the work is not
substantially completed, the owner must provide a
written explanation within 14 days to the contractor.
The contractor is then required to provide the notice
to any subcontractor or suppliers responsible. If
the explanation is not given by the public body, the
public body must pay at least 98% of the retainage
within 30 days.

Currently, a contractor must pay a subcontractor
or supplier when he or she receives payment less
any retention not to exceed 10%. The bill lowers the
retention to not more than 5%.

Currently, when the public owner does not release
full payment due because there are specific areas
of work or materials the owner is rejecting, the
subcontractors or suppliers involved are not paid
for the rejected work. The bill specifies that the
subcontractors or suppliers do not have to be paid if
the owner gives a written explanation as to why the
work or supplies were rejected.

The public owner must include any withheld
retainage with final payment of moneys owed to
the contractor within 30 days of the due date. The
public owner must pay any professional engineer,
architect, landscape architect, or land surveyor
the amount due within 30 days after receiving an
invoice. If full payment is not made, the contracting
agency must pay 1.5% interest per month until fully
paid.

Currently, public owners must require contractors
on public works projects to furnish a bond when the
estimated cost of the project exceeds $25,000. The
bill changes that amount to $50,000.

HCS SCS SB 530 -- TERMINATION OF PARENTAL
RIGHTS

This bill changes the laws regarding the
termination of parental rights under which a parent

is presumed unfit to be a party to the parent and
child relationship upon a showing in juvenile court of
a consistent pattern of committing a specific abuse
by adding the following circumstances:

(1) If, within eight hours after a child’s birth, the
child’s birth mother has tested positive and over
.08 blood content for alcohol or tested positive for
cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, a controlled
substance as defined in Section 195.010, RSMo, or
a prescription drug as defined in Section 196.973,
except those controlled substances or prescription
drugs present in the mother’s body as a result of
medical treatment administered to the mother, and
the birth mother is the biological mother of at least
one other child who was adjudicated an abused
or neglected minor by the mother or the mother
has previously failed to complete recommended
treatment services by the Children’s Division within
the Department of Social Services through a family-
centered services case;

(2) If, at the time of the child’s birth or within eight
hours after a child’s birth, the child tested positive
for alcohol cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, a
controlled substance as defined in Section 195.010
or a prescription drug as defined in Section 196.973,
except those controlled substances or prescription
drugs present in the mother’s body as a result of
medical treatment administered to the mother, and
the birth mother is the biological mother of at least
one other child who was adjudicated an abused
or neglected minor by the mother or the mother
has previously failed to complete recommended
treatment services by the division through a family-
centered services case; or

(3) If, within a three-year period immediately prior
to termination adjudication, the parent has pled
guilty to or has been convicted of a felony involving
the possession, distribution, or manufacture of
cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine and the
parent is the biological parent of at least one other
child who was adjudicated an abused or neglected
minor by that parent or the parent has previously
failed to complete recommended treatment services
by the division through a family-centered services
case.

SS SCS SB 532 -- EDUCATIONAL AND MEDICAL
CONSENT

This bill changes the laws regarding consent
provided by relative caregivers.

The bill repeals the current provisions regarding a
person’s consent for the immunization of a child and
allows a relative caregiver acting under an affidavit
to consent to medical treatment and for educational
services for a minor child with whom the caregiver
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lives if the consent of the legal parent or guardian
cannot be obtained through reasonable efforts.
A parent may also delegate in writing his or her
authority to consent to the treatment or services to
the relative caregiver.

“Relative caregiver” is defined as a competent
adult who is related by blood, marriage, or adoption
who is not the parent and who represents in the
affidavit that the child lives with the adult and that
the adult is responsible for the care of the child.
“Educational services” is defined as enrollment of a
child in a school to which the child has been or will
be accepted for attendance and participation in any
school activities, including extracurricular activities.

If a child stops living with the relative caregiver,
the caregiver must immediately notify any health
care provider or school that has been given the
affidavit, and the affidavit is immediately invalid.

These provisions do not relieve a parent of liability
for the payment of the treatment or services and
must not be construed to create a cause of action
against a relative caregiver who has complied with
these provisions.

The bill specifies the required information that
must be contained in the affidavit and that the
affidavit must expire after one year.

HCS SCS SB 567 -- PUBLIC HEALTH
This bill changes the laws regarding public health.

Currently, an institution of higher education must
require all students residing in on-campus housing
to sign a written waiver stating that the institution
has provided the student or, if the student is a
minor, his or her guardian or parent with detailed
written information on the risks associated with
meningococcal disease and the availability and
effectiveness of the meningococcal vaccine. The bill
repeals that requirement and requires all students
residing in on-campus housing to have received the
meningococcal vaccine unless a signed statement
of medical or religious exemption is on file with the
institution’s administration. A medical exemption
requires a signed certification by a physician
licensed to practice in Missouri indicating that the
immunization would seriously endanger the student’s
health or life or the student has documentation of
the disease or laboratory evidence of immunity
to the disease. A student must be exempted from
the requirement if he or she objects in writing to
the institution’s administration that immunization
violates his or her religious beliefs.

Beginning July 1, 2015, the Department of Health
and Senior Services must provide a courier service

to transport collected, donated umbilical cord blood
samples to a nonprofit umbilical cord blood bank
located in St. Louis City in existence as of the
effective date of the bill. The collection sites must
only be those facilities designated and trained by
the blood bank in the collection and handling of
umbilical cord blood specimens.

The bill requires each hospital licensed under
Chapter 197, RSMo, to offer, prior to discharge and
with the approval of the attending physician or other
practitioner authorized to order vaccinations or as
authorized by physician-approved hospital policies
or protocols pursuant to state hospital regulations,
immunizations againstinfluenzavirusto allinpatients
65 years of age or older between October 1 and
March 1 of each year in accordance with the latest
recommendations of the Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices of the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention unless contraindicated for
the patient and contingent upon the availability of
the vaccine.

The bill makes technical changes and transfers
the powers, duties, and responsibilities regarding
the licensing and regulation of adult day care
institutions from the Division of Aging within the
Department of Social Services to the Department of
Health and Senior Services due to the elimination
of the division under gubernatorial reorganization.

The bill requires the Department of Health and
Senior Services to create an adult day care program
manual in partnership with the provider association
to establish uniformity across the state and to
offer regional training sessions in order to provide
technical assistance or consultation to assist
applicants for or holders of licenses in meeting
the requirements of staff qualifications and other
aspects involving the operation of an adult day care
program. The program manual and regional training
sessions must be made available to adult day care
programs by January 1, 2015.

The bill changes the laws regarding the standard
practices, inspections, disciplinary actions, informal
dispute resolutions, license revocations, and
operational manuals relating to adult day programs
that are to be provided on the department’s website.

The department may contract with an independent
third party to conduct informal dispute resolution
(IDR) for programs licensed under Chapter 660.
The IDR process, including conferences, must
constitute an informal administrative process, must
not be construed to be a formal evidentiary hearing,
and must not waive the program’s right to pursue
further or additional legal actions.
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The department must establish an IDR process to
determine whether a cited deficiency as evidenced
by a statement of deficiencies against a program
must be upheld. The minimum requirements for the
process are specified in the bill.

A licensed adult day care program must evaluate
the program rate structure in Fiscal Year 2015 and
determine a cost-based uniform rate for services to
be presented as a budget line item in the Department
of Health and Senior Services Fiscal Year 2016
budget request for adult day care programs
which provide care, treatment rehabilitation, and
habilitation exclusively to adults and seniors with
physical disabilities or mental, neurological, and
cognitive disorders such as brain injuries, dementia,
and other intellectual impairments, excluding the
cost for individuals already funded by a Department
of Mental Health waiver.

HCS SS SB 575 -- BOARDS, COMMISSIONS, AND
COMMITTEES

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding boards,
commissions, and committees.

Currently, the membership of the Joint
Committee on Transportation Oversight includes
seven members from the standing transportation
committees of both the House of Representatives
and Senate. The bill specifies that the committee
must be composed of seven Senators with at least
four being members of the standing Transportation
Committee of the Senate and seven members of the
House of Representatives with at least four being
members of the standing Transportation Committee
of the House of Representatives. The selection of
the chair and vice chair of the committee is specified
in the bill (Section 21.795, RSMo).

The bill renames the Joint Committee on
Government Accountability as the Joint Committee
on Oversight and Government Accountability.
The committee must analyze the operations and
performance of all branches of state government,
including the management of state programs;
procurementofgoods andservices by stateagencies;
leases of real property funded with state moneys;
and all construction, repairs, and maintenance on
any state-funded capital improvements project
excluding specified projects. The committee must
make recommendations to the General Assembly
for legislative action to reorganize state government;
improve performance; promote efficiency and
economy; and prevent or detect waste, fraud, or
abuse. The committee must review specified state
departments and statewide office holders according
to a schedule specified in the bill (Section 21.820).

The Joint Committee on the Justice System is
established consisting of members of the General
Assembly and three ex-officio members as specified
in the bill, including a member of the House of
Representatives and the Senate appointed by
the Minority Floor Leader of each chamber. The
committee must review and monitor all aspects of
the state’s justice system as specified in the bill and
file a report with the General Assembly by January
15, 2016, and every year thereafter, of its activities
and any findings or recommendations for legislative
action. The joint committee must establish a
permanent subcommittee on the Missouri criminal
code to periodically review the criminal laws of the
state. The joint committee may select an advisory
committee to aid the subcommittee, consisting of
a representative of the Missouri Supreme Court, a
representative of the Office of the Attorney General,
and other individuals known to be interested in
the improvement of the state’s criminal laws. The
subcommittee must presentto the General Assembly
a criminal code revision bill as it finds appropriate in
each tenth year (Section 21.880).

The Joint Committee on Tax Policy must assume
specified duties of the Joint Committee on Economic
Development Policy and Planning regarding the
designation of an enterprise zone or a satellite zone
(Sections 135.210 and 135.230).

The bill repeals provisions that allow a parent or
guardian to provide to the county recorder of deeds a
signed declaration stating his or her intent for a child
to attend a home school to minimize unnecessary
truancy investigations (Section 167.042).

The Joint Committee on MO HealthNet must study
the efficacy of the program as well as the resources
needed to continue and improve the MO HealthNet
Program. The committee must meet at least three
times a year. The committee may hire an employee
or enter into employment contracts as it deems
necessary within the limits of any appropriation for
that purpose. The compensation of the personnel
and the expenses of the committee are to be paid
from the Joint Contingent Fund or jointly from the
Senate and House of Representatives contingent
funds until an appropriation is made. The committee
must annually conduct a rolling five-year MO
HealthNet forecast and submit an annual report to
the General Assembly beginning January 1, 2016
(Section 208.952).

The bill requires the board and the members
of a child abuse and neglect (CAN) review board
to objectively decide whether a preponderance
of the evidence establishes that an individual is
responsible for child abuse or neglect and to make
decisions based only on the facts presented to it.
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The board must act independently of the Children’s
Division in the Department of Social Services so as
to assure that due process of the law is afforded to all
parties in the proceedings. These provisions cannot
be construed to prohibit the department or division
from providing any training or administrative support
to the boards. Currently, each review board must
consist of nine members appointed by the Governor
with the advice and consent of the Senate consisting
of four specific professionals and four suggested
professionals. The bill repeals the requirement that
the members consist of the specific and suggested
professionals but requires that each member be
a Missouri resident and specifies that the term of
office of each member will be three years. At the
time of an appointment, no more than five members
of any board can be of the same political party as the
Governor. The bill specifies that a current employee
of the Department of Social Services cannot serve
on a review board (Section 210.153).

The Senate and House standing committees with
jurisdiction over corrections issues or penal and
correctional institutions must assume specified
duties of the Joint Committee on Corrections
(Sections 217.025 - 217.567).

Currently, the Oversight Division of the Joint
Committee on Legislative Research must perform an
actuarial analysis on any new or revised mandated
health care benefit proposed by the General
Assembly and a recommendation must be delivered
to the Speaker of the House of Representatives
and the President Pro Tem of the Senate prior to
being enacted. The bill specifies that the analysis
must be conducted on any new or revised mandated
benefit enacted by the General Assembly and a
recommendation must be delivered to the Speaker
and the President Pro Tem prior to July 1 of the year
following its enactment (Section 376.1190).

The provisions regarding the Entrepreneurial
Development Council must expire on December 31,
2015 (Section 620.050).

Currently, the State Mental Health Commission
includes one member who is a physician recognized
as an expert in the evaluation or habilitation of
persons with an intellectual or developmental
disability. The bill specifies that the member must
be a physician, licensed clinical psychologist, or
other licensed clinician recognized as an expert
in the evaluation or treatment of persons with an
intellectual or developmental disability (Section
630.010).

The provision requiring the General Assembly to
annually appropriate $3 million to the Cyber Crime
Investigation Fund is repealed. The program to
distribute grants to multi-jurisdictional Internet crime

law enforcement task forces through the fund is re-
authorized until December 31, 2024. The provisions
regarding the program had expired on June 5, 2012
(Section 650.120).

The bill repeals the provisions regarding the
following committees, commissions, task force,
boards, and councils that have dissolved or expired
as required by their authorizing statutes:

(1) Advisory Committee on Tobacco Securitization
(Section 8.597);

(2) Joint Committee on Corrections (Sections
21.400 - 21.465);

(3) Joint Committee on Capital Improvements and
Leases Oversight (Sections 21.530 - 21.537);

(4) Joint Committee on Terrorism, Bioterrorism,
and Homeland Security (Section 21.800);

(5) Joint Committee on Urban Agriculture (Section
21.801);

(6) Joint Committee on the Missouri Criminal
Code’s review of the sexual offender registry
(Section 21.835);

(7) Joint Committee on Solid Waste Management
District Operations (Section 21.850);

(8) Joint Committee on
Reorganization of  Programs
Government (Section 21.910);

(9) Joint Committee on Missouri’s Promise
(Section 21.920);

(10) Missouri Investment Trust and its board of
trustees (Sections 30.953 - 30.971);

(11) A joint legislative committee that was created
to oversee the destruction of certain documents by
the Commissioner of Administration, the Division
of Finance, and the Public Service Commission
(Sections 33.150, 167.042, 361.120, and 386.145);

(12) Joint  Subcommittee on  Recovery
Accountability and Transparency (Section 33.850);

the Reduction and
within State

(13) Committee on State-operated Wireless
Communications Systems (Section 37.250);

(14) The SB 844 version of the provisions passed
in 2010 that created the Missouri Ethics Commission
(Section 105.955);

(15) Children’s Vision Commission and the
requirement that all public school districts conduct
specified eye screenings for each student (Section
167.195);

(16) Alzheimer’s State Plan Task Force (Section
191.115);

(17) Newborn Hearing Screening Advisory
Committee (Section 191.934);
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(18) Technical Advisory Committee on the Quality
of Patient Care and Nursing Practices (Section
197.291);

(19) Coordinating Council on
Transportation (Section 208.275);

(20) MO HealthNet Oversight Committee (Section
208.955);

(21) State Commission on Regulatory Barriers to
Affordable Housing (Sections 215.261 and 215.262);

(22) Farm-to-Table Advisory Board
262.950);

(23) Advisory Committee on License Plate Design
(Section 301.129);

(24) Joint Committee on Gaming and Wagering
(Section 313.001);

(25) Missouri Oral Chemotherapy Parity Interim
Committee (Section 338.321);

(26) Health Care Stabilization Fund Feasibility
Board (Section 383.250);

(27) Doubly enacted provisions regarding the
Court Automation Committee and the Statewide
Court Automation Fund (Section 476.055);

(28) Joint Committee on Economic Development
Policy and Planning (Section 620.602); and

(29) Review Committee for Purchasing within the
Department of Mental Health (Section 630.461).

Special

(Section

CCS HCS SB 584 -- TAXATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding taxation. In
its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Changes the laws regarding tax liability
disputes. Currently, the Director of the Department
of Revenue has the burden of proof with respect to
any factual issue relevant to ascertaining the liability
of a taxpayer in a tax liability dispute under specified
circumstances. The bill repeals the burden of proof
requirement when, in the case of a partnership,
corporation, or trust, the net worth of the taxpayer
does not exceed $7 million and the taxpayer does
not have more than 500 employees at the time the
final decision of the department director is issued
and only requires the department director to have
the burden of proof if the taxpayer has produced
evidence that establishes that there is a reasonable
dispute with respect to the tax issue and the
taxpayer has adequate records of the transactions
and provides the department reasonable access
to the records. Currently, the provisions of Section
136.300, RSMo, cannot apply to any issue with
respect to the applicability of any tax exemption or

credit. The bill removes the applicability of any tax
exemption and specifies that the provisions cannot
apply to any issue with respect to the applicability of
any tax credit (Section 136.300);

(2) Requires any correspondence by the St. Louis
County Assessor with a taxpayer to include in bold,
14-point font a statement that disclosure of the
information requested is voluntary and not required
by law and that any information disclosed may
become public record. This provision does not apply
to a request for information regarding the required
listing of property or listing of lessees (Section
137.133);

(3) Authorizes an exemption for motor fuel used
exclusively for watercraft in this state from the motor
fuel tax and any state or local sales and use taxes.
No taxes can be imposed or levied on any motor
fuel delivered to a marina within this state that
sells the fuel solely for use in any watercraft and
is not accessible to other motor vehicles. Currently,
a taxpayer must pay the motor fuel tax with the
purchase of the fuel and then request a refund of
the tax from the Department of Revenue within one
year of the purchase. The bill specifies that any
motor fuel distributor who delivers motor fuel to a
marina in this state for use solely in any watercraft
at a location other than a Missouri marina may claim
the exemption by filing a refund claim for the fuel tax
paid from the department. Currently, the sales and
use tax only applies to fuel not subject to the motor
fuel tax (Sections 142.815 and 144.030);

(4) Changes the provisions regarding the filing
of withholding tax returns. Currently, an employer
is allowed to file an annual withholding tax return
instead of four quarterly returns when the aggregate
amount withheld is less than $20 in each of the four
preceding quarters. The bill changes the amount
to less than $100 in each of the four preceding
quarters if the employer is not otherwise required
to file a withholding return on a quarterly or monthly
basis (Section 143.221);

(5) Adds receipts of royalties, license fees, and
other income for the use of intangible property
and services for compensation to the definition
of “sales” in the formula a corporation uses to
determine Missouri taxable income and provides
guidance on how the items are apportioned to the
state. Currently, in determining what portion of a
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the
business may use a method whereby the ratio of
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net
income. A method for determining whether sales
of tangible property are to be considered instate is
already established in current law. The bill specifies
a process for all other sales (Section 143.451);
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(6) Authorizes a state and local sales and use tax
exemption for the amount paid that results in the
right of first refusal for tickets to events but does
not itself result in admission. Currently, there is a
state and local sales and use tax on the sales of
admission tickets, cash admissions, charges, and
fees to or in places of amusement, entertainment,
recreation, games, and athletic events. The bill
specifies the tax will only apply to sales of admission
tickets and charges and fees for admission to view
sporting events; dance performances; theater
performances; orchestra, concerts, and other
performing arts productions; and amounts paid
for admission to racetracks, arcades, theme and
amusement parks, water parks, circuses, carnivals,
festivals, air shows, museums, marinas, motion
picture theaters, and other commercial attractions
(Sections 144.010, 144.018, and 144.020);

(7) Authorizes a state and local sales and use
tax exemption on the sale of a used manufactured
home (Section 144.044);

(8) Authorizes a state and local sales and use tax
exemption on the sale of specified drugs, biological
products, and devices used to treat terminal
illness, including components and repair parts
and the disposable or single-use supplies required
for the use of the devices, that have successfully
completed phase one of a clinical trial but have not
been approved by the United States Food and Drug
Administration for general use (Section 144.052);

(9) Authorizes a state sales and use tax
exemption for specified sales of electrical energy,
gas, water, coal, and energy sources and specified
materials used or consumed and the specified
related infrastructure involved in the production or
transmission of electricity to customers (Section
144.058);

(10) Authorizes a state and local sales and use tax
exemption for specified sales of utilities, materials,
and machinery used in connection with a data
processing or storage center (Section 144.058);

(11) Removes the prohibition and allows a seller to
advertise or state that the required sales tax will be
assumed or absorbed into the price of the property
sold or the service rendered if the amount of the tax
is stated on the invoice or receipt (Section 144.080);

(12) Clarifies the limitations on sales tax refund
claims by specifying that for a sales tax refund
claim to be offset by the Department of Revenue,
the offset or claim must have been assessed and
the assessment must no longer be subject to appeal
(Section 144.190); and

(13) Extends the authority of a regional jail district
to impose a sales tax of up to .5% on sales in the

district to September 30, 2027. The current authority
expires on September 30, 2015 (Section 221.407).

SS SCS SB 593 -- POLITICAL SUBDIVISION
ELECTIONS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

Currently, with the exception of municipal elections,
nonpartisan elections in political subdivisions and
special districts do not need to be held when the
number of candidates who have filed is equal to the
number of positions to be filled. This bill allows any
city, town, or village with less than 1,000 inhabitants
to not conduct nonpartisan municipal elections for six
years if the question is approved by a majority of the
qualified voters. The time period may be extended
if the question is again adopted by a majority of the
qualified voters. The bill requires a public notice to
be published by the first of the month in which the
election would have occurred containing the names
of candidates who will be placed in office when the
election is not held.

Each member of an emergency services board
of directors must be subject to recall from office by
the registered voters of the election district from
which he or she was elected. Proceedings for the
recall may be commenced by the filing of a notice of
intention to circulate a recall petition.

A member cannot be recalled if he or she has not
held office during the current term for more than 180
days, has 180 days or less remaining in his or her
current term, or has had a recall election determined
in his or her favor within the current term.

The notice must be served personally or by
certified mail on the board member and filed with
the election authority. A separate notice must be
filed for each member sought to be recalled and
must contain information explaining the reason for
the recall. It must list at least one but not more than
five proponents of the recall. Within seven days after
the filing of the notice, the board member may file
with the election authority a statement answering
the statement of the proponents. The answer must
also be served on one of the named proponents.
The statement and answer are intended solely to be
used for the information of the voters.

The person circulating the petition must sign
an affidavit verifying certain information. A recall
petition must be filed with the election authority
not more than 180 days after the filing of the notice
of intention. The number of qualified signatures
required must be equal to at least 25% of the number
of voters who voted in the most recent gubernatorial
election in the election district.

Within 20 days from the filing of the petition,
the election authority must determine whether
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the petition was signed by the required number of
qualified signatures. It must file a certificate with the
petition showing the results of the examination. If the
election authority certifies that the petition does not
have enough signatures, it may be supplemented
within 10 days of the date of certification.

Within 10 days after the supplemental copies are
filed, the election authority must certify whether or
not the petition as supplemented is sufficient. If it is
insufficient, no action can be taken but the petition
must remain on file.

If the election authority finds the signatures on
the petition, or together with any supplemental
signatures, to be sufficient, it must submit its
certificate to the board of directors prior to its next
meeting and order an election to be held not less
than 45 days but not more than 120 days from the
date the board receives the petition. A nomination
for a board membership opening must be made by
filing a statement of candidacy with the election
authority.

Any time prior to 42 days before the election, the
member sought to be recalled may offer his or her
resignation, and the recall question must be removed
from the ballot and the office declared vacant.

HCS SB 600 -- VETERANS

This bill changes the laws regarding veterans. In
its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Authorizes the issuance of a military medallion,
medal, and certificate of appreciation to any veteran
who honorably served in World War Il, the Korean
Conflict, or the Vietnam War as a member of the
Missouri National Guard regardless of whether the
veteran is or ever was a legal resident of Missouri;

(2) Establishes the Operation Iragi Freedom and
Operation New Dawn Medallion Program and the
Operation Desert Shield and Operation Desert Storm
Medallion Program. Any veteran who honorably
served on active duty in the United States military
service during certain dates, is a legal resident of
this state or was a legal resident at the time he or
she entered or was discharged from military service
or at the time of his or her death, or was a Missouri
National Guard member regardless of residency is
eligible for a medallion, medal, and certificate of
appreciation for his or her service;

(3) Requires each school district board to require
each school in the district to conduct educational
programs and activities and devote at least one class
period leading up to a Veterans Day observance
that conveys the meaning and significance of the
day and allows November 11 to be included as a
school holiday at the discretion of the district;

(4) Removes the additional $15 annual application
fee charged for a “Gold Star” special personalized
license plate;

(5) Allows any woman who currently serves in
any branch of the United States Armed Forces or
was honorably discharged to apply for a special
personalized license plate bearing the words
“WOMAN VETERAN” in place of the words
“SHOW-ME STATE” for any motor vehicle except an
apportioned motor vehicle or a commercial vehicle
licensed in excess of 18,000 pounds gross weight.
To obtain this plate, a person must apply to the
Director of the Department of Revenue, furnish proof
of military service as the department director may
require, and pay a $15 fee in addition to the regular
registration fee. The plates are not transferable, but
a registered co-owner may operate the vehicle with
the plates for the duration of the year it is licensed
in the event of the death of the qualified person; and

(6) Requires specified mandated business fees
and the fee for an application for the reservation
of a name to be waived if a specified organizer,
majority shareholder, officer, director, or partner of a
company, corporation, health services corporation,
nonprofit corporation, cooperative company, or
partnership is a member of the Missouri National
Guard or any other active duty member of the
military, resides in Missouri, and provides proof of
the service to the Secretary of State.

SB 601 -- ENERGY EFFICIENCY TAX DEDUCTION

Currently, the provisions regarding the
income tax deduction for a home energy audit
or the implementation of any energy efficiency
recommendation expired on December 31, 2013.
This bill reauthorizes the provisions until December
31, 2020.

HCS SB 606 -- PREPAID LEGAL SERVICES PLAN

This bill specifies that any person who solicits
memberships on behalf of a prepaid legal services
plan must disclose to the consumer in writing that
a prepaid legal services plan is not an insurance
product and is not regulated by the Department of
Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional
Registration.

SB 609 -- INSURANCE DOCUMENTS

This bill allows notices and documents issued by
insurers organized under Chapter 379 or Chapter
380, RSMo, and notices and documents relating to
life insurance products issued by insurers organized
under Chapter 376 to be delivered, saved, stored,
and managed in an electronic format in the same
way as other documents are currently authorized
under Sections 379.011 and 379.012.
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The bill allows any insurer, including an insurer
organized under Chapter 380, to make policy forms
and endorsements available electronically on the
insurer’'s website in lieu of mailing or delivering
a paper copy to an insured if the forms and
endorsements do not contain personally identifiable
information.

SB 610 -- CONSUMER PROTECTIONS

This bill expands the consumer protections
in Section 407.725, RSMo, regarding unfair
merchandising practices by a building contractor
that are currently available to owners of residential
property to include commercial property owners.

CCS SCS SB 612 -- TAXATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.

NONRESIDENT ENTERTAINER AND
PROFESSIONAL ATHLETIC TEAM INCOME TAX
(Section 143.183, RSMo)

The bill extends the allocations of state income tax
revenues collected from nonresident entertainers
and professional athletic team members to
the Missouri Arts Council Trust Fund, Missouri
Humanities Council Trust Fund, Missouri State
Library Networking Fund, Missouri Public Television
Broadcasting Corporation Special Fund, and
Missouri Historic Preservation Revolving Fund from
December 31, 2015, to December 31, 2020, subject
to appropriations.

ALLOCATION OF INTERSTATE INCOME FOR
CORPORATE TAX PURPOSES (Section 143.451)

Currently, in determining what portion of a
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the
business may use a method whereby the ratio of
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net
income. A method for determining whether sales
of tangible property are to be considered instate is
already established in current law. The bill specifies
a process for all other sales.

For sales of real property or rentals of tangible
personal property, the portion of the property
sold or rented that is located in this state must be
considered an instate sale. For sales of service, the
portion of the benefits delivered to purchasers in
this state must be considered an instate sale.

For rentals or licenses of intangible property, the
portion used in this state by the rentee or licensee
must be considered an instate sale. Intangible
property used for marketing must be considered
used in this state if the good or service being
marketed is purchased by a consumer in this state.
Franchise fees or royalties for intangible property

must be considered used in this state if the franchise
is located in this state.

For sales of intangible property, the portion of the
sale used in this state must be considered an instate
sale. If the sale is for the right to conduct business
activity in a certain geographic area, the sale must
be considered instate if the geographic area is in this
state. If receipts for sales of intangible property are
dependent on use or productivity, the sale must be
considered a lease or rental of intangible property.
All sales of intangible property other than the right
to conduct business in a specific area or sales with
receipts contingent on productivity or use must be
excluded from the sales factor when determining
corporate income tax.

If it cannot be determined or reasonably
approximated that a sale occurs in this state, the
sale must be excluded from the sales factor for
corporate income taxation.

NOTICE OF SALES TAX LAW CHANGES
(Section 144.021)

The Department of Revenue must notify all
affected sellers if the amount of taxes due is
modified by a decision of the department director, the
Administrative Hearing Commission, or a court that
changes which items of tangible personal property
or services are taxable before the modification can
take effect. If the department fails to notify a seller
of the change, the seller cannot be liable for the
additional taxes to be collected until the seller is
notified. The waiver of liability must not apply to any
seller that had prior notice or that has previously
remitted tax on the property or service which is
subject to the decision.

SALES TAX EXEMPTION FOR COMMERCIAL
LAUNDRIES (Section 144.054)

The bill authorizes a sales and use tax exemption
for materials, machinery and parts, energy, and
other ingredients used by a commercial or industrial
laundry to treat, clean, and sanitize textiles. The
facility must process at least 500 pounds of textiles
per hour and at least 60,000 pounds per week to
qualify for the exemption.

CCS HCS SB 615 -- ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

The bill changes the
administration of justice.

laws regarding the

CIVIL FINES FOR COUNTY ORDINANCE
VIOLATIONS (Section 49.272, RSMo)

Buchanan County is added to the list of counties
authorized to impose, by rule, regulation, or
ordinance a civil fine of up to $1,000 for each
violation of any county rule, regulation, or ordinance.
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LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER IMMUNITY
(Section 57.095)

The bill specifies that a sheriff or any other law
enforcement officer must have immunity from any
civil or criminal liability while conducting service of
process at the direction of any court to the extent
that the officer’s actions do not violate clearly
established statutory or constitutional rights of
which a reasonable person would have known.

OFFICE OF STATE COURTS ADMINISTRATOR
HANDBOOK (Section 452.556)

Currently, each court must mail a copy of the
handbook created by the Office of State Courts
Administrator to individuals involved in a dissolution
of marriage proceeding where minor children are
involved. The bill specifies that the court must
provide a copy of the handbook.

SCHEDULE OF FINES (Sections 476.056, 476.385,
and 488.014)

Currently, a committee consisting of associate
circuit judges establishes and maintains a schedule
of fines to be paid for the violation of specified
provisions of law. The bill repeals Section 210.104,
which was repealed in 2006 by Senate Bill 872, from
the provisions.

The bill repeals duplicate provisions regarding
the committee and the schedule of fines that were
passed in Senate Bill 23 in 2013.

The bill specifies that a municipality may retain the
court costs that have been overpaid to its municipal
court that do not exceed $5 for the operation of the
court.

JUDGESHIP POSITIONS (Sections 478.320 -
478.740)

The bill repeals the provision requiring one
additional associate circuit judge position when the
Office of State Courts Administrator indicates in an
annual judicial weighted workload model for three
or more consecutive years the need for four or more
full-time judicial positions in any judicial circuit with
a population of 100,000 or more.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be 20,
instead of the current 19, circuit judges in the 21st
Judicial Circuit, and they must sit in 20 divisions.
There must be one additional associate circuit judge
position in the circuit starting in Fiscal Year 2015
that must not be included in the statutory formula for
authorizing additional judgeships per county.

There must be 10, instead of the current nine,
associate circuit judges in the 16th Judicial Circuit.
The tenth associate circuit judgeship position

must not be included in the statutory formula for
authorizing additional associate circuit judgeships
per county.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be one
additional associate circuit judge in the 31st Judicial
Circuit, and there must continue to be the associate
judge position authorized in Fiscal Year 2014. These
positions must not be included in the statutory
formula for authorizing additional associate circuit
judgeships per county.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be one
additional associate circuit judge position in the 11th
Judicial Circuit. The judge must be elected in 2016
and the position must not be included in the statutory
formula for authorizing additional associate circuit
judgeships per county.

There must be two circuit judges in the 38th
Judicial Circuit, and these judges must sitin divisions
numbered one and two. The circuit judge in division
two must be elected in 2016, and the position must
not be considered vacant or filled until January 1,
2017. The judge in division one must be elected in
2018.

COURT RECORDS (Section 483.140)

The provisions requiring every judge to examine
and superintend courtrecords must not be construed
to permit the adoption of any local court rule that
grants a judge the discretion to remove or direct
the removal of any pleading, file, or communication
from a court file or record without the agreement of
all the parties.

FRANKLIN COUNTY COURT FEES
(Section 488.426)

Currently, Franklin County may impose an
additional court fee of $10 on any party filing a civil
case in the circuit court with the exception of cases
concerning adoption and those in small claims court.
The bill extends the expiration date of this provision
from December 31, 2014, to December 31, 2019.

SURCHARGE FOR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
SHELTERS (Section 488.607)

The bill increases, from $2 to up to $4, the
surcharge that may be collected for each criminal
case in cities or counties with a domestic violence
shelter.

31ST JUDICIAL CIRCUIT SURCHARGE
(Section 488.2206)

In addition to all court fees and costs, a surcharge
of up to $10 must be assessed as costs in each
criminal proceeding filed in the 31st Judicial Circuit
except in any proceeding in any court when the
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proceeding or defendant has been dismissed by the
court or when the costs are to be paid by the state,
county, or municipality. For violations of the general
criminal laws of the state or county ordinances,
a surcharge must not be collected unless it is
authorized by the county government where the
violation occurred. For violations of municipal
ordinances, a surcharge must not be collected
unless it is authorized by the municipal government
where the violation occurred. The moneys collected
from the surcharge must only be used to pay for
the costs associated with the land assemblage and
purchase, construction, maintenance, and operation
of any county or municipal judicial facility.

KANSAS CITY MUNICIPAL COURT COSTS
(Section 488.2235)

The City of Kansas City is allowed to impose an
additional court cost of up to $5 for each municipal
ordinance violation case filed before a municipal
division judge or associate circuit judge. The judge
may waive the assessment of the additional cost
if the judge finds the defendant to be indigent and
unable to pay the costs. The city can only use the
additional costs for the restoration, maintenance,
and upkeep of the municipal courthouse.

These provisions will expire on August 28, 2021.

DISARMING A POLICE OFFICER OR A
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Section 575.153)

The bill changes the laws regarding the crime of
disarming a peace officer or a correctional officer
by specifying that a person also commits the crime
by intentionally removing a less-lethal weapon from
a peace officer or a correctional officer including
any blunt impact, chemical, or conducted energy
device used in the performance of his or her official
duties while the officer is acting within the scope
of his or her official duties or intentionally depriving
a peace officer or a correctional officer of a less-
lethal weapon while the officer is acting within the
scope of his or her official duties.

CLOSED RECORDS (Section 610.021)

Individually identifiable records submitted to the
Office of the Lieutenant Governor regarding reports
of waste, fraud, and abuse of public resources may
be closed for the purposes of the Open Meetings
and Records Law, commonly known as the Sunshine
Law.

COURT FILINGS (Section 1)

All courts that require mandatory electronic filing
must accept, file, and docket a notice of entry of
appearance filed by an attorney in a criminal case

if the filing does not exceed one page in length and
was sent by fax or regular mail.

This provision will expire on December 31, 2016.

COURT COSTS (Sections 550.040 and 550.060)

The provision is repealed that requires the state to
pay the costs in all capital cases and those in which
imprisonment is the sole punishment for the offense
if the defendant is acquitted and the costs to be paid
by the county in which the indictment was found or
information filed in all other trials on indictments or
information if the defendant is acquitted.

The bill repeals the provision requiring the
prosecutor or the person on whose oath the
prosecution was commenced to be liable for all
the court costs in any case where a person must
be committed or recognized to answer for a felony
and no indictment is issued against the person and
prohibiting the state or county from paying the costs.

The provisions of the bill regarding judgeship
positions contain an emergency clause.

CCS#2 HCS SB 621 -- JUDICIAL PROCEDURES

This bill changes the laws regarding judicial
procedures.

PUBLICATION OF THE MISSOURI REVISED
STATUTES (Sections 3.010, 3.066, and 3.090, RSMo)

Currently, the Revised Statutes of Missouri are
required to be published at least every 10 years.
The bill removes this requirement and specifies
that the statutes must be published only upon the
adoption of a concurrent resolution by the General
Assembly. Annotations or statutory supplements
may be printed without the adoption of a concurrent
resolution.

When a state or federal court issues a permanent
order enjoining a bill or statute enacted by the
General Assembly as unconstitutional on procedural
grounds, the Missouri Attorney General must notify
the Revisor of Statutes of the order and he or she
must publish a footnote to each affected section
calling attention to the court ruling on any official
website of the Joint Committee on Legislative
Research. The footnote must remain until a final
ruling by the Missouri Supreme Court or a federal
court at which time the footnote must be removed
and, if necessary, the website updated.

The Revisor of Statutes is required to publish
the revised statutes on any official website of the
committee. However, the on-line version of the
revised statutes must not be considered an official
version of the revised statutes unless the Revisor
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of Statutes chooses to certify it and places a
certificate on the website. The Revisor of Statutes
must periodically update the website as new laws
are enacted, including an update on the effective
date of any section that becomes law.

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE JUSTICE SYSTEM
(Section 21.880)

The Joint Committee on the Justice System is
established consisting of members of the General
Assembly and three ex-officio members as specified
in the bill, including a member of the House of
Representatives and the Senate appointed by
the Minority Floor Leader of each chamber. The
committee must review and monitor all aspects of
the state’s justice system as specified in the bill and
file a report with the General Assembly by January
15, 2016, and every year thereafter, of its activities
and any findings or recommendations for legislative
action. The joint committee must establish a
permanent subcommittee on the Missouri criminal
code to periodically review the criminal laws of the
state. The joint committee may select an advisory
committee to aid the subcommittee, consisting of
a representative of the Missouri Supreme Court, a
representative of the Office of the Attorney General,
and other individuals known to be interested in
the improvement of the state’s criminal laws. The
subcommittee must present to the General Assembly
a criminal code revision bill as it finds appropriate in
each tenth year.

SPECIAL PROSECUTORS (Section 56.110)

When a special prosecutor is appointed in any
case, he or she must not otherwise represent a party
other than the State of Missouri in any criminal case
or proceeding in that circuit for the duration of that
appointment and must be considered an appointed
prosecutor for purposes of Section 56.360.

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER IMMUNITY
(Section 57.095)

A sheriff or any other law enforcement officer
must have immunity from any criminal and civil
liability while conducting service of process at the
direction of any court to the extent that the officer’s
actions do not violate clearly established statutory
or constitutional rights of which a reasonable person
would have known.

JEFFERSON COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURTS
(Section 67.320)

The bill updates the legal description of Jefferson
County to its current description in the provisions
that allow Jefferson and Franklin counties to

prosecute a violation of a county order in a county
municipal court.

INTEREST ON JUDGMENTS (Section 408.040)

A judgment must accrue interest on the judgment
balance, which is the total amount of the judgment
awarded on the day the judgment is entered
including, but not limited to, principal, prejudgment
interest, and all costs and fees. Post-judgment
payments or credits must be applied first to post-
judgment costs, then to post-judgment interest, and
then to the judgment balance.

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY (Sections 447.534 -
447.584)

The bill changes the laws regarding unclaimed
property. A United States savings bond in
possession of the State Treasurer or with an owner
whose last known address is located in Missouri
must be deemed abandoned when it has remained
unclaimed for more than three years after its
maturity date and must escheat to the state three
years after abandonment. At least 180 days after
the bond escheats to the state, the State Treasurer
must bring a civil action to confirm that the bond
must escheat to the state. The State Treasurer
must retain a record of the name and, if known,
the last known address of each person named on
the savings bond that has escheated to the State
of Missouri and which has been redeemed by the
State Treasurer.

OFFICE OF STATE COURTS ADMINISTRATOR
HANDBOOK (Section 452.556)

Currently, each court must mail a copy of the
handbook created by the Office of State Courts
Administrator to individuals involved in a dissolution
of marriage proceeding where minor children are
involved. The bill specifies that the court must
provide a copy of the handbook.

WILLS AND TRUSTS (Sections 456.4-420 and
474.395)

Currently, a no-contest clause in a will or trust
is enforceable, which generally means that a
beneficiary forfeits interest in the will or trust
property if he or she contests the trust or will. The
bill specifies that if a trust instrument containing a
no-contest clause is or has become irrevocable,
as defined in the bill, an interested person may
file a petition with a court for a ruling on whether a
particular claim for relief would trigger application
of the no-contest clause or trigger a forfeiture that
is enforceable under applicable law and public
policy. The petition for the ruling must be verified
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under oath and may be filed as a separate judicial
proceeding or along with other claims for relief in
a single proceeding. The bill specifies that when
ruling on the petition, the court must consider the
text of the clause, the context to the terms of the
trust instrument as a whole, and in the context of the
verified factual allegations in the petition. The court
must not accept evidence beyond the pleadings and
the trust instrument except as required to resolve an
ambiguity in the no-contest clause.

An order or judgment on the application of a no-
contest clause must be subject to appeal as with
other final judgments. Following the ruling, if claims
are subsequently filed that are materially different
than those upon which the no-contest clause order
or judgment is based, the party in whose favor
the order or judgment was entered must have no
protection from enforcement of the no-contest
clause provided under these provisions to the extent
the new claims are raised.

The bill specifies the types of circumstances
in which a no-contest clause is not enforceable,
including filing a claim objecting to the jurisdiction
or venue of the court or filing a claim for relief
concerning an accounting, report, or notice that has
or should have been made by a trustee. In these
situations, the court may award attorney fees and
costs to any party.

If a will contains a no-contest clause, an
interested person may file a petition with the court
for a determination whether a particular claim for
relief would trigger the application of the no-contest
clause or trigger a forfeiture that is enforceable
under applicable law and public policy.

JUDICIAL RESOURCES AND THE JUDICIAL
CONFERENCE (Sections 476.001 - 476.340)

Current law states thatitis the purpose of specified
provisions of law to provide the General Assembly
and the Supreme Court with the mechanisms
to obtain a comprehensive analysis of judicial
resources and an efficient method for identifying
problems and allocating personnel, facilities, and
resources within the judicial system. The bill adds
and repeals specific provisions from the list.

The bill removes commissioners of the Supreme
Court as members of the Judicial Conference of
the State of Missouri and requires the conference
to meet at least once every odd-numbered year
instead of at least once a year.

PRELIMINARY HEARINGS (Section 478.240)

The presiding judge is authorized to assign a judge
to hear the trial of a felony case when he or she
has previously conducted the preliminary hearing

in that case if the defendant has signed a written
waiver permitting the same judge to hear both the
preliminary hearing and the trial.

JUDGESHIP POSITIONS (Sections 478.320 -
478.740)

The bill repeals the provisions requiring one
additional associate circuit judge position when the
Office of State Courts Administrator indicates in an
annual judicial weighted workload model for three
or more consecutive years the need for four or more
full-time judicial positions in any judicial circuit with
a population of 100,000 or more.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be 20,
instead of the current 19, circuit judges in the 21st
Judicial Circuit, and they must sit in 20 divisions.
There must be one additional associate circuit judge
position in the circuit starting in Fiscal Year 2015
that must not be included in the statutory formula for
authorizing additional judgeships per county.

There must be 10, instead of the current nine,
associate circuit judges in the 16th Judicial Circuit.
The tenth associate circuit judgeship position
must not be included in the statutory formula for
authorizing additional associate circuit judgeships
per county.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be one
additional associate circuit judge in the 31st Judicial
Circuit, and there must continue to be the associate
circuit judge position authorized in Fiscal Year 2014.
These positions must not be included in the statutory
formula for authorizing additional associate circuit
judgeships per county.

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2015, there must be one
additional associate circuit judge position in the 11th
Judicial Circuit. The judge must be elected in 2016
and the position must not be included in the statutory
formula for authorizing additional associate circuit
judgeships per county.

There must be one more additional associate
circuit judge position in Boone County than is
authorized in the statutory formula for authorizing
additional associate circuit judgeships per county.

There must be two circuit judges in the 38th
Judicial Circuit, and these judges must sitin divisions
numbered one and two. The circuit judge in division
two must be elected in 2016, and the position must
not be considered vacant or filled until January 1,
2017. The judge in division one must be elected in
2018.

GARNISHMENTS (Sections 488.305 and 525.040 -
525.310)

In a case where a garnishment is granted,
the circuit court clerk may charge and collect a
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surcharge of up to $10 for the clerk’s duties. Any
moneys collected from this surcharge must be
placed in a fund to be used to maintain and improve
case processing and record preservation.

The bill specifies that in the case of a continuous
wage garnishment, a notice of garnishment served
as required by law must have the effect of attaching
all personal property, money, rights, or other choses
in action of the defendant until the judgment is paid
in full or the employment relationship is terminated,
whichever occurs first.

Writs of garnishment which would otherwise have
equal priority must have priority according to the
date of service, and if the employee’s wages have
been attached by more than one writ of garnishment,
the employer must inform the inferior garnisher of
the other garnishments.

When applicable, a garnishee may discharge
himself or herself by paying the money or giving the
property owed to the defendant to the attorney for
the party on whose behalf the order of garnishment
was issued. The court may order the delivery of the
defendant’s property possessed by the garnishee to
the attorney for the party on whose behalf the order
of garnishment was issued.

The bill allows the garnishee to deduct up to $20 or
a fee previously agreed upon between the garnishee
and judgment debtor if the garnishee is a financial
institution for his or her trouble and expenses in
answering the interrogatories and withholding the
funds. The garnishee may file a motion with the
court for additional costs incurred in answering the
interrogatories.

The bill modifies provisions regarding the
issuance of a writ of sequestration. Currently, the
wages of state government employees are not
subject to direct garnishment but must be collected
under a process called sequestration. The bill
specifies that the state, municipal, or other political
subdivision employer must have the same duties
and obligations as a private employer when served
with a garnishment. The bill repeals provisions
requiring a writ of sequestration when the judgment
debtor is an employee of the state, municipality,
or other political subdivision and specifies that all
garnishments against the employee must proceed
in the same manner as any other garnishment.

31ST JUDICIAL CIRCUIT SURCHARGE
(Section 488.2206)

In addition to all court fees and costs, a surcharge
of up to $10 must be assessed as costs in each
criminal proceeding filed in the 31st Judicial Circuit
except in any proceeding in any court when the

proceeding or defendant has been dismissed by the
court or when the costs are to be paid by the state,
county, or municipality. For violations of the general
criminal laws of the state or county ordinances,
a surcharge must not be collected unless it is
authorized by the county government where the
violation occurred. For violations of municipal
ordinances, a surcharge must not be collected
unless it is authorized by the municipal government
where the violation occurred. The moneys collected
from the surcharge must only be used to pay for
the costs associated with the land assemblage and
purchase, construction, maintenance, and operation
of any county or municipal judicial facility.

SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS
(Sections 632.480 - 632.484)

A conviction in this state or any other jurisdiction
for a sexually violent offense can be considered
when determining if a person meets the criteria
of a sexually violent predator for purposes of
confinement and treatment.

CYBER CRIME INVESTIGATION FUND AND TASK
FORCE (Section 650.120)

The provision requiring the General Assembly to
annually appropriate $3 million to the Cyber Crime
Investigation Fund is repealed.

The program to distribute grants to multi-
jurisdictional Internet crime law enforcement
task forces through the fund is reauthorized until
December 31, 2024. The provisions regarding the
program had expired on June 5, 2012.

COURT COSTS (Sections 550.040 and 550.060)

The provision is repealed that requires the state to
pay the costs in all capital cases and those in which
imprisonment is the sole punishment for the offense
if the defendant is acquitted and the costs to be paid
by the county in which the indictment was found or
information filed in all other trials on indictments or
information if the defendant is acquitted.

The bill repeals the provision requiring the
prosecutor or the person on whose oath the
prosecution was commenced to be liable for all
the court costs in any case where a person must
be committed or recognized to answer for a felony
and no indictment is issued against the person and
prohibiting the state or county from paying the costs.

The provisions of the bill regarding interests
on court judgments and the provisions regarding
garnishments will become effective January 15,
2015.

The provisions of the bill regarding unclaimed
savings bonds contain an emergency clause.



SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014 87

SCS SB 635 -- INTERSTATE BUSINESS
RELOCATION INCENTIVES

This bill prohibits the issuance of incentives
under the Business Use Incentives for Large-Scale
Development (BUILD) Program, a tax credit for a
new or expanded business facility, funding under
the Business Extension Service Team Fund for
loans to economically blighted urban districts, or
a tax credit or retention of state withholding taxes
under the Missouri Works Program for a business
that relocates from the Kansas counties of Douglas,
Johnson, Miami, or Wyandotte to the Missouri
counties of Cass, Clay, Jackson, or Platte. These
provisions will become effective when the Director of
the Missouri Department of Economic Development
certifies to the Governor, Speaker of the House of
Representatives, and the President Pro Tem of the
Senate that Kansas has adopted similar policies
either though legislation or executive order.

These provisions will not be effective if the
Director of the Missouri Department of Economic
Development certifies that Kansas has resumed
offering economic incentives for jobs that relocate
from the specified Missouri counties to the specified
Kansas counties but can again become effective if
Kansas ceases offering the incentives.

The provisions of the bill will expire on August
28, 2016, if the provisions are not in effect at that
time or on August 28, 2020, if they did not expire on
August 28, 2016.

SCS SB 639 -- MAMMOGRAPHY REPORTS

Beginning January 1, 2015, this bill requires
a mammography facility, upon completion of a
mammogram, to provide to the patient a specified
notice regarding dense breast tissue stating that if
the mammogram demonstrates that the patient has
dense breast tissue which could hide abnormalities
and has other risk factors that have been identified,
the patient might benefit from a supplemental
screening that may be suggested by the ordering
physician.

These provisions must not be construed to create
a duty of care beyond the duty to provide the notice
required under the bill.

The information required by the bill or evidence that
a person violated these provisions is not admissible
in a civil, judicial, or administrative proceeding.

SCS SB 642 -- NATURAL RESOURCES

This bill changes the laws regarding natural
resources.

NEW TIRE FEE (Sections 260.273 and 260.279,
RSMo)

The bill extends from January 1, 2015, to January
1, 2020, the expiration of the 50-cent fee that must
be collected by retailers for each new tire sold and
forwarded to the Department of Revenue to be
deposited in the Solid Waste Management Fund for
specified purposes regarding used waste tires.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES FEE
STRUCTURE (Sections 260.355, 260.380, 260.475,
640.100, 643.079, and 644.057)

The bill modifies the fee structure laws for the
Hazardous Waste Commission, Missouri Safe
Drinking Water Commission, Air Conservation
Commission, and Clean Water Commission to
require the commissions to authorize the department
to file an order of rulemaking with the Secretary of
State’s Office. Currently, the fee structure expires
on August 28, 2023. The bill extends the expiration
date to August 28, 2024.

RADIOACTIVE WASTE (Section 260.392)

Currently, the provisions regarding the
Environmental Radiation Monitoring Fund and the
program monitoring the shipment of hazardous
waste in Missouri will expire on August 28, 2015.
The bill extends the expiration date to August 28,
2024.

MISSOURI MINING COMMISSION (Sections 444.510
- 444770 and 444.805)

The bill changes the name of the Land Reclamation
Commission to the Missouri Mining Commission and
increases the membership of the commission from
seven members to eight members, including one
member who must have training and experience in
subsurface mining. The references to surface mining
have been removed from the policy statement of
the Land Reclamation Act and the bill modifies the
definition of “mineral” to include additional specified
minerals regulated by the commission.

SURFACE MINING OPERATIONS (Sections 444.772
and 444.773)

Currently, a proposal to operate a surface mine
requires the operator to send a notice of intent to
operate a surface mine to the last known address
of any landowner of record with real property that
is contiguous or adjacent to the proposed mine plan
area. The bill repeals this provision and requires that
the notice be sent to the last known address of any
real property landowner of record whose property is
within one-half mile from the border of the proposed
mine plan area and adjacent to the proposed area,
land upon which the mine plan area is to be located,
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or adjacent land having a legal relationship with
either the applicant or the owner of the land upon
which the mine plan area is located. If any individual
who receives the notification requests a public
meeting, the applicant must bear the expenses.

Currently, the Land Reclamation Commission
evaluates permit applications for proposed surface
mining operations. The bill transfers this authority to
the staff director of the commission. Upon completion
of the notice of intent to operate a surface mine
and any public meetings, the staff director must
make a decision within six weeks after completion
of the process, rather than the current within four
weeks after the public notice period, to issue or
deny a permit application. In certain cases, the staff
director may seek additional information from the
applicant before making a decision to issue or deny
the permit. In issuing a permit, the staff director
may impose reasonable conditions consistent with
specified provisions. The staff director’s decision
must be deemed to be the decision of the Director of
the Department of Natural Resources and subject to
appeal to the Administrative Hearing Commission.

The bill specifies the criteria that the Administrative
Hearing Commission may consider when reviewing
the staff director’s permit application decision. If the
Land Reclamation Commission changes a finding
of fact or conclusion of law or modifies or vacates
the decision recommended by the Administrative
Hearing Commission, it must issue its own decision
which must be subject to judicial review. For an
appeal of the commission’s decision, the court
of appeals district with jurisdiction in the county
where the mine is to be located must have original
jurisdiction. A judicial review cannot be available
until and unless all administrative remedies are
exhausted.

WOOD BURNING APPLIANCES (Section 643.055)

The bill prohibits the Department of Natural
Resources from regulating the manufacture,
performance, or use of residential wood burning
heaters orappliances through a state implementation
plan or otherwise unless authorized to do so by
the General Assembly. Any rule or regulation
establishing or enforcing performance standards
for residential wood burning heaters or appliances
cannot become effective unless first approved by
the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules.

A new rule or regulation cannot be applied to
existing wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces,
or heaters that individuals are currently using as
their source of heat for their homes or businesses.
All wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces, and
heaters existing on August 28, 2014, may not be

subject to any rules or regulations enacted after
that date. An employee of the state or state agency
cannot enforce any new rules or regulations against
existing wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces,
and heaters.

CLEAN WATER COMMISSION (Section 644.026)

The bill specifies that the Clean Water Commission
is the sole agency designated with authority to
administer the federal Clean Water Act in Missouri,
including approving any stream or wetland mitigation
used in connection with a section 401 water quality
certification.

WATER POLLUTION CONTROL PERMITS
(Section 644.051)

The bill changes the laws regarding when
a construction permit may be required by the
department. The department may require a permit
to address noncompliance.

WASTEWATER DISCHARGE PERMITS
(Section 644.058)

The bill modifies the authority of the Clean Water
Commission so that it may only revise water quality
standards upon completion of an assessment by
the Department of Natural Resources finding that
there is an environmental need for the revision.
In implementing revised water quality standards
modifications of 25% or more, the department must
conduct an evaluation which includes environmental
and economic impacts of the revised water quality
criteria on a subbasin basis. The evaluation is to
be conducted at the eight-digit hydrologic unit code
level. The department must use these evaluations
in making individual site-specific permit decisions.

HCS SCS SB 643 -- PUBLICATION OF THE
MISSOURI REVISED STATUTES

Currently, the Revised Statutes of Missouri are
required to be published at least every 10 years.
This bill removes this requirement and specifies
that the statutes must be published only upon the
adoption of a concurrent resolution by the General
Assembly. Annotations or statutory supplements
may be printed without the adoption of a concurrent
resolution.

When a state or federal court issues a permanent
order enjoining a bill or statute enacted by the
General Assembly as unconstitutional on procedural
grounds, the Missouri Attorney General must notify
the Revisor of Statutes of the order and he or she
must publish a footnote to each affected section
calling attention to the court ruling on any official
website of the Joint Committee on Legislative
Research. The footnote must remain until a final
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ruling by the Missouri Supreme Court or a federal
court at which time the footnote must be removed
and, if necessary, the website updated.

The Revisor of Statutes is required to publish
the revised statutes on any official website of the
committee. However, the on-line version of the
revised statutes must not be considered an official
version of the revised statutes unless the Revisor
of Statutes chooses to certify it and places a
certificate on the website. The Revisor of Statutes
must periodically update the website as new laws
are enacted, including an update on the effective
date of any section that becomes law.

SB 649 -- POLITICAL SUBDIVISION
RIGHT-OF-WAYS

Currently, a public utility right-of-way user may
bring an action for review of specified issues related
to the use of the public right-of-way in any court of
competent jurisdiction. This bill requires the action
to be brought in any court of competent jurisdiction
in this state.

Currently, a political subdivision is prohibited from
requiring any public utility that has legally been
granted access to the political subdivision’s right-
of-way prior to August 28, 2001, to enter into an
agreement or obtain a permit for general access to or
the right to remain in the right-of-way of the political
subdivision. The bill removes the requirement that
the access must have been granted prior to August
28, 2001.

The bill also makes necessary grammatical and
intrasectional reference corrections to provisions
governing the right-of-way of a political subdivision.

SS SCS SB 650 -- WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS
INFRASTRUCTURE DEPLOYMENT

This bill changes the laws regarding the
Uniform Wireless Communications Infrastructure
Deployment Act. The bill specifies that the act is
intended to also encourage and streamline the
deployment of broadcast facilities and to help ensure
that robust wireless radio-based communication
services are available throughout Missouri.

The definition of “collocation” is revised from the
placement or installation of a new wireless facility
on existing structure to the placement or installation
of a new wireless facility on a structure that already
has an existing wireless facility. The definition of
“substantial modification” is revised as it applies to
the wireless support structure as it was originally
constructed to a structure that increases the square
footage of the existing equipment compound by
more than 1,250 square feet instead of the current
by more than 2,500 square feet.

Currently, an authority is not allowed to take
specified actions against a wireless communications
service provider. The bill specifies that for
collocation to any certified historic structure, in
addition to all other applicable time requirements,
there must be a 30-day time period before approval
of an application. During that period, an authority
must hold one or more public hearings on the
collocation. An authority must not establish or
enforce regulations or procedures for environmental
safety for any wireless facility that is inconsistent
with or in excess of those required by Office of
Engineering and Technology Bulletin 65.

The bill changes, from within 90 to within 120 days,
the time period in which the authority with jurisdiction
over planning and zoning regulations must review
and process an application for a substantial
modification of a wireless communications support
structure. Currently, any party aggrieved by the final
action of an authority by application denial or by its
inaction may bring an action for review in any court
of competent jurisdiction. The bill specifies that the
court must be within this state.

Currently, if a wireless infrastructure provider
and an authority disagree on the rental, license, or
other fee for locating a wireless support structure
on an authority’s property, the market rate must be
determined by a panel of three certified appraisers.
The bill specifies that the market rate must be
determined by a licensed state-certified general
real estate appraiser mutually agreed upon by the
parties at the applicant’'s cost. If either party is
dissatisfied with the market value determined by the
appraiser, the party may bring an action for review
in any court of competent jurisdiction. The court
must rule on any petition for review in an expedited
manner.

SCS SB 651 -- COMMUNICATIONS SERVICES

This bill specifies that no cause of action will
lie in any court against a communications-related
service provider for any loss, damage, or injury
resulting from a disruption or loss of communication
services during an emergency situation, except
in cases of gross negligence, recklessness, or
intentional misconduct. After August 28, 2014,
a telecommunications company may obtain
certification substituting telecommunications
service for interconnected voice over internet
protocol service.

HCS SS SCS SB 653 -- MUNICIPAL UTILITY
POLES

Currently, “pole attachment” as it applies to the
Uniform Wireless Communications Infrastructure



90 SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

Deployment Act means an attachment by a video
service provider or a telecommunications or
other communications-related service provider
to a pole owned by a municipal utility but not a
wireless antenna attachment or an attachment
by a wireless communications provider to a pole.
This bill revises the term to mean an attachment
by an attaching entity, including a video service
provider, a telecommunications provider, or other
communications-related service provider to a
pole owned or controlled by a municipal utility or
municipality but not a wireless antenna attachment
or an attachment by a wireless communications
provider to a pole. The bill specifies that “pole”
means a utility pole that is owned or controlled by a
municipal utility or municipality but must not include
poles that are not associated with the transmission
or distribution of electric power, communications,
broadband, or video services. A municipal utility
or municipality may only deny an attaching entity
access to the utility’s poles on a nondiscriminatory
basis if there is insufficient capacity or for reasons
of safety and reliability and if the attaching entity will
not resolve the issue. These provisions cannot be
construedto prohibita municipal utility or municipality
from requiring an attaching entity to enter into a
pole attachment agreement consistent with these
provisions. The current provisions allowing either
party to seek review of any fee, term, or condition by
means of binding arbitration conducted by a single
arbitrator mutually agreeable to the parties or, in
the absence of an agreement, by means of binding
arbitration conducted by the American Arbitration
Association are repealed. The bill specifies that in
the event of a dispute between the parties, either
party may bring an action for review in any court of
competent jurisdiction. The court must rule on any
petition for review in an expedited manner by moving
the petition to the head of the docket. Nothing can
deny any party the right to a hearing before the
court. These provisions must not supersede existing
pole attachment agreements established prior to
August 28, 2014, and must not confer any authority
to the Public Service Commission or any other state
agency to regulate attachment to poles.

Where no pole attachment agreement exists
between an attaching entity and the municipal utility
pole owner or controlling authority of a municipality
and a dispute between a municipal utility pole owner
or controlling authority of a municipality and an
attaching entity exclusively concerns the per-pole
fee or any requirement or issue not directly related
to pole attachments, the attaching entity may
proceed with its attachments during the pendency
of the dispute under the agreed-upon terms and
conditions at a rental rate of no more than specified

in the bill. The attaching entity must comply with
applicable and reasonable engineering, safety, and
reliability standards and hold the municipal pole
owner or controlling authority of the municipality
harmless for any liabilities or damages incurred that
are caused by the attaching entity.

A municipal utility or municipality may, after
reasonable written notice and an opportunity to
cure, as provided in the applicable pole attachment
agreement revoke a pole attachment permit granted
to an attaching entity and require removal of the
attachment for breach of the pole attachment
agreement or permit until the breach is cured but only
in the event of a substantial breach of material terms
and conditions of the pole attachment agreement or
permit. The conditions for a substantial breach are
specified in the bill.

Unless otherwise provided for in an applicable
pole attachment agreement, in the event of an
imminent threat to public health, life, or safety, a
municipality or municipal utility must, upon notice
to the attaching entity, request the attaching entity
rearrange, relocate, or remove a pole attachment
from a pole or absent action from the attaching
entity, have the authority to rearrange, relocate, or
remove a pole attachment consistent with industry
practices. The attaching entity must be notified
as soon as practicable upon the cessation of the
threat or upon restoration of the attachment by the
municipal utility or municipality.

HCS SB 655 -- PROPERTY

This bill changes the laws regarding property. In
its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Changes, from December 31, 2019, to
December 31, 2024, the expiration date of the
provisions requiring a builder of one- or two-family
dwellings to offer a purchaser the option to have fire
sprinklers installed at the purchaser’s cost;

(2) Modifies the definition of “lessee” by restricting
it to only a person who leases premises from
another to the exclusion of others during the rental
or lease period and who is obligated to pay rent.
Currently, the definition of “lessee” includes any
person residing on the premises with the lessee’s
permission;

(3) Adds statutory definitions for the terms
“landlord” and “tenant” and revises the definition
of “occupant” as a person lawfully occupying a
dwelling either as a tenant or a lessee;

(4) Specifies that if the plaintiff presents evidence
that a person is not lawfully occupying a dwelling
unit as a tenant or a lessee, the court must order the
immediate removal of the person;
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(5) Specifies that following a court order for
immediate eviction, the tenant must have 24
hours to vacate the premises. The landlord must
subsequently have the right to re-enter and take
possession of the rental premises;

(6) Removes landlord-tenant actions and forcible
entry and detainer actions from the list of actions
in which an aggrieved party by a judgment in a civil
case must have the right of a trial de novo;

(7) Specifies that any judgment, order, or decree
awarding unpaid rent may be revived upon specified
publication requirements and does not need to be
personally served on the defendant;

(8) Requires all cases regarding forcible entry
and unlawful detainer to be heard on the record. If
the plaintiff has designated the case as one to be
heard under the practice and procedure applicable
before circuit judges, the case must be heard
and determined under the rules of practice and
procedure provided in the Missouri Rules of Civil
Procedure instead of those in Chapter 517, RSMo;

(9) Requires the service of a summons issued in a
landlord-tenant proceeding in Jackson County to be
attempted within four days of the date of issuance.
Currently, the sheriff must attempt to serve the
summons within four days of the date of issuance;
and

(10) Specifies that a tenant who willfully or
wantonly destroys, defaces, damages, impairs, or
removes any part of a leased structure or dwelling
unit or its facilities, equipment, or appurtenances
may not inject the issue of claim of right.

CCS HCS SB 656 -- FIREARMS
(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill changes the laws regarding firearms.

OPEN CARRY ORDINANCES (Section 21.750,
RSMo)

Any ordinance of a political subdivision cannot
be construed to preclude the use of a firearm in
the defense of person or property subject to the
provisions regarding defense of justification. In any
jurisdiction in which the open carry of firearms is
prohibited by ordinance, the open carry of a firearm
must not be prohibited in specified circumstances.
In the absence of any reasonable and articulable
suspicion of criminal activity, a person carrying
a concealed or unconcealed firearm must not
be disarmed or physically restrained by a law
enforcement officer unless he or she is under arrest.
Any person who violates these provisions must be
subject to citation for up to $35.

CORPORATE SECURITY ADVISORS
(Sections 84.340 and 590.750)

Currently, the St. Louis Board of Police
Commissioners has the authority to regulate
corporate security advisors in the City of St. Louis.
The bill specifies thatthe Department of Public Safety
must have the sole authority to regulate and license
all corporate security advisors and that the authority
and jurisdiction of a corporate security advisor must
be limited only by the geographical limits of the state
unless the advisor’s license is recognized by another
state or the federal government. Any corporate
security advisor licensed as of February 1, 2014, is
not required to apply for a new license until his or
her license expires or is otherwise revoked.

The bill specifies that acting as a corporate security
advisor without a license is a class A misdemeanor.

SCHOOL PROTECTION OFFICERS
(Sections 160.665, 571.107, 590.010, and 590.207)
The bill:

(1) Allows any school district to designate one
or more school teachers or administrators as a
school protection officer, whose responsibilities
and duties are voluntary and must be in addition to
his or her normal responsibilities and duties. Any
compensation for service as a protection officer
must be funded by the local school district with no
use of state funds;

(2) Requires a school protection officer to be
authorized to carry a concealed firearm or a self-
defense spray device in any school in the district
and prohibits him or her from allowing any firearm
or device out of his or her personal control while
the firearm or device is on school property. A
person who violates this provision may be removed
immediately from the classroom and subject to
employment termination proceedings;

(3) Specifies that a school protection officer has
the same authority to detain and use force against
any person on school property as provided to any
other person under the provisions regarding defense
of justification;

(4) Requires a school protection officer to
immediately notify a school administrator and a
school resource officer when anyone is detained.
If the person detained is a student, a school
administrator must also immediately notify the
student’s parents or guardians. Any person detained
must be turned over to a school administrator or law
enforcement officer as soon as practically possible
and must not be detained for more than one hour;

(5) Requires a teacher or administrator seeking to
be designated asaschool protection officertorequest
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the designation in writing to the superintendent of
the school district and submit proof that he or she
has a valid concealed carry endorsement or permit
and a certificate of completion of a school protection
officer training program approved by the Director of
the Department of Public Safety that demonstrates
that the person has successfully completed the
training requirements as established by the Peace
Officer Standards and Training Commission for
school protection officers;

(6) Requires, within 30 days, the school district
to notify, in writing, the department director of the
designation of any school protection officer or when
the district has revoked a person’s designation.
Any identifying information must not be considered
public information and must not be subject to a
request under the Open Meetings and Records Law,
commonly known as the Sunshine Law;

(7) Requires the department director to maintain
a list of all school protection officers and make the
list available to all law enforcement agencies; and

(8) Requires, before a district may designate a
person as a school protection officer, the school
board to hold a public hearing on whether to allow
the designation and the notice of the hearing to be
published in a newspaper as specified.

PATIENT OWNERSHIP OF FIREARMS
(Section 571.012)
The bill:

(1) Specifies that a licensed health care
professional, or anyone under his or her supervision,
cannot be required by law to ask a patient whether
he or she owns or has access to a firearm, document
or maintain in a patient’s medical records whether
he or she owns or has access to a firearm, or notify
any governmental entity of the identity of a patient
based solely on the patient’s status as a firearm
owner of or access to a firearm;

(2) Prohibits a licensed health care professional, or
anyone under his or her supervision, or any person
or entity that has possession or control of medical
records from disclosing information gathered in a
doctor/patient relationship regarding a person’s
status as a firearm owner or access to firearms
except under certain specified circumstances; and

(3) Prohibits a health care professional licensed
in this state from using an electronic medical record
program that requires, in order to complete and save
a medical record, entry of data regarding whether or
not a patient owns, has access to, or lives in a home
containing a firearm.

CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS (Sections 571.030,
571.101, 571.117, and 590.750)
The bill:

(1) Specifies that a person commits the crime
of unlawful use of weapons if he or she knowingly
possesses a firearm while also knowingly in
possession of a controlled substance that is
sufficient for a felony violation;

(2) Adds a person appointed by a court to be a
special prosecutor who has completed the firearms
safety training course to the list of individuals for
whom specified provisions regarding the crime of
unlawful use of weapons do not apply;

(3) Lowers, from at least 21 years old to at least
19 years old, the age when a person may apply for
a concealed carry endorsement;

(4) Changes the time period that a concealed
carry permit is valid from five years from the date
of issue or renewal to five years from the last day
of the month in which the permit was issued or
renewed. A person who fails to renew his or her
permit within five years from the date of issuance
or renewal must not be eligible for an exception to a
National Instant Criminal Background Check under
federal regulations currently codified under 27 CFR
478.102(d) relating to the transfer, sale, or delivery
of firearms from licensed dealers. A concealed
carry endorsement issued prior to August 28, 2013,
must continue until three years from the last day of
the month in which the endorsement was issued or
renewed;

(5) Repeals the provision requiring the sheriff
or his or her designee to take, within seven days
of receipt of the certificate of qualification, the
certificate to the Department of Revenue and the
Director of the Department of Revenue to issue a
new driver’s license or nondriver’s license with an
endorsement which identifies that the applicant
has received a certificate of qualification to carry
concealed weapons and the provision requiring
a nondriver’s license with a concealed carry
endorsement to expire three years from the date the
certificate of qualification was issued;

(6) Specifies that consent from an educational
facility is not required for a person with a concealed
carry endorsement or permit who has been
designated by his or her school district as a school
protection officer to carry a firearm in a school
within that district;

(7) Specifies that an applicant for a conceal
carry permit only needs to demonstrate an ability
to safely load a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol,
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demonstrate his or her marksmanship with either
firearm, and complete a live firing exercise and test
with either firearm. Currently, an applicant must
perform a physical demonstration of his or her
ability to safely load a revolver and a semiautomatic
pistol, demonstrate his or her marksmanship with
both firearms, and complete a live firing exercise
and a live firing test with both firearms; and

(8) Specifies that a qualified firearms safety
instructor cannot have more than 40 students per
certified instructor in the classroom. Currently, a
qualified firearms safety instructor cannot have
more than 40 students in the classroom.

LANDLORD-TENANT AGREEMENTS
(Section 571.510)

The bill defines the terms “authority” or “housing
authority” to mean any of the corporations created
pursuant to the authority of Section 99.040 and any
entity or agent associated with the authority that
administers or uses public moneys provided by the
United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development to fund very low, lower, and moderate
income public rental housing assistance. The term
“lessee” means a lessee of residential premises.

A housing authority, authority, or lessor receiving
public funds cannot prohibit a lessee or a member
of the lessee’s immediate household or guest from
personally possessing firearms within an individual
residence or common areas or from carrying or
transporting firearms to and from the residence in
a manner allowed by law. Any provision of a lease,
policy, rule, or agreement in violation of these
provisions must be void and unenforceable.

A housing authority, authority, or lessor cannot be
liable in tort or any other civil action for damages
caused by a lessee’s possession or use of a firearm
on property owned by the lessor unless the housing
authority, authority, or lessor or an officer, agent,
or employee of the housing authority, authority, or
lessor:

(1) Violated Section 571.060 or otherwise caused
the lessee, the household member, or guest to
engage in any unsafe or illegal actions with a
firearm; or

(2) Engaged in acts or failures to act that were
manifestly outside the scope of employment, duties,
or responsibilities or were committed maliciously, in
bad faith, or in a wanton and reckless manner.

DISARMING A POLICE OFFICER OR A
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Section 575.153)

The bill changes the laws regarding the crime of
disarming a peace officer or correctional officer by

specifying that a person also commits the crime by
intentionally removing a less-lethal weapon from a
peace officer or a correctional officer including any
blunt impact, chemical, or conducted energy device
used in the performance of the his or her official
duties while the officer is acting within the scope
of his or her official duties or intentionally depriving
a peace officer or a correctional officer of a less-
lethal weapon while the officer is acting within the
scope of his or her official duties.

PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING
COMMISSION (Section 590.200)

The Peace Officer Standards and Training
Commission must establish minimum standards for
the training of school protection officers, set the
minimum number of hours of the required training,
and set the curriculum for school protection officer
training programs.

CCS HCS SB 662 -- TAXATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.
In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Adds receipts of royalties, license fees, and
other income for the use of intangible property
and services for compensation to the definition
of “sales” in the formula a corporation uses to
determine Missouri taxable income and provides
guidance on how the items are apportioned to the
state. Currently, in determining what portion of a
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the
business may use a method whereby the ratio of
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net
income. A method for determining whether sales
of tangible property are to be considered instate is
already established in current law. The bill specifies
a process for all other sales;

(2) Requires the Department of Revenue to notify
all affected sellers if the amount of sales tax due is
modified by a decision of the department director,
the Administrative Hearing Commission, or a court
that changes which items of personal property or
services are taxable before the modification can
take effect. If the department fails to notify a seller
of the change, the seller cannot be liable for the
additional taxes to be collected until the seller is
notified. The waiver of liability must not apply to any
seller that had prior notice or that has previously
remitted tax on the property or service which is
subject to the decision;

(3) Removes the prohibition and allows a seller to
advertise or state that the required sales tax will be
assumed or absorbed into the price of the property



94 SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

sold or the service rendered if the amount of the tax
is separately stated on the invoice or receipt; and

(4) Authorizes a state and local sales and use tax
exemption for the amount paid that results in the
right of first refusal for tickets to events at the Sprint
Center in Kansas City but does not itself result in
admission.

CCS HCS SCS SB 664 -- NATURAL RESOURCES

This bill changes the laws regarding natural
resources.

NEW TIRE FEE (Section 260.273, RSMo)

The bill extends from January 1, 2015, to January
1, 2020, the expiration of the 50-cent fee that must
be collected by retailers for each new tire sold and
forwarded to the Department of Revenue to be
deposited in the Solid Waste Management Fund for
specified purposes regarding used waste tires.

WOOD BURNING APPLIANCES (Section 643.055)

The bill prohibits the Department of Natural
Resources from regulating the manufacture,
performance, or use of residential wood burning
heaters orappliances through a state implementation
plan or otherwise unless authorized to do so by
the General Assembly. Any rule or regulation
establishing or enforcing performance standards
for residential wood burning heaters or appliances
cannot become effective unless first approved by
the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules.

A new rule or regulation cannot be applied to
existing wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces,
or heaters that individuals are currently using as
their source of heat for their homes or businesses.
All wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces, and
heaters existing on August 28, 2014, may not be
subject to any rules or regulations enacted after that
date. An employee of the state or a state agency
cannot enforce any new rules or regulations against
existing wood burning furnaces, stoves, fireplaces,
and heaters.

AIR CONSERVATION COMMISSION
(Section 643.640)

The bill requires the Air Conservation Commission
to develop emission standards through a unit-by-
unit analysis of each carbon dioxide generation
plant within the state regardless of the number of
turbines at each plant site.

In developing and implementing the emission
standards for each existing source of carbon
dioxide, the commission must consider, among
other factors, the remaining useful life of the existing
source to which the standard applies, consistent
with specified federal regulations.

The commission must consider, consistent with
its statutory duties to achieve the prevention,
abatement, and control of air pollution by all
commercially available and economically feasible
methods, the overall economic impact from any and
all emission standards and compliance schedules
developed and implemented under specified federal
regulations.

The commission may develop, on a unit-by-unit
basis forindividual existing sources and emissions of
carbon dioxide at these existing sources, consistent
with federal regulation, emission standards that
are less stringent, but not more stringent, than
applicable federal emission guidelines or longer
compliance schedules than those required by
federal regulations. This determination must be
based on:

(1) Unreasonable cost of control resulting from
plant age, location, or basic process design;

(2) Physical impossibility of installing necessary
control equipment; or

(3) Other factors specific to the existing source or
class of existing sources that make application of
a less stringent standard or final compliance time
significantly more reasonable.

If any provision of the bill or the application thereof
to any individual or circumstance is held invalid,
the invalidity must not affect other provisions or
applications of the bill that can be given effect
without the invalid provision or application and to this
end these provisions are declared to be severable.

WASTEWATER DISCHARGE PERMITS
(Section 644.058)

The bill modifies the authority of the Clean Water
Commission so that it may only revise water quality
standards upon completion of an assessment by
the Department of Natural Resources finding that
there is an environmental need for the revision.
In implementing revised water quality standards
modifications of 25% or more, the department
must conduct an evaluation which includes the
environmental and economic impacts of the revised
water quality criteria on a subbasin basis. The
evaluation is to be conducted at the eight-digit
hydrologic unit code level. The department must use
these evaluations in making individual site-specific
permit decisions.

PUBLICLY OWNED TREATMENT WORKS
(Section 644.145)

Currently, when issuing a water pollution permit
that incorporates a new requirement for discharges
from a publicly owned treatment works facility, the
department must make a finding of affordability on
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the costs to be incurred and the impact of any rate
changes on ratepayers. The bill defines “finding
of affordability” and modifies the definition of
“affordability.” The department must file an annual
report by the beginning of the fiscal year with the
Governor and specified members of the General
Assembly with required information on the findings
of affordability completed in the previous calendar
year.

SS SB 668 -- ORAL CHEMOTHERAPY PARITY

Beginning January 1, 2015, this bill requires
any health benefit plan that provides coverage for
cancer treatment to provide coverage of prescribed
orally administered anticancer medications at
least as favorably as intravenously administered
or injected anticancer medications. Coverage of
orally administered medication must not be subject
to any prior authorization, dollar limit, co-payment,
deductible, or other out-of-pocket expense that does
not apply to intravenously administered or injected
cancer medication, regardless of the formulation
or benefit category determination by the company
administering the plan. A change in coverage that
increases the out-of-pocket costs of anticancer
medication must be applied to the majority of
comparable medical or pharmaceutical benefits
covered by the plan.

The total amount paid by a covered person must
not be more than $75 for a 30-day supply of any
orally administered anticancer medication. On
January 1, 2016, and on January 1 of each year
thereafter, a health plan may adjust the limit but it
cannot exceed the federal Consumer Price Index
for that year. When a health benefit plan meets
the specified definition of a “high deductible health
plan,” the provisions of the bill will only apply after a
covered person’s deductible has been satisfied for
the year.

CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- POLITICAL
SUBDIVISIONS

This bill changes the laws regarding political
subdivisions.

COUNTY PROPERTY (Section 49.266, RSMo)
Currently, the county commission in first, second,
and fourth classification counties may promulgate
reasonable regulations concerning the use of county
property. The bill allows the county commission in all
noncharter counties to promulgate the regulations.

PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS (Sections 56.067 -
56.816)

The bill specifies that the county commission in
Cedar County may, or must upon a voter petition

with the specified number of signatures, submit
to the voters a proposition to change the full-time
county prosecutor position to a part-time position.

If the prosecutor position is changed to a part-
time position, the county’s retirement contribution
to the retirement system and the retirement benefit
earned by the prosecutor must prospectively be that
of a part-time prosecutor.

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER IMMUNITY
(Section 57.095)

A sheriff or any other law enforcement officer
must have immunity from any civil or criminal
liability while conducting service of process at the
direction of any court to the extent that the officer’s
actions do not violate clearly established statutory
or constitutional rights of which a reasonable person
would have known.

INSTALLATION OF FIRE SPRINKLERS
(Section 67.281)

Currently, a builder of one- or two-family dwellings
must offer the purchaser the option to have fire
sprinklers installed at the purchaser’s cost. The bill
extends the expiration date of these provisions from
December 31, 2019, to December 31, 2024.

JEFFERSON COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURTS
(Section 67.320)

The bill updates the legal description of Jefferson
County to its current description in the provisions
that allow Jefferson and Franklin counties to
prosecute a violation of a county order in a county
municipal court.

INITIATIVE PETITIONS IN THE CITY OF SAVANNAH
(Sections 79.130 and 79.135)

The bill allows voters in the City of Savannah
to submit a proposed ordinance to the board of
aldermen by petition signed by at least 10% of the
city’s registered voters voting for mayor at the last
municipal election. Once the petition has been
certified by the city clerk that the petition is signed
by the requisite number of voters, the board of
aldermen must either pass the ordinance within 20
days or submit the question to the voters at the next
municipal election or, if the petition has been signed
by 25% or more of the registered voters, the board
of aldermen must immediately submit the question
to the voters. The ordinance must become a valid
and binding ordinance if it receives approval from a
majority of the voters. Any ordinances in effect that
was proposed by petition cannot be repealed except
by a vote of the people. The board may amend an
ordinance proposed by petition without a vote of the
people but the original purpose of the ordinance
may not be changed by the amendment.
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LICENSE FEE IN THE CITIES OF EDMUNDSON
AND FLORDELL HILLS (Section 94.270)

Currently, the cities of Edmundson and Flordell
Hills are authorized to levy a license fee on hotel
and motel rooms of up to $27 per room per year.
The bill allows the cities to impose a license fee of
up to $13.50 per room per year.

COURT VOLUNTEERS (Section 105.1415)

The bill specifies that any person who performs
unpaid volunteer work in the office of a judge or
prosecutor must not be considered an employee of
the county or municipality.

PUBLIC FINANCIAL INCENTIVES (Section 135.980)

The bill prohibits the City of St. Louis from
imposing a restriction by ballot measure on any
public financial incentive authorized by statute for
a business involved in bituminous coal and lignite
surface mining.

This provision expires on December 31, 2017.

PUBLIC LIBRARY DISTRICT SALES TAX
(Section 182.802)

The bill adds Saline County to the list of counties
within which the board of directors of a public library
district may, by majority vote, impose a sales tax of
up to one-half of one cent on all retail sales for the
purpose of funding the operation and maintenance
of public libraries within the boundaries of the
district. The tax will not become effective unless
approved by a majority of the voters of the district.

AMBULANCE DISTRICT DETACHMENT
(Section 190.088)

The bill allows the City of Riverside to file with the
ambulance district’s board of directors a notice of
intention of detachment stating that an area located
in both the city and the district is to be excluded and
taken from the district. After filing the notice, the city
must conduct a public hearing. The bill specifies the
notice requirements the city must follow in regard to
the public hearing. After the hearing, the governing
body of the city may approve the detachment by
enacting an ordinance with the approval of two-
thirds of the board of aldermen.

Upon the effective date of the ordinance, the
ambulance district must no longer provide services
to the detached area and may no longer collect
property taxes on property in the area. The bill
requires the city, on or before January 1 of the second
calendar year after the property was detached, to
pay the ambulance district a fee equal to the amount
of revenue that would have been generated during
the previous year by the ambulance district’s tax on

the property in the area. For the next four years,
the city must pay a gradually decreasing fee to the
district.

These provisions do not apply to St. Louis County.

COUNTY HEALTH OFFICERS (Section 192.310)

Currently, cities with a population of 75,000 or
more that maintain a county health department are
exempt from specified laws regarding county health
officers and local and state health rules. The bill
adds the City of St. Charles to the exemption.

LATERAL SEWER SERVICE LINE REPAIRS
(Section 249.424)

The bill allows a sewer district established and
organized under Chapter 249 to impose a fee of up
to $36 per year on specified residential property for
the repair of lateral sewer service lines upon the
approval by a majority of voters in the district and the
adoption of a resolution by the sewer district’s board
of trustees. The fee cannot be imposed on property
in the district that is within any city, town, village,
or unincorporated area of a county that already
imposes a fee for a sewer line repair program.
Voters in an area that already imposes a fee are not
eligible to vote on the question of whether the sewer
district can impose the fee.

The bill allows the county collector to add the
lateral sewer service fee to property owners’ tax
bills.

If a city, town, village, or county imposed a fee for
a lateral sewer line repair program but later rescinds
it, the sewer district may submit the question to the
registered voters owning property within the sewer
district on whether to impose the fee.

FARM-TO-SCHOOL PROGRAM (Sections 262.960,
262.962, and 348.407)

The Farm-to-School Program is established
within the Department of Agriculture to connect
Missouri farmers and schools to provide schools
with locally grown agricultural products for inclusion
in school meals and snacks and to strengthen
local farming economies. The department must
designate an employee to administer the program
and to serve as liaison between farmers and
schools. The departments of Health and Senior
Service and Elementary and Secondary Education
and the Office of Administration must provide staff
support. The duties of the department employee
coordinating the program must include establishing
and maintaining a website database, providing
leadership to encourage schools to procure and
use locally grown agricultural products, conducting
workshops and training sessions and providing
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technical assistance regarding the program, and
seeking additional financial sources to support the
program.

The bill establishes the Farm-to-School Taskforce
under the AgriMissouri Program, which must
include at least one representative from each of
the following agencies: the University of Missouri
extension service, the Department of Agriculture,
the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education, and the Office of Administration. The
Director of the Department of Agriculture must
appoint two persons actively engaged in the
practice of small agribusiness. The Director of the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
must appoint two persons from schools who direct a
food service program. The taskforce’s mission is to
provide recommendations for strategies that allow
schools to more easily incorporate locally grown
agricultural products into their food service and
allow schools to work with food service providers
to ensure greater use of locally grown agricultural
products by developing standardized language
for food service contracts. The taskforce must
review various food service contracts to identify
standardized language that could be included in
contracts to allow schools to more easily procure
and use locally grown agricultural products. The
taskforce must prepare a report with its findings and
recommendations and submit it to the Governor, the
General Assembly, and the director of each agency
on the taskforce by December 31, 2015. These
provisions will expire on December 31, 2015.

The Missouri Agricultural and Small Business
Development Authority may make grants, loans, or
loan guarantees to Missouri businesses to access
resources for accessing and processing locally
grown agricultural products for use in schools.

COMMERCIAL ZONE IN THE CITY OF COLUMBIA
(Section 304.190)

The bill establishes a commercial zone in the City
of Columbia. A vehicle operating within the zone
cannot exceed 15 feet in height or have a weight
greater than 22,400 pounds on one axle. The
commercial zone extends north from the city limits
along U.S. Highway 63 for eight miles and east
from the city limits along State Route WW to the
intersection of State Route J and continues south
on State Route J for four miles.

FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT ANNEXATION
PROCEDURES (Section 321.322)

The bill repeals the provision
Harrisonville from the specified

exempting
procedures

regarding the annexation by a city of property
located within the boundaries of a fire protection
district and requires the city to be subject to the
provisions regarding the annexation by a city with a
population of 2,500 to 65,000.

MISSOURI REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
COMMISSION (Sections 339.507 and 339.531)

The bill specifies that members of the Missouri
Real Estate Appraisers Commission appointed
after August 28, 2014, must not be from the same
congressional district and requires the commission
to submit by April 1 an annual report to the General
Assembly outlining business conducted during the
previous year that includes specified information.

The bill establishes procedures for an individual
to file a complaint with the commission regarding a
licensed appraiser. The bill requires the commission
to appoint a probable cause committee to review the
complaints. The bill specifies the procedures for the
review and investigation of the complaint, including
notice requirements for the licensee. If the probable
cause committee determines that the grievance has
merit, it must present the case to the commission,
and the commission must decide whether to
proceed with an investigation. If the commission
decides to investigate, the complaint must become
part of the licensee’s record. The bill specifies the
procedures for the commission’s investigation,
including notification procedures. These provisions
must not be construed as limiting or delaying any
administrative remedies or actions available through
the administrative hearing process.

These provisions become effective August 28,
2015.

SPECULATIVE ACCUMULATION OF ASPHALT
SHINGLES (Section 407.1610)

The bill specifies that it must be unlawful for
any person or entity to accumulate asphalt roofing
shingles in the City of St. Louis without a showing
that at least 75% of the material will be recycled for
other use in a calendar year.

GARNISHMENTS (Sections 408.040, 488.305, and
525.040 - 525.310)

A judgment must accrue interest on the judgment
balance, which is the total amount of the judgment
awarded on the day the judgment is entered
including, but not limited to, principal, prejudgment
interest, and all costs and fees. Post-judgment
payments or credits must be applied first to post-
judgment costs, then to post-judgment interest, and
then to the judgment balance.
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In a case were a garnishment is granted, the circuit
court clerk may charge and collect a surcharge of up
to $10 for the clerk’s duties. Any moneys collected
from this surcharge must be placed in a fund to be
used to maintain and improve case processing and
record preservation.

The bill specifies that in the case of a continuous
wage garnishment, a notice of garnishment served
as required by law must have the effect of attaching
all personal property, money, rights, or other choses
in action of the defendant until the judgment is paid
in full or the employment relationship is terminated,
whichever occurs first.

Writs of garnishment which would otherwise have
equal priority must have priority according to the
date of service, and if the employee’s wages have
been attached by more than one writ of garnishment,
the employer must inform the inferior garnisher of
the other garnishments.

When applicable, a garnishee may discharge
himself or herself by paying the money or giving the
property owed to the defendant to the attorney for
the party on whose behalf the order of garnishment
was issued. The court may order the delivery of the
defendant’s property possessed by the garnishee to
the attorney for the party on whose behalf the order
of garnishment was issued.

The bill allows the garnishee to deduct up to $20 or
a fee previously agreed upon between the garnishee
and judgment debtor if the garnishee is a financial
institution for his or her trouble and expenses in
answering the interrogatories and withholding the
funds. The garnishee may file a motion with the
court for additional costs incurred in answering the
interrogatories.

The bill modifies provisions regarding the
issuance of a writ of sequestration. Currently, the
wages of state government employees are not
subject to direct garnishment but must be collected
under a process called sequestration. The bill
specifies that the state, municipal, or other political
subdivision employer must have the same duties
and obligations as a private employer when served
with a garnishment. The bill repeals provisions
requiring a writ of sequestration when the judgment
debtor is an employee of the state, municipality,
or other political subdivision and specifies that all
garnishments against the employees must proceed
in the same manner as any other garnishment.

The provisions of the bill regarding garnishments
become effective January 15, 2015.

SS SB 673 -- EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding employment
security.

UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

Currently, the maximum duration for an individual
to receive unemployment benefits is 20 weeks. The
bill specifies that the duration of benefits payable
during any benefit year must be limited to:

(1) 20 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is 9% or higher;

(2) 19 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is between 8 1/2% and 9%;

(3) 18 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is 8% up to and including 8 1/2%;

(4) 17 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is between 7 1/2% and 8%;

(5) 16 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is 7% up to and including 7 1/2%;

(6) 15 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is between 6 1/2% and 7%;

(7) 14 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is 6% up to and including 6 1/2%; and

(8) 13 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment
rate is below 6%.

“Missouri average unemployment rate” means the
average statewide unemployment rate during the
three months of the most recent third calendar year
quarter.

UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION TRUST FUND

Currently, when the average balance of the
Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund, less any
federal advances, is between $600 million and $750
million, an employer’s contribution rate is reduced
by 7% for the following year. The bill changes that
threshold to between $720 million and $870 million.
Currently, when the average balance of the fund
exceeds $750 million, an employer’s contribution
rate is reduced by 12% for the following year unless
the employer’s calculated contribution rate is 6% or
greater, in which case the reduction may be no more
than 10%. The bill changes that threshold to $870
million.

In the event that the amount of moneys owed
by the fund for total advancements by the federal
government exceeds $300 million, the bill requires
the Board of Unemployment Fund Financing to meet
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to consider authorizing the issuance, sale, and
delivery of creditinstruments under Section 288.330,
RSMo, for the entire amount of the debt owed. If
credit instruments are issued, the required interest
assessment must continue to be paid and used to
fully finance the instruments and must be paid at
the same rate applicable at the time of issuance for
all subsequent years until the instruments are fully
financed.

SCS SB 675 -- MISSOURI LOCAL GOVERNMENT
EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill allows a political subdivision who is an
employer having a retirement plan for its employees
that is similar to the Missouri Local Government
Employees’ Retirement System (LAGERS) to enter
into an agreement with the board of the system to
assume all duties and responsibilities of operating
the political subdivision’s prior plan if the political
subdivision is a current employer in LAGERS or will
become a member employer in LAGERS and the
subdivision has made an election to cover any new
employees going forward under the system.

The employer’s prior plan must be administered as
a frozen prior plan by LAGERS and must continue
to operate under its existing governing documents
in all other respects. The employer will continue
to have sole responsibility for the full funding of
its prior plan including all related expenses. If any
employer fails to make any payment due under the
prior plan, it will be delinquent and the amount of the
delinquency will constitute a first lien on the funds
of the political subdivision, and the State Treasurer
and Director of the Department of Revenue must
withhold all moneys due the political subdivision
from the state until the amount plus interest is paid.

HCS SCS SB 680 -- PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
BENEFITS

This bill changes the laws regarding public
assistance benefits. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Requires the Department of Social Services
to establish, subject to federal approval, a pilot
program in at least one rural and one urban area to
provide Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
(SNAP) participants with access and the ability to
purchase specified fresh food at a participating
farmers’ market or vending urban agricultural zone.
A participant must be able to purchase the fresh
food with SNAP benefits with an electronic benefit
transfer (EBT) card and receive a dollar-for-dollar
match for every SNAP dollar spent in an amount up
to $10 per week. Purchases of approved fresh food
under these provisions must automatically trigger

matching funds reimbursement into the central
vendor accounts by the department. The funding
of the program is subject to appropriation, and the
department may apply for available grants and must
be able to accept donations to develop and maintain
the program (Section 208.018, RSMo);

(2) Changes the prohibition for recipients of
temporary assistance for needy families (TANF)
or SNAP benefits on the use of any funds in any
EBT transaction in specified establishments to
include the prohibition on the purchase of alcoholic
beverages, lottery tickets, or tobacco products in
those establishments and items determined by
Department of Social Services’ rule to be primarily
marketed for or used by adults 18 years of age or
older and not in the best interests of the child or
household (Section 208.024.1);

(3) Prohibits the owner or proprietor of specified
businesses from knowingly accepting TANF or
SNAP benefits on the use of any funds in any EBT
transaction of specified prohibited purchases and
the owner or proprietor of specified establishments
providing  adult-oriented entertainment from
adopting any policy that encourages, permits, or
acquiesces its employees to knowingly accept
EBT cards for a prohibited purchase. However,
the owner or proprietor of a business other than a
liquor store, casino, or adult-oriented entertainment
establishment is not required to check the source of
payment from every individual who makes specified
purchases (Section 208.024.2);

(4) Requires any recipient of TANF or SNAP
benefits who does not make at least one EBT
transaction within the state during a 90-day period to
have his or her benefit payments to the EBT account
temporarily suspended pending an investigation by
the department to determine if he or she is no longer
a Missouri resident. If the department finds that the
recipient is no longer a Missouri resident, it must
close the recipient’s case. Arecipient may appeal the
closure to the department director. A recipient who
does not make an EBT transaction within the state
for 60 days must be given notice of the possibility of
the suspension of funds if a transaction is not made
within 30 days after the date of the notice (Sections
208.024.3 and 208.024.4);

(5) Allows the department to use other information
besides a urine screening to establish reasonable
cause to believe an applicant for or recipient of TANF
benefits is engaged in illegal drug use and repeals
the provision requiring an automatic administrative
hearing after testing positive for a controlled
substance or refusing to submit to a test. The
applicant or recipient may request an administrative
hearing by the department (Section 208.027);
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(6) Requires the department to reimburse a
hospital for donor human milk provided to a MO
HealthNet participant if the participant is a critically
ill infant under three months of age in the neonatal
intensive care unit, the physician orders the milk, the
department determines it is medically necessary,
the parent or guardian signs an informed consent
form, and the donor milk is obtained from a donor
bank that meets the department’s quality guidelines.
An electronic web-based prior authorization system
must be used to verify medical need (Section
208.141);

(7) Requires the department to implement an
automated process to ensure an applicant applying
for a public assistance benefit program is eligible
for the program. The automated process must
be designed to periodically review any current
beneficiary to ensure he or she is still eligible for
any benefit he or she is receiving. The system
must check applicant and recipient information
against multiple sources of information through an
automated process (Section 208.238); and

(8) Allows an exemption under the federal
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act
of 1996 to an individual who has pled guilty or nolo
contendere to or is found guilty under federal or
state law of a felony involving possession or use of
a controlled substance to be eligible for food stamp
benefits if the individual, as determined by the
department, is currently successfully participating
in, is currently accepted for treatment but is on a
waiting list for treatment and remains enrolled and
enters the program at the first available opportunity,
has satisfactorily completed a substance abuse
treatment program approved by the Division of
Alcohol and Drug Abuse within the Department of
Public Safety, or has been determined by a division-
certified treatment provider not to need substance
abuse treatment; is successfully complying or has
already complied with all obligations imposed by
the court, the Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse,
and the Division of Probation and Parole; does not
plead guilty or nolo contendere to or is not found
guilty of an additional controlled substance offense
after release from custody or, if not committed to
custody, the person does not plead guilty or nolo
contendere to or is not found guilty of an additional
controlled substance offense within one year after
the date of conviction; and has demonstrated
sobriety through voluntary urinalysis testing paid
for by the participant. The individual must meet
all other factors for food stamp program eligibility.
The exemption must not apply to an individual who
has pled guilty or nolo contendere to or is found
guilty of two subsequent felony offenses involving

possession or use of a controlled substance after
the date of the first controlled substance felony
conviction (Section 208.247).

The provisions of the bill regarding the pilot
program allowing public assistance recipients to
purchase fresh produce at farmers’ markets will
expire six years after the effective date.

SB 689 -- SALE OF INTOXICATING LIQUOR

Currently, an “original package” as it applies to a
permit authorizing the sale of malt liquor must be
construed as any package containing three or more
standard bottles of beer. The bill changes it to any
package containing one or more standard bottles,
cans, or pouches of beer.

The bill becomes effective January 1, 2015.

SB 690 -- GREENE COUNTY EMERGENCY
TELEPHONE SERVICE 911 BOARD

Currently, any emergency telephone service
911 board appointed by the governing body of
Greene County under Section 190.309, RSMo,
and in existence on the date the sales tax
authorized in Section 190.335 is approved by
the voters will continue to exist and will have the
powers authorized for emergency services boards
under Section 190.339. This bill specifies that if
a board existed prior to August 25, 2010, it must
not be considered a body corporate and a political
subdivision of the state for any purpose unless the
county commissioners unanimously adopt an order
reclassifying the board as such and transferring the
assets and liabilities related to the operation of the
emergency service 911 system to the new entity
created by the reclassification.

HCS SS SB 691 -- INSURANCE POLICIES

Currently, when an insurance policy is canceled
due to nonpayment of premium at least 10 days’
notice of cancellation must be given. This bill
specifies that the notice must contain the following
notice or a notice that is substantially similar in bold
conspicuous type:

“THIS POLICY IS CANCELED EFFECTIVE AT
THE DATE AND TIME INDICATED IN THIS NOTICE.
THIS IS THE FINAL NOTICE OF CANCELLATION
WE WILL SEND PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE DATE
AND TIME OF CANCELLATION INDICATED IN
THIS NOTICE.”

The bill also allows an insurer to reinstate a policy
at any time after the notice of cancellation is issued
if the reason for the cancellation is remedied and
specifies the communications the insurer may send
to the insured.
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Beginning January 1, 2015, the bill permits an
authorized insurer to issue a policy specifically for
sinkhole losses under the Missouri Basic Property
Insurance Inspection and Placement Program.
Coverage must be only for habitational structures
and must not cover driveways or nonhabitational
detached structures. Coverage of the contents
must apply only when the habitational structure is
covered by sinkhole loss and does not include loss
of the value of the land or the costs associated with
filling the sinkhole. Specific procedures for sinkhole
loss claims investigation and expedited claims may
be developed by insurers in addition to regulations
covered under the program.

CCS#2 HCS SB 693 -- TAXATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.

RECREATION AND COMMUNITY CENTER
DISTRICT (Section 67.585, RSMo)

The bill authorizes the creation of a recreation and
community center district in an area encompassed
by the Liberty School District. The district may
impose a sales tax of up to .5% on sales in the
district. The sales tax must be approved by a
majority of the inhabitants of the district voting on
the question. Revenues derived from the sales tax
may only be used for the construction, maintenance,
and operation of a community center and for other
recreation and wellness purposes. The sales tax
may not be terminated until after all of the bonds
secured by the tax have been retired.

PERRY COUNTY TRANSIENT GUEST TAX
(Section 67.1367)

The bill authorizes the governing body of Perry
County to impose, upon voter approval, a transient
guest tax of up to 6% per room per night to be used
solely for the promotion of tourism.

TAX INCREMENT FINANCING (Section 99.845)

The bill adds taxes imposed on sales for capital
improvements in certain counties imposed after
August 28, 2013, for the purpose of funding
emergency communication systems to the list of
taxes excluded from the requirement that 50% of
the taxes be deposited into a separate segregated
account within a special allocation fund.

Beginning August 28, 2014, the bill exempts any
additional revenues generated within an existing
redevelopment project area from an increase in
a property tax levy or a sales or use tax rate that
is approved after the adoption of a redevelopment
project from being subject to deposit into a special

allocation fund without the consent of the taxing
district.

WINE AND GRAPE PRODUCERS TAX CREDIT
(Section 135.700)

For the taxable years beginning on August 28,
2014, the total amount of tax credits allowed under
the wine and grape producers tax credit cannot
exceed $200,000 annually. The bill also allows
purchases of used equipment to qualify for the tax
credit.

INFORMATION REQUESTS BY THE ST. LOUIS
COUNTY ASSESSOR (Section 137.133)

Any correspondence by the St. Louis County
Assessor with a taxpayer must include in bold,
14-point font a statement that disclosure of the
information requested is voluntary and not required
by law and that any information disclosed may
become public record. This provision does not apply
to a request for information regarding the required
listing of property or listing of lessees.

FACILITATING BUSINESS RAPID RESPONSE TO
STATE DECLARED DISASTERS ACT (Sections
143.041 - 143.191, 144.610, and 190.270 - 285.234)

The Facilitating Business Rapid Response to
State Declared Disasters Act is established. An out-
of-state business that is responding to a declared
state disaster or emergency or any of its out-of-state
employees are not subject to specified state or local
employment, licensing, or registration requirements,
including registration with the Secretary of State;
withholding or income tax registration, filing, or
remitting requirements; and use tax on equipment
used or consumed if the equipment does not remain
in the state after the disaster period unless the out-
of-state business or employee remains in Missouri
after the conclusion of the disaster period. An
out-of-state business includes a business that is
affiliated with a registered business solely through
common ownership if that entity does not have
any registrations, tax filings, or nexus in the state
before the declared disaster or emergency. A prior
registration as an out-of-state business foradeclared
disaster or emergency must not be considered a
registration in this state. The employees of an out-
of-state business who are responding to a declared
disaster in Missouri are not required to file and
pay state or local income taxes, to be subject to
tax withholdings, or to pay any state or local fee
unless the employee remains in Missouri after the
conclusion of the disaster period.

The out-of-state business must provide assistance
in repairing, renovating, installing, or building
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infrastructure related to the declared disaster or
emergency; notify the Secretary of State within 10
days of entering the state; and provide specified
information. The Secretary of State must provide
the information to the Department of Revenue within
30 days after receipt of the notification.

These provisions cannot grant the exemptions
authorized by the act to any out-of-state business
that is performing work pursuant to a request for bid
or request for proposal by a state agency or political
subdivision.

Specified provisions regarding the tax clearance,
financial assurance, and unemployment insurance
requirements of a transient employer must not apply
to an out-of-state business responding to a disaster
in Missouri.

ALLOCATION OF INTERSTATE INCOME FOR
CORPORATE TAX PURPOSES (Section 143.451)

Currently, in determining what portion of a
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the
business may use a method whereby the ratio of
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net
income. A method for determining whether sales
of tangible property are to be considered instate is
already established in current law. The bill specifies
a process for all other sales.

For sales of real property or rentals of tangible
personal property, the portion of the property
sold or rented that is located in this state must be
considered an instate sale. For sales of service, the
portion of the benefits delivered to purchasers in
this state must be considered an instate sale.

For rentals or licenses of intangible property, the
portion used in this state by the rentee or licensee
must be considered an instate sale. Intangible
property used for marketing must be considered
used in this state if the good or service being
marketed is purchased by a consumer in this state.
Franchise fees or royalties for intangible property
must be considered used in this state if the franchise
is located in this state.

For sales of intangible property, the portion of the
sale used in this state must be considered an instate
sale. If the sale is for the right to conduct business
activity in a certain geographic area, the sale must
be considered instate if the geographic area is in this
state. If receipts for sales of intangible property are
dependent on use or productivity, the sale must be
considered a lease or rental of intangible property.
All sales of intangible property other than the right
to conduct business in a specific area or sales with
receipts contingent on productivity or use must be
excluded from the sales factor when determining
corporate income tax.

If it cannot be determined or reasonably
approximated that a sale occurs in this state, the
sale must be excluded from the sales factor for
corporate income taxation.

SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS (Sections 144.030,
144.044, and 144.1030)

The bill exempts from the state and local sales
and use taxes:

(1) The titling of a motor vehicle with a model year
of at least 10 years prior to the year in which the
motor vehicle is being titled. This exemption cannot
apply to the titling of a motor vehicle with a sales
price of more than $15,000;

(2) The sale of a used manufactured home; and

(3) The amount paid that results in the first
opportunity to purchase or decline tickets to events
at the Sprint Center in Kansas City but does not
itself result in admission.

HCS SS SB 694 -- PAYDAY LOANS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding unsecured
loans of $500 or less, commonly known as payday
loans. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Increases the annual licensing fee for each
payday lender location from $300 to $500;

(2) Specifies that returned check costs are
collection expenses and not to be considered a fee
or charge;

(3) Requires a lender to conspicuously post in the
office lobby the fee that is currently being charged
in terms of dollars charged per $100 loaned;

(4) Repeals the provisions allowing a lender
to renew a loan up to six times upon request and
requiring a 5% reduction of the original principal
amount at each renewal but allows a borrower to
pay any outstanding loan by means of an extended
payment plan (EPP) that, at a minimum:

(a) Prohibits the borrower from entering into more
than one EPP in a 12-month period with the same
lender;

(b) Requires the borrower to agree in a signed
written document to repay the amount owed in four
equal installments or less over an aggregate term of
60 days or less if the borrower receives bi-monthly
paychecks or an aggregate term of 120 days or less
if the borrower receives monthly paychecks. Interest
must not accrue during the term of the EPP;

(c) Allows a borrower to prepay an EPP in full
at any time without penalty, but allows a lender to
immediately accelerate the unpaid loan balance
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upon the failure of a borrower to pay the amount
owed when due;

(d) Prohibits a lender from extending an additional
loan until an EPP is paid in full;

(e) Requires a lender to conspicuously post in
the office lobby a notice that the borrower may
participate in an EPP and that brochures are
available at the counter containing the terms and
conditions of the program; and

(f) Requires a borrower to invoke the EPP on the
day before the due date of the loan by signing an
amendment to the original agreement reflecting the
new payment schedule;

(5) Prohibits a lender from charging any additional
interest or fees if a borrower fails to make full
payment upon the expiration of the original loan or
EPP;

(6) Requires a lender that offers a payday loan
through the Internet to Missouri residents to be
licensed in Missouri and to comply with specified
provisions as all other lenders unless compliance is
preempted by federal law;

(7) Requires a lender to implement procedures to
inform consumers of the intended use of the payday
loan as specified in the bill;

(8) Reduces the maximum amount of accumulated
interest and fees a borrower can be required to pay
from 75% of the initial loan amount to 35% of the
loan amount;

(9) Prohibits a lender from threatening or causing
to be instigated criminal proceedings against a
borrower if a check given as security for a loan is
dishonored, except where the borrower closed the
account on which the check was written or has
stopped payment of the check. Any lender that
knowingly violates this prohibition must pay the
affected borrower three times the amount of the
dishonored check;

(10) Requires lenders to comply with the applicable
restrictions and prohibitions in the federal Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act regarding harassment or
abuse, false or misleading misrepresentations, and
unfair collection practices; and

(11) Requires the Division of Finance within the
Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions
and Professional Registration to report required
information on payday loans to the General
Assembly annually on January 1 instead of the
current biennial reporting requirement.

SB 701 -- ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY
EDUCATION

This bill changes the laws regarding elementary
and secondary education.

SCHOOL ACCOUNTABILITY REPORT CARDS
(Section 160.522, RSMo)

Each school district may include the data from
a charter school located within the district in its
annual accountability report card if the school board
of the district and the charter school reach a mutual
agreement for the inclusion of the data and the
terms of the agreement are approved by the State
Board of Education. The charter school cannot be
required to be a part of the local education agency
of the school district and may maintain a separate
local educational agency status.

SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENTS (Section 168.205)

Two or more school districts may share a
superintendent who possesses a valid Missouri
superintendent’s license without seeking approval
from the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education.

FARM-TO-SCHOOL PROGRAM (Sections 262.960 -
348.407)

The Farm-to-School Program is established
within the Department of Agriculture to connect
Missouri farmers and schools to provide schools
with locally grown agricultural products for inclusion
in school meals and snacks and to strengthen
local farming economies. The department must
designate an employee to administer the program
and to serve as liaison between farmers and
schools. The departments of Health and Senior
Services and Elementary and Secondary Education
and the Office of Administration must provide staff
support. The duties of the department employee
coordinating the program must include establishing
and maintaining a website database, providing
leadership to encourage schools to procure and
use locally grown agricultural products, conducting
workshops and training sessions and providing
technical assistance regarding the program, and
seeking additional financial sources to support the
program.

The bill establishes the Farm-to-School Taskforce
under the AgriMissouri Program, which must
include at least one representative from each of
the following agencies: the University of Missouri
extension service, the Department of Agriculture,
the Department of Elementary and Secondary
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Education, and the Office of Administration. The
Director of the Department of Agriculture must
appoint two persons actively engaged in the
practice of small agribusiness. The Director of the
Departmentof Elementary and Secondary Education
must appoint two persons from schools who direct a
food service program. The taskforce’s mission is to
provide recommendations for strategies that allow
schools to more easily incorporate locally grown
agricultural products into their food service and
allow schools to work with food service providers
to ensure greater use of locally grown agricultural
products by developing standardized language
for food service contracts. The taskforce must
review various food service contracts to identify
standardized language that could be included in
contracts to allow schools to more easily procure
and use locally grown agricultural products. The
taskforce must prepare a report with its findings and
recommendations and submit it to the Governor, the
General Assembly, and the director of each agency
on the taskforce by December 31, 2015. These
provisions will expire on December 31, 2015.

The Missouri Agricultural and Small Business
Development Authority may make grants, loans, or
loan guarantees to Missouri businesses to access
resources for accessing and processing locally
grown agricultural products for use in schools.

CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION (Section 1)
The Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education is prohibited from penalizing any school
district under the Missouri School Improvement
Program if students who complete approved career
and technical education programs are not placed
in occupations directly relating to their training
within six months of graduation. The department
must revise its scoring guide under the program
to provide additional points to districts that partner
with area career centers, comprehensive high
schools, industry, and business to develop and
implement a pathway for students to enroll in a
program of career and technical education while
in high school, participate in and complete an
internship or apprenticeship in their senior year,
and obtain the applicable industry certification or
credentials. The department must permit student
scores from a nationally recognized examination
that demonstrates achievement of workplace
employability skills to count toward credit for college
and career readiness standards on the program.

SS SCS SB 706 -- BAD FAITH ASSERTIONS OF
PATENT INFRINGEMENT

This bill prohibits a person from making a bad faith
assertion of patent infringement in a demand letter

and specifies the factors that a court may consider
when determining if a person has made a bad faith
assertion of patent infringement in a demand letter
and the factors that a court may consider when
determining if a person has not made a bad faith
assertion of patent infringement.

If an individual or entity believes that he or she
has been a target of a bad faith assertion of patent
infringement upon receiving a demand letter, the
individual or entity must have a private right to a
cause of action as specified in the bill, including the
recovery of monetary losses or damages from a
violation and attorney fees.

The Attorney General’s authority to investigate,
restrain, and prosecute civil actions under the
Missouri Antitrust Law must apply to investigating
and prosecuting assertions of patent infringement.
Any monetary awards recovered by the Attorney
General, exceptthe award to atarget, may be credited
to the Antitrust Revolving Fund for the payment of
expenses incurred by the Attorney General in the
investigation, prosecution, or enforcement of patent
infringement claims.

These provisions must not be construed to limit
the rights or remedies available to any individual or
the state under any other law with regard to conduct
involving assertions of patent infringement and does
not apply to a demand letter or assertion of patent
infringement that includes a claim for relief arising
under specified federal laws.

CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- PUBLIC HEALTH
This bill changes the laws regarding public health.

MENINGOCOCCAL VACCINE (Section 174.335,
RSMo)

Currently, an institution of higher education must
require all students residing in on-campus housing
to sign a written waiver stating that the institution
has provided the student or, if the student is a
minor, his or her guardian or parent with detailed
written information on the risks associated with
meningococcal disease and the availability and
effectiveness of the meningococcal vaccine. The bill
repeals that requirement and requires all students
residing in on-campus housing to have received the
meningococcal vaccine unless a signed statement
of medical or religious exemption is on file with the
institution’s administration. A medical exemption
requires a signed certification by a physician
licensed to practice in Missouri indicating that the
immunization would seriously endangerthe student’s
health or life or the student has documentation of
the disease or laboratory evidence of immunity
to the disease. A student must be exempted from
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the requirement if he or she objects in writing to
the institution’s administration that immunization
violates his or her religious beliefs.

CORD BLOOD COLLECTION (Section 191.761)

Beginning July 1, 2015, the Department of Health
and Senior Services must provide a courier service
to transport collected, donated umbilical cord blood
samples to a nonprofit umbilical cord blood bank
located in St. Louis City in existence as of the
effective date of the bill. The collection sites must
only be those facilities designated and trained by
the blood bank in the collection and handling of
umbilical cord blood specimens.

DIABETES CARE, CONTROL, AND PREVENTION
(Section 191.990)

The MO HealthNet Division within the Department
of Social Services and the Department of Health
and Senior Services must collaborate to coordinate
goals and benchmarks in each individual agency’s
plans to reduce the incidence of diabetes in Missouri,
improve diabetes care, and control complications
associated with diabetes. The division and the
Department of Health and Senior Services must
submit a report that includes specified information
to the General Assembly by January 1 of each odd-
numbered year.

The requirements of these provisions must be
limited to diabetes information, data, initiatives, and
programs within each agency prior to the effective
date of these provisions unless there is unobligated
funding for diabetes in each agency that may be
used for new research, data collection, reporting, or
other requirements.

SHOW-ME ECHO PROGRAM (Section 191.1140)

The bill requires, subject to appropriations, the
University of Missouri to manage the Show-Me
Extension for Community Health Care Outcomes
(ECHO) Program. The Department of Health and
Senior Services must collaborate with the university
in utilizing the program to expand the capacity to
safely and effectively treat chronic, common, and
complex diseases in rural and underserved areas of
the state and to monitor outcomes of the treatment.
The program is designed to utilize current telehealth
technology to disseminate knowledge of best
practices for the treatment of chronic, common,
and complex diseases from a multidisciplinary team
of medical experts to local primary care providers
who will deliver the treatment protocol to patients,
which will alleviate the need of many patients to
travel to see specialists and will allow patients to
receive treatment more quickly. The program must
utilize local community health care workers with

knowledge of local social determinants as a force
multiplier to obtain better patient compliance and
improved health outcomes.

ASSISTANT PHYSICIAN PRESCRIPTIVE
AUTHORITY (Section 195.070)

The bill adds an assistant physician participating
in a collaborative practice arrangement to the list of
persons granted authority to prescribe, administer,
and dispense controlled substances as authorized
by statute.

IMMUNIZATIONS AGAINST INFLUENZA
(Section 197.168)

Each hospital licensed under Chapter 197 must
offer, prior to discharge and with the approval of the
attending physician or other practitioner authorized
to order vaccinations or as authorized by physician-
approved hospital policies or protocols pursuant to
state hospital regulations, immunizations against
influenza virus to all inpatients 65 years of age or
older between October 1 and March 1 of each year
in accordance with the latest recommendations of
the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
unless contraindicated for the patient and contingent
upon the availability of the vaccine.

SHOW-ME HEALTHY BABIES PROGRAM
(Section 208.662)

The Show-Me Healthy Babies Program is
established within the Department of Social
Services as a separate children’s health insurance
program for any low-income unborn child.

For an unborn child to be eligible for enroliment
in the program, the mother of the child must not be
eligible for coverage under Title XIX of the federal
Social Security Act or the Medicaid Program as
administered by the state and must not have access
to affordable employer-subsidized health care
insurance or other affordable health care coverage
that includes coverage for the unborn child. The
unborn child must be in a family with income eligibility
of no more than 300% of the federal poverty level
or the equivalent modified adjusted gross income
unless the income eligibility is set lower by the
General Assembly through appropriations. When
calculating family size as it relates to income
eligibility, the family must include, in addition to
other family members, the unborn child, or in the
case of a mother with a multiple pregnancy, all
unborn children.

Coverage for an unborn child enrolled in the
program must include all prenatal care and
pregnancy-related services that benefit the health
of the unborn child and promote healthy labor,
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delivery, and birth. Coverage does not need to
include services that are solely for the benefit of
the pregnant mother, are unrelated to maintaining
or promoting a healthy pregnancy, and provide no
benefit to the unborn child.

The bill specifies that there must not be a waiting
period before an unborn child may be enrolled in
the program. Coverage must include the period
from conception to birth and the department must
develop a presumptive eligibility procedure for
enrolling an unborn child.

Coverage for the child must continue for up to
one year after birth unless otherwise prohibited
by law or limited by the General Assembly through
appropriations. Coverage for the mother is limited to
pregnancy-related and postpartum care beginning
on the day the pregnancy ends and extends through
the last day of the month that includes the sixtieth
day after the pregnancy ends unless otherwise
prohibited by law or limited by the General
Assembly through appropriations. The department
must provide coverage for an unborn child enrolled
in the program in the same manner in which the
department provides coverage for the Children’s
Health Insurance Program in the county of the
primary residence of the mother.

The department must provide information about
the program to maternity homes, pregnancy
resource centers, and other similar agencies and
programs in the state that assist unborn children
and their mothers. The department must consider
allowing these agencies and programs to assist
in enrolling unborn children in the program and in
making determinations about presumptive eligibility
and verification of the pregnancy.

Within 60 days after the effective date of these
provisions, the department must submit a state plan
amendment or seek any necessary waivers from the
federal Department of Health and Human Services
requesting approval for the program.

Atleastannually, the Departmentof Social Services
must prepare and submit a report to the Governor,
the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and
the President Pro Tem of the Senate analyzing and
projecting the cost savings and benefits, if any,
to the state, counties, local communities, school
districts, law enforcement agencies, correctional
centers, health care providers, employers, other
public and private entities, and persons by enrolling
unborn children in the program. The bill specifies the
information that must be included in this analysis.

The program must not be deemed an entitlement
program, but instead must be subject to a federal
allotment or other federal appropriations and

matching state appropriations.

The state is not obligated to continue the program
if the allotment or payments from the federal
government end or are not sufficient for the program
to operate or if the General Assembly does not
appropriate funds for the program.

These provisions must not be construed as
expanding MO HealthNet or fulfilling a mandate
imposed by the federal government on the state.

ASSISTANT PHYSICIANS (Sections 334.035 and
334.036)

The bill establishes provisions for the licensing
of an assistant physician. An assistant physician is
any medical school graduate who is a resident and
citizen of the United States or is a legal resident
alien; has successfully completed Step 1 and Step 2
of the United States Medical Licensing Examination
or the equivalent of the steps of any other board-
approved medical licensing examination within the
two-year period immediately preceding application
for licensure as an assistant physician, but in no
event more than three years after graduation from
a medical college or osteopathic medical college;
has not completed an approved postgraduate
residency and has successfully completed Step 2
of the United States Medical Licensing Examination
or the equivalent as specified in the bill; and has
proficiency in the English language.

An assistant physician collaborative practice
arrangement must limit the assistant physician
to providing only primary care services and only
in medically underserved rural or urban areas of
this state or in any pilot project areas established
in which assistant physicians may practice. For a
physician-assistant physician team working in a
rural health clinic under the federal Rural Health
Clinic Services Act, P.L. 95-210, as amended, an
assistant physician must be considered a physician
assistant for purposes of regulations of the Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and no
supervision requirements in addition to the minimum
federal law must be required.

The licensure of assistant physicians must take
place within processes established by rules of the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts within
the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions
and Professional Registration. An application for
licensure may be denied or the licensure of an
assistant physician may be suspended or revoked
by the board in the same manner and for violation of
the standards as set forth by Section 334.100 or the
other standards of conduct set by the board by rule.

An assistant physician must clearly identify himself
or herself as an assistant physician and must be
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permitted to use the terms “doctor,” “Dr.,” or “doc.” An
assistant physician is prohibited from practicing or
attempting to practice without an assistant physician
collaborative practice arrangement, except as
otherwise provided in these provisions and in an
emergency situation. The collaborating physician
is responsible at all times for the oversight of the
activities of and accepts responsibility for primary
care services rendered by the assistant physician.

The provisions of Section 334.037, governing
collaborative practice agreements, must apply
to all assistant physician collaborative practice
arrangements. To be eligible to practice as an
assistant physician, a licensed assistant physician
must enter into an assistant physician collaborative
practice arrangement within six months of his or her
initial licensure and must not have more than a six-
month time period between arrangements during
his or her licensure period. Any renewal of licensure
under these provisions must include verification
of actual practice under a collaborative practice
arrangement during the immediately preceding
licensure period.

ASSISTANT PHYSICIAN COLLABORATIVE
PRACTICE ARRANGEMENTS (Section 334.037)

A physician may enter into a collaborative
practice arrangement with an assistant physician.
A collaborative practice arrangement must be in
the form of a written agreement, jointly agreed-
upon protocols, or standing orders for the delivery
of health care services. A collaborative practice
arrangement may delegate to an assistant physician
the authority to administer or dispense drugs and
provide treatment as long as the delivery of the
health care services is within the scope of practice
of the assistant physician and is consistent with that
assistant physician’s skill, training, and competence
and the skill and training of the collaborating
physician. The arrangement must contain specified
provisions.

The State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts must promulgate rules regulating the use of
collaborative practice arrangements for assistant
physicians. The rules must specify geographic areas
to be covered; the methods of treatment that may
be covered by collaborative practice arrangements;
in conjunction with deans of medical schools and
primary care residency program directors in the
state, the development and implementation of
educational methods and programs undertaken
during the collaborative practice service which
must facilitate the advancement of the assistant
physician’s medical knowledge and capabilities and
which may lead to credit toward a future residency
program for programs that deem the documented

educational achievements acceptable; and the
requirements for review of services provided under

collaborative practice arrangements, including
delegating authority to prescribe controlled
substances.

Any rules relating to dispensing or distribution
of medications or devices by prescription or
prescription drug orders under these provisions
must be subject to the approval of the State Board
of Pharmacy. Any rules relating to dispensing or
distribution of controlled substances by prescription
or prescription drug orders under these provisions
must be subject to the approval of the Department
of Health and Senior Services and the State Board
of Pharmacy. The State Board of Registration for
the Healing Arts must promulgate rules applicable
to assistant physicians that must be consistent
with guidelines for federally funded clinics.
The rulemaking authority granted under these
provisions must not extend to collaborative practice
arrangements of hospital employees providing
inpatient care within hospitals as defined in Chapter
197 or population-based public health services as
defined by 20 CSR 2150-5.100 as of April 30, 2008.

The bill prohibits the State Board of Registration
for the Healing Arts from denying, revoking,
suspending, or otherwise taking disciplinary action
against a collaborating physician for health care
services delegated to an assistant physician if these
provisions and the rules promulgated under these
provisions are satisfied.

Within 30 days of any change and on each renewal,
the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts
must require every physician to identify whether the
physician is engaged in any collaborative practice
arrangement, including arrangements delegating
the authority to prescribe controlled substances, and
also report to the board the name of each assistant
physician with whom the physician has entered
into the arrangement. The board may make the
information available to the public. The board must
track the reported information and may routinely
conduct random reviews of the arrangements to
ensure that they are carried out for compliance
under Chapter 334.

A collaborating physician is prohibited from
entering into a collaborative practice arrangement
with more than three full-time equivalent assistant
physicians. The limitation must not apply to
collaborative arrangements of hospital employees
providing inpatient care service in hospitals as
defined in Chapter 197 or population-based public
health services as defined by 20 CSR 2150-5.100
as of April 30, 2008.
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The collaborating physician must determine and
document the completion of at least a one-month
period of time during which the assistant physician
must practice with the collaborating physician
continuously present before practicing in a setting
where the collaborating physician is not continuously
present. The limitation must not apply to collaborative
arrangements of providers of population-based
public health services as defined by 20 CSR 2150-
5.100 as of April 30,2008. An agreement made under
these provisions cannot supersede current hospital
licensing regulations governing hospital medication
orders under protocols or standing orders for the
purpose of delivering inpatient or emergency care
within a hospital as defined in Section 197.020 if the
protocols or standing orders have been approved
by the hospital’s medical staff and pharmaceutical
therapeutics committee.

A contract or other agreement cannot require a
physician to act as a collaborating physician for
an assistant physician against the physician’s will.
A physician must have the right to refuse to act as
a collaborating physician, without penalty, for a
particular assistant physician. A contract or other
agreement cannot limit the collaborating physician’s
ultimate authority over any protocols or standing
orders orin the delegation of the physician’s authority
to any assistant physician, but the requirement
must not authorize a physician in implementing the
protocols, standing orders, or delegation to violate
applicable standards for safe medical practice
established by a hospital’s medical staff. A contract
or other agreement cannot require any assistant
physician to serve as a collaborating assistant
physician for any collaborating physician against
the assistant physician’s will. An assistant physician
must have the right to refuse to collaborate, without
penalty, with a particular physician.

All  collaborating physicians and assistant
physicians in collaborative practice arrangements
must wear identification badges while acting within
the scope oftheir collaborative practice arrangement.
The identification badges must prominently display
the licensure status of the collaborating physicians
and assistant physicians.

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS AS MO HEALTHNET
PROVIDERS (Section 334.735)

The bill specifies that the provisions of Section
334.735.5 must not be construed to prohibit
a physician assistant from enrolling with the
Department of Social Services as a MO HealthNet
provider while acting under a supervision agreement
between a physician and the physician assistant.

PHARMACIST-ADMINISTERED IMMUNIZATIONS
(Section 338.010)

The bill specifies that the “practice of pharmacy”
also includes the administration of hepatitis A,
hepatitis B, diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis
vaccines by written protocol authorized by a
physician for individuals 12 years of age or older.
In addition to other requirements established by the
joint promulgation of rules by the Board of Pharmacy
and the State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts, a pharmacist must administer vaccines in
accordance withthe treatmentguidelines established
by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,
request a patient to remain in the pharmacy for a
safe amount of time after administration of a vaccine
to observe any adverse reactions, and receive
additional training for the administration of vaccines
as required by the Board of Pharmacy. Within 14
days of administering a vaccine, a pharmacist
must provide specified information regarding the
immunization to the patient’s primary health care
provider if provided by the patient.

HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFIT DETERMINATIONS
(Section 376.1363)

Currently, a health carrier is required to make
an initial health insurance benefit determination
within two working days of obtaining all necessary
information regarding a proposed admission,
procedure, or service requiring a review
determination. The bill changes the time period to
within 36 hours, which must include one working
day, of obtaining the information.

ABUSE INVESTIGATIONS OF VULNERABLE
PERSONS (Section 630.167)

Currently, the Department of Mental Health and
the Department of Health and Senior Services
must initiate an investigation within 24 hours of
receipt of a report of suspected abuse of a patient,
resident, or client of a specified facility, program, or
service. The bill requires the Department of Mental
Health to complete all investigations within 60 days
unless good cause for the failure to complete the
investigation is documented.

For investigations alleging neglect of a
patient, resident, or client, the guardian of the
patient, resident, or client must be notified of the
investigation, be given an opportunity to provide
information to the investigators, be notified of the
results of the investigation within five working
days of the completion of the investigation, and be
notified of the decision of the Department of Mental
Health of the results of the investigation.
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The Department of Mental Health must obtain two
independent reviews of all patient, resident, or client
deaths that it investigates.

MEDICAL CLINICS IN MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED
AREAS (Section 1)

The Department of Health and Senior Services
must establish and administer a program to
increase the number of medical clinics in medically
underserved areas. A county or municipality in this
state that includes a medically underserved area as
specified in the bill may establish a medical clinic
in the medically underserved area by contributing
start-up money for the medical clinic and having
the contribution matched wholly or partly by grant
moneys from the newly created Medical Clinics in
Medically Underserved Areas Fund. The department
is required to seek all available moneys from any
source whatsoever including, but not limited to,
health care foundations to assist in funding the
program. A participating county or municipality that
includes a medically underserved area may provide
start-up money for a medical clinic over a two-year
period. The department must not provide more
than $100,000 to the county or municipality in a
fiscal year unless the department makes a specific
finding of need in the medically underserved area.
The department must establish priorities so that the
counties or municipalities that include the neediest
medically underserved areas eligible for assistance
under these provisions are assured the receipt of a
grant.

To receive a matching grant from the department,
a county or municipality that includes a medically
underserved area must apply for the matching grant
and provide evidence satisfactory to the department
that it has entered into an agreement or combination
of agreements with a collaborating physician for
the collaborating physician and assistant physician
in accordance with a collaborative practice
arrangement under Section 334.037 to provide
primary care in the medically underserved area for
at least two years.

The department is required to promulgate
rules necessary for the implementation of these
provisions, including rules addressing specified
topics.

MENTAL HEALTH SCREENINGS AND
ASSESSMENTS (Section 2)

The Department of Mental Health must develop
guidelines for the screening and assessment of
persons receiving services from the department
that address the interaction between physical and
mental health to ensure that all potential causes of
changes in behavior or mental status caused by or

associated with a medical condition are assessed.
These provisions must only apply to state-owned
or -operated facilities and not to long-term care
facilities licensed under Chapter 198, hospitals
licensed under Chapter 197, or hospitals as defined
in Section 197.020.

SB 719 -- SCHOOL PURCHASES

This bill prohibits any elected official, appointed
official, or employee of any school district from
performing a service or selling, renting, or leasing
any property to the school district for more than
$500 per transaction or $5,000 annually to him or
her, to his or her spouse, to a dependent child in
his or her custody, or to any business with which he
or she is associated unless the transaction is made
pursuant to an award on a contract let or sale made
after public notice and in the case of property other
than real property, competitive bidding, if the bid or
offer accepted is the lowest received.

Currently, any school board member, officer, or
employee of a seven-director school district that is
located in a first classification county who sells or
provides certain commodities to the district is guilty
of a class A misdemeanor and must forfeit his or
her position with the district. The bill removes this
prohibition and aligns seven-director districts located
in a first classification county with the current law
regarding seven-director districts located in second,
third, and fourth classification counties so that any
school board member, officer, or employee may sell
or provide certain commodities to the district if he
or she complies with specified conflict of interest
provisions.

Currently, a school board cannot lease or rent a
building to be used for school purposes while the
district school is unoccupied. The bill allows an
exception for lease agreements entered into under
the provisions of Section 177.088, RSMo, regarding
agreements with not-for-profit corporations.

Currently, a school district board, community
college board, or college or university board for an
institution organized under Chapter 174 may enter
into an agreement with a not-for-profit corporation
to acquire, construct, improve, extend, repair,
remodel, or finance sites, buildings, facilities,
furnishings, and equipment for the use of the
institution for educational purposes. The bill repeals
the requirement that it be a not-for-profit corporation
and repeals the provision allowing the governing
board of an educational institution to refinance any
lease purchase agreement if it satisfies at least
one of the specified conditions for the purpose of
payment on any lease with a corporation for sites,
buildings, facilities, furnishings, or equipment which
the corporation has acquired or constructed.
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SCS SB 723 -- REVENUE BONDS

Currently, there is a $775 million cap on the amount
of revenue bonds that may be issued by the State
Board of Public Buildings for state office buildings.
This bill raises the cap to $1.175 billion. Any bonds
that may be issued due to the increase in the cap
amount must not be issued for construction of new
buildings and must only be used for the repair or
renovation of existing buildings and facilities, except
that bonds may be used for the construction of a
new mental health facility in Callaway County.

Currently, there is a $175 million cap on the amount
of revenue bonds that may be issued by the state
board for projects at public institutions of higher
education. The bill raises the cap to $375 million.
Any bonds that may be issued due to the increase in
the cap amount must not be used for construction of
new buildings and must only be used for the repair
or renovation of existing buildings and facilities.

HCS SB 727 -- FARMERS’ MARKETS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill authorizes a state and local sales and use
tax exemption for specified farm products sold at a
farmers’ market. This exemption does not apply to
any person or entity with an estimated total annual
sales of $25,000 or more from participation in
farmers’ markets.

The bill requires the Department of Social Services
to establish, subject to federal approval, a pilot
program in at least one rural and one urban area to
provide Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
(SNAP) participants with access and the ability to
purchase specified fresh foods at a participating
farmers’ market or vending urban agricultural zone.
A participant must be able to purchase the fresh
food with SNAP benefits with an electronic benefit
transfer (EBT) card and receive a dollar-for-dollar
match for every SNAP dollar spent in an amount
up to $10 per week. Purchases of approved fresh
food must automatically trigger matching funds
reimbursement into the central farmers’ market
vendor accounts by the department. The funding
of the program is subject to appropriation, and the
department may apply for available grants and must
be able to accept donations to develop and maintain
the program.

The bill allows an individual who has pled guilty or
nolo contendere to or is found guilty under federal
or state law of a felony involving the possession or
use of a controlled substance an exemption from the
prohibition against eligibility for food stamp program
benefits under the federal Personal Responsibility
and Work Opportunity Act of 1996 if the individual, as

determined by the Department of Social Services, is
currently successfully participating in a substance
abuse treatment program approved by the Division
of Alcohol and Drug Abuse within the Department of
Mental Health, is currently accepted for treatment
in a division-approved program but is on a waiting
list for treatment and enrolls and enters the program
at the first available opportunity, has satisfactorily
completed a division-approved substance abuse
treatment program, or is determined by a division-
certified treatment provider not to need substance
abuse treatment; is successfully complying or has
already complied with all obligations imposed by the
court, the Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse, and
the Division of Probation and Parole; does not plead
guilty or nolo contendere to or is not found guilty
of an additional controlled substance offense after
release from custody or, if not committed to custody,
the person does not plead guilty or nolo contendere
to or is not found guilty of an additional controlled
substance offense within one year after the date
of conviction; and has demonstrated sobriety
through voluntary urinalysis testing paid for by the
participant. The person must meet all other factors
for food stamp program eligibility. The exemption
must not apply to an individual who has pled guilty
to or is found guilty of two subsequent controlled
substance felony offenses after the date of the first
felony controlled substance conviction.

The provisions of the bill regarding the pilot
program allowing public assistance recipients to
purchase products at farmers’ markets will expire
six years after the effective date.

CCS SCS SB 729 -- TAXATION
This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.

WOOD ENERGY PRODUCERS TAX CREDIT
(Section 135.305, RSMo)

The bill reauthorizes the provisions regarding the
tax credit for a Missouri wood energy producer until
June 30, 2020, and limits the total amount of all tax
credits in any fiscal year to $6 million. The tax credits
cannot be authorized unless an appropriation is
made for the credits.

ALTERNATIVE FUEL VEHICLE REFUELING
PROPERTY TAX CREDIT (Section 135.710)

The bill reauthorizes the alternative fuel vehicle
refueling property tax credit for all tax years
beginning on January 1, 2015, but before January
1, 2018, for a person installing and operating an
alternative fuel vehicle recharging or refueling
property. The credit allowed per eligible applicant
who is a private citizen must not exceed $1,500 or
must not exceed the lesser of $20,000 or 20% of
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the total eligible costs per eligible applicant that
is a business entity. The cumulative amount of tax
credits that may be claimed by eligible applicants
cannot exceed $1 million in any calendar year,
subject to appropriations.

PROPERTY TAX ASSESSMENTS (Section 137.010)

The bill adds property used for the storage of
liquid and gaseous products and propane and LP
gas equipment to the definition of “real property” for
the purpose of classifying property for property tax
assessment.

RURAL REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT GRANTS
(Section 620.750)

Subject to an appropriation not to exceed $5
million each fiscal year, the Department of Economic
Development must develop and implement rural
regional development grants to qualified groups.

After a rural regional development group is
awarded the grant, the group must:

(1) Track and monitor job creation and investment
in the region using quantitative measures that
measure progress toward preestablished goals;

(2) Establish a process for enrolling commercial
and industrial development sites in the region in
the state-certified sites program or maintain a
list of state-certified commercial and industrial
development sites in the region;

(3) Measure the skills of the region’s workforce;

(4) Provide an organizational chart demonstrating
that private businesses and local governmental and
educational officials are involved in the group; and

(5) Provide documentation of the group’s financial
activities for the current year.

A development group must not qualify for a grant
if:

(1) The group’s region includes a county or portion
of another state outside the State of Missouri; or

(2) The group maintains an operating budget
greater than $250,000.

Grant applications must only be submitted by a
regional planning commission on behalf of a group
recognized by the commission as an economic
development authority for the county that the
authority represents.

A grant cannot exceed $150,000 and no more
than two grants can be awarded annually to a
commission in each of the 19 regions created under
Chapter 251.

The eligible amount of a grant for a group in
operation for two years or more must provide or
raise a $1 match for every $3 of state funds provided

by the grant, including the value of in-kind services,
supplies, or equipment. The eligible amount of
a grant for a group in operation for less than two
years must provide or raise a $1 match for every $1
of state funds provided by the grant, including the
value of in-kind services, supplies, or equipment.

The grant recipient must annually report to the
Governor; the Directorofthe Departmentof Economic
Development; the Committee on Commerce,
Consumer Protection and the Environment of the
Senate; the Committee on Economic Development
of the House of Representatives; and any successor
committees on the allocation of the grants and the
purposes for which the funding was used.

INNOVATION CAMPUS TAX CREDIT ACT
(Section 620.2600)

The Innovation Campus Tax Credit Act is
established that authorizes, beginning January 1,
2015, a tax credit in an amount equal to 50% of
an eligible donation to an innovation campus to
be used solely for projects that advance learning
in the areas of science, technology, engineering,
and mathematics. An innovation campus is an
educational partnership consisting of at least a
Missouri high school or K-12 school district, a
Missouri four-year higher education institution, a
Missouri-based business, and a Missouri two-year
public higher education institution or state technical
college.

The tax credit is available for taxes imposed under
Chapters 143, 147, or 148, excluding the withholding
tax imposed by Sections 143.191 to 143.265.

The tax credit is not refundable but may be
carried forward for four years or transferred. To
claim the credit, an innovation campus may submit
an application to the Department of Economic
Development on behalf of taxpayers with a payment
from the campus in an amount equal to the value of
the tax credits. If the campus meets all the required
criteria, the department must issue a certificate in
the appropriate amount.

The provisions of the bill regarding the innovation
campus tax credit will expire six years after the
effective date.

SCS SB 731 -- NUISANCE ORDINANCES AND
ACTIONS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding nuisance
ordinances and actions in specified counties and
cities by:

(1) Specifying that a parcel of property is a
nuisance if it adversely affects the value of any
property within a neighborhood and adds failure to



112 SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

reasonably maintain the property or a violation of a
county or municipal building ordinance to the list of
actions by the owner of the parcel that determine it
to be a nuisance. Currently, a parcel is a nuisance
if it adversely affects the property values of a
neighborhood due to specified reasons, including
neglect or violation of a county or municipal building
code or standard;

(2) Allowing only a property owner who lives within
1,200 feet of an alleged nuisance property to bring
a nuisance action against the owner of the property.
Currently, any person who owns property within a
reasonable distance from the nuisance property
may bring an action;

(3) Specifying that anyone who owns property
within 1,200 feet of a property that is alleged to
be a nuisance or a neighborhood organization on
behalf of any individual who owns property within
the boundaries of the organization and who could
maintain a nuisance action or on its own behalf with
respect to a nuisance on property anywhere within
the boundaries of the organization may also bring
an action for injunctive relief. Currently, a nuisance
action for injunctive relief may only be brought by
a neighborhood organization representing any
individual who could maintain a nuisance action.
An action cannot be brought until 60 days after the
party who brings the action has sent written notice
of intent to bring an action to the tenant and the
property owner of record that includes specified
information. When a neighborhood organization
files a suit, an officer of the organization or its
counsel must certify specified facts to the court;

(4) Adding a neighborhood organization in
the City of St. Louis to the provisions allowing a
neighborhood association in the City of Kansas
City to bring a nuisance action. The bill revises the
notice requirements for the action;

(5) Allowing a neighborhood organization in St.
Louis City or Kansas City to seek injunctive relief
on behalf of an owner or resident of property that
is within 1,200 feet of a property on which there
is a condition or activity constituting a code or
ordinance violation in the neighborhood described
in the articles of incorporation or the bylaws of the
organization or on its own behalf with respect to a
code or ordinance violation on property anywhere
within the boundaries of the neighborhood. Currently,
only a neighborhood organization representing
persons aggrieved by a local code violation in the
City of Kansas City may seek injunctive relief;

(6) Repealing the current prohibition on a nuisance
action being brought against an owner of residential
rental property by a neighborhood organization

unless the appropriate municipal code enforcement
agency has issued a nuisance violation notice
and it remains outstanding for at least 45 days
and specifying that any action may not be brought
unless the notice of violation has been pending for
more than 45 days and the condition or activity that
gave rise to the violation has not been abated;

(7) Prohibiting a neighborhood organization from
bringing a nuisance action if the organization or any
of its directors own real estate or have an interest in
a trust, corporation, or other limited liability company
that owns real estate in the city or county in which
the nuisance property is located;

(8) Specifying that a copy of the notice of citation
issued by the city that shows the date the citation
was issued must be prima facie evidence of whether
and for how long a citation has been pending against
the property or the property owner;

(9) Repealing a provision specifying that specific
provisions must not be construed as to grant
standing for a nuisance action in the City of Kansas
City in which the alleged nuisance action consists of
an interior physical defect of a property or involving
a violation of municipal alcoholic beverages laws;
and

(10) Prohibiting a nuisance action for deteriorated
property from being brought if the owner of the
property that is the subject of the action is in good
faith compliance with any order issued by the
Department of Natural Resources, the United States
Environmental Protection Agency, or the Office of
the Missouri Attorney General.

SB 734 -- ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES

This bill allows a member of a rural electric
cooperative to participate in meetings electronically
or by mail for the purpose of forming quorums and
for voting if the cooperative’s bylaws allow it.

SCS SB 735 -- CAMPGROUNDS

This bill requires a campground owner to postin a
high traffic area on the campground or distribute to
registered guests or visitors of the campground the
written policy on campground curfew, alcohol use,
tobacco use, and pets.

A campground owner may eject any person from
the campground and notify the appropriate local
law enforcement authorities of any person who is
not a registered guest or visitor of the campground;
remains on the campground beyond an agreed-
upon departure time and date; defaults in the
payment of any lawfully imposed registration or
visitor fee or charge; creates a disturbance that
denies other people their right to quiet enjoyment
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of the campground necessary for the preservation
of public peace, health, and safety; or violates any
federal, state, or local law. A person who remains on
the campground after having been asked to leave
by a campground owner for any of the specified
reasons is guilty of trespass in the first degree and
may be removed by the campground owner or a
law enforcement officer. A person removed from a
campground is entitled to a refund of the unused
portion of any prepaid fees, less any amount owed
to the owner or deducted for damages. The unused
portion of prepaid fees may be prorated at a rate
that is based upon the daily rate charged by the
campground owner.

These provisions do not apply to any Missouri
state park.

SS SB 741 -- GAMING ESTABLISHMENT LINE OF
CREDIT

This  bill authorizes a licensed gaming
establishment to accept a credit instrument from a
qualified individual in exchange for currency, chips,
or tokens that can be wagered on games at the
establishment. A “qualified person” means a person
who has completed a credit application and who is
determined by the licensee, after performing a credit
check and establishing his or her creditworthiness,
to qualify for a line of credit of at least $10,000. A
licensee may accept multiple credit instruments
from the same person to consolidate or redeem a
previous credit instrument. All credit instruments
must provide that any credit extended must be
due no later than 30 days from the date credit is
extended. A credit instrument must be considered
an unsecured loan and not bear interest.

No credit can be extended to an intoxicated
individual.
SS SB 745 -- LAW ENFORCEMENT

This bill
enforcement.

changes the laws regarding law

DEPUTY SHERIFFS (Sections 57.015 - 57.250,
RSMo)

The bill specifies that a limited definition of
“deputy sheriff” only applies to a provision regarding
the dismissal proceedings for a deputy sheriff.
Specified provisions regarding the ability of a sheriff
to discharge a deputy sheriff are amended to refer
to the limited definition of deputy sheriff.

POWER TO ARREST (Section 544.216)

Currently, a law enforcement officer may arrest on
view, and without a warrant, any person the officer
sees violating or who the officer has reasonable

grounds to believe has violated any law of this
state or any ordinance over which the officer has
jurisdiction. The bill clarifies that a law enforcement
officer may only arrest a person without a warrant
for a violation of any ordinance or law over which
the officer has jurisdiction.

SPECIAL PROSECUTORS (Section 571.030)

The bill adds a special prosecutor who has
completed the firearms safety training course to
the list of individuals for whom specified provisions
regarding the crime of unlawful use of weapons do
not apply.

CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS (Sections 571.101 -
571.111 and 650.350)

Currently, a concealed carry permit is valid for
five years from the date of issuance or renewal.
The bill requires a concealed carry permit to be
valid for five years from the last day of the month
in which it was issued or renewed. A person who
fails to renew his or her permit within the five years
must not be eligible for an exception to a National
Instant Criminal Background Check under specified
regulations regarding the transfer, sale, or delivery
of firearms from licensed dealers.

The provisions are repealed requiring an applicant
for a concealed carry permit to take a certificate of
qualification to the Department of Revenue within
seven days of receipt and requiring the department
to issue a new driver’s or nondriver’s license with
the permit endorsement.

The bill changes the maximum size of the permit
to no larger than 2 1/8 inches by 3 3/8 inches long.

The Missouri Sheriff Methamphetamine Relief
Taskforce (MoSMART) must provide grants to
sheriffs and any designee that is created to support
sheriffs in the creation, maintenance, and operation
of a statewide concealed carry permit system
that is accessible to sheriffs and law enforcement
agencies. Currently, sheriffs must report certain
information regarding concealed carry permit
holders to the Missouri Uniform Law Enforcement
System (MULES). The bill requires the information
to be reported to the new concealed carry permit
system.

Currently, information reported and retained
regarding concealed carry permits must not be
batch processed for query. The bill specifies that
information retained in the concealed carry system
must not be distributed to any federal, state, or
private entities; however, a sheriff may access the
concealed carry permit system for administrative
purposes to issue permits; verify permit holder
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information; change the name or address of a permit
holder; and suspend, revoke, or cancel a permit.

The official to whom a concealed carry
endorsement or permit was surrendered when it is
suspended or revoked must change the status of
the endorsement or permit in the concealed carry
system.

A concealed carry permit issued after August
28, 2013, must be suspended or revoked if the
concealed carry permit holder becomes ineligible
for the permit or endorsement as specified in the
bill.

If the permit holder is convicted, the court must
forward a notice of the conviction or action and
the permit to the issuing county sheriff. The sheriff
who issued the concealed carry permit must report
the change in status to the concealed carry permit
system.

The procedures for a permit holder to change
his or her name or address are modified. Current
law requires automatic invalidation of a permit or
endorsement after 30 days if a permit holder has
changed his or her name or address and not notified
the sheriff. The bill specifies that the permit or
endorsement is automatically invalid after 180 days
and requires a person to notify the sheriff of a name
or address change within 30 days. The sheriff must
assess a late penalty of $10 per month for each
month, up to six months, if a person fails to make
the notification.

Currently, an applicant fora concealed carry permit
must perform a physical demonstration of his or her
ability to safely load a revolver and a semiautomatic
pistol, demonstrate his or her marksmanship with
both firearms, and complete a live firing exercise and
a live firing test with both firearms. The bill specifies
that the applicant only needs to demonstrate an
ability to safely load a revolver or a semiautomatic
pistol, demonstrate his or her marksmanship with
either firearm, and complete a live firing exercise
and a live firing test with either firearm.

Currently, a qualified firearms safety instructor
cannot have more than 40 students in a classroom.
The bill specifies that an instructor cannot have
more than 40 students per certified instructor in the
classroom.

The sheriff of the county in which a firearms
safety instructor resides must review an instructor’s
certificate along with the course outline and verify
that the instructor is qualified and the course meets
specified requirements. If the sheriff verifies that the
instructor meets the qualifications, he or she must
submit the registration to the taskforce which must
create and maintain a statewide database of qualified

instructors. An instructor must register annually and
the registration is only effective for the year in which
the instructor registered. Any sheriff may access the
database to verify that an instructor is qualified and
the course meets specified requirements.

CCS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- HEALTH CARE

This bill changes the laws regarding health care.

STATE LEGAL EXPENSE FUND (Section 105.711,
RSMo)

Currently, for the purposes of the State Legal
Expense Fund a “free health clinic’ means a
nonprofit community health center exempt from
federal taxation that provides primary care and
preventative services to people without health
insurance without charge. The bill changes the
term “free health clinic” to “community health clinic”
and removes the without charge requirement. The
bill excludes specified federally funded community
health centers and rural health clinics from the
organizations that are eligible to receive payment of
a claim from the fund.

MENINGOCOCCAL VACCINE (Section 174.335)

Currently, an institution of higher education must
require all students residing in on-campus housing
to sign a written waiver stating that the institution
has provided the student or, if the student is a
minor, his or her guardian or parent with detailed
written information on the risks associated with
meningococcal disease and the availability and
effectiveness of the meningococcal vaccine. The bill
repeals that requirement and requires all students
residing in on-campus housing to have received the
meningococcal vaccine unless a signed statement
of medical or religious exemption is on file with the
institution’s administration. A medical exemption
requires a signed certification by a physician
licensed to practice in Missouri indicating that the
immunization would seriously endanger the student’s
health or life or the student has documentation of
the disease or laboratory evidence of immunity
to the disease. A student must be exempted from
the requirement if he or she objects in writing to
the institution’s administration that immunization
violates his or her religious beliefs.

UMBILICAL CORD BLOOD COLLECTION
(Section 191.761)

Beginning July 1, 2015, the Department of Health
and Senior Services must provide a courier service
to transport collected, donated umbilical cord blood
samples to a nonprofit umbilical cord blood bank
located in St. Louis City in existence as of the
effective date of the bill. The collection sites must
only be those facilities designated and trained by
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the blood bank in the collection and handling of
umbilical cord blood specimens.

DIABETES CARE, CONTROL, AND PREVENTION
(Section 191.990)

The MO HealthNet Division within the Department
of Social Services and the Department of Health
and Senior Services must collaborate to coordinate
goals and benchmarks in each individual agency’s
plans to reduce the incidence of diabetes in Missouri,
improve diabetes care, and control complications
associated with diabetes. The division and the
Department of Health and Senior Services must
submit a report that includes specified information
to the General Assembly by January 1 of each odd-
numbered year.

The requirements of these provisions must be
limited to diabetes information, data, initiatives, and
programs within each agency prior to the effective
date of these provisions unless there is unobligated
funding for diabetes in each agency that may be
used for new research, data collection, reporting, or
other requirements.

SHOW-ME ECHO PROGRAM (Section 191.1140)

The bill requires, subject to appropriations, the
University of Missouri to manage the Show-Me
Extension for Community Health Care Outcomes
(ECHO) Program. The Department of Health and
Senior Services must collaborate with the university
in utilizing the program to expand the capacity to
safely and effectively treat chronic, common, and
complex diseases in rural and underserved areas of
the state and to monitor outcomes of the treatment.
The program is designed to utilize current telehealth
technology to disseminate knowledge of best
practices for the treatment of chronic, common,
and complex diseases from a multidisciplinary team
of medical experts to local primary care providers
who will deliver the treatment protocol to patients,
which will alleviate the need of many patients to
travel to see specialists and will allow patients to
receive treatment more quickly. The program must
utilize local community health care workers with
knowledge of local social determinants as a force
multiplier to obtain better patient compliance and
improved health outcomes.

MAMMOGRAPHY REPORTS (Section 192.769)
Beginning January 1, 2015, a mammography
facility, upon completion of a mammogram, must
provide to the patient a specified notice regarding
dense breast tissue stating that if the mammogram
demonstrates that the patient has dense breast
tissue which could hide abnormalities and has other
risk factors that have been identified, the patient

might benefit from a supplemental screening that
may be suggested by the ordering physician.

These provisions must not be construed to create
a duty of care beyond the duty to provide the notice
required under the bill.

The information required by the bill or evidence that
a person violated these provisions is not admissible
in a civil, judicial, or administrative proceeding.

ASSISTANT PHYSICIAN PRESCRIPTIVE
AUTHORITY (Section 195.070)

The bill adds an assistant physician participating
in a collaborative practice arrangement to the list of
persons granted authority to prescribe, administer,
and dispense controlled substances as authorized
by statute.

IMMUNIZATIONS AGAINST INFLUENZA
(Section 197.168)

The bill requires each hospital licensed under
Chapter 197 to offer, prior to discharge and
with the approval of the attending physician or
other authorized practitioner authorized to order
vaccinations or as authorized by physician-
approved hospital policies or protocols pursuant to
state hospital regulations, immunizations against
influenza virus to all inpatients 65 years of age or
older between October 1 and March 1 of each year
in accordance with the latest recommendations of
the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
unless contraindicated for the patient and contingent
upon the availability of the vaccine.

DONOR BREAST MILK (Section 208.141)

The Department of Social Services mustreimburse
a hospital for donor human milk provided to a MO
HealthNet participant if the participant is a critically
ill infant under three months of age in the neonatal
intensive care unit, the physician orders the milk, the
department determines it is medically necessary,
the parent or guardian signs an informed consent
form, and the donor milk is obtained from a donor
bank that meets the department’s quality guidelines.
An electronic web-based prior authorization system
must be used to verify medical need.

STATE CHILDREN’S HEALTH INSURANCE
PROGRAM (Sections 208.631 - 208.646)

The bill removes references to the Uninsured
Women’s Health Program in the provisions regarding
the State Children’s Health Insurance Program
(SCHIP).

Currently, the provisions regarding SCHIP define
“uninsured children” as persons up to 19 years
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of age who meet specified criteria or persons
whose parent or guardian have not had access to
affordable health care coverage for their children
for six months prior to application for the program.
The bill removes the requirement that the parent
or guardian has not had access to coverage for six
months prior to application. The bill changes the
eligibility requirements for SCHIP by removing the
requirement that the parent or guardian demonstrate
annually that their total net worth does not exceed
$250,000 in total value. The bill changes, from six
months to 90 days, the time that a child must be
ineligible for SCHIP coverage after notification from
the department when his or parent or guardian
with an income of more than 250% of the federal
poverty level fails to pay the required co-payment
or premium.

SHOW-ME HEALTHY BABIES PROGRAM
(Section 208.662)

The Show-Me Healthy Babies Program is
established within the Department of Social
Services as a separate children’s health insurance
program for any low-income unborn child.

For an unborn child to be eligible for enroliment
in the program, the mother of the child must not be
eligible for coverage under Title XIX of the federal
Social Security Act or the Medicaid Program as
administered by the state and must not have access
to affordable employer-subsidized health care
insurance or other affordable health care coverage
that includes coverage for the unborn child. The
unborn child mustbe in a family with income eligibility
of no more than 300% of the federal poverty level
or the equivalent modified adjusted gross income
unless the income eligibility is set lower by the
General Assembly through appropriations. When
calculating family size as it relates to income
eligibility, the family must include in addition to other
family members, the unborn child, or in the case
of a mother with a multiple pregnancy, all unborn
children.

Coverage for an unborn child enrolled in the
program must include all prenatal care and
pregnancy-related services that benefit the health
of the unborn child and promote healthy labor,
delivery, and birth. Coverage does not need to
include services that are solely for the benefit of
the pregnant mother, are unrelated to maintaining
or promoting a healthy pregnancy, and provide no
benefit to the unborn child.

The bill specifies that there must not be a waiting
period before an unborn child may be enrolled in
the program. Coverage must include the period
from conception to birth and the department must

develop a presumptive eligibility procedure for
enrolling an unborn child.

Coverage for the child must continue for up to
one year after birth unless otherwise prohibited
by law or limited by the General Assembly through
appropriations. Coverage for the mother is limited to
pregnancy-related and postpartum care beginning
on the day the pregnancy ends and extends through
the last day of the month that includes the sixtieth
day after the pregnancy ends unless otherwise
prohibited by law or limited by the General
Assembly through appropriations. The department
must provide coverage for an unborn child enrolled
in the program in the same manner in which the
department provides coverage for the Children’s
Health Insurance Program in the county of the
primary residence of the mother.

The department must provide information about
the program to maternity homes, pregnancy
resource centers, and other similar agencies and
programs in the state that assist unborn children
and their mothers. The department must consider
allowing these agencies and programs to assist
in enrolling unborn children in the program and in
making determinations about presumptive eligibility
and verification of the pregnancy.

Within 60 days after the effective date of these
provisions, the department must submit a state plan
amendment or seek any necessary waivers from the
federal Department of Health and Human Services
requesting approval for the program.

Atleastannually, the Departmentof Social Services
must prepare and submit a report to the Governor,
the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and
the President Pro Tem of the Senate analyzing and
projecting the cost savings and benefits, if any,
to the state, counties, local communities, school
districts, law enforcement agencies, correctional
centers, health care providers, employers, other
public and private entities, and persons by enrolling
unborn children in the program. The bill specifies the
information that must be included in this analysis.

The program must not be deemed an entitlement
program, but instead must be subject to a federal
allotment or other federal appropriations and
matching state appropriations.

The state is not obligated to continue the program
if the allotment or payments from the federal
government end or are not sufficient for the program
to operate or if the General Assembly does not
appropriate funds for the program.

These provisions must not be construed as
expanding MO HealthNet or fulfilling a mandate
imposed by the federal government on the state.
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MISSOURI Rx PLAN (Sections 208.790 and 208.798)

The bill requires applicant household income
limits for Missouri Rx Plan eligibility to be subject
to appropriations, but in no event can an applicant
have a household income that is greater than
185% of the federal poverty level for the applicable
family size for the applicable year as converted to
the modified adjusted gross income equivalent net
income standard.

The bill changes the termination of the provisions
regarding the Missouri Rx Plan from August 28,
2014, to August 28, 2017.

ASSISTANT PHYSICIANS (Sections 334.035 and
334.036)

The bill establishes provisions for the licensing
of an assistant physician. An assistant physician is
any medical school graduate who is a resident and
citizen of the United States or is a legal resident
alien; has successfully completed Step 1 and Step 2
of the United States Medical Licensing Examination
or the equivalent of the steps of any other board-
approved medical licensing examination within the
two-year period immediately preceding application
for licensure as an assistant physician, but in no
event more than three years after graduation from
a medical college or osteopathic medical college;
has not completed an approved postgraduate
residency and has successfully completed Step 2
of the United States Medical Licensing Examination
or the equivalent as specified in the bill; and has
proficiency in the English language.

An assistant physician collaborative practice
arrangement must limit the assistant physician
to providing only primary care services and only
in medically underserved rural or urban areas of
this state or in any pilot project areas established
in which assistant physicians may practice. For a
physician-assistant physician team working in a
rural health clinic under the federal Rural Health
Clinic Services Act, P.L. 95-210, as amended, an
assistant physician must be considered a physician
assistant for purposes of regulations of the Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and no
supervision requirements in addition to the minimum
federal law must be required.

The licensure of assistant physicians must take
place within processes established by rules of the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts within
the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions
and Professional Registration. An application for
licensure may be denied or the licensure of an
assistant physician may be suspended or revoked
by the board in the same manner and for violation of

the standards as set forth by Section 334.100 or the
other standards of conduct set by the board by rule.

An assistant physician must clearly identify himself
or herself as an assistant physician and must be
permitted to use the terms “doctor,” “Dr.,” or “doc.” An
assistant physician is prohibited from practicing or
attempting to practice without an assistant physician
collaborative practice arrangement, except as
otherwise provided in these provisions and in an
emergency situation. The collaborating physician
is responsible at all times for the oversight of the
activities of and accepts responsibility for primary
care services rendered by the assistant physician.

The provisions of Section 334.037, governing
collaborative practice agreements, must apply
to all assistant physician collaborative practice
arrangements. To be eligible to practice as an
assistant physician, a licensed assistant physician
must enter into an assistant physician collaborative
practice arrangement within six months of his or her
initial licensure and must not have more than a six-
month time period between arrangements during
his or her licensure period. Any renewal of licensure
under these provisions must include verification
of actual practice under a collaborative practice
arrangement during the immediately preceding
licensure period.

ASSISTANT PHYSICIAN COLLABORATIVE
PRACTICE ARRANGEMENTS (Section 334.037)

A physician may enter into a collaborative
practice arrangement with an assistant physician.
A collaborative practice arrangement must be in
the form of written agreements, jointly agreed-
upon protocols, or standing orders for the delivery
of health care services. A collaborative practice
arrangement may delegate to an assistant physician
the authority to administer or dispense drugs and
provide treatment as long as the delivery of the
health care services is within the scope of practice
of the assistant physician and is consistent with that
assistant physician’s skill, training, and competence
and the skill and training of the collaborating
physician. The arrangement must contain specified
provisions.

The State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts must promulgate rules regulating the use of
collaborative practice arrangements for assistant
physicians. The rules must specify geographic areas
to be covered; the methods of treatment that may
be covered by collaborative practice arrangements;
in conjunction with deans of medical schools and
primary care residency program directors in the
state, the development and implementation of
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educational methods and programs undertaken
during the collaborative practice service which
must facilitate the advancement of the assistant
physician’s medical knowledge and capabilities and
which may lead to credit toward a future residency
program for programs that deem the documented
educational achievements acceptable; and the
requirements for review of services provided under

collaborative practice arrangements, including
delegating authority to prescribe controlled
substances.

Any rules relating to dispensing or distribution
of medications or devices by prescription or
prescription drug orders under these provisions
must be subject to the approval of the State Board
of Pharmacy. Any rules relating to dispensing or
distribution of controlled substances by prescription
or prescription drug orders under these provisions
must be subject to the approval of the Department
of Health and Senior Services and the State Board
of Pharmacy. The State Board of Registration for
the Healing Arts must promulgate rules applicable
to assistant physicians that must be consistent
with guidelines for federally funded clinics.
The rulemaking authority granted under these
provisions must not extend to collaborative practice
arrangements of hospital employees providing
inpatient care within hospitals as defined in Chapter
197 or population-based public health services as
defined by 20 CSR 2150-5.100 as of April 30, 2008.

The bill prohibits the State Board of Registration
for the Healing Arts from denying, revoking,
suspending, or otherwise taking disciplinary action
against a collaborating physician for health care
services delegated to an assistant physician if these
provisions and the rules promulgated under these
provisions are satisfied.

Within 30 days of any change and on each renewal,
the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts
must require every physician to identify whether the
physician is engaged in any collaborative practice
arrangement, including arrangements delegating
the authority to prescribe controlled substances, and
also report to the board the name of each assistant
physician with whom the physician has entered
into an arrangement. The board may make the
information available to the public. The board must
track the reported information and may routinely
conduct random reviews of the arrangements to
ensure that they are carried out for compliance
under Chapter 334.

A collaborating physician is prohibited from
entering into a collaborative practice arrangement
with more than three full-time equivalent assistant
physicians. The limitation must not apply to

collaborative arrangements of hospital employees
providing inpatient care service in hospitals as
defined in Chapter 197 or population-based public
health services as defined by 20 CSR 2150-5.100
as of April 30, 2008.

The collaborating physician must determine and
document the completion of at least a one-month
period of time during which the assistant physician
must practice with the collaborating physician
continuously present before practicing in a setting
where the collaborating physician is not continuously
present. The limitation mustnotapply to collaborative
arrangements of providers of population-based
public health services as defined by 20 CSR 2150-
5.100 as of April 30,2008. An agreement made under
these provisions cannot supersede current hospital
licensing regulations governing hospital medication
orders under protocols or standing orders for the
purpose of delivering inpatient or emergency care
within a hospital as defined in Section 197.020 if the
protocols or standing orders have been approved
by the hospital’s medical staff and pharmaceutical
therapeutics committee.

A contract or other agreement cannot require a
physician to act as a collaborating physician for
an assistant physician against the physician’s will.
A physician must have the right to refuse to act as
a collaborating physician, without penalty, for a
particular assistant physician. A contract or other
agreement cannot limit the collaborating physician’s
ultimate authority over any protocols or standing
orders orin the delegation of the physician’s authority
to any assistant physician, but the requirement
must not authorize a physician in implementing the
protocols, standing orders, or delegation to violate
applicable standards for safe medical practice
established by a hospital’s medical staff. A contract
or other agreement cannot require any assistant
physician to serve as a collaborating assistant
physician for any collaborating physician against
the assistant physician’s will. An assistant physician
must have the right to refuse to collaborate, without
penalty, with a particular physician.

All  collaborating physicians and assistant
physicians in collaborative practice arrangements
must wear identification badges while acting within
the scope oftheir collaborative practice arrangement.
The identification badges must prominently display
the licensure status of the collaborating physicians
and assistant physicians.

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS AS MO HEALTHNET
PROVIDERS (Section 334.735)

The bill specifies that the provisions of Section
334.735.5 must not be construed to prohibit
a physician assistant from enrolling with the
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Department of Social Services as a MO HealthNet
provider while acting under a supervision agreement
between a physician and the physician assistant.

PHARMACIST-ADMINISTERED IMMUNIZATIONS
(Section 338.010)

The bill specifies that the “practice of pharmacy”
also includes the administration of hepatitis A,
hepatitis B, diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis
vaccines by written protocol authorized by a
physician for individuals 12 years of age or older.
In addition to other requirements established by the
joint promulgation of rules by the Board of Pharmacy
and the State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts, a pharmacist must administer vaccines in
accordancewiththe treatmentguidelines established
by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,
request a patient to remain in the pharmacy for a
safe amount of time after administration of a vaccine
to observe any adverse reactions, and receive
additional training for the administration of vaccines
as required by the Board of Pharmacy. Within 14
days of administering a vaccine, a pharmacist
must provide specified information regarding the
immunization to the patient’s primary health care
provider if provided by the patient.

PHARMACISTS AND PHARMACIES
(Sections 338.059 - 338.220)

The bill specifies that a licensed pharmacist or
physician may label a prescription drug container
using either a sequential number or other unique
identifier.

The Department of Health and Senior Services
must have sole authority and responsibility for the
inspection and licensure of hospitals. However,
the Board of Pharmacy within the Department of
Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional
Registration may inspect a class B hospital
pharmacy, as defined in the bill, or any portion of
it that is not under the inspection authority of the
department to determine compliance with specified
laws and rules. The department must have authority
to promulgate rules in conjunction with the board
governing medication distribution and the provision
of medication therapy services by a pharmacist at or
within a hospital. A pharmacist providing medication
therapy services must obtain a certificate of
medication therapeutic plan authority as provided
by rule of the board. Medication therapy services
may be provided by a pharmacist for patients of
a hospital pursuant to a protocol with a physician
or to a protocol approved by the medical staff
committee. A medical staff protocol must include
a process whereby an exemption to the protocol
for a patient may be granted for clinical efficacy if

the patient’s physician makes the request and an
appeals process to request a change in a specific
protocol based on medical evidence presented by a
staff physician.

Medication may be dispensed by a class B
hospital pharmacy pursuant to a prescription or a
medication order. A drug distributor license must
not be required to transfer medication from a class
B hospital pharmacy to a hospital clinic or facility
for patient care or treatment. Medication dispensed
by a class A pharmacy located in a hospital to a
hospital patient for use or administration outside of
the hospital must be dispensed only by a prescription
order from an individual physician for a specific
patient. Medication dispensed by a hospital to a
hospital patient for use or administration outside of
the hospital must be labeled as provided by rules
jointly promulgated by the department and the
board.

The board must appoint an advisory committee
with specified members to review and make
recommendations to the board on the merit of all
rules and regulations to be jointly promulgated by
the board and the department.

Upon application to the board, any hospital that
holds a pharmacy permit or license on the effective
date of the bill must be entitled to obtain a class B
pharmacy permit or license without the payment of
a fee if the application is submitted by January 1,
2015.

MEDICAL CLINICS IN MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED
AREAS (Section 1)

The Department of Health and Senior Services
must establish and administer a program to
increase the number of medical clinics in medically
underserved areas. A county or municipality in this
state that includes a medically underserved area as
specified in the bill may establish a medical clinic
in the medically underserved area by contributing
start-up money for the medical clinic and having
the contribution matched wholly or partly by grant
moneys from the newly created Medical Clinics in
Medically Underserved Areas Fund. The department
is required to seek all available moneys from any
source whatsoever including, but not limited to,
health care foundations to assist in funding the
program. A participating county or municipality that
includes a medically underserved area may provide
start-up money for a medical clinic over a two-year
period. The department must not provide more
than $100,000 to the county or municipality in a
fiscal year unless the department makes a specific
finding of need in the medically underserved area.
The department must establish priorities so that the



120 SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS - 2014

counties or municipalities that include the neediest
medically underserved areas eligible for assistance
under these provisions are assured the receipt of a
grant.

To be eligible to receive a matching grant from
the department, a county or municipality that
includes a medically underserved area must
apply for the matching grant and provide evidence
satisfactory to the department that it has entered
into an agreement or combination of agreements
with a collaborating physician for the collaborating
physician and assistant physician in accordance
with a collaborative practice arrangement under
Section 334.037 to provide primary care in the
medically underserved area for at least two years.

The department is required to promulgate
rules necessary for the implementation of these
provisions, including rules addressing specified
topics.

JOINT COMMITTEE ON EATING DISORDERS
(Section 2)

The Joint Committee on Eating Disorders is
established composed of three members of the
Senate appointed by the President Pro Tem, three
members of the House of Representatives appointed
by the Speaker, and three members appointed by
the Governor as specified in the bill.

The committee must:

(1) Review issues pertaining to the regulation of
insurance and other matters impacting the lives of
those diagnosed with an eating disorder by taking
public testimony from interested parties; and

(2) Consider and review the actuarial analysis
conducted under Section 376.1192.

By December 31,2014, the committee must provide
a report to the members of the General Assembly
and the Governor that includes recommendations
for legislation pertaining to the regulation of
insurance and other matters impacting the lives of
those diagnosed with an eating disorder.

SS SCS SB 767 -- HEALTH-RELATED AILMENT
REGISTRY

This bill allows any county, which includes the
City of St. Louis, to create a voluntary registry of
individuals with health-related ailments to assist
these individuals in case of a disaster or emergency.
A name, address, or any other personal identifying
information used in a registry cannot be deemed
a public record under the Open Meetings and
Records Law, commonly known as the Sunshine
Law. If a disaster or emergency occurs that involves
any person listed on the registry, an incident report
must be made public.

SB 773 -- EMERGENCY SERVICE PROVIDERS

This bill changes the laws regarding emergency
service providers.

GROUND AMBULANCES (Section 190.105, RSMo)

The bill allows a first responder, firefighter, or law
enforcement personnel with a valid driver’s license
and prior experience with driving emergency
vehicles to drive a ground ambulance in certain
emergency situations.

EMERGENCY SERVICES BOARDS
(Section 190.336)

Each member of an emergency services board
of directors must be subject to recall from office by
the registered voters of the election district from
which he or she was elected. Proceedings for the
recall may be commenced by the filing of a notice of
intention to circulate a recall petition.

A member cannot be recalled if he or she has not
held office during the current term for more than 180
days, has 180 days or less remaining in his or her
current term, or has had a recall election determined
in his or her favor within the current term.

The notice must be served personally or by
certified mail on the board member and filed with
the election authority. A separate notice must be
filed for each member sought to be recalled and
must contain information explaining the reason for
the recall. It must list at least one but not more than
five proponents of the recall. Within seven days after
the filing of the notice, the board member may file
with the election authority a statement answering
the statement of the proponents. The answer must
also be served on one of the named proponents.
The statement and answer are intended solely to be
used for the information of the voters.

The person circulating the petition must sign
an affidavit verifying certain information. A recall
petition must be filed with the election authority
not more than 180 days after the filing of the notice
of intention. The number of qualified signatures
required must be equal to at least 25% of the number
of voters who voted in the most recent gubernatorial
election in the election district.

Within 20 days from the filing of the petition,
the election authority must determine whether
the petition was signed by the required number of
qualified signatures. It must file a certificate with the
petition showing the results of the examination. If the
election authority certifies that the petition does not
have enough signatures, it may be supplemented
within 10 days of the date of certification.

Within 10 days after the supplemental copies are
filed, the election authority must certify whether or
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not the petition as supplemented is sufficient. If it is
insufficient, no action can be taken but the petition
must remain on file.

If the election authority finds the signatures on
the petition, or together with any supplemental
signatures, to be sufficient, it must submit its
certificate to the board of directors prior to its next
meeting and order an election to be held not less
than 45 days but not more than 120 days from the
date the board receives the petition. A nomination
for a board membership opening must be made by
filing a statement of candidacy with the election
authority.

Any time prior to 42 days before the election, the
member sought to be recalled may offer his or her
resignation, and the recall question must be removed
from the ballot and the office declared vacant.

SS SB 782 -- TEACHER CERTIFICATION

This bill allows an individual who has been
certified by the American Board for Certification of
Teacher Excellence (ABCTE) to obtain a Missouri
teacher certification in the area of elementary
education upon the completion of 90 contact hours
in the classroom, of which at least 30 must be in an
elementary classroom.

SCS SB 785 -- BOATING SAFETY IDENTIFICATION
CARDS

Currently, a nonresident of the state may be issued
a one-time, temporary boating safety identification
card to operate a rented vessel or a vessel being
considered for sale for up to seven days. This
bill allows the temporary card to be issued to any
individual.

HCS SB 794 -- INSURANCE REGULATION

This bill changes the laws regarding insurance
regulation.

IRREVOCABLE LIFE INSURANCE TRUSTS

Currently, a Missouri bank or trust company with
authorized trust authority and created under state
law with its principal place of business in Missouri
is authorized to transfer fiduciary obligations
consisting only of irrevocable life insurance trusts
to the Missouri trust office of an out-of-state bank
with trust powers or an out-of-state trust company.
The bill allows any bank or trust company created
under the laws of this or any other state or national
bank with authorized trust authority to transfer
those obligations to any bank or trust company with
authorized trust authority.

LIFE INSURANCE PRODUCERS

The bill exempts certain life insurance producers
dealing exclusively in life insurance policies and
annuities designated for funeral or burial expenses
with less than $15,000 in face value from continuing
education requirements. Currently, the exemption
applies to a producer if the face value of the policy is
less than $5,000 for a policy for specific life insurance
or less than $10,000 for a policy designated for the
payment of funeral or burial expenses.

INSURANCE COMPANY SECURITIES
INVESTMENTS

The amount of specified securities of one or more
subsidiaries that an insurance company can invest
is increased from not more than 5% of the insurer’s
assets or 50% of the insurer’s surplus to not more
than 10% of the insurer’s assets or 50% of the
insurer’s surplus.

SB 796 -- MARRIAGE LICENSES

Currently, both applicants for a marriage license
must sign it in the presence of the county recorder
of deeds or his or her deputy. This bill allows the
recorder to issue a marriage license to an applicant
who is unable to sign the application in his or her
presence as a result of the applicant’s incarceration
or because the applicant has been called or ordered
to active military service out of the state or country
if specified documents are submitted.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

HCS SCS SB 808 -- LICENSING OF SPECIFIED
PROFESSIONS

This bill changes the laws regarding the licensing
of specified professions.

HAIR BRAIDING

The bill specifies that an employee or employer
primarily engaged in the practice of combing,
braiding, or curling hair without the use of potentially
harmful chemicals must not be subject to the
licensing requirements of cosmetologists or barbers
under Chapter 329, RSMo, while working with a
licensee for a public amusement or entertainment
venue.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS IN PROFESSIONAL
LICENSING APPLICATIONS

Currently, every application for a renewal of a
professional license, certificate, registration, or
permit must contain the applicant’s Social Security
number. The bill specifies that an application for
a renewal only has to include a Social Security
number when the original application did not contain
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the applicant’'s Social Security number. After the
initial or first renewal application that includes his or
her Social Security number, all subsequent renewal
applications must not contain the applicant’s Social
Security number.

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS

The bill specifies that the provisions of Section
334.735.5 must not be construed to prohibit
a physician assistant from enrolling with the
Department of Social Services as a MO HealthNet
provider while acting under a supervision agreement
between a physician and the physician assistant.

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKERS

Currently, an applicant for licensure as a clinical
social worker or advanced macro social worker must
complete 3,000 hours of supervised experience
within 48 months. The bill specifies that an
applicant who has completed at least 4,000 hours
of supervised experience within 48 calendar months
must be eligible for application of licensure at 3,000
hours and must be furnished a certificate by the
State Committee for Social Workers acknowledging
the completion of the additional hours.

The bill specifies that a licensed master social
worker must not practice independently the scope
of practice reserved for clinical social workers or
advanced macro social workers.

PRACTICE OF PHARMACY

The bill adds to the description of the “practice of
pharmacy” the administration of hepatitis A, hepatitis
B, diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis vaccines
by written protocol authorized by a physician for
individuals 12 years of age orolder. Inaddition to other
requirements established by the joint promulgation of
rules by the Board of Pharmacy and the State Board
of Registration for the Healing Arts, a pharmacist
must administer vaccines in accordance with the
treatment guidelines established by the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention, request a patient
to remain in the pharmacy for a safe amount of time
after administration of a vaccine to observe any
adverse reactions, and receive additional training
for the administration of vaccines as required by the
Board of Pharmacy. Within 14 days of administering
a vaccine a pharmacist must provide specified
information to the patient’s primary health care
provider if provided by the patient.

The bill specifies that a legally qualified pharmacist
serving in the United States Armed Forces or
employed by the United States government who does
not hold him or herself out as a Missouri licensed
pharmacist and who is engaged in the practice of

pharmacy while in the performance of official duties
must not be required to have a Missouri pharmacist
license.

A licensed pharmacist or physician may label a
prescription drug container using either a sequential
number or a unique identifier.

The Department of Health and Senior Services
must have sole authority and responsibility for the
inspection and licensure of hospitals. However,
the Board of Pharmacy within the Department of
Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional
Registration may inspect a class B hospital
pharmacy, as defined in the bill, or any portion of
it that is not under the inspection authority of the
department to determine compliance with specified
laws and rules. The department must have authority
to promulgate rules in conjunction with the board
governing medication distribution and the provision
of medication therapy services by a pharmacist at or
within a hospital. A pharmacist providing medication
therapy services must obtain a certificate of
medication therapeutic plan authority as provided
by rule of the board. Medication therapy services
may be provided by a pharmacist to patients of a
hospital pursuant to a protocol with a physician or a
protocol approved by the medical state committee.
A medical staff protocol must include a process
whereby an exemption to the protocol for a patient
may be granted for clinical efficacy if the patient’s
physician makes the request and an appeals process
to request a change in a specific protocol based on
medical evidence presented by a staff physician.

Medication may be dispensed by a class B
hospital pharmacy pursuant to a prescription or a
medication order. A drug distributor license must
not be required to transfer medication from a class
B pharmacy to a hospital clinic or facility for patient
care or treatment. Medication dispensed by a class
A pharmacy located in a hospital to a hospital patient
for use or administration outside of the hospital must
be dispensed only by a prescription order from an
individual physician for a specific patient. Medication
dispensed by a hospital to a hospital patient for use
or administration outside of the hospital must be
labeled as provided by rules jointly promulgated by
the department and the board.

The board must appoint an advisory committee
with specified members to review and make
recommendations to the board on the merit of all
rules and regulations to be jointly promulgated by
the board and the department.

The bill defines a “class B hospital pharmacy”
as a pharmacy owned, managed, or operated by a
hospital or a clinic or facility under common control,
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management, or ownership of the same hospital or
hospital system. Upon application to the board, any
hospital that holds a pharmacy permit or license
on the effective date of the bill must be entitled to
obtain a class B pharmacy permit or license without
the payment of a fee if the application is submitted
by January 1, 2015.

HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALISTS

The bill modifies the definition of “hearing
instrument” or “hearing aid” by specifying that it is a
wearable instrument or device that can provide more
than 15 decibel full-on gain via a two cc coupler at
any single frequency from 200 through 6,000 cycles
per second.

HCS SCS SB 809 -- ARCHITECTS, ENGINEERS,
AND SURVEYORS

This bill changes the laws regarding the licensure
of architects, professional engineers, professional
land surveyors, and professional landscape
architects. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Changes the term “landscape architect”
to “professional landscape architect” and adds
definitions for the terms “design coordination,”
“‘design  survey,” ‘“incidental practice,” and
“responsible charge” (Section 327.011, RSMo);

(2) Changes the name of the board regulating
these professionals in the Department of Insurance,
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
to the Missouri Board for Architects, Professional

Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors and
Professional Landscape Architects (Section
327.031.1);

(3) Requires a person appointed to the board to
have been engaged in the practice of the specified
field as a Missourilicensee for atleast 10 consecutive
years immediately preceding the appointment. When
a vacancy occurs on the board and the vacancy to
be filled requires the appointment of an architect,
the president of the American Institute of Architects/
Missouri must submit to the Director of the Division
of Professional Registration a list of five names to
fill the vacancy (Sections 327.031.5 and 327.031.7);

(4) Repeals the provisions regarding the
abolishment of the Landscape Architectural Council
(Section 327.031.9);

(5) Increases the maximum compensation for a
board member from $50 to $75 for each day devoted
to the affairs of the board (Section 327.051);

(6) Requires professional architects, engineers,
land surveyors, and landscape architects to be in
responsible charge of specified work product that

can affect the health, safety, and welfare of the public
within their scope of practice (Sections 327.091.2,
327181, 327191, 327.272.3, and 327.603);

(7) Specifies that licensing requirements must not
apply to a person who renders architectural services
when he or she renders the services in connection
with a privately owned structure containing less
than 2,000 square feet and which is not a part of
a project which contains more than one structure.
Currently, the requirements do not apply when a
person renders architectural services in connection
with a privately owned structure containing less that
20,000 cubic feet and which is not part of a project
which contains more than one structure. The bill
specifies that the requirements will also not apply to
a person who remodels or repairs a privately owned
multiple family dwelling containing three or four
families if the alteration, renovation, or remodeling
does not affect architectural or engineering safety
features of the building (Section 327.101);

(8) Updates the name of the Canadian certification
organization from the Canadian Architectural
Councils to the Canadian Architectural Licensing
Authorities and changes the name of the agreement
between it and the National Council of Architectural
Registration Boards (NCARB) from the Inter-
Recognition Agreement to the Mutual Recognition
Agreement as the provisions apply to an applicant
for a license as an architect in Missouri who holds
a valid license to practice architecture in Canada
(Section 327.106);

(9) Repeals the requirement that an applicant for
licensure as an architect to have acquired at least
three years of satisfactory architectural experience
and requires the applicant to hold a certified Intern
Development Program record with the National
Council of Architectural Registration Boards and
have taken and passed all divisions of the Architect
Registration Examination (Section 327.131);

(10) Repeals provisions requiring the board to
inform in writing each applicant for licensure as an
architect, engineer, professional land surveyor, or
professional landscape architect of the time and
place for the examination if an examination must be
given at least once in each calendar year (Sections
327151, 327.241, 327.331, and 327.617.1);

(11) Allows an applicant who fails to make
the specified grade to apply for reexamination,
by division, in accordance with the guidelines
established by the National Council of Architectural
Registration Boards or its successor and repeals
the current provision allowing the applicant to take
another examination no sooner than six months after
the date of the failed examination (Section 327.161);
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(12) Specifies that a license for an architect,
engineer, land surveyor, or landscape architecture
must expire on the renewal date, but may, within
three months of the certificate renewal date or at the
discretion of the board, upon payment of the required
fee, have his or her license renewed. Currently, an
architect, engineering, land surveyor, or landscape
architecture license that is not renewed within three
months of the renewal date must be suspended
automatically and expires within nine months if the
licensee fails to pay the reinstatement fee (Sections
327171, 327.261, 327.351, and 327.621);

(13 ) Specifies that the practice as a professional
engineer in Missouri also includes construction
observation (Section 327.181.1);

(14) Allows an applicant for licensure as a
professional engineer or professional land surveyor
who fails to make the necessary examination grade
to apply for reexamination in accordance with the
guidelines established by the National Council of
Examiners for Engineering and Surveying or its
successor (Sections 327.251 and 327.341);

(15) Specifies that the practice of professional
land surveying also includes the preparation of
property descriptions, the survey and location of
rights-of-ways and easements, and design surveys
(Section 327.272.1);

(16) Repeals obsolete provisions regarding the
job experience required for an applicant as a land
surveyor-in-training (Section 327.314);

(17) Repeals the current professional development
requirements in order for a land surveyor who
holds an inactive license to return to active status
and specifies that if a professional land surveyor
licensee is granted inactive status, he or she may
return to active license status by notifying the board,
paying the appropriate fees, and meeting all other
established requirements of the board. If an inactive
licensee does not maintain a current license in any
state for a five-year period immediately prior to
requesting reactivation, he or she may be required
to take the examination as the board deems
necessary to determine his or her qualifications
(Section 327.351);

(18) Repeals the provisions requiring the board
to issue a license to any architect, professional
engineer, professional land surveyor, or landscape
architect who has been licensed in another state,
in a territory or possession of the United States,
or in another country if the board is satisfied by
proof that the applicant’s qualifications meet or
exceed Missouri’s requirements for initial licensure
in Missouri at the time of the applicant’s initial
license and allows the board, in its discretion, to
license one of these individuals when he or she

has qualifications that are at least equivalent to
Missouri’s requirements for licensure (Section
327.381);

(19) Repeals provisions requiring the board to
issue a professional land surveying license to an
individual with 20 years of experience who has
passed specified examinations (Section 327.391);

(20) Specifies that each architect, professional
engineer, professional land surveyor, and
professional landscape architect must affix his or
her personal seal to all final technical submissions
including, but not limited to, drawings, specifications,
plats, surveys, exhibits, reports, and certifications of
construction prepared by the licensee or under the
licensee’s immediate personal supervision (Section
327.411);

(21) Defines “professional landscape architecture”
as the performance of professional services in
connection with the planning and design of land
construction programs; master plans for land
use and development; production of specified
plans, construction details, specifications, and
reports for land development, design coordination,
construction observation; and the inspection of
landscape architectural construction for compliance
with drawings and specifications (Section 327.600);

(22) Requires an applicant for a professional
landscape architect license to make a passing
grade on each examination. The passing grade
must be fixed by the board but must not exceed the
current passing grade determined by the Council
of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards
(Section 327.617.3);

(23) Specifies that the provisions of the bill cannot
be construed to require licensing of a person or
corporation who is offering, but not performing
or rendering, landscape architectural services if
the person or corporation is licensed to practice
landscape architecture in the state or country of
residence or principal place of business (Section
327.629); and

(24) Repeals provisions allowing the board to
license without examination any landscape architect
certified in another state or territory of the United
States if he or she has qualifications that are at
least equivalent to the requirements in this state
and provisions allowing the board to refuse to issue
or renew a license of a landscape architect for
specified causes (Sections 327.623 and 327.631).

SB 812 -- ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE IN
ISRAEL

Subject to appropriation, this bill requires
the Department of Economic Development to
establish an office in Israel for promoting strategic
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partnerships between Israel-based and Missouri-
based companies. The partnerships must have the
express purpose of strengthening and increasing the
competitive edge of Missouri companies in the fields
of agriculture, bio-technology, and other emerging
fields. The staff of the department’s office in Israel
must work in conjunction with relevant business and
trade organizations throughout Missouri to promote
these purposes as well as bi-lateral trade in the
region.

SB 818 -- AVIATION TRUST FUND

This bill adds airport business plans and strategic
plans at existing airports to the permissible airport
planning projects that may be paid for with moneys
from the Aviation Trust Fund.

Currently, if at least $6 million is deposited into the
fund in the previous calendar year, up to $2 million
may be expended annually for the study or promotion
of expanded domestic or international scheduled
commercial service, the study or promotion of
intrastate scheduled commercial service, or to assist
airport sponsors participating in a federally funded
air service program supporting intrastate scheduled
commercial service. The bill changes that provision
to specify that if at least $4.5 million is deposited into
the fund in the previous calendar year, no more than
$2 million may be spent for the study or promotion
of expanded domestic or international scheduled
commercial service, the study or promotion of
intrastate scheduled commercial service, the
promotion of aviation in the state, or to assist
airport sponsors participating in a federally funded
air service program supporting intrastate scheduled
commercial service in any calendar year and the
State Highways and Transportation Commission
must be required to expend at least $4 million of
the annual deposits into the fund for purposes other
than those specified.

SCS SB 829 -- TAX LIABILITY DISPUTES
(Vetoed by the Governor)

Currently, the Director of the Department of
Revenue has the burden of proof with respect to any
factual issue relevant to ascertaining the liability of
a taxpayer in a tax liability dispute under specified
circumstances. This bill repeals the burden of proof
requirement when, in the case of a partnership,
corporation, or trust, the net worth of the taxpayer
does not exceed $7 million and the taxpayer does
not have more than 500 employees at the time the
final decision of the department director is issued
and only requires the department director to have
the burden of proof if the taxpayer has produced
evidence that establishes that there is a reasonable

dispute with respect to the tax issue and the
taxpayer has adequate records of the transactions
and provides the department reasonable access to
the records.

Currently, the provisions of Section 136.300,
RSMo, cannot apply to any issue with respect to
the applicability of any tax exemption or credit. The
bill removes the applicability of any tax exemption
and specifies that the provisions cannot apply to
any issue with respect to the applicability of any tax
credit.

SS SCS SB 841 -- ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE OR
VAPOR PRODUCTS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill specifies that an individual or entity selling
or distributing alternative nicotine products or vapor
products is subject to the provisions regarding the
sale or distribution of tobacco products including
the prohibition of selling, providing, or distributing
these products to an individual under 18 years of
age. The bill requires alternative nicotine products
or vapor products to be subject to local and state
sales tax but not to be otherwise taxed or regulated
as tobacco products.

Currently, a person may not sell cigarettes or
tobacco products unless he or she has a retail
sales tax license. The bill requires a seller of any
alternative nicotine product or vapor product to
have a license. On or before July 1 of each year, the
Department of Revenue must make available a list of
every establishment that sells these products to the
Division of Liquor Control within the Department of
Public Safety and the Department of Mental Health.
The division must have the authority to inspect all
stores for compliance with all laws related to access
to these products by minors. The bill revises the
provisions regarding the division supervisor’s use of
minors in an investigation to check for compliance
to include alternative nicotine products or vapor
products.

SB 842 -- DIESEL FUEL INSPECTIONS

Currently, the Director of the Department of
Revenue or his or her agents or appointees may
conduct inspections and remove samples of fuel for
motor fuel tax purposes to determine the coloration
of diesel fuel or to identify shipping paper violations
at any place where motor fuel is or may be produced,
stored, or loaded into transport vehicles. This bill
prohibits the inspection and removal from any
individual who is not holding the fuel for wholesale
or retail sale and who is not located at specified
facilities or locations unless the department director
or his or her agents or appointees have reasonable
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suspicion to believe that a violation under the
provisions of Chapter 142, RSMo, is being committed
at a location other than those specified.

SB 844 -- SHARED WORK UNEMPLOYMENT
COMPENSATION PROGRAM

This bill changes the laws regarding the Shared
Work Unemployment Compensation Program. In its
main provisions, the bill:

(1) Revises the definition of “fringe benefit” as
it applies to the program. Currently, fringe benefit
includes a retirement benefit received under a
pension plan. The bill specifies that it must be a
retirement benefit received under a defined pension
plan or contributions under a defined contribution
plan as defined in the Internal Revenue Code;

(2) Changes the conditions under which the
Division of Employment Security in the Department
of Labor and Industrial Relations may approve a
shared work plan by:

(a) Requiring the employer to certify that, if the
participating employer provides fringe benefits to
any employee in the affected unit, those benefits
must continue to be provided to employees
participating in the program under the same terms
and conditions as though normal weekly hours of
work had not been reduced or to the same extent
as other employees not participating in the program;

(b) Requiring the shared work plan to include an
estimate of the number of employees who would be
laid off if the employer does not participate in the
program;

(c) Requiring the plan to describe the manner in
which employees in the affected unit will be notified
of the employer’s participation in the program. If the
employer will not provide advance notice, the plan
must state why it is not feasible to provide advance
notice;

(d) Requiring the employer to certify that
participation in the plan and its implementation is
consistent with the employer’s obligation under
applicable federal and state law; and

(e) Requiring the plan to include any other
provision that the United States Secretary of Labor
determines to be appropriate for the purpose of the
program;

(3) Repeals the provision prohibiting the division
from approving a shared work plan that subsidizes
employers when at least 50% of the employees have
normal weekly hours of work of 32 hours or less;

(4) Clarifies that an individual otherwise entitled
to receive unemployment compensation benefits

will be eligible to receive shared work benefits if the
individual is able to work and available for his or her
normal hours of work;

(5) Prohibits the division from denying shared
work benefits for any week to an otherwise eligible
individual by reason of the provisions of the
unemployment compensation laws that relate to
training that is approved by the division director;

(6) Repeals the provision specifying that an
individual must be ineligible for shared work
benefits for any week in which he or she performs
paid work for the participating employer in excess of
the reduced hours established under the plan; and

(7) Specifies that all benefits paid under a shared
work plan that are chargeable to the participating
employer or any other base period employer must
be charged to the employers in the same manner
as regular unemployment benefits are chargeable
under Chapter 288, RSMo. Currently, all benefits
paid under a shared work plan must be charged to
the account of the participating employer under the
plan.

If the United States Secretary of Labor
determines any of the provisions of the shared
work unemployment compensation laws to be
nonconforming with federal law, the nonconforming
provision must not affect the validity of the remaining
provisions.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

CCS HCS SCS SB 852 -- PUBLIC SAFETY
This bill changes the laws regarding public safety.

LAW ENFORCEMENT MUTUAL AID (Section 44.095,
RSMo)

The bill specifies that all law enforcement officers
in the counties of Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami, and
Wyandotte in the State of Kansas and the counties
of Platte, Clay, Ray, Jackson, and Cass in the State
of Missouri must be permitted to respond to a lawful
request for aid in any of the counties when there
is an incident that could result in serious physical
injury or death. The bill specifies the procedure for
a request.

In the event that an officer makes an arrest
outside his or her home state, the offender must be
delivered to the first officer who is commissioned in
the jurisdiction in which the arrest was made.

The bill specifies that, for purposes of liability, all
members of a political subdivision or public safety
agency responding to an incident are deemed to be
employees of the responding political subdivision or
agency and are subject to the liability and workers’
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compensation provisions provided to them as
employees of their respective political subdivision
or agency. Qualified immunity, sovereign immunity,
official immunity, and the public duty rule must apply
to the provisions of the bill as interpreted by the
federal and state courts of the responding agency.

These provisions will not become effective until
the State of Kansas has enacted legislation or has
issued an executive order permitting the Kansas
counties to enterinto a similar mutual-aid agreement.

CORPORATE SECURITY ADVISORS
(Sections 84.340, 571.030, and 590.750)

Currently, the St. Louis Board of Police
Commissioners has the authority to regulate
corporate security advisors in the City of St. Louis.
The bill specifies thatthe Department of Public Safety
must have the sole authority to regulate and license
all corporate security advisors and that the authority
and jurisdiction of a corporate security advisor must
be limited only by the geographical limits of the state
unless the advisor’s license is recognized by another
state or the federal government. Any corporate
security advisor licensed as of February 1, 2014, is
not required to apply for a new license until his or
her license expires or is otherwise revoked.

The bill specifies that acting as a corporate security
advisor without a license is a class A misdemeanor.

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS EMPLOYEES
(Section 105.935)

The bill allows a Department of Corrections
employee classified as a Corrections Officer | or
Corrections Officer Il who has accrued any overtime
hours to use those hours as compensatory leave time
if the leave time is available and agreed on by the
employee and his or her supervisor. Compensatory
time must be considered accrued on completion
of time worked in excess of the employee’s normal
assigned shift and it will be the employee’s decision
whether to take the time off or request payment for
the hours. An employee must have the right to retain
up to 80 hours of compensatory time at any time
during the year.

COMMUNICABLE DISEASES (Sections 191.630,
191.631, and 192.800 - 192.808)

Currently, a person who receives care from an
emergency service provider and who has exposed
the provider to blood or other potentially infectious
materials must consent to a test for a contagious or
infectious disease. The bill revises the provisions to
include a person who receives care from a Good
Samaritan and changes the term “contagious or
infectious disease” to “communicable disease.”

Currently, a hospital must have written policies
and procedures for notifying an emergency care
provider about the results from the test. The bill
requires the policies and procedures to include
notification to a Good Samaritan and a coroner or
medical examiner to also have written policies and
procedures for the notification of an emergency
care provider or Good Samaritan. The hospital,
coroner, or medical examiner must include local
representation of a designated infection control
officer during the process to develop or review
the policies. The policies must be substantially the
same as those in place for notification of hospital
employees.

All emergency care providers must respond to
and treat any patient regardless of the status of
the patient’s HIV or other communicable disease
infection. Licensed ambulance services and
emergency medical response agencies must
establish and maintain local policies and provide
training regarding exposure to patient blood and
body fluids as well as general protection from
communicable diseases. Hospitals, nursing homes,
and other medical facilities and practitioners who
transfer patients known to have a communicable
disease or to be subject to an order of quarantine
or an order of isolation must notify the emergency
care providers who are providing the transportation
services of the potential risk of exposure to a
communicable disease, including communicable
diseases of a public health threat.

The bill repeals Sections 192.800 - 192.808
regarding communicable disease notification to first
responders and Good Samaritans.

LINE OF DUTY COMPENSATION ACT
(Section 287.243)

Currently, under the provisions of the Line of Duty
Compensation Act specified emergency personnel
killed in the line of duty are eligible for certain
workers’ compensation benefits when the person’s
life is lost as a result of an injury received in the
active performance of his or her duties within the
scope of his or her profession while on duty and but
for the performance, death would not have occurred.

The bill revises the standard for eligibility. Under
the bill, an individual is eligible for compensation
when:

(1) Death is caused by an accident or the willful
act of violence of another,;

(2) The individual is in the active performance
of his or her duties and there is a relationship
between the accident or commission of the act and
the performance of duty, even when off duty; the
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individual is traveling to or from employment; or the
individual is taking a break while on duty;

(3) The injury is the cause of the death; and

(4) Death occurs within 300 weeks of the date the
injury was received.

The bill extends the expiration date of the
provisions of the act from June 19, 2015, to June
19, 2025.

SAFE CARE PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT
(Section 334.950)

The Department of Public Safety must establish
rules and make payments to SAFE CARE providers
who provide forensic examinations of persons
under 18 years of age who are alleged victims of
physical abuse out of appropriations made for that
purpose. The department must establish maximum
reimbursement rates that reflect the reasonable
cost of providing the examination.

Only providers for forensic evaluations and case
reviews may be reimbursed by the department. In
order to provide reimbursement, the child must be
the subject of a child abuse investigation or reported
to the Children’s Division within the Department of
Social Services as a result of the examination.

The bill specifies that a minor may consent to
the examination, the consent is not subject to
disaffirmance because of his or her status as a
minor, and parental consent is not required.

CRIMES AGAINST A MENTAL HEALTH EMPLOYEE
OR PROPERTY (Section 632.520)

An offender ordered to the Department of Mental
Health after being determined by a court to be a
sexually violent predator who knowingly commits
violence against an employee of the department
or to another offender housed in a secure facility
must be guilty of a class B felony. An offender who
knowingly damages any building or other property
owned or operated by the department is guilty of a
class C felony.

FUNERAL PROCESSIONS (Section 300.320)

The bill repeals the provisions requiring a funeral
procession to be identified by the display of a
pennant or other identifying insignia on each vehicle.
CCS HCS SS SB 860 -- TAXATION

(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.
In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Requires any correspondence by the St. Louis
County Assessor with a taxpayer to include in bold,

14-point font a statement that disclosure of the
information requested is voluntary and not required
by law and that any information disclosed may
become public record. This provision does not apply
to a request for information regarding the required
listing of property or listing of lessees;

(2) Changes the provisions regarding the filing
of withholding tax returns. Currently, an employer
is allowed to file an annual withholding tax return
instead of four quarterly returns when the aggregate
amount withheld is less than $20 in each of the four
preceding quarters. The bill changes the amount to
less than $100 in each of the four preceding quarters
if the employer is not otherwise required to file a
withholding return on a quarterly or monthly basis;

(3) Authorizes a state and local sales and use
tax exemption on the sale of a used manufactured
home;

(4) Adds a graphing calculator with a value of $150
or less to the list of items that are exempt from state
sales tax during the annual sales tax holiday for
school supplies;

(5) Removes the prohibition and allows a seller to
advertise or state that the required sales tax will be
assumed or absorbed into the price of the property
sold or the service rendered if the amount of the tax
is stated on the invoice or receipt; and

(6) Clarifies the limitations on sales tax refund
claims by specifying that for a sales tax refund claim
to be offset by the Department of Revenue, the
offset or claim must have been assessed and the
assessment must no longer be subject to appeal.

SS SB 866 -- TRADITIONAL INSTALLMENT LOAN
LENDERS

(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill specifies that any licensed traditional
installment loan lender must be permitted to make
loans and charge fees and interest as authorized by
law and prohibits a charter provision, ordinance, rule,
order, permit, policy, guideline, or other government
action of any political subdivision of the state, local
government, city, or county or any agency, authority,
board, commission, or department of the entity from
preventing, restricting, or discouraging a traditional
installment loan lender from specified actions.
These provisions cannot apply where a charter
provision or valid ordinance as of August 28, 2014,
expressly applies to traditional installment loan
lenders. “Traditional installment loan” is defined as
a fixed rate, fully amortized, closed-end extension
of a direct consumer loan with specified exceptions.

The provisions of the bill must not apply to or
preempt any ordinance governing an installment
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lender or any amendment to any ordinance in the
City of Kansas City.

HCS SS SB 869 -- CHILDREN

This bill changes the laws regarding children. In
its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Adds to the duties of the Joint Committee
on Child Abuse and Neglect the task of making
recommendations on how to improve abuse and
neglect proceedings including examining the role
of the judge, the Children’s Division within the
Department of Social Services, the juvenile officer,
the guardian ad litem, and the foster parents
(Section 21.771, RSMo);

(2) Authorizes the Office of Child Advocate within
the Office of Administration to file any pleadings
necessary to intervene on behalf of a child at the
appropriate judicial level using the resources of the
Office of the Attorney General (Section 37.710);

(3) Allows a foster parent who is employed by the
state or a political subdivision to take leave time to
arrange for the foster child’s placement or care as
an adopted parent is allowed and authorizes the
state and political subdivisions to provide a leave
sharing program for employees arranging for a
foster or adopted child’s placement or care. Donated
annual leave, overtime, or compensatory leave time
may be transferable between employees across
departments, agencies, and political subdivisions
with the agreement of the chief administrative
officers of the departments, agencies, or political
subdivisions (Section 105.271);

(4) Specifies that when the parent or guardian of a
child enrolledinthe State Children’s Health Insurance
Program (SCHIP) fails to meet the co-payment or
premium requirements and has an income of more
than 250% of the federal poverty level, the child
must not be eligible for SCHIP coverage for 90 days
after the department provides notice to the parent
or guardian of the failure. Currently, the child is not
eligible for six months after the notification (Section
208.646);

(5) Changes the laws regarding the rules and
requirements of the Department of Social Services
for child care providers who receive state or federal
funds for providing fee assistance for child care
services in their home (Section 210.027);

(6) Changes the laws regarding a child abuse
or neglect investigation by the Children’s Division
within the department by:

(a) Increasing, from within 30 days to within 45
days, the time period in which the division must
complete an investigation unless good cause for the
failure is specifically documented in the information

system. Good cause includes the necessity to
obtain relevant reports of medical professionals, law
enforcement agencies, and third parties which have
not been completed and provided to the division;
there is specified written documentation that there
is a pending criminal investigation of the incident
and the issuing of a decision by the division will
adversely impact the progress of the investigation;
or the child victim, the subject of the investigation,
or another witness with information relevant to the
investigation is unable or temporarily unwilling to
provide complete information within the specified
time frames;

(b) Specifying that if a child fatality or near-fatality
is involved, the investigation must remain open until
the division’s investigation surrounding the death or
near-fatal injury is completed; and

(c) Specifying that if an investigation cannot be
completed within 45 days, the information system
must be updated at regular intervals and upon the
completion of the investigation. The investigation
must be completed no later than 90 days after
receipt of a report of abuse or neglect, no later
than 120 days after receipt of a report involving
sexual abuse, or when the division’s investigation is
complete in a case involving a child fatality or near-
fatality (Sections 210.145, 210.152, and 210.183);

(7) Allows a judge to appoint a guardian ad litem
to appear for and represent an abused or neglected
child involved in proceedings arising when an
alleged perpetrator is aggrieved by the decision of
the Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board (Section
210.160);

(8) Specifies that children who are related to the
member responsible for the daily operation of an
in-home licensed child care facility organized as
a business entity in this state and who meet the
requirements of the child care provider must qualify
for the exemption for related children. If more than
one member of the business entity is responsible
for the daily operation of the facility, the exemption
can only be granted for children who are related to
one of the members. The bill requires each in-home
child care facility to disclose its licensure status
and provide a written explanation of the facility’s
disciplinary philosophy and policies to the parents
or guardians enrolling children in the facility (Section
210.211);

(9) Specifiesthatafoster parent musthave standing
to participate in all court hearings pertaining to a
child in his or her care (Section 211.171);

(10) Requires the Department of Public Safety to
establish rules and make payments to SAFE CARE
providers who provide forensic examinations of
persons under 18 years old who are alleged victims
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of physical abuse out of appropriations made for
that purpose (Section 334.950); and

(11) Requires, beginning January 1, 2015, an
adoption subsidy agreement to include a provision
allowing for the suspension or redirection of subsidy
payments in the event that the child has been
adjudicated dependent and made a ward of the court
and removed from the physical or legal custody
of the parent or parents by a court of competent
jurisdiction (Sections 453.073 and 453.074).

The provisions of the bill regarding child care
providers who receive state or federal funds for
providing fee assistance for child care services
in their home will become effective upon the
Department of Health and Senior Services
providing notice to the Revisor of Statutes that the
implementation of federal regulations mandating
the provisions has occurred.

HCS SS SB 884 -- DENTAL SERVICES INSURANCE

This bill changes the laws regarding insurance for
dental services. Any person or entity that is engaged
in the act of contracting with providers for the
delivery of dental services or the selling or assigning
of dental network plans to other health care entities
must not sell, assign, or otherwise grant access
to the dental services of a participating provider
under a health care contract unless expressly
authorized by the contract. The contract must
specifically provide that one purpose of the contract
is the selling, assigning, or giving the contracting
entity rights to the services of the participating
provider, including network plans. Upon entering
a contract with a participating provider and upon
request by a participating provider, a contracting
entity must properly identify any third party that
has been granted access to the dental services
of the participating provider. A contracting entity
that sells, assigns, or otherwise grants access to
the dental services of a participating provider must
maintain an Internet website or a toll-free telephone
number where the participating provider may obtain
information that identifies the insurance carrier to
be used to be reimbursed and must ensure that
an explanation of benefits or remittance advice
furnished to the provider identifies the contractual
source of any applicable discount.

All third parties that have contracted with a
contracting entity to purchase, be assigned, or
otherwise be granted access to the participating
provider’s discounted rate must comply with the
participating provider’'s contract, including all
requirementstoencourage accesstothe participating
provider, and pay the participating provider
pursuant to the rates of payment and methodology

set forth in that contract unless otherwise agreed
to by a participating provider. A contracting entity is
deemed in compliance with these provisions when
the insured’s identification card provides information
which identifies the insurance carrier to be used to
reimburse the participating provider for the covered
dental services.

SB 890 -- VENUE FOR CERTAIN RAILROAD
INJURIES

This bill specifies that if a plaintiff was first injured
in a foreign country in connection with any railroad
operations therein and any defendantis a corporation
that either directly or through its subsidiaries wholly
owns or operates the foreign railroad or a wholly
owned subsidiary of a corporation that either directly
or through its subsidiaries wholly owns or operates
the foreign railroad, then venue must exclusively
be in the county where the defendant corporation’s
registered agent is located, regardless of venue as
to any other defendant, or if the plaintiff’s principal
place of residence was in the State of Missouri on
the date the plaintiff was first injured, then venue
may be in the county of the plaintiff’s principal place
of residence on the date the plaintiff was first injured.

SCS SB 892 -- PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARY
ELECTION

This bill changes the date of the presidential
preference primary in Missouri from the first
Tuesday after the first Monday in February to the
second Tuesday after the first Monday in March.

CCS HCS SCS SB 896 -- COUNTY GOVERNANCE

This bill changes the laws regarding county
governance. In its main provisions, the bill:

(1) Adds Buchanan County to the list of counties
authorized to impose, by rule, regulation, or
ordinance a civil fine of up to $1,000 for each
violation of any county rule, regulation, or ordinance;

(2) Authorizes the governing body of Clay
County, through the creation of a recreational
and community center district which may include
only the area encompassed by the Liberty School
District and public parks located wholly or partially
therein to impose, upon voter approval, a sales
tax on all retail sales made within the recreational
and community center district that are subject
to sales tax. The tax authorized may not exceed
.5% and must be used for the purpose of funding
the construction, maintenance, operation of, and
purchase of equipment for community centers
and other purposes of recreation and wellness as
determined by the board established to administer
these provisions. The board must consist of eight
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members from specified areas of the district who
are residents of the district;

(3) Authorizes the governing body of New Madrid
County to impose, upon voter approval, a sales tax
of up to .5% to fund transportation infrastructure
improvements. The governing body of the county
must submit the question of repeal of the tax to the
voters at least every four years;

(4) Authorizes the governing body of Perry County
to impose, upon voter approval, a transient guest
tax of up to 6% per occupied room per night to be
used solely for the promotion of tourism; and

(5) Repeals the provisions requiring Randolph
County to operate, furnish, and maintain a county
courthouse in the City of Moberly in addition to
the courthouse in the county seat in the City of
Huntsville for purposes of the circuit court, county
court, probate court, municipal corporation courts,
and other county officers.

SB 907 -- CARTHAGE SCHOOL DISTRICT FUNDS

This bill allows the Carthage School District to
transfer unrestricted funds one time in the 2014-
2015 school year from the incidental fund to the
capital projects fund for projects to improve student
safety. The transfer must leave the incidental fund
balance at no lower than 20%.

SCS SJR 27 -- ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS
AND DATA

Upon voter approval, this proposed constitutional
amendment specifies that a person’s electronic
communication and data are protected from
unreasonable searches and seizures performed
by the government. The amendment specifies that
prior to issuance, a warrant must describe the data
or communication to be accessed and be supported
by probable cause.

SCS SJR 36 -- RIGHT TO KEEP AND BEAR ARMS

Upon voter approval, this proposed constitutional
amendment changes the laws regarding the right
to keep and bear arms. The resolution specifies
that a citizen has the right to keep and bear arms,
ammunition, and accessories typical to the normal
function of the arms, in defense of his or her family,
in addition to the current rights in defense of home,
person, and property. The resolution repeals
provisions specifying that the right to keep and
bear arms must not justify the wearing of concealed
weapons.

The rights guaranteed under Article 1, Section 23
of the Missouri Constitution must be unalienable.

Any restriction on these rights must be subject
to strict scrutiny and the State of Missouri must
be obligated to uphold these rights and must not
decline to protect against their infringement under
any circumstance. Nothing in the resolution must
be construed to prevent the passage of laws by
the General Assembly that limit these rights for
convicted violent felons or persons adjudicated by a
court to be a danger to self or others as a result of a
mental disorder or mental infirmity.
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See also Liability
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 529 -- Public Works Contracts and Projects

BUSES
See also Motor Carriers
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel

BUSINESS AND COMMERCE
See also Commercial Code; Consumer Protection; Merchandising
Practices
SSHCS HB 1075 -- Unclaimed Property
SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
SCS HCS HB 1225 -- Self-service Storage Facilities Act
SS SCS HB 1270 -- Credit Card Processing Services
SS SCS HB 1411 -- Tanning Facilities
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS HCS HBs 1735 & 1618 -- Sale of Motorcycles and Specified
Motorized Vehicles on Sundays
(CS SCS HCS HB 1831 -- Child Care Facilities
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
HB 2163 -- Commercial Zone in the City of Columbia
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SS SB 525 — Food Safety
HCS SB 600 -- Veterans
HCS SB 606 -- Prepaid Legal Services Plans
SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)
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SB 701 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 735 -- Campgrounds

SS SCS SB 841 -- Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products (Vetoed by the
Governor)

CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS
(CS SS SCS HB 1504 - Tax Increment Financing

CEMETERIES
See also Funerals and Funeral Directors
HB 1372 -- Protests at Funeral Services

CHARITIES
See also Religion
HCS HB 1523 -- Endowment Funds
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety

CHILDREN AND MINORS
See also Courts, Juvenile; Family Law; Guardians
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection
SCS HB 1136 -- Elections
HB 1320 -- Breast-feeding
SS SCS HB 1411 -- Tanning Facilities
SCSHCS HB 1614 - Bryce's Law
SCS HCS HB 1689 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
(CS SCSHCS HB 1831 -- Child Care Facilities
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SCS SB 530 - Termination of Parental Rights
SS SCS SB 532 -- Educational and Medical Consent
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
SS SCS SB 841 -- Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products (Vetoed by the
Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

CIRCUIT CLERK
CCS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

CITIES, TOWNS, AND VILLAGES
See also Political Subdivisions
SCS HB 1136 -- Elections
SCS HB 1238 -- Court Costs
HB 1320 -- Breast-feeding
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
HB 2163 -- Commercial Zone in the City of Columbia
SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation
SS SCS SB 593 -- Political Subdivision Elections (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SCS SB 653 -- Municipal Utility Poles
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

CIVIL PENALTIES
(CS#2 SS SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
SCSHCS HB 2238 -- Hemp

CIVIL PROCEDURE
See also Evidence
HCS HB 1085 -- Disclosure of Library Records
SS SCS SB 706 -- Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement
SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

CIVIL RIGHTS
See also Minorities
HCS HB 1303 -- Missouri Student Religious Liberties Act

COMMERCIAL CODE
See also Business and Commerce; Merchandising Practices
HCS HB 1376 -- Secured Transactions

CONSERVATION DEPARTMENT
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS
HJR 48 -- Veterans Lottery Ticket
SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation
HJR 72 -- Governor’s Budgetary Authority
S5 SCS HCS HIR 90 - Early Voting
SCS SJR 27 -- Electronic Communications and Data
SCS SJR 36 -- Right to Keep and Bear Arms

CONSTRUCTION AND BUILDING CODES
HB 1454 -- Communications Infrastructure Deployment
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
S5 SCS SB 650 -- Wireless Communications Infrastructure Deployment
SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

CONSUMER PROTECTION
See also Business and Commerce; Credit and Bankruptcy
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety
HCS SB 606 -- Prepaid Legal Services Plans
SB 610 -- Consumer Protections
HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 735 -- Campgrounds

CONTRACTS AND CONTRACTORS
SS SCS HB 1270 -- Credit Card Processing Services
HB 1359 -- Vendors at Certain State Building Events (Vetoed by the
Governor)
SCS SB 529 -- Public Works Contracts and Projects
SB 610 -- Consumer Protections
HCS SS SB 884 -- Dental Services Insurance

CONVEYANCES AND EASEMENTS
See also Property, Real and Personal
HB 1602 -- Conveyance in St. Francois County
SCS HB 1791 -- Conveyance of State Property

COOPERATIVES
HB 1651 -- Electric Cooperatives
SB 734 -- Electric Cooperatives

CORPORATIONS
SCS HCS HB 1296 -- Taxes Based on Sales (Vetoed by the Governor)
HB 1455 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
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HCS SB 600 -- Veterans

(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 662 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 829 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 890 -- Venue for Certain Railroad Injuries

CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT
See also Prisons and Jails
HCS HB 1090 -- Department of Corrections Employees
HCS HB 1412 -- Filing of Fraudulent Documents
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

COUNSELING
See Mental Health

COUNTIES
See also Political Subdivisions
SCS HB 1238 -- Court Costs
HCS HB 1426 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
SS HIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation
HCS SS SB 525 — Food Safety
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
SB 690 -- Greene County Emergency Telephone Service 911Board
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SSSCS SB 767 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety
(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

COUNTY GOVERNMENT
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

COUNTY OFFICIALS
HCS HB 1412 — Filing of Fraudulent Documents
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
SS SB 745 -- Law Enforcement
SB 796 -- Marriage Licenses
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

COURTS
See also Judges; Juries
SCS HB 1238 -- Court Costs
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
SB 500 -- Wills and Trusts
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures

SB 649 -- Political Subdivision Right-of-ways

SCS SB 651 -- Communications Services

HCS SB 655 -- Property

(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

SS SCS SB 706 -- Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

SB 890 -- Venue for Certain Railroad Injuries

(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

COURTS, JUVENILE

See also Children and Minors
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

CREDIT AND BANKRUPTCY

See also Banks and Financial Institutions; Consumer Protection
SS SCS HB 1270 -- Credit Card Processing Services
HCS HB 1412 — Filing of Fraudulent Documents
HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SB 741 -- Gaming Establishment Line of Credit
SS SB 866 -- Traditional Installment Loan Lenders (Vetoed by the
Governor)

CRIMES AND PUNISHMENT

See also Victims of Crime
SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HB 1372 -- Protests at Funeral Services
SS SCS HB 1411 -- Tanning Facilities
HCS HB 1412 -- Filing of Fraudulent Documents
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 735 -- Campgrounds
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

See also Evidence; Search and Seizure; Victims of Crime
SCS HB 1238 -- Court Costs
SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures

DAIRIES AND DAIRY PRODUCTS

See also Food
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

DENTISTS

HCS SS SB 884 -- Dental Services Insurance

DISABILITIES

See also Guardians
HB 1064 -- Individuals with Disabilities
HB 1125 -- Candidate Filing for Elections
SCSHCS HB 1614 -- Bryce's Law
SCS HCS HB 1779 -- Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
HB 1835 -- Blind Pension Benefits
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
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DOMESTIC RELATIONS
See also Family Law; Marriage and Divorce
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)

DRUGS AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES
See also Pharmacy
SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
HCS HB 2040 -- Drug Overdose Treatment
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SCS SB 530 - Termination of Parental Rights
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
S5 SB 668 -- Oral Chemotherapy Parity
HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SB 745 -- Law Enforcement

DRUNK DRIVING/BOATING
See also Alcohol; Boats and Watercraft
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
HCS HB 1459 -- Innovation Campus Tax Credit Act
HB 1506 -- Rural Regional Development Grants
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HCS HB 1631 -- Air Conservation Commission
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives
SB 812 -- Economic Development Office in Israel

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT
(CS#2 SS SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
HB 1506 -- Rural Regional Development Grants
SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives
(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation
SB 812 -- Economic Development Office in Israel

EDUCATION, ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY
See also Teachers

HCS HB 1189 -- High School Graduation Requirements

HCS HB 1261 -- Transportation Development Districts (Vetoed by the
Governor)

HCS HB 1303 -- Missouri Student Religious Liberties Act

HCS HB 1459 -- Innovation Campus Tax Credit Act

(CS#2 SS SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

SCSHCS HB 1614 - Bryce's Law

SCS HCS HB 1689 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code

(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education

(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)

SB 523 -- Radio Frequency Identification (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SCS SB 532 -- Educational and Medical Consent

HCS SB 600 -- Veterans

(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

SB 701 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
SB 719 -- School Purchases
SS SB 782 -- Teacher Certification

EDUCATION, HIGHER

HB 1206 -- Public University Property Transfers

SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS HB 1389 -- Reciprocity Agreements for Distance Education
HCS HB 1459 -- Innovation Campus Tax Credit Act

(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education

HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health

SB 701 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health

SB 719 -- School Purchases

(CSSCS SB 729 -- Taxation

(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

ELDERLY

See also Guardians
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

ELECTIONS

HB 1125 -- Candidate Filing for Elections

SCS HB 1136 -- Elections

S5 SCS HCS HIR 90 - Early Voting

S5 SCS SB 593 -- Political Subdivision Elections (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

SCS SB 892 -- Presidential Primary Election

ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

HCS HB 1189 -- High School Graduation Requirements

(CS#2 S5 SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

SCSHCS HB 1614 -- Bryce's Law

SCS HCS HB 1689 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)

SB 701 -- Elementary and Secondary Education

SS SB 782 -- Teacher Certification

SB 907 -- Carthage School District Funds

EMBLEMS

HB 1603 -- Official State Exercise
HCS SB 600 -- Veterans

EMERGENCIES

See also Ambulances and Ambulance Districts
SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
HCS HB 1300 -- Fire Protection District Board Meetings
HCS HB 1426 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
(CS SS SCS HB 1504 -- Tax Increment Financing
HCS HB 2040 -- Drug Overdose Treatment
S5 SCS SB 593 -- Political Subdivision Elections (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 651 -- Communications Services
SB 690 -- Greene County Emergency Telephone Service 911 Board
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(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS SB 767 -- Health-related Ailment Registry

SB 773 -- Emergency Service Providers

(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

EMPLOYEES - EMPLOYERS
HCS HB 1090 -- Department of Corrections Employees
SCS HB 1594 -- Volunteer Labor on Public Works Projects
SS SCS SB 510 -- Disqualification from Unemployment Benefits
SB 844 -- Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program

EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
SS SCS SB 510 -- Disqualification from Unemployment Benefits
SS SB 673 -- Employment Security (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 844 -- Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program

ENERGY
See also Mining and il and Gas Production; Motor Fuel; Utilities
SB 601 -- Energy Efficiency Tax Deduction
(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation

ENGINEERS
SCS SB 529 -- Public Works Contracts and Projects
HCS SCS SB 809 -- Architects, Engineers, and Surveyors

ENTERTAINMENT, SPORTS, AND AMUSEMENTS
See also Parks and Recreation
HCS HB 1237 -- Nonresident Entertainer Income Tax
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
HCS HB 1302 -- Wood Burning Appliances
SCSHCS HB 1631 -- Air Conservation Commission
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources
(CS HCS SCS SB 664 -- Natural Resources

ESTATES, WILLS, AND TRUSTS
HB 1455 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 500 -- Wills and Trusts
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
HCS SB 794 -- Insurance Regulation

EVIDENCE
See also Civil Procedure; Criminal Procedure; Search and Seizure
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code

EXCAVATION
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety

FAMILY LAW
See also Children and Minors; Domestic Relations; Marriage and
Divorce
HCS SCS SB 530 -- Termination of Parental Rights
SS SCS SB 532 -- Educational and Medical Consent
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

FEDERAL - STATE RELATIONS
HCS HB 1302 -- Wood Burning Appliances
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HCS HB 1631 -- Air Conservation Commission
(CS SCS HCS HB 1831 -- Child Care Facilities
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

FEES
SCS HB 1238 -- Court Costs
SS SCS HB 1270 -- Credit Card Processing Services
HCS HB 1389 -- Reciprocity Agreements for Distance Education
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SB 600 -- Veterans
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources
(CS HCS SCS SB 664 -- Natural Resources
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

FIRE PROTECTION
HCS HB 1300 -- Fire Protection District Board Meetings
SCS HCS HB 1410 -- Landlord Tenant Actions
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
HCS SB 655 -- Property
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

FIREARMS AND FIREWORKS
See also Weapons
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SB 745 -- Law Enforcement
SCS SJR 36 - Right to Keep and Bear Arms

FISHING AND HUNTING
See also Agriculture and Animals
HCS S5 SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code

FOOD
See also Dairies and Dairy Products
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety
HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)

FUNERALS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
See also Cemeteries
HB 1372 -- Protests at Funeral Services
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

GAMBLING
See also Lotteries
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
SS SB 741 -- Gaming Establishment Line of Credit

GENERAL ASSEMBLY
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection
HB 1206 -- Public University Property Transfers
HCS HB 1302 -- Wood Burning Appliances
(CS#2 S5 SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
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HB 1506 -- Rural Regional Development Grants

HCS HB 1882 -- Public Employee Retirement Plans

SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation

HIR 72 -- Governor’s Budgetary Authority

HCS SS SB 575 -- Boards, Commissions, and Committees (Vetoed by the
Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures

HCS SCS SB 643 -- Publication of the Missouri Revised Statutes

(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

GOVERNOR AND LT. GOVERNOR
SCS HCS HRB 1299 -- Executive Branch Reorganizations
HIR 72 -- Governor’s Budgetary Authority
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)

GUARDIANS
See also Children and Minors; Disabilities; Elderly
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

HEALTH CARE
See also Insurance-Medical; Medical Procedures and Personnel
SCS HCS HBs 1307 & 1313 -- Waiting Period for Abortions (Vetoed by the
Governor)
HB 1656 -- Anatomical Gifts
SS SCS SB 532 -- Educational and Medical Consent
SCS SB 639 -- Mammography Reports
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS
See also Licenses-Professional; see also individual professions
SCS HCS HB 1779 -- Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
SCS SB 639 -- Mammography Reports
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

HEALTH DEPARTMENT
SS SCS HB 1411 -- Tanning Facilities
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp
HCS SS SB 525 — Food Safety
HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 - Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

HEALTH, PUBLIC
See also AIDS
SS SCS HB 1411 -- Tanning Facilities
HCS HB 1426 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
HB 1603 -- Official State Exercise
HB 1656 -- Anatomical Gifts
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety
SB 527 -- Medical Radiation Safety Awareness
HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health
SCS SB 639 -- Mammography Reports

(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health

(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

SSSCS SB 767 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

HIGHER EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
HCS HB 1389 -- Reciprocity Agreements for Distance Education
(CS#2 5SS SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education

HIGHWAY PATROL
See also Law Enforcement Officers and Agencies
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp

HIGHWAYS AND ROADS
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HB 1866 -- Highway and Bridge Designations
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

HISTORIC PRESERVATION
See also Arts and Humanities; Libraries and Archives
HCS HB 1237 -- Nonresident Entertainer Income Tax
S5 SCS SB 650 -- Wireless Communications Infrastructure Deployment

HOLIDAYS
SB 527 -- Medical Radiation Safety Awareness Day
HCS SB 600 -- Veterans

HOSPITALS
HB 1656 -- Anatomical Gifts
HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health
(CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

HOUSING
See also Landlords and Tenants; Manufactured Housing
HCS SB 655 -- Property
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

IDENTITY PROTECTION
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code

INSURANCE - AUTOMOBILE
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
(CSSSHB 1361 -- Domestic Surplus Lines Insurers
SCS HB 1968 -- Risk-based Capital Analysis
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SB 606 -- Prepaid Legal Services Plans
HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)

INSURANCE - GENERAL
HCS HB 1079 -- Insurance Documents
(CSSSHB 1361 -- Domestic Surplus Lines Insurers
SB 609 -- Insurance Documents
HCS SB 794 -- Insurance Regulation
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INSURANCE - LIFE
HCS HB 1079 -- Insurance Documents
SB 609 -- Insurance Documents
HCS SB 794 -- Insurance Regulation

INSURANCE - MEDICAL
See also Health Care; Medicaid
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
SCS HB 1968 -- Risk-based Capital Analysis
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SB 668 -- Oral Chemotherapy Parity
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SS SB 884 -- Dental Services Insurance

INSURANCE - PROPERTY
HCS HB 1079 -- Insurance Documents
HCS SS SB 691 -- Insurance Policies

INTERNET, WORLD-WIDE WEB, AND E-MAIL
See also Science and Technology; Telecommunications
HCS HB 1079 -- Insurance Documents
HB 1081 -- Paperless Documents and Forms Act
HCS HB 1376 -- Secured Transactions
HCS HB 1389 -- Reciprocity Agreements for Distance Education
HCS SB 504 -- Electronic Posting of Proposed Rules by State Agencies
SB 609 -- Insurance Documents
HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SJR 27 -- Electronic Communications and Data

INTERSTATE COOPERATION
HCS HB 1389 -- Reciprocity Agreements for Distance Education
SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives
HCS SCS SB 809 -- Architects, Engineers, and Surveyors

JACKSON COUNTY
SCS HCS HB 1410 -- Landlord Tenant Actions
(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety
SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives
HCS SB 655 -- Property

JUDGES
See also Courts
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

JURIES
See also Courts
HB 1320 -- Breast-feeding

KANSAS CITY
SCS HB 1238 - Court Costs
HB 1301 -- Kansas ity Police Retirement Systems
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety

(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SB 866 -- Traditional Installment Loan Lenders (Vetoed by the
Governor)

LANDLORDS AND TENANTS
See also Housing
SCS HCS HB 1410 -- Landlord Tenant Actions
HCS SB 655 -- Property
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS AND AGENCIES
See also Highway Patrol
HB 1301 -- Kansas City Police Retirement Systems
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
SCS SB 735 -- Campgrounds
SS SB 745 -- Law Enforcement
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

LIABILITY
See also Bonds-Surety
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS SB 532 -- Educational and Medical Consent
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
SCS SB 651 -- Communications Services
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
SCS SB 829 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

LIBRARIES AND ARCHIVES
See also Arts and Humanities; Historic Preservation
HCS HB 1085 -- Disclosure of Library Records
HCS HB 1237 -- Nonresident Entertainer Income Tax
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

LICENSES - MISCELLANEQOUS
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SCSHCS HB 1831 -- Child Care Facilities
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 796 -- Marriage Licenses

LICENSES - MOTOR VEHICLE
See also Motor Vehicles
HCS SB 600 -- Veterans
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LICENSES - PROFESSIONAL
See also Health Care Professionals; see also names of individual
professions
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
CCS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions
HCS SCS SB 809 -- Architects, Engineers, and Surveyors

LIENS
HCS HB 1218 -- Liens for Assessments on Condominiums
HCS HB 1999 -- Motor Vehicle Lien Documents (Vetoed by the Governor)

LOTTERIES
See also Gambling
HIR 48 - Veterans Lottery Ticket
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits

MANUFACTURED HOUSING
See also Housing
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SS SB 860 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

MARITAL AND FAMILY THERAPISTS
See Mental Health

MARRIAGE AND DIVORCE
See also Domestic Relations; Family Law
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
SB 796 -- Marriage Licenses

MEDICAID
See also Insurance-Medical; Public Assistance
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

MEDICAL PROCEDURES AND PERSONNEL
See also Abortion; Health Care
HB 1656 -- Anatomical Gifts
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
HCS HB 2040 -- Drug Overdose Treatment
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp
SS SB 668 -- Oral Chemotherapy Parity
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions

MENTAL HEALTH
SCS HCS HB 1779 -- Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions

MENTAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT
SCS HCS HB 1779 -- Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health

HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

SSSCS SB 841 -- Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products (Vetoed by the
Governor)

MERCHANDISING PRACTICES
See also Business and Commerce; Commercial Code
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety
SB 610 -- Consumer Protections

MILITARY AFFAIRS
See also National Guard; Veterans
HB 1125 -- Candidate Filing for Elections
HCS HB 1710 -- Missouri National Guard Foundation Fund
HB 1724 -- Missouri Military Family Relief Fund
SB 796 -- Marriage Licenses

MINING AND OIL AND GAS PRODUCTION
See also Energy; Motor Fuel
SCS HCS HB 1201 -- Surface Mining
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources

MINORITIES
See also Civil Rights
HCS HB 1882 -- Public Employee Retirement Plans

MOTELS AND HOTELS
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

MOTOR CARRIERS
See also Buses; Railroads
SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel

MOTOR FUEL
See also Energy; Mining and 0il and Gas Production
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation
SB 842 -- Diesel Fuel Inspections

MOTOR VEHICLES
See also Aircraft and Airports; Insurance-Automobile; Licenses-Motor

Vehicle; Transportation

SCS HCS HB 1225 -- Self-service Storage Facilities Act

SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SCS HCS HBs 1735 & 1618 -- Sale of Motorcycles and Specified
Motorized Vehicles on Sundays

HCS HB 1999 -- Motor Vehicle Lien Documents (Vetoed by the Governor)

HB 2163 -- Commercial Zone in the City of Columbia

HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
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NATIONAL GUARD
See also Military Affairs; Veterans
HCS HB 1710 -- Missouri National Guard Foundation Fund
HB 1724 -- Missouri Military Family Relief Fund

NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
SCS HCS HB 1201 -- Surface Mining
HCS HB 1302 -- Wood Burning Appliances
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources
CCS HCS SCS SB 664 -- Natural Resources
SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

NURSES
SCS HCS HB 1779 -- Advanced Practice Registered Nurses

NURSING AND BOARDING HOMES
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

PARKS AND RECREATION
See also Entertainment, Sports and Amusements
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS SB 735 -- Campgrounds
(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

PHARMACY
See also Drugs and Controlled Substances
HCS HB 2040 -- Drug Overdose Treatment
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions

PHYSICIANS
(CS#2 SS HCS HB 1685 -- Investigational Drugs
SCS HCS HB 2238 -- Hemp
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
HCS SCS SB 808 -- Licensing of Specified Professions

PLANNING AND ZONING
SCS HCS HB 1201 -- Surface Mining
HB 1454 -- Communications Infrastructure Deployment
HB 2163 -- Commercial Zone in the City of Columbia
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources
SS SCS SB 650 -- Wireless Communications Infrastructure Deployment
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS
See also Cities, Towns and Villages; Counties
SCS HCS HB 1217 -- Public Employee Retirement Benefits
HCS HB 1261 -- Transportation Development Districts (Vetoed by the
Governor)
HCS HB 1300 -- Fire Protection District Board Meetings
HCS HB 1303 -- Missouri Student Religious Liberties Act
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
SCS HB 1692 -- Public Utility Districts
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)

SB 523 -- Radio Frequency Identification (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 529 -- Public Works Contracts and Projects

S5 SCS SB 593 -- Political Subdivision Elections (Vetoed by the Governor)

SB 649 -- Political Subdivision Right-of-ways

(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

SCS SB 675 -- Missouri Local Government Retirement (Vetoed by the
Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SB 719 -- School Purchases

(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

SB 907 -- Carthage School District Funds

PRISONS AND JAILS
See also Corrections Department
SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 796 -- Marriage Licenses

PROBATION AND PAROLE
SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)

PROPERTY, REAL AND PERSONAL
See also Advertising and Signs; Conveyances and Easements; Taxation
and Revenue-Property
SSHCS HB 1075 -- Unclaimed Property
HB 1206 -- Public University Property Transfers
HCS HB 1218 -- Liens for Assessments on Condominiums
SCS HCS HB 1225 -- Self-service Storage Facilities Act
SCS HCS HB 1296 -- Taxes Based on Sales (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS HB 1412 -- Filing of Fraudulent Documents
(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
HB 1693 -- Unclaimed Property
SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 500 -- Wills and Trusts
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
SB 649 -- Political Subdivision Right-of-ways
HCS SB 655 -- Property
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions
HCS SS SB 691 -- Insurance Policies
(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation

PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
See also Medicaid
HB 1835 -- Blind Pension Benefits
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
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PUBLIC BUILDINGS
HB 1359 -- Vendors at Certain State Building Events (Vetoed by the
Governor)
SCS SB 529 -- Public Works Contracts and Projects
SCS SB 723 -- Revenue Bonds
(CS HCS SCS SB 896 - County Governance

PUBLIC RECORDS, PUBLIC MEETINGS
See also Sunshine Law, Meetings and Records
HCS HB 1085 -- Disclosure of Library Records
HCS HB 1426 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
(CS#2 SS SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SSSCS SB 767 -- Health-related Ailment Registry
(CS HCS SS SB 860 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

PUBLIC SAFETY DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection
SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel
HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
SS SCS SB 841 -- Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products (Vetoed by the
Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

RAILROADS
See also Motor Carriers; Transportation
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
SB 890 -- Venue for Certain Railroad Injuries

RELIGION
See also Charities
HCS HB 1303 -- Missouri Student Religious Liberties Act

RETIREMENT - LOCAL GOVERNMENT
HB 1301 -- Kansas ity Police Retirement Systems
HCS HB 1882 -- Public Employee Retirement Plans
SCS SB 675 -- Missouri Local Government Retirement (Vetoed by the
Governor)

RETIREMENT - STATE
SCS HCS HB 1217 -- Public Employee Retirement Benefits
HCS HB 1882 -- Public Employee Retirement Plans

RETIREMENT SYSTEMS AND BENEFITS - GENERAL
HB 1835 -- Blind Pension Benefits
SB 844 -- Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program

REVENUE DEPARTMENT
HB 1081 -- Paperless Documents and Forms Act
SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
HCS HB 1261 -- Transportation Development Districts (Vetoed by the
Governor)
HB 1455 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS HB 1999 -- Motor Vehicle Lien Documents (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 662 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SCS SB 664 -- Natural Resources

SCS SB 675 -- Missouri Local Government Retirement (Vetoed by the
Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 829 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)

SB 842 -- Diesel Fuel Inspections

REVISION BILLS

HB 1245 -- Duplicate Versions of Statutes

HCS HRB 1298 -- Expired, Ineffective, and Obsolete Statutes
SCS HCS HRB 1299 -- Executive Branch Reorganizations

HCS SCS SB 643 -- Publication of the Missouri Revised Statutes

SAINT LOUIS

HCS HB 1426 -- Health-related Ailment Registry

(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)

SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation

(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545,595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety

(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 -- Political Subdivisions

SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

SAINT LOUIS COUNTY

(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SS SB 525 -- Food Safety

(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SS SB 860 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

See also Internet, World Wide Web, and E-mail
HB 1081 -- Paperless Documents and Forms Act
SCS HB 1136 -- Elections
HCS HB 1189 -- High School Graduation Requirements
HCS HB 1459 -- Innovation Campus Tax Credit Act
(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education
SB 701 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation
SB 812 -- Economic Development Office in Israel
SCS SJR 27 -- Electronic Communications and Data

SEARCH AND SEIZURE

See also Criminal Procedure; Evidence
SCS SJR 27 -- Electronic Communications and Data

SECRETARY OF STATE

SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
HCS HB 1412 -- Filing of Fraudulent Documents

HCS SB 600 -- Veterans

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
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SECURITIES
SCS HCS HB 1217 -- Public Employee Retirement Benefits
HCS HB 1376 -- Secured Transactions
HCS SB 794 -- Insurance Regulation

SEWERS AND SEWER DISTRICTS
SCS HB 1692 -- Public Utility Districts
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 672 - Political Subdivisions

SEXUAL OFFENSES
SS SCS HCS HB 1371 -- Missouri Criminal Code
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

SOCIAL SERVICES DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 1092 -- Child Protection
(CS SCSHCS HB 1831 -- Child Care Facilities
HCS SCS SB 530 -- Termination of Parental Rights
HCS SCS SB 567 -- Public Health
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health
HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety

SOCIAL WORKERS
See Mental Health

STATE DEPARTMENTS
See also names of individual departments
SCS HCS HB 1217 -- Public Employee Retirement Benefits
SCS HCS HRB 1299 -- Executive Branch Reorganizations
HCS SB 504 -- Electronic Posting of Proposed Rules by State Agencies

SUNSHINE LAW, MEETINGS AND RECORDS
See also Public Records, Public Meetings
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS SB 767 -- Health-related Ailment Registry

SURVEYORS
SCS SB 529 -- Public Works Contracts and Projects
HCS SCS SB 809 -- Architects, Engineers, and Surveyors

TAX CREDITS
See also Taxation and Revenue - Income
SCS HB 1132 -- Tax Credits (Vetoed by the Governor)
HB 1455 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
HCS HB 1459 -- Innovation Campus Tax Credit Act
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation

TAXATION AND REVENUE - GENERAL
SCS HB 1136 -- Elections
HB 1455 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SS SCS HB 1504 -- Tax Increment Financing
SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS HCS HB 2141 -- Alternative Motor Fuel

SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation

(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 635 -- Interstate Business Relocation Incentives

(CS HCS SB 662 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SCS SB 729 -- Taxation

SCS SB 829 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SS SB 860 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

TAXATION AND REVENUE - INCOME

See also Tax Credits
HCS HB 1237 -- Nonresident Entertainer Income Tax
HCS HB 1710 -- Missouri National Guard Foundation Fund
SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS#3 SCS SBs 509 & 496 -- Income Taxes (Vetoed by the Governor --

Overridden by the General Assembly)

(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 6071 -- Energy Efficiency Tax Deduction
(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 662 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

TAXATION AND REVENUE - PROPERTY

See also Property, Real and Personal
(CS SCS SB 729 --Taxation

TAXATION AND REVENUE - SALES AND USE

SCS HCS HB 1296 -- Taxes Based on Sales (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS SS SCS HB 1504 -- Tax Increment Financing

(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

HB 2029 -- Sales Tax Exemption for Aircraft Parts

SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation

(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SS SB 860 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SCS SB 896 -- County Governance

TEACHERS

See also Education, Elementary and Secondary
(CS#2 S5 SCS HB 1490 -- Elementary and Secondary Education
(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SB 782 -- Teacher Certification

TELECOMMUNICATIONS

See also Internet, E-mail, and World Wide Web
HCS HB 1079 -- Insurance Documents
HCS HB 1085 -- Disclosure of Library Records
SCS HB 1136 -- Elections
HCS HB 1376 -- Secured Transactions
HCS HB 1389 -- Reciprocity Agreements for Distance Education
HB 1454 -- Communications Infrastructure Deployment
(CS SS SCS HB 1504 -- Tax Increment Financing
(CS SS SCS HCS HBs 1665 & 1335 -- Administration of Justice
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HCS HB 1999 -- Motor Vehicle Lien Documents (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education

HCS SB 504 -- Electronic Posting of Proposed Rules by State Agencies
SB 523 -- Radio Frequency Identification (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 609 -- Insurance Documents

S5 SCS SB 650 -- Wireless Communications Infrastructure Deployment
SCS SB 651 -- Communications Services

HCS SS SCS SB 653 -- Municipal Utility Poles

HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits

SB 690 -- Greene County Emergency Telephone Service 911 Board
(CS#2 HCS SCS SB 716 -- Public Health

(CS HCS SS#2 SB 754 -- Health Care

SCS SJR 27 -- Electronic Communications and Data

TELEVISION
HCS HB 1237 -- Nonresident Entertainer Income Tax
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code

TOBACCO PRODUCTS
HCS SCS SB 680 -- Public Assistance Benefits
SCS SB 735 -- Campgrounds
SS SCS SB 841 -- Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products (Vetoed by the
Governor)

TOURISM
(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

TRANSPORTATION
See also Aircraft and Airports; Buses; Motor Vehicles; Railroads
HCS HB 1261 -- Transportation Development Districts (Vetoed by the
Governor)
SSHIR 68 -- Sales and Use Tax for Transportation
(CS HCS SCS SB 896 - County Governance

TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
SCS HB 1866 -- Highway and Bridge Designations

TREASURER, STATE
SSHCS HB 1075 -- Unclaimed Property
HB 1693 -- Unclaimed Property
(CS#2 HCS SB 621 -- Judicial Procedures
SCS SB 675 -- Missouri Local Government Retirement (Vetoed by the
Governor)

UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION
SS SCS SB 510 -- Disqualification from Unemployment Benefits
SS SB 673 -- Employment Security (Vetoed by the Governor)
SB 844 -- Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program

UNIFORM LAWS
S5 SCS SB 650 -- Wireless Communications Infrastructure Deployment
HCS SS SCS SB 653 -- Municipal Utility Poles

UTILITIES
See also Energy
SCS HB 1190 -- Facilitating Rapid Response to Disasters
SCS HCS HB 1631 -- Air Conservation Commission
HB 16571 -- Electric Cooperatives
SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety

SB 649 -- Political Subdivision Right-of-ways
HCS SS SCS SB 653 -- Municipal Utility Poles
SB 734 -- Electric Cooperatives

VETERANS

See also Military Affairs; National Guard
HJR 48 -- Veterans Lottery Ticket
HCS SB 600 -- Veterans

VETERINARIANS

SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 492 -- Higher Education
HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

VETOED BILLS

SCS HB 1132 -- Tax Credits (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS HB 1261 -- Transportation Development Districts (Vetoed by the
Governor)

SCS HCS HB 1296 -- Taxes Based on Sales (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS HCS HBs 1307 & 1313 -- Waiting Period for Abortions (Vetoed by the
Governor)

SS SCS HCS HB 1326 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

HB 1359 -- Vendors at Certain State Building Events (Vetoed by the
Governor)

HB 1455 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SCS HB 1553 -- Political Subdivisions (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SS HB 1707 -- Operation of Motor Vehicles (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SCS HB 1865 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS HB 1999 -- Motor Vehicle Lien Documents (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SCS SBs 493, 485, 495, 516, 534, 545, 595, 616 & 624 --
Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SB 506 -- Agriculture (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SB 508 -- Health Insurance (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS#3 SCS SBs 509 & 496 -- Income Taxes (Vetoed by the Governor --
Overridden by the General Assembly)

SB 523 -- Radio Frequency Identification (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SS SB 575 -- Boards, Commissions, and Committees (Vetoed by the
Governor)

(CS HCS SB 584 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

S5 SCS SB 593 -- Political Subdivision Elections (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS SCS SB 612 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)

(CS HCS SB 662 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SB 673 -- Employment Security (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 675 -- Missouri Local Government Retirement (Vetoed by the
Governor)

(CS#2 HCS SB 693 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SS SB 694 -- Payday Loans (Vetoed by the Governor)

HCS SB 727 -- Farmers’ Markets (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 731 -- Nuisance Ordinances and Actions (Vetoed by the Governor)

SCS SB 829 -- Tax Liability Disputes (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SCS SB 841 -- Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products (Vetoed by the
Governor)

(CS HCS SS SB 860 -- Taxation (Vetoed by the Governor)

SS SB 866 -- Traditional Installment Loan Lenders (Vetoed by the
Governor)
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VICTIMS OF CRIME
See also Crimes and Punishment; Criminal Procedure
SCS HB 1092 -~ Child Protection
HCS SS SCS SB 491 -- Missouri Criminal Code
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety
HCS SS SB 869 -- Children

WASTE - RADIOACTIVE
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources

WASTE - SOLID
CCS HCS SCS SB 664 -- Natural Resources

WATER RESOURCES AND WATER DISTRICTS
See also Drainage and Levee Districts; Soil Conservation
SCS HB 1692 -- Public Utility Districts
SS SCS HCS HB 1867 -- Underground Facility Safety
SCS SB 642 -- Natural Resources
(CS HCS SCS SB 664 -- Natural Resources

WEAPONS
See also Firearms and Fireworks
(CS HCS SB 615 -- Administration of Justice (Vetoed by the Governor)
(CS HCS SB 656 -- Firearms (Vetoed by the Governor)
SS SB 745 -- Law Enforcement
SCS SJR 36 - Right to Keep and Bear Arms

WORKERS COMPENSATION
(CS HCS SCS SB 852 -- Public Safety
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Introduced | Third Read* | Truly Agreed Vetoed by
the Governor
House Bills 1,233 203 84 11
House Joint Resolutions 52 7 4 0
House Appropriation Bills 17 16 15 0**
Senate Bills 511 136 85 22
Senate Joint Resolutions 33 3 2 0
TOTALS 1,846 366 190 33

*In chamber of origin

**Does not include line item vetoes
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